Damo & Ivor The Movie (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Not funny
Jimsonite17 June 2019
A lot of cringey moments. Ireland hasn't made a good comedy show/movie since Father Ted.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ruth McCabe deserves better than this sh it
Termin816 January 2019
This isnt a film. Its a films length worth of content . It has the shape of a film but its not one. This was what the son of the owner of Dr Quirkys was given filmboard money to make. Its an absolute disaster with stereotypes of travellers that are tantamount to hate crimes. People will say it stereotypes all kinds of class and ethnic groups including the writers own upper class background. The worst it says about the middle class of Ireland is that they use tanning beds and make vegan meals for their kids. Ouch like.

Watch it so you can say how bad it is
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Laughed til I cried then laughed some more.
stephen_loftus15 March 2018
The movie world needed this,Ireland needed this.And it didn't disappoint. From start to finish I laughed,my sides are still sore. We attended the premiere and had been anticipating this movie since the last episode of the hit tv series introduced the 3rd brother.....simply brilliant. Irish cinema has been lacking movies like this with humour,heart,a lurcher,a camper van,crusty socks,Grano and none stop bad language,with an Irish cast who have done us proud. Well done to all. And here's to,and hoping for a sequel......great work folks.
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
an easy watch
This is a good film to put on if you just want to watch something easy that doesnt take much focus. With its classic irish humour, there were good laughs throughout while not being cringey.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Pathetic
cjjs18-111 January 2019
Turned it off in under 3 mins. Gauge ur eyes out with rusty spoons instead
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Clichè comedy gold
macaulayluke12 January 2019
I personally love Awfuknirosh comedy, along with the culture, of you like the Young Offenders and the cliché of Ireland I.E cork, Newcastle west etc, you'll sure love this!
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A mess of a movie
petekennedy-4015023 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Thought this movie was a bit of a mess compared to the Damo and Ivor TV series which was mildly entertaining as best. The script and story seems rushed and disjointed. In the movie Ivor comes across as a 2nd rate Ross O'Carroll Kelly parody. Damo, despite being a character we are supposed to like actually comes across as quite nasty and aggressive. This is especially apparent during the scene in the Chipper where Damo plants fake plastic insects on his garlic chips and then aggressively demands that the person who served him the food let him have it for free. He's just a nasty bully. In fairness the long lost Gypsy brother Johnjo does provide some humour. Simon Delaney is wasted in the movie as his Carnival Boss character offers nothing. The only performance of note is that of Ruth McCabe's which is brilliant and energetic throughout. She deserves better roles than this. Anyway check it out on Netflix if you're bored some evening but don't expect much.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good crack
paulmooney-5279629 December 2019
It's a bit of a laugh. Great acting by the guy playing all three brothers. One to watch.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant!
jessicacurry-3109723 July 2020
Don't understand why there are so many negative reviews this film was genuinely funny and deserves more recognition
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
my mascara was in my mouth I laughed so much
mariemctiernan21 March 2018
This movie is a must see. It is only fantastic. A howl of a laugh from start to finish. My mascara was in my mouth by the time it was over. The acting, jokes and everything about it was first class. Cinema needed a movie like this. The best night out I have had in a long time. Please god there will be a part two. Dont miss out.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just Brilliant!
stephmex-6785316 September 2018
Very funny and great story. Very good acting, really enjoyed it, Hopefully there will be a sequel!
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Music
rossboardman10 November 2018
Can someone please tell me what the song that is played over the dvd starting screen is?
0 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed