My Perfect Romance (TV Movie 2018) Poster

(2018 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
36 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Awfully bad film
rainbowbecki30 May 2018
Terrrrrrible acting by leading lady and the bosses mother. The lead actress overacts facially all the time. Also a super weak story line that has been done to death and is really dull. You can guess the end from about 2 minutes in, or by just reading the synopsis. YAWN. Don't waste your time.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not boring
sizucca17 December 2018
When you discover all the furnitures are from IKEA and you start to search for them all over the movie.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolutely awful...
ashleymorrell11 December 2018
This movie was unbearable. Horrible acting, horrible plot- even the set seemed fake to me. Just awful. Save yourself the time and do not watch!
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Cleche'! Boring! Bad Acting!
rosemoline10 May 2018
I love romantic movies. That's why I wanted to give this one a try. What a mistake that was! From the beginning I already knew that this was a boring Hallmark movie. The actors have no chemistry and the plot is typical with no originality! Please don't waste your time! Trust me!
18 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Why bother to make this kind of movie?
phd_travel23 September 2018
A woman develops a dating app that pairs people more meaningfully. Her boss is a playboy who owns the company.

The guy just grins, the girl gets angry when it's not his fault.

It's all a bit too routine and there isn't much chemistry.

Lauren Holly as the assistant is much better than this movie. Morgan Fairchild looks a bit too botoxed.

Don't bother.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Below Average
Onetrack9721 June 2018
Follows the Hallmark formula, introduce the conflict 20 minutes from the end. The acting is OK. The leads are good. Lauren Holly is good as usual.

It's the writing, must have been a fast project.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Cute but mostly boring
Sweetigal8527 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I wish I had realized this was a TV movie before I picked it on netflix. TV movies usually do not have the same caliber as regular movies. I was bored to tears ten minutes in but I am not the type of person who can start a movie and not finish it.

First off, I did not like either of the main characters. Nothing against the actors but the characters they were playing were not appealing in any way to me. She had a sour face on the whole movie yet condemned him for being a jerk. Who tells their boss that they can't bear to breathe the same air as them? Did she realize how many times she could have gotten fired in this movie? And then she DID get that one poor guy fired and without any remorse! And we are supposed to feel sorry for this woman that she cannot find her perfect match??

It was very nice seeing Lauren Holly and she was actually my favorite character in the whole movie. I thought she played his wise assistant very well and she was clearly a mother figure to him. My favorite scene was when she was speaking to him in the end about how the sparkle in his eye had returned. I wanted to believe it but I just didn't feel ANY chemistry between these two characters.

It was also nice to see Morgan Fairchild and it was easy to see why the main guy was such a mess because of his cold mother. The acting of many of the secondary actors felt forced and that not enough time and effort had been put into writing them. I wanted to love the sister character because I love my own so much but she just felt unnecessary, they should have done more scenes with them. It was very nice to see Jodi Sweeten though and she played the part great.

There are a few funny scenes and I suppose it is worth a watch but just one watch. If you are looking for a happy ending, you will get one, but it is a long, boring road.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just don't.
canyonkira28 June 2018
I am a lover of romcoms but this is just so bad. Pretty humans do not equal a good movie. Made it about 15 minutes and was so annoyed by the horrible actors and cliches I had to turn it off.
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Cute movie, similar to others like it but satisfying to watch
DireWolfCurse24 June 2018
I like a good corny romance flick every now and again, and I wasn't disappointed with this one. The acting isn't perfect, in fact it's a little awkward at times, and the dialogue is kinda bad sometimes. Then again, they're almost all like this. Despite these flaws that always seem to come with these kinds of movies, there is a charm to it.

Wes Robinson, a handsome and single business man/CEO of the family business, is crunched for time trying to find something to win back his good graces with his parents, and he chooses to spend his time marketing a new dating algorithm created by Vivian Blair, a beautiful software developer. During a TV interview, both Wes and Vivian are challenged to put their new software to the test and create dating profiles, and bring their new matches onto the show at Valentine's Day.

My favorite part of the movie was seeing some of my favorite people from various televisions shows and movies who have seemed to disappear. This includes Lauren Holly and Morgan Fairchild.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Loved it!
majoq9 June 2018
I wanted a romantic movie to spend a cold afternoon and that´s what I got. The characters were believable, the music sweet. Yes, it was predictable, so what??? that's what romantic movies are most of the time. So enjoy it!
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sweet and easy to watch
angikpeeps219 August 2018
Like a Lifetime movie. We knew what we would get when we chose the movie from the description but sometimes we like a simple love story. Of course we are the type to get excited when the Christmas movie season comes
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
not that awful
kivelrafaela11 May 2018
Very pleasant to look at, unfortunately not that pleasant to hear. i found the dialog to be unnatural and uncomfortable at some points. the plot itself was what one could expect from any romance, in a good way. cliche in some aspects, but with it's own signature, as many movies of the kind tend to be.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie of 2018!
volleychic-4220014 September 2018
Wow.... just wow.... what a terrible movie. It truly did feel like it would turn into a porn at any moment. I made it 50 mins and I just couldnt stand it a moment longer!
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad, just Bad
Kaleecee13 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I love cute romance movies and was hoping for the best when I started watching this one. But it is just BAD! Turned it off after about 15 minutes (which was way more time than I should have watched). Supposedly this program developer, Vivian, came up with this algorithm to find a "perfect match" based on compatibility. Well, she was finagled into trying the program herself and sure enough she got 5 matches, that were very far from "perfect", it was a joke. And then Vivian's sister, while talking on the phone with her, mentions that the program is such a success. Yea, right! I just couldn't watch any more. The male lead was so into himself and the female lead was unattractive. The " My Perfect Match" algorithm would never have put them together ( if it actually worked) anyway as they had no compatibility at all.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Sorry for people involved, but this movie is hurtful to society!
covadongalacalle-6521223 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Understanding that a lot of people´s hard work has gone into this, and probably with some sort of commitment and excitement, I am truly sorry to say that this movie simply highlights all the negative stereotypes in society...Even though you don´t expect a sort of ¨food for thought¨ film given the plot, there are always good opportunities to make good values shine.

Secondly, working in software companies I see that little effort has been made to really show how these business operate (again, probably not a concern given the plot), and also slightly offended by the ¨rich people¨stereotypes.

All in all, even for a low budget movie I think a consultant on business, etiquette/high society manners, and a good writer for dialogues would´ve been a good investment!

Some of the actors were good though, shoutout to the main couple and the secretary.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Terrible, predictable and normalizes sexual harassment in the workplace.
j_co20 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This movie might be fine in 1995, content wise and before all the other movies like it already came out with better dialog, better acting and better plot. But not in 2018. It is just another predictable rom-com (although it is not funny at all so I wouldn't call it a comedy), where the only reason it can be consider as "romantic" is because the lead guy is attractive, otherwise, it is just a boss misusing his power to ask out his employee... We have all the core components, a black friend, a hot boss, a dominating mother, a cute girl that doesn't think she is beautiful, and of course a dashing playboy of a boss that falls in-love with her. Don't bother with this one unless you are super bored and have nothing better to do.
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bad acting, story and music
luciabcn865 September 2018
This is the worst movie I've seen for ages.

Other reviews have already mentioned how bad the acting and story is so I'll just say that the music in this movie drove me nuts. It was like this repetitive happy jingle and just enhanced the feeling of watching a bad story. I really wanted to turn the film off but I'm one of those people who has to finish things, so I did. Hopefully if there are other people like me, who have to finish what they start, I can get them off the hook by advising them to not even start the film due to how terrible it is.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Made my day
kabadayi-tugce17 July 2019
It's easy to watch and the main characters are so cute together. In the end of the film i was smiling and that is enough for me for these kind of movies. Sure the plot is cheap and easy and there are lots of faults but when you are having a bad day and all you want is watching some easy going romance movie you got it :)
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Right idea, wrong execution
hawiodhiambo1 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I really like the storyline but the acting was cringeworthy. In spite of them being love interests, there was no chemistry at all between Wes and Vivian. In fact Wes' realization of love at the end felt extremely forced. The love also felt one sided because Vivian didn't seem interested in Wes at any point. To crown it all, the attraction between Vivian's office mates in the final scene felt unnatural
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
it is a regular romantic movie
claire134518 August 2019
Don't expect a complicated plot. It is just a movie to spend a cold weekend. Just relax and don't think a lot. The main actors are pretty but the best one is Lauren (Adele). She is fabulous.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
It sucks.
rlatziu-790614 December 2018
If you don't know how to waste 90 minutes of your life, watch this movie.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
TOP 5 Worst movies ever..
gaolumoua30 November 2018
Storyline doesn't even make sense. And the horrible actors on top of that just makes it even worse. So bad I want to laugh. Haven't finished watching yet but I can already tell it's going to be horrible 😂😂
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Wtf is she wearing??
sajordan-5504426 September 2018
SO CHEESY. The acting, the storyline, it all sucks. But the outfits they have the main character in are ATROCIOUS! She has such a cute tiny figure and they have her in outfits that are way too big for her and that honestly wouldn't look good on anyone.

One positive note: the main actor is a STUD and so is the actor who plays his brother.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Diversity would be nice.
nkonutgan6 May 2018
Can we have more of Zarrin! At least the main actress is not blond, but some of the other characters like Zarrin have a lot more personality.
5 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bad acting
mikjegger11 December 2019
Yeah...cheesy doesn't always have to be bad. But this was really horrible, and mainly because of the bad acting.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed