Good Boys (2019) Poster

(II) (2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
247 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Funny as hell. Don't believe the bad reviews
dussaultjulien24 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
There are some people on here complaining about the crude language and jokes, but honestly, what were you expecting? Some Politically Correct, dull and boring fluff piece? You're in the wrong movie.

I haven't seen a movie that made me laugh this much since We're the Miller's. There were very few times where I wasn't laughing in this movie, and yes the jokes and humor were crude, but who cares? Can we not use crude and rude humor anymore without people getting offended anymore?

If you live as such a sensitive person, you should just stay inside with bare walls and only your thoughts, because if you live like that, then you may as well not watch anything because it might offend you. Stop being so sensitive everybody and calm the frick down.
72 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
POPCORN EMPIRE - Good Boys Review
nickrichardson-169196 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
"Good Boys is sporadically funny, but it quickly falls apart due to lazy writing, wonky plotting and repetitive gags... 3/10"

Good Boys is a hard-R comedy directed by Gene Stupnitsky (Bad Teacher, Year One) and produced by Seth Rogen and company, responsible for films such as Superbad and Sausage Party. The film revolves around three 6th grade kids who are invited to a "kissing party". Since they have no idea what they're getting into, the three boys try to do some research and "practice" before the party. This quickly leads to trouble, and each attempt to fix things only digs them into a deeper whole. While the 3 leads have some decent chemistry, there's little they can do to support the thin material they're given to work with. Good Boys is sporadically funny, but it falls apart due to lazy writing, wonky plotting and repetitive gags.

Warning: Spoilers Ahead!

From the opening scene of the film, things seem off. The dialogue is bizarre and forced, especially from Max's father. He comes into Max's room and says he's proud of him for learning to "sexually himself". Yes, this really happens.

In the first act, we get to know Max, Lucas, and Thor. While all three young actors do a solid job with the material, it can't save the thin characterization or repetitive jokes. There's a gag early on where Max brings out his dad's "CPR" doll to practice kissing on, but it's actually a sex doll. Not much later, Thor brings out "weapons" from his parent's closet, but they turn out to actually be sex toys.

Many of the jokes follow this same copy-paste formula: The kids are presented with subject matter/objects that they misinterpret or misunderstand. The audience is more aware than the kids in most situations, so you could drop them into basically any scenario and the jokes practically write themselves. The film coasts along relying on the innocence and ignorance of kids as it's template for cheap punchlines, and it quickly grows tiresome despite an occasionally chuckle-worthy line.

Good Boys reaches for an overarching tone of sentimentality and innocence, tossing in various topics that are common in coming-of-age stories, but they don't amount to much. The film touches on heavy concepts such as divorce, bullying, and self-acceptance, but these concepts are never fully realized or explored. The emotional beats feel unearned and underwritten.

There's a sequence towards the middle where Lucas gets in a slapstick bike wreck and dislocates his shoulder. Afraid to go the hospital, Max and Thor decide to take matters into their own hands. There's multiple shots where Lucas's shoulder is clearly visible, and you can see that someone forgot to reattach the prosthetic prop-arm in between shots. Max and Thor decide to pull on Lucas's arm to fix it as he cries out in pain. As soon as his arm pops back into place, things go back to normal immediately, and Lucas sits upright and says "my parents are getting divorced". The scene changes from slapstick humor to childhood drama in a split second. This sequence is especially sloppy in its execution, with an abrupt, awkward tonal shift.

Comedy has different appeals for everyone, so you may get more out of this movie than me. That said, it's practically indefensible as being a great film. It plays things too safe, doesn't have enough ideas, and none of the emotional beats ring true. There are some funny moments sprinkled throughout (the action sequence involving a paintball gun is extremely entertaining) but mostly, you've seen all of this before in better films. If you haven't, it'd be much more worth your time to seek them out instead of sitting through Good Boys in your local theater.

3/10
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious!!!
xabrasionx19 August 2019
I was laughing from beginning to end!! Don't listen to the uptight naysayers. If you failed to watch the trailer and went to this movie expecting something other than a raunchy inappropriate film you're foolish! The naivety of the actors is what truly made the movie comical; so why bash the creators for using young actors to deliver?!? Relax, watch the movie for what it is, and fall out of your chair laughing!!
54 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
People need to relax
rcoffey-7975921 August 2019
You can't go into this movie taking it seriously cause it doesn't take itself seriously. It's 90 minutes of dumb fun and that's it.
50 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The funniest movie of the year. Not a kid's movie at all
If you have enjoyed superbad, Harold and Kumar, pineapple express type of movies, then you will love good boys. They should have named the movie as superbad: highschool or superbad:-1 minus one. I was stressed out at work today and watching this certainly helped me to relax
45 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Funniest movie I have seen in a long time
joyfulll200021 August 2019
Loved this movie. The movie stayed true to most 12 year old boys every where. My 17 year old cursed like that with his friends at 11/12 when he thought we couldn't hear. I laughed out loud throughout this movie. Go see it!
39 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Uproariously hilarious throughout - I think I laughed the most in the audience!
UniqueParticle21 August 2019
It's important to note this movie is very very inappropriate and not for everyone! I loved almost everything about it on top of having a rough time in my life this really uplifted my spirits no matter what anyone thinks it's definitely worth a chance. I loved the rebellious humor, soundtrack made me smile, the cast was great, and believe it or not there is some well written dialogue.
43 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Terrible
jfaile-202-66739619 August 2019
This movie was awful and painfully unfunny. It's as if Seth Rogan and the writers thought that letting kids drop 300 F-bombs was comedy. Go rewatch Sixteen Candles, Goonies, Weird Science or even Superbad to see how these movies should be done.
60 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hysterical. Laughed the entire time
billybob-1567321 August 2019
Great movie. Recommend to anyone with a great sense of humor.
36 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Funny af!
lydianickerson7 August 2019
I don't understand the bad reviews for this film given who the creators were. I mean, come on! You should know what you're getting yourself into here. If you found those other movies funny, 100% go and see this. And the people giving it a one star for just the trailer, without even seeing it, shouldn't even be allowed to rate!

It's been awhile since I've laughed pretty much through an entire movie like this one. I am willing to bet those bad reviewers haven't even seen the other movies from these guys, because Sausage Party had worse scenes than this. But it all is the same type of humor. I loved it. My friend loved it. We're both chicks and were laughing throughout the whole thing.

When an entire theater is completely full (no seats left), all laughing and clapping throughout the whole thing, those bad reviewers are the minority.
109 out of 232 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So Funny!
flores8620 August 2019
There's something called having a sense of humor. Me and my wife loved the movie, everybody was laughing in the cinema too.. i thought it was hilarious, it's not kid friendly though that's for sure.
30 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This is literally the worst movie I've seen in my life
rick_yaeh22 August 2019
This movie is so bad The acting was bad, the story wasn't entertaining, the "jokes" were all clichés and the plot was insanely predictable.

Honestly, the movie didn't even make me smile in it's torturous 90 mins. I do not understand how anyone could find this an OK movie let alone a great movie...

I'd strongly recommend anyone not to waste their time by seeing this movie.
28 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not funny
screentimereviewer17 August 2019
Not funny. The actors are to young. If you have to use this age in this way to create a laugh, your lacking more than creativity. You can yell out, oh lighten up all you want, that in itself is a problem. All this lightening up is pushing the youth away from having a childhood, pressure to be more & choose more than their still developing minds are ready for.
105 out of 245 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely f'in hilarious
Frenchieep19 August 2019
If you watch this and don't find it funny I don't know what film you watched because it had me and the rest of the screen in stitches all the way through! The presence of Stephen Merchant just added to the film! Could watch it again no problem! Well done!!
27 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It deserves a 0 for being a pure piece of garbage
trinaboice17 August 2019
Shame on Universal Pictures for producing this trashy film. Shame on director Gene Stupinitsky for thinking this piece of garbage was worthy of putting on film. Shame on Lee Eisenberg for writing such filth. Shame on the young actors' parents for allowing their children to perform in such a disgusting movie.

The entire movie makes these young actors say and do disgraceful, disgusting, illegal, immoral, and unsafe things for the amusement of adults. This is one of those movies that is worthy of walking out of because it is so offensive. Let me just save you some time and money but encouraging you to skip this awful movie. Don't just skip it but protest against it. We wonder why the world is going down the toilet and then we allow this kind of garbage to entertain us?

HORRIBLE MOVIE
107 out of 255 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Brutal
amanda-4215818 August 2019
I can't believe the parents of these children let them be in a movie like this. Honestly. *face palm*
60 out of 136 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad movie
jaczerniak20 August 2019
Terrible, not funny and sad movie. Disgusting language .
38 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wow. This is bad.
kaberdeenvalentine13 August 2019
I didn't laugh once. This movie is really bad, really cliche, and beyond stupid. Falls flat on every "joke" and is so slapstick. Please, take me out to dinner before you screw me.
102 out of 245 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful Movie !!!!
chevolek17 August 2019
This is absolutely a no-brains movie that relies on foul language, sex and drugs to try very hard to be funny. I couldn´t give it a 0 unfortunately. I am not giving this movie a low rating because they use kids on it (swearing every 2 minutes) but that is a new low. Do not believe the good reviews, avoid this movie at all costs and save money and time.
98 out of 236 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Avoid this movie at all costs.
heavyrocks16 August 2019
It puts dirty talking pre-teen boys in explicit sexual situations. Enough said.
89 out of 213 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Laughs laughs laugh
jessicaspooner19 August 2019
Funny af. Hilarious and well acted. The kid are great and the theater was full of laughter
25 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious, not for the faint of heart.
CharlesClute18 August 2019
Great movie laughed uncontrollably from beginning to end. Not for youngsters or those with sensitivity issues.
25 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad Boys & Not Good Boys!. This Movie Will Corrupt teens!
ritojozura21 August 2019
Good Boys movie tells the story of 3 corrupt 13 year old boys who watch porn in secrecy and swear like whores!. I did not find comedy in offensive bad language and no plot at all . The only useful thing about this movie is that it will sure corrupt your children and your teen boys and girls.
43 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Promotion of Degeneracy Towards Kids.
suspence852619 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
And we wonder why kids today act the way they do. Why does Hollywood like to push vulgar Toxic movies on to our kids? Instead of promoting values,morals, and teachable lessons Hollywood and Seth Rogan push vulgarity. If I knew Seth Rogan was behind this trash I would have given those free tickets they were handling out to the dumpster. Hollywood is pure filth and the children of satan who run it.

Another disappointed More Review from a WOC.
66 out of 157 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Unoriginal, crass, and shallow, Good Boys probably looked better on paper than it does on screen.
cadillac2011 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Comedy has always evolved by pushing the boundaries of what is acceptable in the face of the public. What constitutes as a typical for comedy in film and TV today would have been unheard of 50 years ago except maybe in comedy clubs and private venues. So, perhaps then, it's inevitable that we would arrive at a comedy about sixth graders cussing, drinking from a beer bottle, and talking about sex. And I am sure that there is an intelligent way to write about something like that. Unfortunately, Good Boys is not smartly written. It's funny to a point, but the film seems to be so smitten by the sixth grade boys poking around adult themes that it rarely tries to go beyond being raunchy and crass. Pre-teens saying fuck can be funny to a point, it worked for South Park, but after hearing it a dozen times, it kind of stops being funny. That's how much of the humor is in Good Boys. Mostly funny in concept or in a trailer, where you take the film in snippets, it's a film that doesn't go much deeper than shallow jokes and tired tropes.

I will say that maybe this simply wasn't for me. It is amusing in the same way it's amusing to see kids do shocking things that make us laugh. Maybe this film works better for young parents who are young enough to appreciate the raunchy and raucous comedies from the past three or so decades and now have little sixth graders of their own. Maybe the idea of pre-teens acting this way is hilarious to that specific crowd. I honestly have no idea. But the jokes here feel too easy and too shallow. Part of the problem here is that the film wants to convey the feeling of films we've seen before, but with sixth graders instead. When Seth and Evan go to get beer for a high school party in Superbad and end up getting wasted when they get there, it comes across as natural and relatable because, even if that wasn't us in high school, we at least heard about someone in high school like that. When a sixth grader goes to steal a beer and goes to a '"rager" at his sixth grade friends house, it enters a field of parody. Who knows, maybe this was meant to be a parody of those films. It would certainly make more sense. Here, though, it doesn't feel like a parody. Then again, maybe that's what sixth graders are in fact doing. The film does give the kids slightly more innocent things to focus on, like kissing and not getting grounded, and it would be more funny if the humor was written with more wit, but things essentially boil down to 'What are anal beads?', 'I want to learn how to kiss, so let's look up porn', and 'we're in sixth grade, but the cool kids take a couple sips of beer, so I want to too'.

It doesn't help that we're forced to spend time with kids that leave a lot to be desired in the way of acting. These kids certainly seem like they could be good actors, but the jokes they have to tell feel so forced and they're stuck in such cliched parts, it comes across as, once again, parody. Jacob Tremblay, playing lead Max, has a pretty decent resume, but here he's the typical lead, an everyman who wants the girl and goes to great, exaggerated lengths to get there. Brady Noon is drama kid Thor, who wants to be cool, but tries too hard. And Keith L. Williams is the nice, honest guy to a fault. These are all archetypes we saw in American Pie, shrunk down to pint size levels and who's cares and concerns are simpler forms of getting laid, getting drunk, and figuring out how to grow up. The only problem is that this film wants to apply the same standards of those comedies to this one. On paper, it probably seems like a great idea. In execution, we get characters who are conflicted in the worst ways and actors who try to exude both parts of the film, with neither the child like innocence or teen comedy aspects coming across with quality.

I found the trailer for the movie to be pretty funny. Perhaps, that is how the film is best enjoyed, in parts. As a whole, it's a better concept than a 90 minute film. There's probably a decent size audience for it too. The audience I saw it with seemed to find it hilarious and critics are giving it good ratings. For myself, I just didn't find it that funny. It didn't feel natural enough to be relatable or witty enough to make me genuinely laugh. Did I laugh? Sure, it was amusing. But as a comedy film, it left a lot to be desired.
114 out of 285 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed