Tom of Your Life (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
13 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
it happens once in a while
ops-525351 September 2020
That when you start watching a movie, you get this lingering feeling that this is something good and sensational, and that happened today by this film called ''tom of your life''. i think the main reason is that its an original idea, that ive not seen before, the plot tells the story about a boy that grows superfast, at a speed of 4 years pr hour, and easy calculating tells that a person at that pace will be 96 years in 24 hours, so that one is new. weve seen other films doing the backward stuff but not like this....

its a film made on a dime, some of the sound and filmographic work have signs of a non steady hand at the switches, but the acting are superb, and the switching over to a new actor in the tom role is just amazingly well done.

it jumps so fast in time like a frog on a crowded track, so hang on as best as you can, its fun and its inevitably sad and emotional, and there are many things they have passed in mute-ness, due to a whole lot of things that may happen in a lifetime, so its a pick and choose movie, and the choices made are brilliant, and should also be seen by you , thinks the grumpy old man. its an eight and a big recommend.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Little Jewel of a Film
bohnbreath12 September 2020
I watched this lovely little film in the midst of wildfires and smoke in California, a global pandemic, a political crisis, an economic collapse, and a couple of personal catastrophes. It takes a lot to distract and cheer me these days! To our great surprise and pleasure, my husband and I both settled cozily into this visually stunning, sensitively written and directed and surprisingly very well acted (given the relative obscurity of its cast) little tale, and ended up feeling refreshed and restored by it, ready for another round of the privilege of being alive, no matter what. Can't ask for more than that from a film! I hope you treat yourself, too. And I hope we see more from Jeremy Sklar.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great movie for all ages
aaronbrooks-2440813 September 2020
I had no idea what to expect coming into this movie and boy was I surprised - in a gray way. The writing, acting, cinematography (the film looks beautiful), everything about this movie feels special from the beginning. It is clear that the writer, director, star, producer, music writer and performer (what else did this guy do?) Jer Sklar just gets it and I for one can't wait to see more from this talented film maker.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Simply Wonderful Storytelling and Filmmaking
deazua10 September 2020
Independent films with limited budgets are propelled exclusively by the power of the script, the talent of the actors, the quality of the cinematography, the effectiveness of the editing, the sound, lighting, etc, etc. All elements that must be brilliantly aligned and executed in order to captivate and engage audiences. Extremely difficult to pull off with adequate resources, miraculous when achieved with limited resources. TOM OF YOUR LIFE is such a miracle. Every minute of this film captivates and engages the audience in a simple story that defies illusions of time and space to underscore essential truths defining our humanity. Simple, beautiful and powerful storytelling and filmmaking.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Brief Life, Well-Lived (and well-told)
CorpeningMedia10 September 2020
I got to view this movie as part of the Burbank International Film Festival. I can honestly say that from the very beginning you know exactly where you're headed, but when you get there, the film will still shatter you. With some subtle curve balls, the story of a life lived in a fraction of time elicits a bittersweet melancholy that will leave you teary-eyed and smiling warmly. Yeah, I know, that pretty much describes life. The performances and gentle depiction of what would otherwise be an average life, lift this story out of the realm of the ordinary, without thrusting into the absurd.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What a great surprise!
rickovitz-0745314 October 2020
I love when I see a film I know nothing about and it grabs me instantly like this. A very clever premise with just enough masterful exposition to pull the characters through and connect. Beautiful understated acting, excellent production values and cinematgraphy. This is a sleeper hit well worth the discovery.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So fine.
jpin79-316-8181824 September 2020
I think this is a brilliant movie with a superb cast and nothing felt safe about it or many things felt brave.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
We're still talking about it
suzikaitz24 September 2020
"A day in the life" took on a whole new meaning in Tom of Your Life. A sweet and poignant film with wonderful actors. It had a determination that forced the viewer to let go of what's happening outside the front door and join Jer on his surprising journey. At our house, we're still talking about how we'd fill our day if we knew we were living our last one. Congrats to all involved.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Your movie to watch this month
amaybrook24 September 2020
If there is one movie to watch this month -- with your significant other, with your class (if you're a high school or college teacher), or on your own -- this is it. This wonderful "fable" as it's noted, is based the question we all have asked ourselves or others: If you had just one day to live, how would you live it? Then it takes the question to the next level: How would you live it as a child? As an teenager? As an adult? At the end of your life? The acting is superb, especially writer/actor Sklar and actress Baize Buzan. Fascinating to see a film where one talented soul writes the story, directs, acts several roles, and even writes the music. The images, the sub-stories, the songs, and the original humor keep you engaged and thinking.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A heartfelt journey through life's milestone moments
jamessharpe312 September 2020
When this ride starts you're not quite sure where you're going but it takes you to the perfect spot. A great film for folks who like the opportunity to reflect upon and explore the meaning life.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great flick!
lifisguud14 November 2020
Entertaining, made me smile- thoroughly entertaining.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Interesting Fantasy
GerryofNorVA21 October 2020
Interesting concept and interesting story elements pieced together to make this a somewhat plausible tale. Some parts are funny, boring, WTH, and touching esp near the end where you may find yourself grabbing for tissues. Jeremy Sklar does double duty as director and co-star "Tom". Would like to see more of Baize Buzan, too.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Could of been somthing special.
thetino9 September 2020
Wow.. I've never been so disappointed with a movie, with such a great premise , I was expecting big things. I mean its about a guy who ages 4 years ever hour.. how could that fail.

This movie was average at best. No connection with either of the two mains and the script was all over the place.

I was expecting a forrest gump feel good type of movie but with the uniqueness of trying to fit it into 24 hours, which could go down so many routes, and ending on a real tear Jerker.. towards the end, I was really hoping the movie would pull a few points back with a twist that had Tom revert back to a baby after 24 hours and live a new life every day, which would of fitted nicely with how she already had clothes in the boot of the car at the start as they could of been his from the day before.

I don't really review much but I this is the first time I've felt a movie should of been so much more.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed