Elite (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

(2018– )

User Reviews

Review this title
449 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Started entertaining but became a soulless sex show
ultra-taya15 April 2022
The series began interesting but after the first season it became more and more a soft porn. The story was over so they tried to catch up the viewers by nudity and sex- sex sells. This makes me mad because I really enjoyed the first season. It had social criticism, generation conflicts, gender related discussions, racism etc. During the time all of these topics disappeared. Elite could be such an amazing show but they ruined it.
24 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Getting worse and worse
nobere19 April 2022
Oh God this series turned out ridiculous.. The more seasons come out the more characters become annoying. All of the good characters and actors left/were written out of the show, obviously they can't be high school students forever.. always the same situation and the same problems, someone always has to die.. and their acting skills are literally funny I rated the first two season 8, but after s4 and s5 I've modified 5-6 You know, people should know when to stop something.
19 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Guilty Pleasure
S1 to S3 were great but S4 is a major letdown. It seems the characters suffer from amnesia because they keep repeating the same mistakes followed by illogical actions which follow such mistakes. Like I for one couldn't understand how characters just betray, forgive and forget so easily only to repeat this cycle countless times. "It was just sex" the characters make the relationships sound so insignificant with this dialogue and to top it all this statement does work as an excuse. All in all it was fine initially but now it's gotten on my nerves how stupid the characters of this show are.
69 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Should be ended on season 3 as Season 4 is boring
msubhedar18 June 2021
Really it was good till season 3. I would give 8 stars to the story and mystery. Season 4 is just a crap there is no story at all. They just stretched it without any story and mystery.
106 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
No storyline, lots of sex
fersiaf28 June 2021
Am I watching soft porn here? The first 2 episodes there are already lots of nudity and sex. And are the elite teenagers in Spain really like this? Not just teenagers but high school students. Sorry, but Elite is going down with this season.
114 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Really impressed
giorgiddd6 October 2018
I've already finished; the series premiered this morning. I think that it's really interesting drama, with many intrigues.,interesting characters (you may recognize people from your life), beautiful scenes. Actors are really beautiful and talented - generally young people acting so professionally. Story itself is really provocative, once you start, you can't stop, that's how I finished it in less than 24 hours and I am already hoping that there will be season 2.

I have to say that they have used some really good songs.

Well, I think it's a nict show to watch.

Thank you Netflix !
237 out of 287 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good Enough
PennyReviews21 September 2020
First Season : pretty good. The story was build up smoothly, adding more suspense as the mystery was being unfolded, with a solid soundtrack, nice performances and the air of gossip girl. Second Season : Okay Not bad, but not as good as the first one. Nice addition of new characters and smooth character development. Third Season : Try hard Boring and like a bad version of the first season. Tried hard to shock and make things scandalous and edgy, but did not succeed.
29 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Too far gone
abdassy10 April 2022
It should have ended on season 3 it was the best series with a great ending and a farewell to the characters... After that it became so uninteresting with new boring characters. Even some of the best characters were gone after season 3.
21 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Everything went downhill after season 3
zokinus_10 April 2022
I absolutely loved the first 3 seasons of the show. Season 4 was already a disappointment and season 5 is an even bigger mess in my opinion.

Everything is just way over the top. The characters have no real depth and are annoying too and the storylines, which aren't even executed well, are beyond ridiculous.

Also, what's with the sex scenes? I'm always here for intimate scenes but there's something sexual going on every 10 minutes which is so unnecessary. Sometimes less is more.

This is not the Élite i've come to enjoy anymore.
27 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very slick.
Sleepin_Dragon11 October 2018
Elite is a very well made drama series, the production values are incredibly slick, and the acting is truly great. If you're able to watch it in its native language with subtitles I would advise it, as the English dubbing really doesn't work, it becomes a very distracting watch, same as with The Rain. The first episode is great, it does get a little slow for a few episodes, but then picks up very nicely. It's a binge watch I really enjoed. 8/10
59 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Script written by a horny teenager
dctatjer27 June 2021
Season 1 might not be bad but the other two are the worst I have ever watched. The script does not make sense at all and there is no character development.

The only reason behind its success is the actors who, despite lack of acting skills, are hot and attract young audience.
68 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
What happened to the writers?
azizmalhas6 July 2021
Season 1 & 2 were great and all characters were great and lovable.

Season 3 wasn't as good but still, it had some great moments to it and didn't drift away from the purpose.

Season 4. I was like what? Is this another show with the same actors? Were the writers out of ideas and just wanted a sequel? And what's with the barrage of unnecessary s!x scenes ? There was no chemistry whatsoever with the new characters.

Major Let down really.

I hope that by some miracle they manage to revive the series in season 5.

Thanks.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Ludicrous but watchable tosh
laduqesa26 June 2021
I've seen all four seasons. It's pure escapism and I enjoyed it. It is not true to life - no set of people could be so wicked.

Just some impressions. The majority of the frocks are the most dreadful I have seen. The snazzy clothes worn by the lads are equally ghastly. The women playing lesbians were clearly not up for the job - the kisses and embraces were obviously fake. However, the guys playing gays brought verisimilitude to their roles and looked like they were true to life - they were kissing properly and what appeared to be passionately, unlike the female actresses. I have never seen so many hunky lads and attractive women in a series. Surely not all rich people are beautiful? Even the parents were stunners for the most part.

I assume there will be a season five. I shall certainly watch it.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Far better than expected - bearing in mind that I am outside its target group
BeneCumb6 March 2021
/Refers to Seasons 1-3/ I tend to prefer Scandinavian and UK drama/thriller series, but from time to time I like to widen my horizons as for countries, languages and topics. So I somehow landed at Elite and... stayed watching it, all series available so far. With mainly new approaches, new faces (well, some were familiar from Casa de Papel which I liked a lot), new environment, etc... Élite is fresh in many ways and it carries you along somehow... Even with flashbacks, recurring events and other elements used before, but still... Teen drama is everywhere (still, is attitudes towards sex, drugs and booze so broad-minded in Spain for 16-17 year olds?!) The rich cry too, money is not everything - although many poorer would prefer to try it anyway... This Series gives food for thought, particularly if our societies will be governed by people who have so many skeletons in the closets and "spoilt" by unhealthy youth? Vis-a-vis nations and with themselves. Anyway, looking forward to following seasons.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Skewed Existential Masterpiece
dansview26 May 2020
I've been watching media forever. But I've never seen anything quite like this. It holds nothing back in its' determination to expose the worst aspects of human nature.....and some of the best. All in decadent splendor.

In doing so, it hits hard on class conflict, without providing much balance to the morality of wealth. Most of the heroes here are poor, although far from perfect and the villains wealthy. Meanwhile teachers, administrators and cops take all the heat, while the kids claim the glory.

But that doesn't ruin what was otherwise an unflinching, magnified look at the nature of desire, dependence, jealousy, friendship, loyalty, lust, and evil.

With no mention of God, we are left to determine for ourselves, what constitutes right and wrong, good and bad, as well as the value of proportional punishment for crimes of passion.

If you do something horrible in a fit of rage, should you suffer the same fate as your victim? Emotion would tell you yes, but logic may not. During those few moments of rage, you are technically insane. Afterward, you are back to being a normal person who wouldn't dream of doing what you just did.

So should you spend your life in prison, or burn in hell?

When it's your life on the line, no matter how guilty you feel, you may find a way to rationalize your desire to keep on living as you have been. But will others let you forget? Will your conscience?

People might say that the sex, drugs, and violence displayed here are over-the-top. They may be in terms of their volume at one school. But I do believe that super rich, super smart, unsupervised kids grow up fast, and that many people have bi-sexual tendencies.

These people fluctuate between treating each other horribly and coming to one another's aid. One character's speech explains it to a degree. They are imperfect beings, with loads of money and freedom to burn, living in a pressure cooker together for four years. Chaos ensues.

But in the final analysis, many or most, loved each other. In a complex way that perhaps only they could truly understand. Life is messy.

Lifelong friendship is a unique experience that most of us probably never taste. But it is depicted here with keen detail. Friends are addicted to one another and bleed when the other bleeds. They can't get enough, and they ultimately accept deviance and worse in the ones they love.

Presenting fictional teens having sex, including loads of same sex encounters, may reflect "Euro" values about such matters. It may make you squirm, even if the actors may be technically past age 18. If you're conservative, fast forward past these scenes.

Music plays a major role. It is mostly electronic dance music presented at a club where the kids guzzle booze. (I didn't catch the explanation for how this is possible). But also lyrical music through people's headphones.

The Middle Eastern family are nice people. They were presented with dignity. The kids had no desire to hurt their parents. But they were growing up in Spain, not the Middle East, and feel tempted to live as others there do.

Plenty of people from traditional cultures maintain their lifestyle. It just wasn't in the cards for this family.

The acting is way above average. I never thought of them as actors. That's how much I believed them. Their roles require lots of emotion and they delivered beautifully. Also, their characters are complex and conflicted. That's not easy to portray. Great job.

But the reason I'm still thinking about this thing in the middle of the night, is because it makes you face the absurdity of existence, and that runs counter to my official philosophy.

Stuff happens. We make mistakes, we give in, we take back, we make up, and sometimes we die early, and there isn't always any rhyme or reason to it. Redemption comes and goes. But we just want to live, and one mistake can doom it all. That's how fragile is our existence.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Èlite
BlakeRsanchez837 October 2018
The Èlite is a good Spanish tv show.. loved it from the beginning to the end. I laughed I was on the edge of my seat. I couldn't put this show away, all I can say is that I am in love with this tv show I hope there will be more of this. The only thing I hated was only 8 episodes, the ending leaves us wondering they better make another season, give me more I hope you all will love it the way I do because at the end of the day it's a good f###### show
82 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Give us more European teen shows like this, please!
nina_fairfax8 October 2018
Good acting. Beautiful setting. Some cliché tropes that are actually used in an original way, and some twist and turns I definitely did not see coming. The characters are believable, they have depth and weaknesses and aren't adults doing adult things while telling the viewer they really are sixteen (unlike shows like Gossip Girl). I loved the European groundedness of it, there's a realism to this show American teen shows never seem to possess. I've been surprised plenty of times, I'd definetely recommend, also for the older viewer who likes a good murder mystery.
133 out of 171 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well done!
reycarlab7 October 2018
Honestly I loved it! The acting is amazing compared to other teen series of sort of the same genre like Riverdale, Pretty little liars and Gossip Girl,wich we all know the acting is puke worthy. What I didn't like was how they expect us to see all of these "teens" with overly active sexual lifestyles that not even an adult could keep up with,I get it they're young and wild but it's just not believable. Other than that totally would recommend.
143 out of 187 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Season 1 and 2 are ok but then super cringe
mariapcdm14 April 2022
The first two seasons were good. The story was interesting, the characters had depth and generally behaved like "normal" teenagers. Seasons 3, 4 and 5 became super cringe. It's all about sex, crimes and fancy clothes. Are we really talking about high school students? Anyway, a pity but I suppose that's how it keeps the audiences...
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Season 4 is a no no no no no no
poojanagisetty-1566226 June 2021
Season 1-3 just very good and sticks to the good storyline Season 4 was completely wasted Looks like made just for the sake of it.
77 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Spanish Gossip Girl Whodunit
abbykern6 October 2018
Solidly entertaining for what it is. Think every tenn show you've ever seen and add a dash of the Affair or How To Get Away With Murder. It's melodrama through and through. Pretty teens. Uncaring families. Poor little rich girls and boys. Even poorer poor kids. Nobody is happy in this world. Somebody winds up dead. Somebody's going to jail. You find somebody to love you'd better hang on tooth and nail. The wolf is always at the door.

It deals with some real issues: notably Islamaphobia and the repressive nature of fundamentalism, coming out of the closet, open relationships and threesomes, HIV and the seeming impossibility of reinventing yourself in highschool. All hormones, no autonomy. Such is life.

Well worth a binge watch if you're stuck inside on a rainy day. You won't find yourself transfixed but you will want to know what happens next. The writing felt a little stale but of course translations and voiceovers don't always capture the rhythm of the original dialogue. Still something tells me the writer isn't Spain's answer to Shondre Rhimes or Aaron Sorkin.
100 out of 127 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
(Rating 2.5) Season 4: Superbly terrible (ver. 1.0)
cjonesas12 July 2021
Season 4 pros and cons:

(+) - The sun, light, trees, verdure, nice cloths, upbeat tempo music and Citroen cars!

(-) - Anything that doesn't belong to the above

A farce of a season with an ounce of entertainment, zero thrill, sub_zero suspense and basically 8x50min of moving objects.

I understand now, that's what they were busy with for 15 months and filming last seasons (4 and 5) back to back.

Already dreading the 5th!
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stop this already
Kedm8922 April 2022
I loved the first few seasons but it's getting more and more ridiculous with every season. How many cliches do they need to touch upon. And a dead person, again...?!
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I love this show and the characters so much, so so much.
ognjenlukic9615 March 2020
Season 3 is the absolute best so far, so many moments where I was genuinely surprised and speachless, and everything is so smartly done, you get so involved with the chatacters and love them with time, really one of the best shows of this type I watched !
111 out of 143 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
So outstandingly bad
niatzvetanova24 June 2021
I mean the first two season had some idea behind it and I were interesting to watch but the last season is so bad I could not even imagine. Very unnecessarily sexual, no plot at all, just sex, dull characters pretty uninteresting ending and an unsuccessful attempt to a plot twist.
82 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed