A Madea Family Funeral (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
102 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Bad bad bad
IMDB_member6 April 2019
It is time to put Madea to sleep. Completely boring.
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your money like I did
socialsunshine-126455 April 2019
This was unarguably the absolute worst movie I've ever seen in theaters. Literally it was so bad, that for the first time ever I had to leave before the film was even close to being over (I left about 15 minutes in actually). The "jokes", if you can even call them that, were so terrible. They were poorly timed, poorly delivered, and overdone (like material that would have been expected about 15 years ago in a pg-13 B film that went straight to video). Actually pretty much all of the characters and situations in the film were so absolutely asinine and poorly done. Tyler Perry actually needs to stop making things, this was just so left field and obviously no real effort was put into making this film tolerable, let alone funny. If I could give this a 0 Rating I absolutely would.
29 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible, we walked out and got our money back
brionesmark30 March 2019
It was extremely low budget, the comedy was worse than dry. It was was horrible. The characters forced their lines. I felt like it was a movie that could've been filmed in the 80's. If you are a die hard fan, enjoy! In my 49 years it's only the second movie I couldn't endure.
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good movie!
lateefwarnick4 March 2019
Ok, people stop the madness! I'm not sure why the ratings for this movie are currently so low (4.4). I'm not even a big Madea fan but I saw it and was thoroughly entertained! In honesty, I think it deserves to be between 7-8 so that's the only reason I'm giving it a 10 to help boost the overall ratings. I haven't seen all of the Madea movies but based on the ones I have seen, this is definitely one of the better. Go on and see it. You'll have some good laughs, enjoy it and not be disappointed...
58 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A hilarious farewell for Madea
gabriels-454838 March 2019
A Madea Family Funeral was full of some of the same jokes as the previous films but it kept me laughing! They should do a spin-off movie of the other characters like Joe. Great movie all around :)
47 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very good movie for anyone that wants to laugh and a very good message
itsthomasbrown-692973 March 2019
This is Tyler Perry's last Madea movie, and the critics might not give it great reviews but it's a hilarious movie with a great message for people and it's worth a watch!!
54 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilariously Funny
lavedatravis10 March 2019
Thank you Tyler Perry for laughs! This film is my most favorite and I hate to see you go.

This is M U S T S E E ! !
36 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Negative viewers have no sense of humor.
sofungshui3 March 2019
Don't let the negative viewers discourage you. See it for yourself. This movies was hilarious & worth seeing.
59 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Shambles
daniellawsonrt19 March 2019
I would rather watch the directors cut of Norbit with Eddie Murphy than sit through this garbage again...
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
HILARIOUS!!
alisabethmcclinton17 March 2019
This movie is AMAZING Don't look at the negative ratings some people have given this movie I've watched Madea since I was little This is one of the funniest ones You will love it This definitely shouldn't be Tyler Perrys last Madea movie I hope he's taking a break and comes out with more GO SEE IT
27 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Outstanding...... Comedy masterpiece.....
ajjj0131091 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Ignore the negative reviews and go laugh! People will steer you wrong. This movie is a mix of comedy with a positive message. You'll be laughing throughout as well as having a heart to heart with yourself and/or your significant other. It's the ultimate comedy romance movie. It touches on almost every area of life and you're laughing the whole time almost. Must see.
55 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ingore the haters
gmrwalkingdead2 March 2019
Ingore the IMDb rating this movie will make you laugh until you can't laugh anymore
44 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious!
coasterguyoh2 March 2019
This is the best Madea movie ever! Run to go see it.
51 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny
marginotcatching11 March 2019
Very very very very very very very very very very very humorous
32 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
DISGUSTING Movie, Don't bother!
maboh213 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
If I could give it a ZERO, I would. HUGE Disappointment! Walked out after 25minutes. NOT funny, just disgusting. Those first 25 minutes were an ongoing porno audio about sexual positions and erections. BORING, not funny. We finally walked out when the movie ended up revealing that the "beloved" husband that the adult children loved so much died in a hotel room through a sadomasochistic act of self-strangulation by a female friend of the family. And he did this a couple hours BEFORE the Family Anniversary Party he knew his children were hosting! We kept hoping the movie would get better, but that was the last straw. This movie is nothing like the Madea Halloween or Witness Protection or Christmas movies. Tyler Perry insulted his audience with this movie and it makes me wonder what kind of pervert he is in real life... If you like porn and stupidity, see this movie. This is the last time we watch anything Perry does. Who needs this kind of poison in their life!
28 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Do not be a Cheater in a Relationship
timeblank3 March 2019
I believe this is Tyler Perry's last movie. Madea Family Funeral had laughs, drama, and a serious life lesson. A family member just died from something so shocking it will mess up everyone.

I really enjoyed the story and the serious tone of this movie. This didn't felt boring but I felt like it brought my attention to the movie. Especially the third act where everything is revealed. Cheaters never prosper in life. Sometimes they need to accept the hurt and move on. The apologies will never cut it. Because you have to realize you are the weak person who needs to change. If you cannot see it. Do not waste my time arguing about it! That's a life lesson we all should take in. Loved the message from this movie! Thank you Tyler Perry for this great film.
36 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I usually secretly enjoy Tyler Perry...
jenniferlynn-495554 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Not this time! I know his movies aren't for everyone but I like them. There is usually a dysfunctional family secret somewhere. I even love Madea and Joe is ok. How many characters does Tyler need to play? Does he think he's Eddie Murphy? It's too much and the acting... What happened??? No one can act in this, not even him. I'm so disappointed that I can't secretly enjoy this movie. All the older characters are trying to be funny but that's it, just trying too hard. The whole movie is trying to disguise itself as a good movie. Normally, there are a few family branches, with a lot of different characters and story lines but this is too much. So many people and it feels different than the rest of his movies. I'm not a prude by any means but this movie has a lot more sexual refrences, cheesy refrences, than his other movies. I'm embarrassed for everyone in this movie, including Punk, from I love New York. Let's face it, this is what he should be embarrassed for and not for being named Punk, competing for the love of that obnoxious, foul mouthed ashtray. That's bad! The cop scene was shameful. If you're going to tackle a real issue, don't make light of it in a stupid way. You can make serious things funny but that's the key word, funny. It was ridiculously stupid. Like I said, normally, I secretly love his movies but this is worse than a made for tv movie. I rented this because I've never been let down before but I don't think I can even finish it... I'm not mad Tyler just disappointed.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just stop
siobhanskinner-9330210 March 2019
When will they stop making these terrible movies? Stereotypical characters, bad writing, crude humor.
31 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Slapstick Funny Crazy!!!
liven6981217 March 2019
Please excuse my language, but Funny ASF is the most accurate way for me to describe this movie! I mean the movie was slapstick funny crazy! I do not know what Tyler Perry's plans are after Madea, but I wish him great success. And, I hope he figures out how to obtain the film rights to his Madea movies because they are treasures!!!
24 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible Movie
tobybriley-1816423 March 2019
This movie is bottom of the barrel for Tyler Perry hands down the worst Madea movie and possibly the worst movie ever. Vulgar, crude, tried to tackle a serious issue and miserably failed at that. Terrible police scene and this movie is nothing more than a piece of trash.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Tyler Perry Making Real Social/Cultural Statements
TheTruthDoor4 March 2019
Tyler Perry has become a billionaire making silly films that people love to watch, especially blacks. "A Madea Family Funeral" is exactly what you expect if you have seen the other Madea movies.

Love, drama, anger, it's all here. BUT, there is a very important undertone to Madea movies that I think gets overlooked....Tyler Perry is making a statement about real life....for both blacks & whites.

This movie has some very important statements if you take the time to look past the corniness. The differences between the old and young characters is stark, the overreaction of death with the 10-hour long funeral, Brian (Tyler Perry) getting pulled over by the crazy white cop and the perfect ending to the film. All of these were statements by Tyler Perry.

The theater was packed and I was just about the only white person in the theater, many people laughed loudly during the film....I don't remember laughing at all but I still enjoyed it. Especially the beautiful young black females that were in the film....just beautiful.

It's time for Madea to retire.....and I believe the last scene stated that perfectly.
26 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Who would rate this a 10 or even a 9 for that matter
jhawk-0637220 May 2019
This tripe isn't even worth the 1 star I gave or 8-9 either I can't believe the people that would rate this that. I would have to guess that they don't watch or understand the voting system or the impact of voting a movie incorrectly or beyond reason.I was happy to read this was the last of Tyler Perry's madness I mean the guy has never made a movie that has been rated above a 5 on here. Where is this guy getting money to do these incredibly poor movies. Many comedians before Perry did the male dressed as a female and it worked even big mamas house was ten times better and it sucked too. My advice to anyone skip this one there are far better movies available.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pretty bad, waste of time & money
repete5212 March 2019
I have seen a few of films by Perry, including 2 others in the Madea series... This was the worst film I have seen in a while. Insulting, offensive, stupid, tacky... and none of those in a good way. We kept thinking it would get better, it didn't. After about 30 minutes we walked out, went to the ticket counter and got our money back.
22 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If you're a TRUE "Madea" fan, see the movie
parrfait321 March 2019
Not sure why folks are bashing this movie. I laughed hysterically like I always do when I watch a Madea movie. It was well worth the $. Even my husband laughed and he doesn't like any of the Madea movies. It was HILARIOUS throughout the whole thing and did NOT disappoint!!!!! I'd pay to see it again.
19 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pretty good
shaneka_herbin1 March 2019
Slow start but hilarious throughout. A little predictable but a pretty good watch.
28 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed