Station 19 (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

(2018– )

User Reviews

Review this title
188 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Pathetic
jackbenton223 March 2018
Chicago Fire has nothing to worry about with this trash. Unreal. As a Firefighter, I'm Truly embarrassed.
115 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Are you kidding me?
sonicvoodoo23 March 2018
I NEVER write reviews. I like sappy melodramas. I don't expect much from network TV and settle for most anything when I'm bored. All this being said, this series is just plain awful/terrible. I find it absolutely incredible that ANYONE would invest time and money and then decide to air this junk. It really baffles me.
70 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Chicago Fire Wannabee Fails Miserably
LiquidPoetry192124 March 2018
Perhaps because 'Scandal' is coming to an end, and 'Grey's Anatomy' is in its 56th+ season, Shondra Rimes is looking for a new venture to undertake. If she's trying to turn Seattle into what Dick Wolf did with Chicago, 'Station 19' is a COLOSSAL fail.

Not only is the acting abysmal, the storylines are as well. Where 'Chicago Fire' is packed each week with firefighters/paramedics attending to car crashes, gas explosions, building fires, etc., ~ with the occasional romantic/personal situation thrown in, 'Station 19' is exactly the opposite ~ an hour long soap opera with the occasional fire related incident gratuitously worked into the plot line.

Note to Ms. Rimes: Just because you can, really doesn't mean you should. Gave a VERY generous 1* out of 10.
50 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Enormously disappointing,childish, and poorly written
paul_atallah23 March 2018
I watched an episode and a half, just to see what show ABC had put in the face of Chicago Fire, same category. The least i can say is that the two shows are incomparable.

First of all, you need to get attached to a credible written show and this is not the case. No real background on fire fighter department work, artificial acting and ridiculous music more suitable for a comedy show that a serious one.

In summary, very amateurish series.
48 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible
Shellymartinez0823 March 2018
I was excited about the show , but seriously disappointed . I expected more ! Main actress character is the worst protagonist ever . I can't watch anymore
55 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Crap
acsnyder1923 March 2018
"I used to see this all the time when I was a doctor..."

Said no one ever...

This show blows.
59 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stupid
YouMakeMe23 March 2018
This is so boring couldn't get into any character. Chicago Fire is so much better.
28 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So bad
kalisadickenson5 April 2018
Acting - horrible. Characters - unrelatable. Storyline - unbelievable. Those flash spoilers suck hard. Chicago Fire has no worries with this garbage!!
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Jaw Dropping bad.
tdonnelly-428 March 2018
The short list. -Unhealthy senior citizen ground command captain enter the burring house to look for people.
  • Firefighter is not allowed to search a kids room during a fire.
_-Senior citizen captain not just works with his daughter but prompts her .
  • 50/50 male female fire fighter ratio.
  • I'm waiting for a transgender quadriplegia to join the fire crew next.
To fake for me , so I'm out. It's maybe for the soap opera types.
32 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
WORST PROGRAM EVER- and I mean in the history of television
DreamyOneNumber124 March 2018
I love the police dramas, the legal dramas, the medical shows, the shows about the fire departments and first responders.... I was looking forward to this. Sadly, it was difficult to get through even five minutes of it. But I was hopeful that it might get better so I decided to watch it to its conclusion.

The writing is awful. The acting is worse, but how can one act when one is given such an awful script. It's unrealistic. The camera work stinks. There's nothing redeeming. The casting is horrific. The female lead is just horrible. She might be good elsewhere, given the chance, but certainly not here. This show seems so cheaply made, as if someone just threw it together for the four to six year old crowd. What an awful failure. What an embarrassment for ABC.

I thought, when I saw the commercials this might give Chicago Fire a run for its money, but no way. Chicago Fire is a solid ten. Station 19 actually deserves no stars. If I was an actor on Station 19, I'd be truly embarrassed.

This is a colossal waste of time. A minute watching this is a minute too long. I have never in my life seen anything as bad as this program.

UPDATE...Although I vowed to never again watch this show, friends from out of town who were visiting wanted to watch the 4/12/2018 episode as they had never seen it, and it was sandwiched in-between Gray's and Scandal, which were all wanted to watch. My original opinion stands, although I have some additional perspective on it. For whatever reason, we all found something offensive about either Jaina Lee Ortiz's acting or her character or some combination of both. We all felt that if that character was removed, the story line about her dad promoting her to lieutenant dropped, along with the unrealistic captain competition, the show might have a better chance of survival. Her story lines, her character and her acting (weak) is what's pulling the show down. Of course, in all fairness, the story line comes from the writers. Still, the role needs an actress with more strength and more presence. She might do fine in another role, but not this one.
32 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
So bummed
sva72928 March 2018
I couldn't get through the first show...not even half way. Silly dialogue and silly music, which never matched the scene. Just really off-kilter. I love Grey's and Private Practice and was hoping for something just as great. There are a ton of excellent shows on these days. Really bummed this show isn't up to par.
29 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Seriously?
kroozman-397-26414323 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I said I would watch this with the hope bringing back some of the fun that I missed in Rescue Me. Wow! Was I wrong. As a retired Lieutenant, I find this show so removed from reality that it's laughable. The Lieutenant acts like a probie. No leadership qualities and no command of the firefighters at the station or on the scene. Doesn't happen! No department would ever allow a Captain to promote their daughter to Lieutenant even temporarily. The first structure fire scene when a dog is rescued, the room is extinguished is 30 seconds and instantly they are able to walk around with nothing smoldering? Every scene was predictable and that never happens in real life. This is more a soap opera than a fire show. Please cancel this ASAP as you are doing a disservice to all firefighters everywhere.
45 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
They can't be serious.
bringwood-051856 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Some shows are bad but they're still fun to watch. This is not one of those shows. It's so bad it hurts to watch. This has to be one of the most poorly written television shows of all time, and it doesn't help that it's compounded with some pretty bad acting. Every single character has an unbelievably dramatic background and they all just crash together in a contest of who can be the biggest diva and oversell their personal trauma. Did I mention it's poorly written? The Olympic athlete who recognizes the last name and daughter of a "legendary" fire captain. I can't name the fire chief in my city without googling it, let alone a fire captain. A firefighter is rushed into the ER on the brink of death having coded twice in the ambulance and the ER doctor has time to pause treatment to chat and exchange pleasantries with the paramedic who brought in the firefighter? And don't even get me started on the physician/surgeon turned paramedic/firefighter. There is a dying patient who "probably won't make it to the hospital" and they have the physician drive the ambulance rather than be in the back treating the patient? If you want something truly cringeworthy, behold Station 19.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Insulting for those of us who are "Real"Firefighters
privateangel30 March 2018
I hope this show goes down in flames as it's horrible.It makes females FF look incompetent sex driven babies .No FF would work under her daddy unless a small volunteer Dept and no one would respect daddy promoting her.They picked many diffterent individuals to try and make this boring show intersecting but it failed .It appears they are leading Ben to cheat .Its so unrealistic and so poorly done it's not entertaining and the acting sucks .I watch Grays ,Chicago Fire as although not totally factual not so off base that watching it is a huge waste of time .In her interview the lead said she interviewed 2 female captains and then said how said it was for us females to be assulted .I am a veteran as well as Fire Instructor and it has not always been easy but I was not abused .Respect is earned and experience takes years .This show is embarrassing and sends the wrong message .
35 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What the heck did I just watch!
lsuman77724 March 2018
I don't write reviews but as a firemen this is truly insulting. Do they even have a consultant to help them with this, or did they just guess what happens on a real fire department. If you make a show about any perfession. You should at least try to make it close to the real thing. Aside from all of that, The acting is horrible, the script sucks, and the plot is horrible. I hope they cancel it! I don't want people thinking this is what happens in real life!
30 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a waste of time!
mfjacks23 March 2018
Station 19 is nothing but a politically correct relationship drama with unrealistic emergency responses thrown in for good measure. Been there, seen that. We have watched much better dramas that are similar to this one come and go. Third Watch is one that comes to mind. We don't need more of the same unimaginative, unrealistic, politically correct driven shows. Pull it now before you get more embarrassed. ABC's ratings could only get better by doing so.
51 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What a waste of Network Space!!!
tazman556223 March 2018
This show is Horribly directed with Horrible acting. The plot lines are pathetic. It is so predictable with the last 5 years of dramas in the market with NO refreshing ideas, If they are trying to compete with other shows, then they failed miserably.. ABC....Cut the cord quick!!!
55 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Awful
mapa_mouse24 March 2018
I thought 9.1.1. was bad. This show is much worse. Totally unrealistic and insulting to firefighters.
24 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wow! This is awful!
GrammarMatters23 March 2018
I'm half an hour into this - and I'm done. Goodbye. It's so cheesy with pathetic writing that is obviously created by an untalented hack. I've found myself rolling my eyes several times already, and I can't waste my time with this absolute garbage after re-watching the end of last seasons Billions episode in preparation for the new season starting in a few days. Billions reminds me how incredibly awesome TV can sometimes be. This dreck is the absolute opposite. The only reason to watch this stupidity is to laugh at the morons who wrote and created it. As the son of a firefighter, and someone with several years of university medical knowledge - it's actually PAINFUL to subject myself to imbecilic writing that this junk subjects me to.

Do yourself a favor - don't waste any of your time watching this refuse.
47 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Terrible!
jaywes-5108626 March 2018
I could not even finish the first episode! Chicago Fire is way better, this show has terrible acting, odd couples and plain boring!!! Cancel this show now!!
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Horrible
RbLFB23 March 2018
Thought I was going to watch a future competitor to Chicago Fire. Not a chance. So Much wrong with this show and horrible acting.
24 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Terrible
walkercctv12 April 2018
This show is pretty much chick porn with a bunch of alpha females mixed in. The show is less about fire fighting and more about who is having sex with who. Writers should have made the show about the Firefighters then wrote in the character drama over time. I gave it 3 episodes, now I've canceled my recording of this tripe.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Disappointed with this show
paramedic1978200029 March 2018
As a critical care paramedic in one of the craziest cities in the world I was looking forward to this show. But I was soooooo disappointed with the show. I love the "wolf" tv shows ie chicago fire, pd,med ect and they show some if not a lot of true ways of pd and ems. This show was soooo cheesy and if anyone of those medics or firefighters showed up to save me I would take a LYFT instead! Sorry for the bad review but if your going to follow "greys anatomy" you might want to have some believable medical expertise combined with the drama
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Typical Network crap
ned-reed25 March 2018
Like most of the new network shows, it spends way too much time on relationships and mindless crap. Very little action as you would expect in a Firehouse show.. Much like the new series 911. I won't be watching again.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
"Chicago Fire" = "Seattle Talk"
cmarrou-130 March 2018
In the 1933 movie "Duck Soup," Groucho Marx commented that a talkative woman must have been vaccinated with a phonograph needle. The joke has been outdated by CDs and downloads, but the new TV show "Station 19" brings it to mind.

The show is about a fire station in Seattle, but a visitor from another planet might think firefighters put out flames by talking them to death. One scene on the roof of a high-rise had more talking than a high-school debate team after a run to Starbucks, all while a fire supposedly was eating away at the structure beneath them.

Some of the talking is about firefighting, and that sounds like the writer lifted it from Wikipedia articles; the rest is about relationships and romance, as you'd expect from a network (ABC) and a night (Thursday) aimed at females. Women in the front seat of a fire truck on the way to a fire call spend their time preparing for the confrontation by talking about how hot the various men are and how they feel about them. One fireman even completes the old cliché by rescuing an attractive young woman from a fire. Too bad she wasn't holding a kitten.

Which brings up the question as to how fictional a TV series can be without descending into fantasy or even silliness. The series started with actor Miguel Sandoval ("Medium") as the captain of Station 19, whose daughter just happens to be his most trusted crew member. When Sandoval's character is sidelined by illness, his daughter wants to take over the firehouse as if it were some sort of family business but she is outranked by a male. No problem; Sandoval suddenly promotes her to that rank and tells them both to compete on an equal basis. Apparently the writer has never heard of the hard-won concept of civil service, seniority and merit promotions, or all that simply got in the way of a good plot twist. Worse, the daughter (Jaina Ortiz) is squawky and not very likeable, not a good position for your series star.

The producers' eagerness to make a Seattle firehouse look like their view of the world ends up with a place that doesn't look much like Seattle or its fire department. Women are everywhere. There's no need for all women today to be telephone operators, but firefighting requires certain qualifications that most women can't meet: pure physical upper-body strength, not only to handle the equipment but also to rescue people and carry them to safety. In real life the Seattle Fire Department is less than 10% female; "Station 19" is at least half. Of the men on the show, about half are black, but Seattle is one of the whitest big cities in the country; the city itself is only about 8% African-American. A real Station 19 in Seattle would be 90% male and less than 10% black; there's no need to match those figures, but a nod to reality could make the show more believable. Another unrealistic touch: one firefighter used to be a doctor, or a surgeon, or something, and keeps talking about his medical days.

Station 19's biggest problem, though, is a fictional 2,000 miles from Seattle in Chicago. "Chicago Fire" is on NBC the same night as "Station 19" is on ABC. The producers have had more seasons to develop the characters and the show looks more realistic. There are actually more men than women and the firefighting and rescue scenes are more believable. At the same time in the show the ABC series had people yakking on a roof, NBC had its firemen rescuing a man whose arm had gotten caught in a dough mixer and his lower arm had been turned completely. It was gruesome, but felt real. During the rescue, the firemen discuss (quickly) how to free the victim and one calls for a 9/16" wrench to disassemble the mixer, a truthful touch of the sort missing from "Station 19." There's still plenty of room in the script for humor, drama and romance, but in the fictional world of fire, you'd better hope your property bursts into flame in Chicago. Waiting for those Seattle firefighters to get through talking and get to work might cost you your home.
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed