General Commander (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
33 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Funniest movie I've ever seen
samuelkent20 February 2021
Yall are going about watching these movies the wrong way. You're expecting a good action film, but if you've been following Steven Segall's descent into senility, you know you can just toss that notion right out the window. You need to watch this movie knowing it's going to suck. Enjoy it for the garbage acting, the confusing dialogue, the over use of camera transitions, hilarious Steven Segall "martial arts", not to mention the big guy mumble talking his way through the entire thing. Easily one of the funniest things I've watched all year.
22 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Another trash movie
ruimichael-5378422 October 2019
Worst movie of his entire career, since 2003., this guy has become a joke and transform himself into the cookie monster, he can t run, or fight, he should retire for good. The name title is a joke.
24 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Painful agony
brett-762602 December 2020
Sensei Seagal once again plays the same character as we've seen the past 35 years. Same character, same voice, same Ole constipated look we all have come to know and expect from him. I dont understand why he even makes movies anymore cause they are just absolute Turds. This was so bad I lasted 50 minutes and choke slammed the movie... Please Sensei no more of these movies. Its just embarrassing at this point and it just needs to stop. Do a sit com or maybe some local TV commercials to pay the bills but the days of great action movies are long gone. I bet a local furniture store would hire you as their spokesman so give that a try instead of making another one of these movies... Ug sorry Sensei but just have to keep it real.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Too much fried Tufu and Krispy Kremes for the Fat Man
robbieadams196918 December 2019
Watch this movie just to witness how bad it is compared to his other movies... Yes... It's that bad. I suggest watching Trolls 2 for more enjoyment because the curtain has come down on Fat Man's career: The master of straight to DVD. He can't even raise his leg above 5 inches off the floor anymore....
21 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
another garbage from steven seagal
FilmMan4728 May 2019
This is another worst film in resume of steven seagal added,he should retire from making movies and music his days are gone,he is embarassing himself,look at the title of this film,general commander are you kidding me this is some joke right.steven seagal has become a joke..since 2002 .sad to see this guy in this position he once used to be a great action hero and biggest box office stars in the 90s,there is nothing to see here no action and bad dialog and cia crap,the way seagal is aggressively supporting and promoting cia these days he should remember his début film above the law 1988 it was highly anti cia,anyway this one is simply garbage,waste of time and money .steven segal films should be taken off the shelves from all dvd and blu ray stores and internet its vomiting to see his films now.disgusting,and the guy who gave this movie 6 stars and a review below has clearly lost his brain,my rating for this is 1/10..skip it..save time and money.avoid steven seagal its 2019 when is this guy going to learn.
34 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Grotesque Characature
compugor7 November 2020
These Seagull furmula flicks have gone from unintentionally campy bad to insultingly satirical. Unwatchable without the fast forward button. The arch bad guy is played by the former Jeffrey Epstien, who wishes he killed himself instead of taking this role.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dumbest movie I have ever seen
chrisrazdaddy24 August 2020
This movie flip flops and make absolutely no sense. The acting is horrendous from every actor. This movie is as if someone had 10 incomplete ideas for a movie, and then tried to put them all together. I actually feel stupid for attempting to watch this.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
What We've Come to Expect From Seagal
larrys328 May 2019
Not extremely different than many of the Steven Seagal movies we've seen in recent years, as it's filled with loads of cliched and wooden dialogue, violence-some of which is brutal at times, and some plot elements that just make little sense.

Here, Seagal portrays CIA Agent Jake Alexander whose team goes rogue after one of their agents is killed in a raid and the CIA powers-that-be want them to stand down instead of exacting revenge. Jake's team will be after the Camorra Mafia Don Gino Orsetti, whose mob is dealing in the lucrative black market of human organ theft.

Overall, the movie is what we've come to expect from Seagal in recent years
15 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Painful
tosi-183445 November 2020
His hand, gently atop the other, shows his patience & intensity for the scene. Segal style. BUT that's it. That patience is painful to watch. Slow action. Slow thoughts. (Oh ya, that part was new for his films.) Slow interaction. Slow drama. Slow everything.

Segal is my all time favorite but... he should have retired years ago. Sorry to say, I hope this is his last film. Makes me weep to see him in so weak a script.

The plot? Oh ya, there was one. No spoiler alert needed here except for the suggestion: Don't watch it!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Your typical Steven Segal C-grade film - with...
Top_Dawg_Critic28 May 2019
Your typical Steven Segal C-grade film - with an actual story, albeit convoluted, and done way better, many times before.

The directing by novice directors Ross W. Clarkson and Philippe Martinez was also terrible with the 1980's blurring, out-of-focus and fading shots, and they failed to direct their cast effectively. Even Segal's few choreographed fight scenes made him look like an amateur martial artist from the terrible directing and editing.

The story and screenplay also by Philippe Martinez was very amateurish and all over the place (literally), with some out of place scenes and shots that make you shake your head, as would some dialogue that may as well have been written by a 5th grader.

The poorest acting was from the CIA director Megan Brown, who seemed like this was her first ever acting role, and the annoying repetitive dialogue the writers gave her certainly didn't help. Byron Gibson was great, as were the rest of the main cast, who held their own without direction, especially novice actor Soraya Torrens in her first major film - who was also easy on the eyes. Segal was his typical boring-personality self, and he should really stick to what he's good at - more martial-arts fighting action, and less acting and dialogue. He also needs to get rid of that dark fake-looking nasty goatee and Dracula forehead hairline. Your eyes just can't keep un-see them, they stand out so much for some reason.

Finally, the score was annoying and very obvious at the wrong times. Nevertheless, an enjoyable lazy Sunday popcorn flick that's been done many times before, with flaws I expected. It's a 6/10 from me.
18 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Woeful Garbage
Easygoer106 October 2020
A powerful action saga! That's what Amazon has on their website. Seagal is pushing 70!! Give me a break. This is utter trash.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
There was a time when the name Steven Seagal ment something ...
ZeroCoolRO9 December 2019
... too bad that these days he makes crap movie. Once he made amazingly good movies and he was a legend.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Seagal seems like he just had a stroke
ryanwinning16 May 2020
Couple things I liked about this movie was the beautiful shots of the Asian cities that they were filming in. Hong Kong and Manilla both seemed breathtaking from the drone that they used. Also I liked the idea of an evil gang stealing organs right out of a healthy person which could easily be worth over $1million on the black market vs the standard drugs or guns exchanges. It was a great idea, but as expected executed very poorly. As horrendous as Steven Seagal's acting is in general I give him credit that there is only one Steven Seagal, and he usually has a way of putting his personal stamp on a movie no matter how bad it is, but this movie lacks even that signature seagal moment. When it comes to line delivery in "General Commander" it seemed like Seagal had recently had a stroke and was half in a coma because his usual low voice growl, was reduced to almost an incoherent grumble. They had to get as creative as they could with the action scenes to make up for a 300 pound man who can not raise his foot more than 8 inches off the ground. The supporting cast is one of the worst I've ever seen. I found Mica Javier's part to be the most annoying because she seems like just an average lady who they're trying to dress up and pass off as an intimidating Super-Spy Super-Model, tough as nails and all that, but she losses all credibility when her line reading doesn't sync up with her mean, poker-face act. There's a really weird point in the movie where they go way over the top with the sadness and sorrow and unfitting poor music choice for too long. It's a 2/10 for me.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Watchable action with good acting
kongokenneth-5626213 November 2021
This movie is better then expected!

The story is good and the actors are doing a good jobb!

The critic to this movie is unfair!

Its a watchable action with good acting.

Its.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Better than some of his most recent films.
erikvandersgrubolo16 July 2021
Same Steven Seagal film like those of recent years. A very limited screen time just to be able to use his name that still draws crowds in Asia, no good martial arts, sloppy dialogues. Some good acting there mostly in the bad guys side (the two Italians above all). Overall disappointing is better than some of his most recent films.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
What would you expect?
katringruber1 June 2019
Same Steven Seagal of recent years. Limited screen time, a few martial arts moves, sloppy and predictable dialogues. Plenty of cliche'. Some good acting there mostly in the bad guys side. I liked the actor who plays the role of Santino Amato, the right hand man of boss Gino Orsetti (this lat one played by an Italian actor who very often overacts). Some good action scenes but overall a bit disappointing. Nice the locations and the overall look of the film.
8 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good action with an uninterested lead performance
shakercoola15 September 2019
An American action thriller; A story about a CIA operative who has infiltrated a crime organisation involved in human organ trafficking. The film features impressive visual effects, stunts, explosions, shootouts and plentiful shots of foreign locales. A couple of stand-offs hold adequate tension too. However, too much of the second act is given over to characters mulling over a colleague's death and not enough on building a story and building characters. Seagal plays an enigmatic character quite well but he has little screen time and few fight scenes. On the upside, Edoardo Costa is good as the syndicated crime boss.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Was hoping for something much better.
jaccer1120 August 2020
Steven Segal was never a great actor, but his movies have always been fun and him beating up the bully bad guy. Literally half of this movie is the team mourning the death of one of their guys during a mission. The rest of the movie is crazy cut scenes and Steven Seagal making Default Steven Face. Was hoping for better considering the amount of effort they put in to this and all the different world location.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This movie has no idea what it is
jonnytrafford26 June 2020
Promises action, gives you a migraine waiting for something... Anything to happen. Should be a 23 minute episode of a sitcom not a full length movie.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What just happened?
rdpeterman3 May 2020
Thought I would take a chance on this Segal movie since I was in the mood for an action flic. Good attempt at cinematography but some acting was poor and the story is very disjointed. Ending is very obscure. Wasted 85 minutes.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Seriously? Wtf?
danishbacon16 January 2022
How do they not see themselves that this abomination should have never hit the market?

There's not a single mitigating factor in this production. Not one!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
LITTLE SCREEN TIME FOR SEAGAL
ugobabbione1 August 2021
A US thriller about a CIA operative fighting a crime organisation involved in human organ trafficking. The film features good visual effects, stunts, explosions and shootouts. But the storytelling is rather weak and the characters too superficial. A little screen time for Seagal and not enough fight scenes. But there are upsides: Ruben Soriquez is good as henchman of Edoardo Costa which delivers a decent performance.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It was kinda funny
rickysdummy11 May 2021
1 point for Steven Seagal's amazing performance and 1 point for the cinematographic scenes in between location switches.

Also, the dramatic cryig for 40 minutes effected me greatly and I am not sure if I will be able to move on any time soon. 2/10 would recommend.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Steven Seagal movie considered punishment.
t-boost27 May 2020
Steven Seagal movie considered punishment not art.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
JUMBLED MESS OF EXPLOSIONS, SHOOTINGS, KNIFINGS, CAR CHASES, BLOOD & GUTS
srobertson-751032 March 2020
I'm sure this film cost a lot to make with all of the special effects...the problem is there wasn't much of a movie to go with it. The movie was unnecessarily "in your face" blood and guts (i.e. a mafia leader enjoying a meal while watching a man get his throat slit with blood squirting everywhere). I was extremely confused most of the time - the movie jumped all around the world with plenty of conversations in different languages with no subtitles. I'm talking like 5 minutes with no subtitles! Most of it didn't make sense anyway. Even when the conversations were in English...some accents were so thick I couldn't make out what they were saying. I think I got the main idea, but this movie took too much effort to figure out. I didn't really get the ending and I'm sorry I wasted a night on this.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed