Pond Life (2018) Poster

(II) (2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Fab film!
kmg-6465414 November 2018
Just got back from seeing the premiere in Leeds and have to say what an utterly charming film this is. The actors playing Pogo and Trevor were the heart of the film, and held the storyline together with a sensitivity beyond their years. The two young lads were absolute scene stealers, and very well cast. A superb first film by the director. Looking forward to more from this director.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Magical Nostalgic Experience!
Jamie_Seaton22 August 2019
If you was a kid in the mid 90's, England (like I was) you'll agree this film is perfect in setting the scene! The heaps of nostalgia I got watching this was both overwhelming and astounding. I feel if you wasn't this age at them times you might not get a feel for the nostalgic premise of which the film is amazing for! What a strange and pretty much carefree time it was. A perfect piece of mid 90s culture. I hope the director makes another gem like this. Happy I found it as well due to having no advertisements that I seen.

The film does have a fishing theme but doesn't dominate it. The main story here, the setting, a day in the life of kids in the 90's. The acting is really great, especially scenes by character, Pogo!

Beautiful and brought back many amazing, odd, surreal, adolescent memories of which was attributed by such a great set designer, script and direction.

I'd recommend to anyone who wants a glimpse into the 90s council estate culture with hints of comedy, drama and heartfelt scenes.

Great film
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wes Anderson meets Mike leigh and Ken Loach at the pond.
massimilianomichelini22 August 2019
I love this movie. It has been a really nice surprise since the beginning. Wonderful actors and good cinematography under a solid direction. This movie deserves more love, views and upvotes.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
British film in good hands
While the likes of Ken Loach and Mike Leigh are not going to be around forever, there is so much Great British talent coming through. There's been some excellent little indies over the last couple of years - Chicken, Apostasy, Dark River, God's Own Country, Pin Cushion come immediately to mind. And now we can add Pond Life to that impressive list. Set in 1994 near Doncaster, a group of friends hear about a huge carp that only just escaped capture. Now the challenge is on. Of course, this film is not about fishing. It's about growing up in depressing post-Thatcher South Yorkshire. In a series of beautifully observed vignettes, the youngsters find solace in each other. The young actor who plays 'Pogo' is probably the standout performer of an excellent young cast, ably supported by the much more experienced (and well known) actors who play their parents. Can't wait to see what the director and cast do next. 7 and a half out of ten
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely breathtaking
karencarey-9019315 November 2018
This film was insightful and totally enthralling to watch. It draws you in and captures a moment in time which is simple and pure. The actors are all young but amazing and completely believable. Congratulations to all concerned for giving us this superb film. Hopefully more to come.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A lovely British film
saratonkinson27 August 2021
Just found this little gem searching for something to watch in amazon prime. All the actors are good but the young cast are fantastic. Definitely worth watching.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
more authentic than Stand By Me
mldardar26 July 2020
A true slice of life. I wish I could give it hearts instead of stars! If you've seen Esme in Hanna, you''ll love her in this, along with the rest of the great cast of all ages.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Film
juancarlos_garduzas8 July 2020
It´s a heartwalming film, Esmé Creed-Miles proves her amazing acting skills in this. If you want to experience a great and sweet adventure of a group of young friends then this is a great choice.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprisingly good
jimtunstall-661194 April 2020
Quirky and poignant. Esme Creed-Miles, very different to her role in Hanna, is moving. She is one to watch. Other really good performances. Don't expect in your face action, but really worth watching.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Reviews look very suspicious
cjwilkinson-8180824 August 2019
All amazing reviews, All one review critics who have only reviewed this movie. I'm guessing in that case it's probably not that good. Pass.
7 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed