The Sweetest Christmas (TV Movie 2017) Poster

(2017 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
23 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Such a cute movie.
nlfauch15 January 2018
Some reviews for these types of movies come across so harsh. Sure they're predictable but, isn't that what we're looking for when we tune in to Hallmark movies? They give us exactly what we want, a happy ending with two people finding a way to be together. We watch them not because we expect them to appear on the next Oscar ballot, but because we want to escape the world for a bit, drink something warm & smile cause it worked out exactly how we wanted in the end, which is a nice change from reality.
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Lacey Chabert Retains Her Christmas Movie Crown
Christmas-Reviewer13 November 2017
I HAVE REVIEWED OVER 400 Christmas MOVIES.

BEWARE OF BOGUS REVIEWS. SOME REVIEWERS HAVE ONLY ONE REVIEW. WHEN ITS A POSITIVE REVIEW THAT TELLS ME THEY WERE INVOLVED WITH THE PRODUCTION. NOW I HAVE NO AGENDA! I AM HONEST! I REVIEW Christmas MOVIES AS A WAY TO KEEP TRACK OF WHAT I HAVE SEEN!

Hallmark seems to cast the same ladies in their films. I think its great. It seems every year they have Candace Cameron, Alicia Witt, Erin Krakow, & Lacey Chabert in a Christmas film. To me Lacey always has a film that I enjoy watching. SHe is now like an old friend you see during the holidays. Here she shines again in this drama that plays to her strengths.

In this film: A struggling pastry chef Kylie Watson (Chabert) learns she's made it to the finals of the American Gingerbread Competition, she thinks her competitive spirit has finally paid off and hopes the publicity will help her jump start her new café. There's just one problem — the oven she's supposed to use breaks down right before the contest. Determined to enter, she reaches out to Nick Mazannti (Coco), her old boyfriend from culinary school who gave up his dream of being a pastry chef to take over his family's pizzeria.

The film is one of those movies that you just sit back and enjoy. I love the fact that this film was logical on how people would react in real life.

Worth Watching
28 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Yummy
Jackbv12311 November 2017
TV Guide this week labeled Lacey Chabert the current holiday champ of Christmas leading ladies and she doesn't hurt that reputation in this movie.

This movie is filled with the clichés of plot devices. 1) A contest the protagonist must win to either seed a business or pay debts; 2) The protagonist is invited to a special dinner where she expects a ring but doesn't get it; 3) The lady falls off a ladder into man's arms; 4) Snowball fight (2 in this one); 5) High school sweethearts parted for their careers; 6) A kid with an absent mother that one of the protagonists befriends. And so many more. But wait. The movie laughs with us at some of these. The best example is the aftermath of the failed special dinner - one potential suitor explains to the other why Kylie was mad when she left the dinner.

The story teases us with what we think is predictable, and is to a certain extent, but then slightly twists it. Yes it's Hallmark and yes it is a Hallmark ending, but it is still worth watching.

I loved Jonathan Adams as Ralphie. He added so much humor along with sage advice. I criticized Lara Gilchrist is All of My Heart: Inn Love, but I loved her here, again with Chabert, as Kylie's wise sister. Kylie and Nick are almost comical in their sad behavior and they definitely need wise heads beside them. I wish I could say I thought Lea Coco had great chemistry with Chabert, but to me it was just slightly above average.
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
So sweet it'll give you a cavity
HotToastyRag3 December 2017
Not only is the love interest in this movie extremely difficult to root for, but the heroine contradicts herself constantly and ends up choosing the wrong man! In other words, parts of The Sweetest Christmas is just like real life.

At the start of the film, we're introduced to Lacey Chabert and her boyfriend Mar Andersons. He's too focused on his work and seems to only value her work ethic and contributions to "the team", so she breaks up with him. Then, she's reunited with an old flame from high school, single dad Lea Coco, and sparks fly. The only problem is Lea also lets work take his first priority, and he also only appreciates her inner qualities, like how she interacts with his son and her ambition and creativity at work. I got the distinct impression that the audience isn't really supposed to notice the similarities. It is realistic, though; how many times do we find a new main squeeze who's exactly like our ex and we claim that "this one's totally different!"?

There's absolutely no chemistry between Lacey and Lea, and the only good part of the movie is the best friend and comic relief, Jonathan Adams. He's absolutely hilarious and even ad libs when Lea spills his coffee on him during one scene. To top everything off, Lacey utters the corniest, most ridiculous line in Hallmark history: "I have to show him how I feel, the best way I know how: with gingerbread." Trust me, you don't have to sit through this one. Watch Family for Christmas instead.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Just Sweet Enough
cathed5 November 2018
I love Christmas movies, even when they make me roll my eyes at all the Christmas cliches (snowball fight, anyone?). This one has all the cliches, but somehow, I don't roll my eyes.

The difference is the actors. They rise above what could be a trite Christmas confection and draw you into the story and make you care about what happens. Jonathan Adams is wonderful, Lacey Chabert is believable, and the rest, esp. Lea Coco, Brenden Sunderland, Lara Gilchrist, Brenda Critchlow do a really good job.

I'd watch this one again. Thumb's up!
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
All Good
zyxnix2 December 2017
There is really nothing bad to say about this movie. Lea Coco looks like my dentist...all I could really think about. Things fall into place. I can live with the baking theme. Lacey Chabert is cute enough and all good. Good all around cast. Setting..typical...Ralphie is a treat.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
sweet Lacey
SnoopyStyle15 July 2019
Kylie Watson (Lacey Chabert) is trying to start her own cake business and expecting a marriage proposal from boyfriend Alex. He brings her to a pizza place owned by her high school boyfriend Nick. Instead of a marriage proposal, Alex offers her a promotion. Disappointed, she breaks up with him. She gets into the American Gingerbread Competition and needs Nick's oven.

I actually like Alex trying to fix it. It's not the greatest move. It could have been funny. Of course, Kylie has to go with the hunkier guy and on top of that, he has a cute little boy. Lacey Chabert is super sweet and that's the central heart of this Hallmark romance. Otherwise, I don't think this would work. I don't really like Nick. She makes it work. She is so up that she uplifts the whole movie. In the end, that's all that matters in this type of movies.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Sweet overload
TheLittleSongbird13 January 2020
There were quite a few reasons for wanting to see 'The Sweetest Christmas'. The title was a little corny but also somewhat appetising. The idea for the story was hardly innovative but sounded cute enough. Lacey Chabert is always a likeable watch, like her voice work too, and generally one of the better prolific Hallmark leads, whether their festive efforts or in general. Have been on another one of my completest quests since November/December, and this was part of it.

If there was one word to sum up 'The Sweetest Christmas' it would be okay. It is not a bad film, it is at least palatable, and there are things that come off well. At the same time it is not one of Hallmark's better Christmas efforts and a bit of a missed opportunity, too many of its components being average at best. Will say though that 'The Sweetest Christmas' is not one of the worst either, there are worse written, acted and looking and ones that bored, annoyed and insulted the intelligence more.

Visually, 'The Sweetest Christmas' looks quite good with it being shot and lit well and while standard the settings were appealing at least. The music is a pleasant listen with some nostalgic song choices, and didn't sound over-scored or gimmicky.

Chabert is her usual likeable and charming self and carries the film with ease. Jonathan Adams is amusing and quite delightful in his role, his comic timing bringing some welcome levity, and the cast in general look comfortable and nobody is below average. The chemistry always came over as natural.

However, the story doesn't have enough to it. Actually don't mind awfully that it was very formulaic, what bothered me was that there was very unimaginatively executed, was really not much of one at all, had some fairly contrived situations and the film gets so sweet (too much so) in places it was almost sickly. The script is similarly thin and quite routine, it has some shining moments with Adams but it tended to have an awkward flow and was excessively cheesy and schmaltzy.

Pacing can be a problem, with the story being too little a lot of the film crawls along and feels over-stretched. The direction is only functional at best and can be on the leaden side of things and while the characters are inoffensive enough there is no real depth to them.

Summing up, okay but a middling/middle-tier festive Hallmark effort. 5/10
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Gingerbread coolness! Better than 6 Stars, of course....
huggibear14 November 2017
Not sure if it's a 7 Star, but it's close. It's a nice, brand new heartwarming Christmas movie. Who doesn't like Lacey Chabert? She's the one who deserves the 7 Stars, for sure. I'm a big fan of hers on these Hallmark movies. She's got that Hallmark charm I love. And wow, those gingerbread creations were just amazing. Who does that? I've never created a gingerbread house or whatever for that matter. Some day, I might think about it. Maybe when two heads are in it together. That will be the day. Until then, it's only in film. Great 2017 holiday chick flick from Hallmark!
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
It's ok.
kz917-17 July 2019
Wow. There's a good bit of off the charts awesome reviews for this one.

It was good. Lacey Chabert is lovely. But, really?

The Gingerbread Competition plot-line is straight from Food Network. Not really all that imaginative. Also the boyfriend was really daft to not think she would be expecting a proposal.

Check your brain at the door and you'll really enjoy this!
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
painfully slow, thin story line even for Hallmark standards. Not engaging
iranu-741951 December 2019
The story is that Lacey Chabert has to win a "Gingerbread" sculpture competition, but she has romantic challenges. That's it. There is no subtext or inter-twined script elements. Assume the cynical Hallmark thought that the popularity of "baking" TV programs could support the film - it doesn't - this bread doesn't rise. Chabert does a valiant chipmunk impression throughout and was chosen, no doubt, to develop sympatico within 10 year olds in the audience. However that set up will not gell with failed marriage plans to the Boss and developing a new romance with Lea Coco (Actor Coco could have been replaced with a large plate of German sausage) Lighting good, camerwork good, script poor, sets: budget. Sympathies go out to African American actor Jonathan Adams who did a good job as the sage advisor, but, in some cruel act by wardrobe, he was made to wear a green plaid shirt and looked like a dick - he must have upset someone.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Liked the movie except for the "Hero"!
AngelCullen25 June 2020
Cute movie ... I liked all the characters except for the leading man, Nick! He was annoying and such a jerk sometimes! I especially loved the sisters' dynamic! it was so fun and very real!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Continuity
paula-0859411 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Did anyone else notice that the house was completely decorated, inside and out, when she delivered the tree?

It ruined the movie for me.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
She chose the wrong man
jrm-6325018 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
While Chabert is my favorite Hallmark Actress, they had a flawed, yet still good script. Edwards tried his hardest to win Chabert back and it would have been nice to see for once a man make up for his mistakes. Sure he called them a "team", but he flew in a lady from Europe to make a gingerbread house with a ring in it! How much more romantic can you get? I found Coco and Chabert's chemistry to not be the best I've seen but in the end it still was a good movie to watch and would still recommend it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Thin storyline even for a Christmas Movie
Nanaste1 December 2020
The looongest movie about a gingerbread competition😴
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not Inspired, But Acceptable
atlasmb3 December 2020
As Hallmark holiday romances go, this abides by common storylines. A young woman (Lacey Chabert as Kylie) runs into her ex (Lea Coco as Nick) just as her boyfriend is revealed to be an unromantic, clueless dweeb. They catch up on old times while Nick assists her attempt to win a baking competition.

Lacey Chabert demonstrates why she is a Hallmark favorite, with her cheerful, affable demeanor. The amount of chemistry between the two leads is acceptable, making this a decent film, but not one of the best.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great expectations make for good plot surprises
Pete-Claus30 December 2019
Hopes rise and are dashed; rinse and repeat until the correct path is revealed. The lead character is learning all the way along in what is truly a nice story to watch. Well acted too.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Right on target
RNMorton12 December 2018
On another Hallmark movie I said what things I need to see to enjoy one of these, I won't go through that again except to clarify that sometimes you can't describe it, it just works or it doesn't. Lacey has had some minor misfires but she remains the most consistently effective performer in the Hallmark Christmas stable. This is no exception. I don't know why Lacey shines so well in these, but she is always very cute, often tough yet vulnerable, and usually into her role and believable. This one works the formula well.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Lacey is wonderful as always
ISmellSnow3 October 2020
This is a typical, cute baking storyline. The male lead is kind of forgettable, but Lacey shines and Johnathan (Ralphie) is a hoot! I love him on Last Man Standing. Anyways, I'll watch this movie if it's on but probably won't go out of my way to watch it on purpose.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Not bad
dianamarinelli22 December 2020
Good for a hallmark movie standards bring you to the Christmas spirit and she picked her ex which is obvious
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Just sweet enough; better quality Hallmark Christmas movie
ktwannemacher21 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
We all know the movies like this have the same general idea, they're cheesy and predictable. They're a guilty pleasure we indulge in because it makes us feel good. Some Christmas movies miss the mark, or are boring, or just are unbearable to sit through. For me, this was NOT one of them. It was interesting, there was just enough sugary sweet, just enough drama, just enough predictability and "Ralphie" kept me cracking up. I don't know why people are saying that "Kylie" chose the wrong guy, and I thought that "Nick" was great. I mean, the movie wasn't perfect but it was good enough to keep my attention and I didn't switch it off mid-movie like I have with so many other ones that I've tried to watch this year.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Sweetest Christmas
studioAT2 December 2020
She has competition, but for me Lacey Chabert is the queen of the Hallmark film, as she seems to have such grace and charm while carrying off even the most cheesy/sugary sweet material.

The story works, there's enough chemistry between the two leads - two essentials for a Hallmark film, and we even get 'Last Man Standing' star Jonathan Adams popping up in a supporting role.

Great stuff.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
a carousel
Kirpianuscus9 November 2019
Two basic virtues: the carousel and Lacey Chabert. For the first - the lovely end remains the key. For the last , the Jennifer Love Hewit - like air and the experience in the Christmas films. The secondary roles are the best, like each same occasion.Jonathan Adams,Brenden Sunderland, Jil Morrison and Corina Akeson are keys for the good job and few sparkles in this case. But it is a good Christmas film. Sure, in Hallmark way . With a nice use of old carousel theme and not bad exploration of childhood connection for a nice love story resurrected after long time in the kitchen.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed