Share (2019) Poster

(I) (2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
27 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Shedding light on an age old issue using Social Media
jrneptune28 July 2019
Directed and written by Pippa Bianco, based of the short story also directed and written by her.

Starring 21 year old Rhianne Barreto, playing the 16 year old lead Mandy, who was out with school friends partying and drinking and end up passing out and wakes up in the morning on her front lawn and a video appears on social media of guys having their way with her while she is drunk or possibly drugged.

Her caring parents are well played and they are being smart about how to handle it but at the core of it, in my opinion, the story revolves are consent and not taking advantage of a person when they are at a disadvantage. This is actually an age old issue but when new technology and especially with social media today we hear more about it.

No surprise then that the director also helped write an episode of Euphoria which also focused on consent as well.

The main cast was great and I imagine we will be seeing more from Rhianne Barreto as well in the future and I can't wait to see what Pippa Bianco has for us next.

The ending might not be what some would expect so make sure you watch it.
25 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Accurate Depiction of Life after Assault
brienneof22223 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This is the only movie I've seen that truly captures life after assault / abuse. Though it takes place in a high school, I recommend that every college student watches it too. Essentially, it covers the experience of a girl who was assaulted while black out drunk at a party. This is truly Mandy's story, not the story of the outside. We follow her step by step, through finding out about the video, talking to her parents, filing with the police, etc. Her perspective is limited, though, as she doesn't remember the dreadful night when she was raped. What I loved most about the movie was that the assault itself is never shown. Though at the end, we find out what happens, we go through the whole movie not being sure what truly happened. I think that is so important - it reminds the viewers that it is not important to know all of the details, to see the assault. It is important to believe the victim/survivor. Because it did happen. She was never lying or overreacting. Though some people may dislike the ending, where Mandy deletes the video evidence of Dylan raping her, I find it liberating. She wants her ideal to be over. She doesn't want to go through a trial, the social isolation, the publicity. Mandy made her choice to move on, even though it means giving up justice.

Note: I saw some other viewers blaming Mandy, saying that this movie is a reminder for people not to go out and get drunk with men. That is so false. This was never Mandy's fault, just as her father reminds her in the car. You can get drunk, hook up with people, smoke weed, or whatever you want. That doesn't mean people can assault you. It is never the fault of the victim/survivor/person that was assaulted.
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
What did this tell me?
ritera15 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
There was a very attractive moodyness about the direction. But it killed itself at the same time as it moved at a glacial pace with a lot of redundant and dead scenes. Felt signifciantly longer than the running time.

But there was also a good feel of these teenagers, due to their age, being dangerous to themselves because of their incomplete thinking. Not to mention mixing alcohol with all that.

A very glaring procedural omission as the investigation did not include a physical exam of the victim or any reasoning why it was not done. And not exploring her history with sex or alcohol until the very end.

Although acted very well, the lead vascillated from a genuine 16 year-old to a mid-20s character, bascially due to the uneven writing. The actress is likely mid-20s but played a genuine 16 year-old. Also then the reasoning of a mid-20s character. Different voices in the writing.

Essentially it was a waiting game to find out that it was the person I thought was guilty in the beginning. Very anti-climatic and dull. Was surprised that, having a female director and writing, they decided to throw in at the last minute that the victim admitted she liked drinking and being promiscuous.

Now to me it's a given those revealations do not condone taking advantage of any woman or girl. But there was no argument in it. Just facts that had no meaning or consequence. I don't know what that was suppose to tell me.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not getting the low reviews
stephenljenkins5 August 2019
What this lacks in dramatics, makes up for it in feeling real. Sure...lots of arguments about whether this or that would happen in real life. The young lady lead is convincing though with some pretty confusing subject matter. Thought it was well done and pertinent.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Ugh
katelynnmarcus30 July 2019
This could have been so good. Lacks poignancy and depth. No character development and hardly any storyline. Most importantly zero responsibility or justice. Come on HBO.
18 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Nothing happens
aliciafonsecab6 August 2019
You red the storyline = you've seen the movie. Endless scenes of nothing and bad acting. The story is plain and not creative at all. Awful ending. In short: don't waste your time
15 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Could have been a great message and platform.
lkw-5821110 August 2019
Failed. They never once in this movie even called the crime for what it was. The emotions portrayed don't come close to portraying those of people who've been through this. Extremely disappointed and invalidated.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time
Terrible movie. Opportunity to talk about a serious topic and missed the mark with acting, writing and ending
17 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible
nadeenezzeddine-0456614 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This was a very very bad movie. I am very upset with the way this movie ended. It's extremely destructive to rape survivors who never had proof of their rape and for her to delete the message when she finally had proof was mind boggling to me. This was disgusting and I would definitely not watch it. This whole movie was filled with emptiness and finally gave you an answer to the end but she ended up never showing anyone the proof and allowing this rapist to continue walking to do this to others. I thought I was going to watch a powerful movie about a woman who reclaims her being but this was very sad and depressing. Not powerful at all.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of time
zwyatt95930 July 2019
This movie could have been so good, but falls way short
14 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Should be shown in every High School
bmco-247-72102530 July 2019
I'm usually more critical of film than my contemporaries, so was surprised to see so many low grades for this film. Early on, I considered giving up this film because it starts slow and it seemed a little repetitive of a subject that I felt had been covered before. The subject matter surrounds a disturbing brief cell phone video of high school girl that had passed out at a party. The video in this film is not overly explicit, but it is clear there are some unsettling sexual aspects experienced by the lead character and as the story develops it becomes clear to the viewer that impact of having this widely "shared" on social media is going to have lasting impact for many, not just the victim.

I did not see the focus of this movie so much as a "Me Too" film, but more emphasis possibly about how technology (i.e. the damaging impact of irresponsible social media) can impact an entire community. There's no question that what happens to this young girl is reprehensible and offers a morality lesson in it's own right. The very realistically portrayed impact the video has on the victim's parents, friends, the accused, however, sends a very strong message for anyone living in an age where sharing everything on social media is too often second nature.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Missing
fmwongmd29 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
For this type of assault we are missing the rape victim medical exam, a glaring omission. Mandy is not sure what happened although the video indicates an assault did take place.
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Endless
ablbodyed-23 August 2019
This may be the longest 90 minutes of my 68+ years of of conscious entertainment life. Flat acting= little empathy for anyone involved. Using far too many too-short scenes as a directorial device was a poor choice. If this truly represents life in high school today, as some reviewers say, then we're in desperate trouble as a society.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Tense HS social anxiety and sexual assault drama
paul-allaer2 August 2019
"Share" (2019 release; 89 min.) brings the story of Mandy, a junior at the (fictitious) Alexander Gardner High School. As the movie opens, Mandy is unconscious and laying on a lawn at night. As she awakens she has no idea what happened that night or how she got to the lawn. She does notice a large bruise on her left arm. At basketball practice the next day, something is clearly off with Mandy, but what? Then later that day, Mandy gets multiple texts containing a blurry video with what appears to be her being sexually assaulted. She still has no recollection of what happened... At this point we are 10 min. into the movie, but to tell you more of the plot would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: this is the feature length debut of writer-director Pippa Bianco (working from her short film of the same name). She tackles an all-too-common problem among teenagers: a young woman taken advantage off after she has had too much to drink, with a video subsequently uploaded and shared. Mandy immediately faces tremendous peer and family pressure about whether or not to press charges, or to just forget about the whole thing and "move on". Sadly, no matter what she decides, there are no good options for Mandy, and as the film amply demonstrates, the consequences for Mandy are heartbreaking, no matter what. This is just the latest release that looks at peer pressure, and in particular social anxiety, among teenagers in today's environment (check out as well the recent documentary "I Love You, Now Die", among others). At one point Mandy asks a friend "why didn't you help me?", and the friend responds "you said you were fine", which Mandy doesn't recall saying... Newcomer Rhianne Barreto is outstanding as the vulnerable Mandy, and surely we have not seen the last of her. Also kudos to the outstanding score for this film, courtesy of electronic musician Shlohmo (the stage moniker of Henry Laufer).

"Share" premiered at this year's Sundance film festival to immediate critical acclaim. It is now showing on HBO (where I saw it). If you are in the mood for a tense high school social anxiety and abuse drama, I'd readily suggest you check this out, be it on VOD or eventually on DVD/Blu-ray, and draw your own conclusion.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Waste of time
bella-1511 August 2019
This was just bad. A high school girl wakes up in her yard after a blackout only to find out a video was taken of her as she was passed out. This movie was listed as a thriller. Don't be fooled. Very slow moving.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boooooring too much, slow pace never watch it
malshehri-6534811 August 2019
Actually I was trying to watch but I couldn't. I've reached the minute 55 and then I stopped. The message they were trying to convey is that the school system in USA is wrong. Then they were stretching the movie's events and story without a purpose with a slow pace. Poor actors and actress making you feel sleepy and boooooring. Never watch it. Neeever!!!!!
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Student film
movies400002 August 2019
Shot in the dark with everyone mumbling and half the action on phone screens does anyone know what took place
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
overcoming pain
biba-1912227 September 2019
What is it with these reviews lately, people wanting fast paced drama, adrenaline rollercoaster out of someone elses misery? life is never black and white

this is someones life, and its even slower hell in real life circumstances, and it lasts a lifetime. i dont see this as an entertainment movie, its not a waste your 2h of life kind of movie. this could be my daughter, your sister, or someones future mother, but also my brother, your son.... this movie evokes wide range of emotions - from the point of view of a girl, of a girls mother, of a boys mother...
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent movie
tberkman-676005 September 2019
Fair and poignant treatment of difficult subject matter. No caricatures and seemingly well-researched. The lead actress is a revelation. Some didn't like the ending but I thought it was good - what's realistic and what people might want rarely overlap....
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Could have been amazing!
Carriexoc7 August 2019
Such a waste of subject matter and talent! Fell so flat and was just so damn boring. I'm so disappointed! This should have been an incredible eye opening movie experience! BUMMER!
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
NOOOOO
shanendowaselby28 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I would have given this movie an easy 8 or 9 if it hadn't been for the

******SPOILER*******



lack of justice! Although, I guess that is reality for you! I have learned from personal experience, the bad guy nearly always gets away with it!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Honest. Harrowing. Heart-wrenching.
MammaGroda17 November 2019
I couldn't take my eyes off the screen for an instant, so immersed was I in 'experiencing' Mandy's particular trauma. Because I feel anything I try to say could not possibly do justice to the way all the different elements of the film come together to tell her story, I suggest reading the review by Matt Fagerhorm on RogerEbert. I wasn't sure a man would "get it", but every word in his review rings true, down to his summing up of the final scene, where "we understand Mandy's actions, even as we cry out in protest."
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Ok'ish
brunetzica_ramo1 September 2019
Was an interesting movie,but the end wasn't that great!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I am so confused...
Morgana-Massacre24 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Warning: Spoilers - Discussion of the ending

This movie is important in that it shares how sexual assault is dealt with -or not dealt with- in this day and age. This is always a sensitive topic with me since I went through something similar to Mandy. 10+ years later and I'm still dealing with it. It doesn't ever go away and seeing things, such as this, is a 'trigger' for any woman who has been a victim of sexual assault. We flash back to that moment and relive the event nearly every day. It's important for everyone to know it happens and way too often and that 99.9% of the time, nothing will be done. There will never be justice. It's a very sad reality. We also don't have the energy nor emotional strength to go through the long & arduous task of trying for years to bring someone to justice only to have them see zero punishment for their crimes.

So, the part that I was confused about is the ending. The video shows Tyler and Mandy flirting and then we hear them kissing and then having sex. I'm confused because Mandy wasn't passed out at this time. We can see them flirting. We don't 'hear' her say "no". To me, even as a victim of multiple assaults, it doesn't seem like a sexual assault -at that specific time- took place with Tyler. Perhaps it harkened back to a previous video which shows Tyler doing something beyond what we hear. Perhaps I missed something. So, in the end I feel like there was no closure and I was left with more questions than answers. But it honestly doesn't seem like -from that final video- that Tyler assaulted her. Thus I am really confused...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Meh.
CuseDoc9917 August 2019
Started out okay, but it was way too long. Mandy is sympathetic, sometimes not.
2 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed