To Let (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Excellent portrait of a middle class family life in metro Chennai
ganesh-june31 March 2019
This is one of the few movies that will stay with you long after you have left the cinemas. Character development at it's best and each scene is very relevant to the story. The actors have done a phenomenal job especially the lead female character. The story itself is fresh and never been heard of in the past. Very natural and simple shots makes this movie stand out from rest of the mass entertainment movies. Kudos to Chezhiyan, I'm sure he is going to become extremely successful as a director.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Its my film
godvelan10 April 2019
In my childhood days our family was in rented house. On those times my mom used to say to my dad that we need our own house even though its very small. Since i was small i could understand the reason behind her words but the real feelings i felt when i watched this movie. I seen it till end of the title. My heart is filled with emotions after seeing this movie. Thanks to all the cast and crews in the movie. You have given a wonderful wonderful movie.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Sublime Masterpiece
noizfactory6 October 2019
This is one of the most underrated masterpieces that our country has produced in the recent times. This deserved to be India's entry to the Oscars but even without that validation, this film will stand the test of time and I'll count it as one the greatest films of our country. It reminded me of masters like Ray, Ozu, and Majidi and the director's love and respect for their kind of cinema comes through in his naturalistic portrayal of a family and a class of our society whose dreams and ambitions are getting lost and left behind in today's world of rapid development and growth.

Even though the film may appear simple (and its apparent simplicity is one of its most endearing qualities), the camera says a lot with the subtle shots without any use of melodramatic background scores or dialogues or acting. The family feels extremely believable and lived in and that speaks to the cast and the filmmakers' talents. I have watched this film twice now and there's details to catch and observe and appreciate with every viewing - not in the sense that it's a puzzle to solve but for the realism portrayed by the director and the minute details of every day life that's spread throughout the film. The film is currently available on Amazon Prime India for streaming and I hope it remains available for many more multiple viewings. The director/writer/dop and the cast are people to watch out for and I'll closely follow whatever they do next. A truly commendable piece of work that should be seen by everybody.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Simple yet powerful
syamalsanmath26 June 2019
'To Let' portrays the day-to-day troubles of a small family of three in finding a rental house in Chennai City. The movie has an excellent plot that begins and ends with the house hunting of this family. Chezhiyan has delivered a masterpiece by sticking to a simple but powerful message through this film. The shots and angles are to the point and do not deviate from the storyline. Casting is excellent and the individual actors have masterfully played their roles. The screenplay is probably the highlight of the movie as it takes you through an emotional rollercoaster throughout the duration of the film. A must watch! Now for my reflection of the plot and timing of the movie: Indian society has many socio-economic layers that coexist with real but unspoken boundaries. The script here deals with one such boundary of Rs. 10000/month rent. Indian film industry needs to represent stories from all strata. Most mainstream films paint a utopian picture only existing in a small fraction of the society. This movie is reminiscent of good flicks such as Gharonda. We need more of these gems to depict societal anomalies. Movie has deservedly won many awards and I am sure many more are coming...!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great show
bibekiter24 July 2020
Arguably the best movie of it genre. Amudha is amazing.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A part of life
sanjit_pandit200227 June 2020
You can feel it if you have lived it. Thank you for making this movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Screenplay
mavulurivitheesh4 January 2020
One of the heart touching emotional tension movie till climax
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best!
cute_chiku28 July 2020
This reminded me of the good old movies by Satyajit Ray. Please bring up more masterpieces like this.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Middle Class yet to Settle Middle Aged Guy's Story!
harishmadireddi11 March 2020
Warning: Spoilers
It started out well, screenplay was helped to get into the mood of movie, the actors have given their best, the bonding and detailing of the family has been very good but towards the end i.e the last 30 minutes it feels that nothing much is going to happen with respect to story and by that time we as an audience have a pretty good idea of the family bonding but still narrator chooses to include the scenes which elevates their bonding and there is lag in few scenes at the end, the editing could have been crisp at the end. But got to appreciate the director and writter for depecting the common man story so genuenely.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A good movie with a Bad probaganda!!
balajiame20 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The plot is simple, the hero gives false information about his job and current tenancy to rent a home. Gets screwed when the new owner finds that he is a fraud and does not rent him a home. Hero blames IT employees for not able to rent a home to stay.

He insists that all people who work in Cinema industry don't get a house for rent and they all got a house by providing spurious information.

You know the positives of the movie, I am not going to talk about it...

PS: the rating is for the plot only.
2 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
To Let
santhosh-102904 July 2019
Good Movie. Everybody acted very well in the movie. The movie was not so good as the movie bored a lot. The movie was focusing only about house problem throughout the movie that made the movie bore. The movie could be more interesting. The movie had no Songs and BGM. The movie was good becaquse of good performances of every actors. Good Movie.
1 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed