Destination Wedding (TV Movie 2017) Poster

(2017 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Love Hallmark Movies - Except for this one
WendyCT117 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
OK, so we all know the typical plot to our beloved Hallmark movies and this one was no exception - until the end. I am a huge Hallmark movie watcher and can honestly say that I have enjoyed all the movies I have watched so far. This one is the only exception. It was like the writers did not know how to end it so they just jumped to the ending they thought we were all expecting - without an explanation of how they got there. Really Hallmark?! Very disappointed. What a lame ending. I am still confused on how you went from the ex's at the beach proclaiming their love for one another to jumping to THEM getting married at the end. How did she fit into her sister's wedding dress?! What happened to her sister and her fiance- did they NOT make up and want to get married?!! If she was so into her family and friends why would she want to get married with her family and her sister's friend's there and not her own friends? Lame, lame, lame. Very disappointed. 2 stars because the location was beautiful and the story was good up until the ending. That spoiled the movie for me.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
fun summer movie
djkash9 June 2017
I loved this movie. It is not complex or rocket science. Perfect summer movie. The actors are sweet and compelling. Other than the acting and the story, my favorite part was the scenery. Most of the scenes took place in warm sunny weather on amazingly beautiful beaches. As all hallmark movies do, this had a misunderstanding close to the end but ended in romantic happily ever fashion.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Enjoyable
kz917-126 October 2017
Ellie played by Alexa PenaVega plans her sister's DESTINATION WEDDING and must endure spending time with her ex boyfriend, the best man Greg. Ellie and Greg then spin lie after lie after the bride and groom begin having problems and don't board their plane to Mexico.

Will Ellie and Greg patch up their differences and rekindle their romance? Will Ellie's dolt of a current boyfriend propose?

Cute funny film. No tissues required.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring! Contrived beyond belief
ffxaxrx11 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was bad on so many levels: 1. Mispairing with Guilbaut and Pena-Vega. No chemistry between or belief that they were ever together. 2. The misadventure of trying to get her sister and fiancé to Mexico for the wedding. The obviously staged and poorly executed sequence of events the ensued I.e. exes fall in love, grandma that feigned sickness to get the truth (she should have died off and maybe it might have been better). 3. Sister and her fiancé refusing to talk even though people were waiting for them. Talk about being complete rude to those people's time. #Disrespectful 4. Pena-Vega's character needing to take over the entire planning and execution of the wedding to ridiculous levels. 5. Pens-Vega's potentially abusive, controlling boyfriend. He really approached those levels real quickly when he could not get a hold of her and when she was on the beach. Scary!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No chemistry
katherinefabris28 February 2019
There was zero chemistry between these two actors. I wouldn't have paired them together. Big thumbs down unfortunately. With other people these actors are pretty good most of the time. Not this time.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not terrible.
Anonnamus4 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Movie was pretty cute, though I have always found the lead actress super annoying for no valid reason. Her boyfriend Alec is even worse. Please stop casting him in anything. The lead actor was charming, much like a lite version of John Krasinski. They had decent chemistry together. Grandma Goldie stole the movie. I would watch anything she's in. She's a spunky spitfire! As for the rest of the supporting cast, meh.

I don't understand why they chose to end it the way they did with no explanation as to how they got there. One second they have their reunion kiss, the next they're at the altar getting married without even a dismissive word or two explaining this was probably sometime in the future? No. Other than that, typical saccharine hallmark fare. You love it or you don't.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Adorable movie perfect for the summer.
MIssM1928 July 2017
Absolutely loved this movie! (take this from someone who doesn't like June Weddings movies that much) The location definitely made this 50% better, it was aesthetically beautiful.

Ellie -Alexa PenaVega- and her ex boyfriend, who also happens to be the best man at their sister's/best friend wedding respectively, Greg -Jeremy Guilbaut- are forced to maintain appearances when the bride and groom don't show up at the location for their own wedding. Exes who haven't gotten over each other spending time together? YES PLEASE.

I'm not gonna lie. It is, indeed, a typical Hallmark movie but I was so into it that even though I knew what was going to happen, I found myself reacting to it.

Personally, I think that Alexa stole the show, her character was likable and determined. The person everyone relies on (sometimes even too much) and someone who always puts her family first.

I haven't seen many Weddings movies but it is one of the two of these kinds that I truly enjoyed. So, if you are into this type of movies just like I am, it is a must watch. Even if you are not, it's a beautiful story that one can enjoy for one hour and a half, especially in summer. It has that vibe.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the Best June Wedding Movies EVER!!!
MovieTVRomanceFan20 January 2019
I can't express how much I LOVE THIS MOVIE. It was absolutely amazing from start to finish. I love everything about this film, the characters, the plot, the location etc. I loved watching Ellie and Greg fall back in love and it's obvious that despite the break up, the spark between them never went out. They still loved each other with all their hearts and the ending was so romantic a true perfect beach wedding. However, I will admit though I hated both Ellie's boyfriend, Alec as well Ellie's sister the bride-to-be, Mandy. They were the most infuriating characters throughout the film, but at least in the end, Ellie dumped Alec and Mandy apologised for her inconsiderate, irresponsible and rather selfish behaviour.

Overall, though... This Is One of the Best Hallmark Movies Ever!!!
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed