Sex Weather (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
don't go ! it's actually good ;)
pierreboudehen1 March 2019
So I've found this movie, saw the trailer and was excited about it. It seemed like the movie I've been looking for a long time. Then I decided to read User's review beforehand (just to be sure) and almost decided not to watch it.

first of all, there are some flaws, yes but to me it doesn't deserve this kind of rating (like really ? worst than street fighter ?) at all. I get that it wouldn't touch everyone the way it touched me but it's not a bad film.

Two people in a bed for a day, giving a shot at complete honesty, and falling in love. the story is really good, I like it and wanted to see a movie like that for a long time, it reminds me of Two nights stand a bit (if you liked it give it a shot).

The moviemaking is not bad either, as I said not flawless (there is this weird 'let's take a look at the outside so we can fast-forward'), but pretty good. loved the dialogues, actors are good, not that much nudity even though they're naked during the whole movie, nor sex, at least not explicit.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Who would want to put their name on this trash flick
steve_in_ontario6 February 2019
Seriously? Who writes this stuff? I would be ashamed to have my name associated with this movie. It just goes to show hard up these actors and directors etc are for a buck. Was it really worth it for you? Negativity is worth as much as good fortune !
17 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not everyone's cup of tea
daddyman10 February 2019
There is something special here that never quite gets realized. Aspirational film-making is not something to be ashamed of nor is being able to eek out a quality product from sparsely more than a shoe-string budget: this movie reeks of both. The actors seem to be working at the extremes of their skill and each almost(!) deliver. The nudity (particularly male, but also in general) is surprisingly explicit, but is also comical and casual enough that it never feels gratuitous. This, combined with the plot's focus on the fleeting nature of 'falling in love' juxtaposed against the tasks of commitment and struggle inherent to serious long-term relationships make Sex Weather feel relevant in some way. The decision to cast an interracial couple is bound to be an attention-getter...and I wish the movie would just delve into this factor of the character's differing identities instead of making them seem mostly culturally identical. Ultimately, the almost bipolar shifts in emotion displayed by the characters in the course of a 24 hour period really highlights the state of many relationships in 2017 (when the movie was made) till today. All in all, the director, writers and actors have definitely showed they have something to offer and perhaps will deliver more of it in their next respective projects.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing acting
melitaaleksa19 May 2019
Such an extraordinary well-directed movie i almost didnt watch because of the ratings. However, the acting, the idea of depicting two lives, past and future in a studio room is brilliant. Actors did a wonderful job... Not a typical faorytale movie with a happy ending, but definitely a life as it is. Thousands congrats to the crew and a big thankyou to the director...
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I really liked it
iuliafacebook13 June 2019
I don't understand why the low scoring. This is a good movie in my opinion, with great acting, and an interesting story about connecting with people in our times.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Random rating
ballouvince2 March 2022
I didn't want to rate it because there are things in it that offend and things in it that are manipulatively emotionally intense. A very far from perfect viewer watched it. As usual, when a black man and white woman are involved in a romance, Hollywood doesn't want to call it a romance. One gets the impression that the couple had to cheat to appreciate their mutually exclusive relationships. That is how it is written. The writing does its job of drawing you in and keeping you engaged, whether you like the movie or not. Despite my imperfections, I'd like that emotion to be contained in a proper marriage no matter the color of the participants, but despite everything, this movie is a romance. There are many movies like this that have an all white cast. They are offensive too. They are forbidden. In the midst of all that, they are all called romance mivies. So is this one. There have been many straight and narrow romance movies but next to none of them feature a black man and white woman, because Hollywood is too offended by that. Hollywood needs to grow up. Let's not be more offended by the color combo than we are by cheating.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sweet movie
charliepistol5 February 2021
Loved the chemistry between the two characters right from the start. Storyline gets more serious as they both eventually hook up and then things change forever. What a film, nice ending also.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Enjoyable
missmkdirector30 June 2019
I have to agree with a lot that's been stated so far about this movie... The one that was a serious thumbs-down review I thought was overly critical! I thought the writing the acting and everything that went into this film was really quite enjoyable to watch!
4 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Actually good film!
ginnyeeee24 November 2019
Was pretty good. realsitic, deep strory about a life we have today. in the style like Before sunrise. Good actors.
3 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed