The Night Sitter (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
38 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Worth watching
mjsreg22 June 2019
Ouch! Some of the reviews are brutal for this movie.

OK, so it's not going to be a classic of all time, but it is watchable.

The thing that lets it down is the lack of really suspenseful build up in some places that are quite pivotal to the story. - it tens to move predictably smoothly from one scene to the next.

Apart from that, the acting is OK and the visuals are fine.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun horror witches movie.
jmbovan-47-1601735 April 2020
Nothing groundbreaking here, but somehow the cast and production make for a fun film. Somewhat standard plotting is abound with typical tropes for the genre. But, the connection between the "sitter" and her "charge" somehow give this film just a little bit more to enjoy. Again, nothing new or overly special, but it does hit the right notes for this type of film that I did enjoy watching it.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ignore the haters
justybear9627 August 2019
This is obviously a low budget horror film. The only difference is that the filmmaker's actually used their budget well. They found actors who are fairly decent and the special effects actually worked quit well. The three witches were scary/ menacing and the cinematography was beautifully shot with vivid colors reminiscent of Suspiria(1977). The movie is well worth your time and money if you're a true horror fan who appreciates well shot/acted b horror films.
23 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
I have seen so much worse.
feelinsicc18 June 2019
If you want a mindless late night movie to watch, this may do it for you. Nothing new here, but enough of the scenes work for me to stay for the whole thing. Not bad :) 6/10
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
My Review Of "The Night Sitter"
ASouthernHorrorFan6 August 2019
The story is unique in the way it takes familiar tropes and creates an interesting original spin. There is an obvious Christmas overture that sets the stage for the movie, but "The Night Sitter" has that bit of extra energy that clearly screams Halloween. The almost surreal atmosphere shown threw classic lighting color choices and complimentary soundtrack, easily recognizable as classic giallo and anthology films.

The characters are fun, they are stereotypical but written so cleverly they are interesting, all be it off-beat. The acting is a little above par for films like this, with a protagonist that you won't like, but thanks to strong story arc, she becomes redeemable. Even in the more dialog heavy, dramatic lulls, there is so much on screen keeping your attention. Thanks to great direction and cool casting.

"The Night Sitter" takes a slow start teaching the horror precipes, but it gets there. The film also knows how to tease, occult-themes, out of step characters, and a witchy kind of nightmare situation hold one's attention long enough for the horrors to really gear up. There is smart choices made in CGI and practical effects. It all really pays off nicely. Plus the creepy Mothers look awesome on screen. Enjoy this one, it is worth the watch.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun little 80's B-style throwback movie!
Wikkid_Gamez26 June 2019
I have been wanting to see this one for a while now, it was harder to find but I finally got the chance to see it. In the B-rated style of the 80's in more than one way and I found it to be a fun movie to add to our B-horror 80's style throwback night we had consisting of Summer of 84, The Final Girls, You Might be the Killer and The Night Sitter. It was a fun night! I definitely recommend this movie and the others to those that like a lot of the (sometimes cheesy, but in a good way) 80's B horror. The acting was solid, the theme/story a bit campy but fun! As long as you don't go into it trying to take it seriously, or make sense of it. Just think along the line of things like C.H.U.D., Night of the Comet, House or even House 2 (although not cute the way House 2 was with its puppy/caterpillar and such lol). Its not a scary, but it is a bit bloody. I would definitely watch it again!
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Witches
ohmeohmiah1 December 2019
A baby sitter who ends up watching the kid of a self proclaimed paranormal investigator. whom is in possession of a rare witchcraft book that contains the ability to conjure forth 3 witches known as the 3 mothers. This movie is beautifully lit with so much color it is satisfying just on that level. But the story holds up better than i would have expected. Its darkly comedic with some decent gorey parts and the soundtrack is synthy and cool. There is a fair ammount of build up before anything remarkably supernatural occurs but its suspenseful and interesting the whole time! Getting to know the characters is a real treat. The witches looked cool and i really liked the neighbor "vincent". I am glad i took a chance buying this. I can see how some might feel that this film a bit uneventful. Enough atmosphere to genuinely capture my interest. The 80's aesthetic found in this film was tasteful and not just masking the the contents of the story. This is a good movie in my opinion.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It had potential...
paul_haakonsen26 June 2019
The 2018 movie "The Night Sitter" from directors and writers Abiel Bruhn and John Rocco definitely had potential. But it ended up as being a very scrambled mess of a movie, and I lost interest in it fairly quickly given the fact that the characters were essentially as interesting as the tarmac of a rundown airport.

The concept idea of "The Night Sitter" had some interesting ideas and elements, but it was just brought to life on the screen in a very lackluster manner, and the movie suffered terribly from that.

And it didn't help to boost the movie or its enjoyment one bit that the storyline was so prolonged and slow-paced. It literally felt like you were getting nowhere while watching the movie. It took writers Abiel Bruhn and John Rocco so long to get from A to B, and managed to cram in very little of interest along the way.

Yes, I managed to endure "The Night Sitter" to the very end, hoping that the movie would do a 180 and become interesting. It just never happened, and I must also admit to be using my phone frequently throughout the course of this movie.

Definitely not a movie I can recommend that you waste your time, money or effort on. Nor is it a movie that I will ever be returning to watch a second time around.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The Night Floppers!
grahammwiles17 June 2019
Honestly, what nonsense. Its 15 min before the film ends and I am *YAWN*!

This is 80's meets 90's slapstick horror trying to be funny in between. Nothing special about the acting, the score and the film overall.

This is a film I wouldn't revist and scores itself a boring 4 stars just for the effort of trying to be a mainstream film.

What tosh!
13 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How is this getting good reviews?
papadeltazulu2 July 2019
I saw the trailer for this and read some of the glowing reviews and was really looking forward to it. It looked and sounded like a good old 80's throwback horror film. Trust me, it isn't.

The acting in the film, for the most part is fine and the setting is quite weird and atmospheric and the set up is promising enough. But then the film just goes nowhere, it takes an age for anything to happen, it has some of the most dislikable characters I've ever seen on film, seriously, there's not one person in the film I had any connection to, they're all awful people or complete idiots. They all say and do the dumbest things that completely suspend any belief, EG. Criminals go into a house to rob the place while the owner is out having a dinner date, so they have only a few hours to get the job done, then, for no reason, they decide to wonder off into the bedroom to take drugs and have sex without so much as taking a single item, who would do that???It makes no sense.

Then there's the camera work, the whole film seems to have a haze over the picture that makes the focus blurry for no reason. Any action or horror scenes take place while the camera is wobbled all over the place so you can't see what's going on, there's very little gore in the film but what there is looks fine but the 3 witches who are the main monsters in the film, you never see them, it's just 3 actors in black cloaks who come and go as the films plot needs them to. You never see anything because the budget is obviously so low they couldn't afford decent enough effects to show them. It literally is just that, 3 people in black cloak peeping around corners and then back ing off again. Most of the film is shot with blue and red lighting but its so dark that half the time you just can't see what's happening, I hate films that do this, it's lazy.

The music in the film is weird and the whole thing is quite a miserable and uncomfortable experience. This did have potential but unfortunately, it's handled so poorly that it's not even worth watching for free on cable. Avoid.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun little movie
kosmasp27 January 2019
It's always a matter of taste if you like certain movies. I can see and understand that some really dislike this. It's nothing flashy and yes it does use cliches as one would call them, to further some parts of the story. Some of the cliches are being used in a very self aware fashion.

If that matters to you or not, is something only you can decide. If you don't mind that, you will get a fun and light little horror movie. No this is not for the hardcore horror hounds, though I do think they know it. And even some of them don't mind a movie that does not go all out (doesn't mean, that it doesn't contain violence and/or brutal scenes). Characters were fine and acting decent for a movie of that character
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Why such a low rating?
DebraIonaVogel30 April 2020
I'm reading some of the reviews after watching this and am confused...

"Obviously low budget". Huh?? The movie used a really great house that looked perfect for the premise, above average sets, great lighting and actors who could actually act quite well.

It's funny and interesting. I liked Amber, our protaginist, a lot. It kept me intrigued. I hadn't seen this story done quite this way ever.

This movie does not suck. Give it a shot. It's a solid 8 with a good ending.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Stunning Photography Without Much Substance
jacobconnelly-476818 April 2020
If one were to hear the plot of The Night Sitter, it sounds potentially interesting. A young thief poses as a babysitter for a wealthy paranormal investigator and, while under her care, the paranormal investigator's young son gets out of his room and unleashes three wicked witches named The Three Mothers who wreak havoc and destruction to all of those around them.

For the first 20 minutes, The Night Sitter seems to be on the right path. The film, while clearly low budget, is beautifully photographed and the colored light gels invoke Dario Argento's Suspiria and Inferno. Unfortunately, it takes The Night Sitter over 45 minutes to get to anything even resembling danger and it's not like it's spent those first 45 minutes building up the characters, so it leaves us with a whole lot of nothing.

Still, this is something the film could easily redeem with an exciting second half, but even that begins to feel repetitive and lack a sense of threat. These witches seem more pesky than downright diabolical. It all adds up to one big missed opportunity.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Babysitter killers with giallo influence
BandSAboutMovies8 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Executive produced by Final Destination creator Jeffrey Reddick, The Night Sitter has plenty of style and neon color on display. It's trailer is incredibly effective, so I'd been waiting to see this for some time.

Amber (Elyse Dufour, Frankie from The Walking Dead) is a con artist posing as a babysitter to steal from a wealthy occult lover. However, she finds herself growing closet to his son Kevin, who has become a recluse after the death of his mother.

Speaking of mothers, this movie's villains are known as the Three Mothers, an obvious homage to Argento. This film takes that one step further and emulates Suspiria's neon colors. Other reviews are claiming this movie is a tribute to giallo, but let's be honest. This is closer to Evil Dead than that genre. It's just lazy reviewing, because you can debate if Argento's Three Mothers films are even giallo and are instead horror (you can also take me to task for not using gialli as the plural form if you want to take it even further).
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a load of w*nk!
Mamba255 September 2019
Absolute trash film! Complete yawn fest! Save 1hr28mims of your life and avoid watching this trash!
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Definitely a horror movie, but not in the way it was intended.
CabbageCustard19 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I note that this movie is described as being a comedy horror movie. Unfortunately, it's neither of those things. To be honest, I don't think the creators intended this to be a comedy at all. I think they just watched it after it was completed and realised how bad it was. It actually could have been a good comedy if the makers had actually gone for that. It's pretty close, but it misses. Honestly, I don't know where to begin - from the hopelessly chipper father who's going on a date (because his wife died 12 months ago and, you know, it's time to move on) who hires a girl he doesn't know to babysit his young son (who is a bit 'moody' because his Mum died 12 months ago. Kids today!), to the demented girlfriend who is possessed by a reincarnated witch, to the nerd who lives next door and just happens to be an expert on the occult (lucky, eh!?) and the wimpy ex-boyfriend of the babysitter whom the babysitter doesn't even care for (so why were they an item??) - this thing is just a farce from start to finish (but not in a good way). I do admit that I had the occasional guffaw but only at those bits that were trying to be scary but most certainly were not. Look, if your standards are really low and you're looking for a mindless movie to fill in 88 minutes then by all means watch this. If you're more discerning about what you call scary and what you call funny, then save yourself some bother and give this a miss.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The Babysitter Better Watch Out
thesar-223 May 2020
It's as if 2016's Better Watch Out met 2017's The Babysitter and had an average child the following year as 2018's The Night Sitter.

Think Die Hard's the only "Is It a Christmas Movie?" debate out there? You haven't seen this. They practically shove Christmas down our throats with Christmas lights and lighting everywhere along with one throwaway "Merry Christmas" and a theory only Kirk Cameron would like to rebut, but that's it. If it were minor, like you see a Christmas Tree in the unfocused background or the opposite: it had everything to do with Christmas, I could see it relevant. Instead, it's just distracting.

Okay, so this movie's trying to be funny, and it is...occasionally. This movie is trying to be edgy and it isn't...ever. And it's trying to be just as cool as it's parents, the aforementioned Better Watch Out and The Babysitter, and...it's sorta. It's just way too complex for its own good. In fact, so many of the subplots either wither away, or they literally cut away from them to get to another subplot. Or the main plot? There's so many of those circling around. At least the neighbor's super cute and the best character in the movie.

Hard to break down the synopsis, but I guess the very basic story is: the title character takes on two boys for a babysitting gig and while there's more about her than we'd like to know, the kid's being terrorized by "three mothers" after his own mother's passing. These could be part of his imagination when he's trying to sleep, but the idea sure wreaks havoc on the Title's own plan.

I did my best to not spoil anything there and be warned: I only gave maybe a tenth of the plots involved here. It's almost like they had 10 writers all trying to one-up the other. And all stoned, of course.

Now, it doesn't seem like I'm giving this movie a positive review. I liked it. I really didn't have too much of a problem except, as stated, the jokes MOSTLY fell flat and when the plots deflated like an untied balloon does, I kind of cringed. It was a well-worth it horror and REALLY stepped it up in the final act. Especially with a lot of gore and good special effects. Definitely a recommendation.

***

Final thoughts: And now, for the next reboot of The Addams Family, I give you the next Pugsley! The kid who played Ronnie: spitting image and while his screen time here was short, it does look like he has a future. I hope he pursues it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Vivid lighting......!
Samthesham6711 April 2020
Thank goodness for Elyse Dufour. Her good looks and acting skills were the only saviour for this 80's throwback. The lighting was reminiscent of The Evil Dead, Nightmare on Elm Street, The Gate etc. full of vivid greens, reds and blues. Whilst the lighting took me back to these films, they were of their time. Film, stories and production have changed a lot over the last 30-40 years, so I'm always looking for something new, different....this film was a 'been there, done that'. That said, this film will find an army of die-hard fans, but it wasn't for me sadly.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Low budget my A
gab-675998 March 2021
This was a good movie, loved the gore and the blood didn't look fake, I love any good horror/comedy movie and this was one of them. They had an original story and it made sense, just wish I knew what happened to them in the end after the door was opened.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
More fun than scary, nice nods to Argento
mhiggott24 February 2021
Not a classic, but it's an enjoyable fun film. I enjoyed the nods to Dario Argento with the 'Three Mothers' and the use of different coloured lighting. As a horror film it perhaps lack real scares, and as a comedy it's not really full-on belly-laugh funny, but it kept me interested and I enjoyed it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Kept me watching
dgonzalez-4079730 September 2020
This was a great movie! It was funny, spooky, had good effects, I just wish it was a little longer because the ending did leave a bunch of unanswered questions- maybe a sequel should be next?
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
5 Stars
Foutainoflife21 July 2020
A babysitter, with intentions of robbing her clients home, has to fight three witches to save the life of the child left in her care.

This is not an awful film. While it's low budget, it is filmed well and I enjoyed the use of colorful lighting. The story was interesting, albeit lacking in depth.

The acting was not bad considering I've seen worse in other low-budget films. Got to give credit where credit is due in that regard. There was a lack of character building that kept me from fully investing in any of the characters. I also had an issue with the children not seeming age appropriate for their characters and the pace was a bit slow.

Overall, it's not a blockbuster but it was a good watch for a lazy night on the couch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Let's Play
nogodnomasters19 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Amber (Elyse Dufour) is the hot babysitter who plans on robbing her client Ted Hooper (Joe Walz) paranormal investigator without a TV show. The valuable stuff is locked up in his study. She only has to lift her top once for the boys. The two boys find their way into the study and a paper cut summons the Three Mothers who are witches who bleed children to death. Three people show up to help Amber carry out items and the neighbor also comes over but they get distracted by a witch hunt.

The film isn't anything special, but if you like the genre you should get some enjoyment from it.

Guide: F-word, sex, nudity (Alyx Libby )
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Pretty Dumb
wandernn1-81-68327411 May 2020
-1 For a Comedy / Horror with a serious lack of Comedy / Horror

Okay the story of this one is pretty weak. But sure 'Witches Are Real!'

-1 Star for Some pretty lacking acting, story, plot, whatever.

-1 Star for STUPID KID lines

+1 Star for Annoying Character killed by Friendly Fire

-1 Star For Cruddy unrewarding ending.

Really this movie is a complete bomb and I'm sorta surprised I didn't turn if off before getting to the ending. Don't waste your time.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not interesting
Leofwine_draca1 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
THE NIGHT SITTER is another juvenile B-movie horror flick deilberately made to resemble '80s fare like NIGHT OF THE DMEONS. Sadly it doesn't have much to say for itself and after a long set-up it turns out to offer generic thrills in the form of gory nonsense and cheesy dialogue. The story follows a bland babysitter who ends up in a house at night with three summoned witches, with lots of extraneous characters wandering around ready to get bumped off messily. It's tired and routine, and didn't interest me for a moment thanks to the bargain basement feel.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed