Sky Hunter (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
21 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Made in China
pilot10099 July 2019
For that audience, and no worse than many western action flix. Very simplistic story but good aerial graphics (in general) and technology. Interestingly the 'bad guys' seemed to be Russian or at least one of the southern ?styistans but speaking English, hmmmm not sure what to make of that Anyway not a great film but no worse that many out of the west.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Dull, dull, dull
mike_kitchen14 April 2018
Pros: Has some interesting shots of aircraft

Cons: Pretty much everything else. includes - Badly done aerial combat sequences. Top Gun was fun, included real aircraft, but the combat wasn't realistic. This has very few "real aircraft" shots in it, linked to combat sequences that looked like they were dreamt up by a 7 year old playing with a couple of Tamiya kits - Dull plot that seemed to scrape the worst bits from Top Gun, Behind Enemy Lines 2 (yes, that laughable "being chased by missile" sequence), and Blackhawk down - Flat characters, none of whom it was possible to give a stuff about Absolute bargain basement DVD section for this one.
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Chinese Top Gun - sorry
randyc-7638718 November 2018
Just watch Top Gun then Sky Hunter. Race baiting won't improve a poor film.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Another Chinese Military Might Propaganda film
MovieIQTest13 April 2018
As predicted, the Chinese movie industries under the new guidance and new policy of Chinese Communist Party, more and more Chinese military movies would be churned out regularly. These films are all big budget ones, heavily supported and sponsored by the Chinese government that only serve two purposes: 1) Let the Chinese people believe that their military power is so strong, not only just protect their own territory, it could also do some damages abroad anywhere, anytime. 2) Let the foreign countries and the foreigners to see how powerful the Chinese forces are now, and they are ready and capable to deal with any unfriendly situation.

These are the Chinese "Main Tune, Main Steam" movies: Wolf Warrior, Wolf Warrior 2, Operation Red Sea and this "Sky Hunter". Wolf Warrior showed you how intrepid the Chinese Army Special Force on the land. Wolf Warrior 2 and Operation Red Sea showed you the joint operations by the Chinese Army Special Force and the Chinese Navy Force. Sky Hunter, sponsored by the Chinese Air Force.

This "Sky Hunter" would give you a general idea about the Chinese Air Force, their "Air Superior" should be seriously observed by the Western and the Asian countries. They are more than ready to deal with any challenge from unfriendly foreign countries.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Poor Film
randyc-7638722 October 2018
The script could be better written by a 6th grader. Propaganda over film quality.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Highly recommended!
fionaccf9 October 2017
I truly enjoyed the movie as it is exciting to watch from start til the end. There's some jokes involved as well (if you are running man china aka keep running fan, as you will notice there's cameo appearance captain Deng chao on one quick screen) the chemistry between actor and actress simply just superb. Even through its Li Chen first director film (he also involved in script writing part as well) the story line is not too messy.

For the past few years, china production movies seriously beat Hong Kong movies. As I found sky hunter touches your heart deeply as you will feel their dedication for the love for their countries.

I seriously recommended Sky Hunter if you are a fan of action movies.
19 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Action and Special Effects
emperoryad8 October 2017
Quite surprised, Chinese movies special effects and action getting really good, they are learning from how US Hollywood has done it. Really liked the jet action and dogfighting. Also had a good plot with emotions and drama. Glad I get a chance to see some of the movies China is putting out vs only getting to see US Hollywood movies. China is becoming a big movie market and I believe it has done well in their market.
18 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Extremely predictable
Leofwine_draca19 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
SKY HUNTER isn't a bad film per se, just an extremely predictable one. It's another flag-waving slice of propaganda from the Chinese mainland, starring none other than Fan Bingbing, best known these days for being deliberately disappeared for months by the Chinese authorities (for tax evasion, apparently). The story is reminiscent of TOP GUN and follows a bunch of air force recruits as they become involved in a military coup in a made-up foreign country. CGI-fuelled SFX spectacle ensues, with trite dialogue and make-it-up-as-you-go-along plotting. It's certainly far from the worst film I've seen, but it feels somehow bland when compared to the excellence of WOLF WARRIOR 2 and OPERATION RED SEA.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Much more entertaining than what I expected!!!
o-212298 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
China is making much-better-than-before military films.

Wolf warriors and Operation Mekong are both examples. But this Sky Hunter is a different one, for it focused on the Air Force. Personally, I'm a huge fan of films and games like Top Gun, Ace Combat and Tom Clancy's HAWX.

Sadly, it's been literally more than 10 years without a serious fighter jet film made, and the latest one I can remember was the French film, Les chevaliers Du Ciel, in 2005. This new film from China has fulfilled all my fantasies of the Air Force. It shows many new fighter jets like J-20 as well as cool maneuvers such as dogfights and missile evasion, and the CGI is great. Many breathtaking scenes can be seen in it, such as the final battle scene with a J-10 against a Mirage 2000. It reminded me of the last mission of Ace Combat Zero, in which Cipher was against Solo Wing Pixy. To me, the biggest surprise was Hans Zimmer being in charge of the soundtrack! I never expected him to show up in a Chinese film, OMG! If you are a fan of Ace Combat or HAWX, make sure you don't miss this one!

While this film is great, I sincerely hope that America will make another masterpiece like Top Gun. After all, although they have J-20s and J-31s, we have F-22s and F-35s!
14 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Annoying music
calmlity5 December 2018
The background music is annoying, I stop watching in 30 minutes.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One better then another
edgy-827-48696526 November 2017
Its really true. Past few years PRC film industry did huge progression. I mean, CGI in "Lost in the Pacific" or first "Wolf warriors" was so-so, or really bad. This movies was made i think around 2014-15. But then! I see many films released in 2017 (or even end 2016) and this just wow. How they improve, and you may disagree, but this action films like WW2, Operation Mekong, Sky Hunter and other - REALLY ACTION FILMS, not this talky trash that Hollywood try to sell us nowadays. Its Sky Hunter need to crash box office, not cartoonish "Thor 666: Guardians of Disney chatty Galaxy". Yes this Chinese films have some issues with strong propaganda, but I can live with it. Because I want see films for grown ups filled with real action and real drama.
11 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome fighter jet action. Why the low rating?
achan-930465 December 2017
I watched this film and I was blown away. The production values, special effects, action sequences, and sound production were top notch. I saw no difference between this and America's best blockbuster action films as far as quality is concerned.

The characters were humorous, likable, and believable. The plot was simple and action scenes kept the pace enjoyable throughout.

So, why the low rating? I looked at the 150+ odd votes and I noticed there's a lot of racist trolls who manipulated the votes for this film.

A huge chunk of the votes were 1/10. This film is NOT a 1/10. That is a ludicrous score. Even Uwe Boll's films get 2-3 on average. So, those people who gave this film a 1/10 hate the film because it's made by China. It's racism. Plain and simple.

I hope IMDb will clean up the trash because I've noticed the same pattern at other Chinese films like Wolf Warrior 2.

Watch the film. You won't be disappointed, unless you're a jealous racist hater.
11 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
If you are looking for an aviation movie look elsewhere
ltwong-us10 February 2020
There are better movies out there, i.e. Chevaliiers du Ceil. The dogfight scenes were right out of a really bad video game and the plot is middling at best. The actors did there best given the material. But there are better ways to spend your time if you love aviation movies.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Simply Sensational! One of my favorites!
paulclaassen18 June 2018
Its almost inconceivable to think this was actor Chen Li's debut film as director. Almost every scene is visually stunning. The film is action-packed, exciting, suspenseful and just damn great fun! Everything about this ambitious film was done to perfection, even the awesome score by Hans Zimmer. This is my favorite Chinese film, next to Wolf Warriors 2, and one of my all-time favorite action films. It was simply sensational!!
4 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Really, 5.3??? Ever Fast and Furious 7 gets a 7.2
iamsunfeiyang13 January 2018
If your are in for aerial combat, then this is it! It has the best dog fight scene since Top Gun. The directing and script writing aren't perfect. You can find many loopholes if you are picky. For example, why are the Chinese special force using M4s and FAST helmets? How did those copters slipped through Radar detection. Why the Chinese air force only send in 2 fighters...beside these little things, they got everything right. Again, aerial combat scenes are freaking awesome
5 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
SO BAD IT'S GOOD
MadamWarden1 March 2020
Boy, I have watched some awful US military propaganda movies but nothing could prepare me for this hilarious attempt by China!! πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

If you can bear to watch the whole thing (I suggest at 6x speed, you can still catch the hilarious subtitles) you can have a really good laugh.

πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Far below Top Gun
minella_39 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This script has been acted over and over. There is nothing new here. Acting could be better. Top Gun and Behind The Enemy Lines had way better special effects even though they were released decades earlier. Too many holes in the story.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Avoid this high-budget low-quality chinese propaganda flick.
carlos-pires22 February 2020
This is yet another BS-ladden propaganda movie obviously banked by the chinese government. It's total crap. A complete waste of time. Don't bother. I can't understand how a guy like Hans Zimmerman can sign a contract to deliver a musical score to such a piece of politically biased crap. That goes to show that successful artist are all fu**ing sell-outs. From now on, I actually might never watch another movie scored by Zimmerman.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Impressive Chinese Action Blockbuster Film!
betamalehma3 March 2018
Sky Hunter is a decent action flick up to par with Hollywood popcorn blockbusters, which is impressive!

Not sure why people brand it as a propaganda movie. A little double standard is taken into account when handling chinese military movies, it's kind of sad. I think people dont know what propaganda means anymore. Propaganda is information that is used to mislead and influence the public opinion in favor of for example a political standpoint.

I see no portraying of propaganda none whatsoever in this movie. This movie even admits that China has no modern real life combat experience. What military propaganda admits their disadvantage? Also this movie promotes peace over war, and that the military should be only used for national security and defense and not for terror. If advocating peace and non intrusive military is propaganda, then I welcome this propaganda anytime!

Other than that this movie shows brotherhood, comradeship, romance and love. It was entertaining from beginning to end, and the fairly unknown actors (except for Fan Bingbing the female protagonist, which is a superstar in China!) did a pretty good job acting out their characters. The Villains were convincing. The fighter jet dogfight scene, John Woo style showdown shooting fest in mid-air was memorable, though not realistic, but hey its a movie!

The scene where the two fighter jet pilots exchanged words through their intercom while flying next to each other and daring each other out, is a scene I have never seen before in any action movie and may very well be an instant classic!
3 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better than top gun X 100
ride-897-7293598 July 2019
Wow this has some of the best fighter pilot scenes EVER. Great Chinese blockbuster, good plot tho acting is a tad forced. Awesome CGI
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfect dog fight
mfatih-5816416 March 2019
I loved the loved the movie! Good acting acting, great effects everything was just perfect...
0 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed