The Negotiation (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
32 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
A Reasonable Negotiation !
saptesh78624 June 2019
This is Korean thriller. A man, Min Tae-gu (Hyun Bin) kidnapped some hostages along with police official and killed one of them for his demand and only wants to negotiate with Miss Ha Chae-yun ( Ye-jin Son), Deputy police inspector. What are his demands? Why does he only to negotiate with miss Ha ? And what is the end. To get those answers see this movie. It is high tension drama till end. When drama goes further you will be realised the dark truth of corrupt army heads and corrupt Politians too and their racket! Disclosing suspense will be horrified you. End is realistic and not so much dramatic as usual thriller did it always. The story is strong and not to let you lose your attention till last moment. Very good watchable thriller. Acting done by leading actress is very well. Others are okay. Just watch thriller lovers.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
6.5 Stars
Foutainoflife14 February 2019
A negotiator, tired of seeing bad outcomes, decides to make a career change but before she can get out, she's called into a special negotiation where her boss is the hostage. This case is more than it seems but will she be able to avoid another bad outcome.

While this wasn't an awful film, it kinda goes haywire after what seemed to be a solid start. I thought the actors all played their roles well but the way that the script is put together had me struggling to keep up with whom did what, where, when, why and how. I had no problems with the effects or the pace. It just felt like there was too much going on.

I did like the film. I thought it was a decent thriller that had a few flaws. There are times when I watch foreign films and I start to wonder if maybe it might have been better had I been able to understand the language or had better subtitles. This might be one of those films. Check it out though. Maybe you can catch something I missed and it might just be the thing that makes this "Just Ok," film into an "Awesome" film.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Deserves better rating
sugrib10 August 2020
It's 7.5 actually.

Not a 6.6 movie. I started that with a little expectation considering the rating. But, you'll be hooked after watching first few minutes. And Don't miss a single minute, all these are full of info.

The only thing that frustrates me is the ending. They could have taken another 15 to 20 mintues to make everything clear. Still It's okay. But, that was preety quick and few questions are still to be answered.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Watch it for the intense acting
Fjnel14 July 2020
The script is just okay, the story's not something new, but the acting (especially by the two leads) was superb. Their onscreen chemistry even transcends computer monitors.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A pulsating thriller
ctowyi6 October 2018
Not since Cold Eyes (2013) have I seen a top tier Korean thriller.

This is one of those movies so dense with information that if you take a break to check your social media, you are going to miss something. In The Negotiation, information that is seemingly unimportant is going to feature like da bomb later. Pay attention!

The two leads are superbly cast. Their character motivations are superbly painted. When all the jigsaw pieces start to fit together... OMG! What elevates it even higher is that 90% of the time both of them are in two locked rooms separated by an ocean (or is it?). The tension is armrest-gripping marvellous. The twists and turns more than a rollercoaster ride. The pace never falters and the ending is satisfying. The motto here is the X-Files maxim "trust no one", not even the police and especially the government.
16 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good...
RosanaBotafogo13 March 2021
The film is not very my style, but it is always good to taste good films, intelligent, that deliver information gradually, the type of film that has to be attentive to the dialogues, and my dispersion does not help much, female characters of highlights, competent and beautiful , Koreans delivered a round film, good script, exact timing, I love the disheveled Kim Sang-Ho...
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
SOme good scenes but improbable stroryline.
mrrcott21 September 2018
This could have been great if they had maintained the tension. But the problem is there were too many screens and monitors in the way of the action. Anf the movie goes off the rails in the final act.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
JUST WATCH DUDE
febriandaru9 July 2019
I still don't know why people give this movie low rating. Like, OMG what the hell just happen guys? Every movie have their goddamn own pace, if you cannot follow that, just go away. Watch your western Hollywood whatever is that. Ignore dumb critic just watch the movie.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
If you have to see Son Ye Jin and Hyun Bin in a movie together, otherwise skip it
phd_travel18 March 2020
Even for CLOY fans who just have to see Son Ye Jin and Hyun Bin together again on screen, I have to say this isn't a nice movie to watch. It does give the viewer a chance to see them in very different roles, she as a hostage negotiator andhe as a hostage taker who has a reason. They are both different and act well. It just spoils the memory of CLOY seeing them in this kind of role. The unlikely conspiracy theory story gets overblown and unbelievable.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The Exact Situation Right Now On Earth
tareque274213 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Evil always win. This is one of the example of this. And congratulation to her, al least she saves some people.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Wow this movie! YOU HAVE TO WATCH
juzer0325 March 2019
It will suck you in from the start. I loved every moment of movie. Everything felt relarvent. There aren't many good negotiation based movie. This one was epic.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Its was good
pachiathao18 July 2019
I honestly watched through this film and it was good. The main actor did well on his part. I dont quite remember this movie well but I do know that the vibe between the two on set was honestly amazing. How both of them played their characters was pretty cool. I would recommend this movie, but it doesnt always put you on your feet and keep you wanting more.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nice movie
funnycommentor16 November 2021
The plot of the movie was so interesting and has some similarities with the movie "The Guilty" (2018). The characters were nice. The opening scene was so intense and a nice start for a movie. In my opinion, that movie is way better than the movie "The Guilty" because it's not filmed in only one location. I have to admit that sometimes during the film, I was kinda bored.. But, the ending scene was so good and intense. I think those kind of movies are enjoyable to watch them only once, because after the first time watching you are getting bored.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good movie!
mirielley28 March 2020
Worth the watch! Impressive plot and acting! Definitely keeps you on your toes and what will happen next.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So bad! So so bad!
Dubdub197423 February 2022
This woman is supposed to be the top negotiator in the country and yet is constantly crying or teary eyed ! Why would they think that a professional woman be soooo constantly emotional?! Especially in that field?! Even more so when she's supposed to be a top professional?! Son Ye Jin is just utter rubbish in this one. Hyun bin is no better: trying way too hard to...something. God knows what but it's very theatrical and not believable at all. Continuity issues are numerous and jarring. One doesn't care about any of the characters or the plot. Save yourself: pass! Hard pass!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A great watch. A must watch for Hyun Bin fans
bmansi-2846818 December 2018
This is such a great movie. I usually don't watch movies like these. But I'm glad I watched this because it is so good. The plot is good with great twists. The cinematography is pretty great considering the fact that most of this movie takes place in just 3 locations. It's hard to direct and act in a movie like this where most interactions aren't face to face. But the director and cast have done a superb job. The best thing about the movie is the acting of the leads. Hyun Bin especially has done an amazing job. I particularly loved his acting in the ending. It's so so good. He never dissapoints. Such a great and versatile actor. The film is good. And it's a must watch for Hyun Bin fans because his character is pretty different from his usual work but he has done an amazing job of portraying the character.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
it seems to see why Chinese movies can hardly even eat the tail gas of Korean movies now
yoggwork18 February 2019
Well, it seems to see why Chinese movies can hardly even eat the tail gas of Korean movies now. At least people dare to put the moths on the dock at the end of the movie, and Chinese movies are always the positive energy for the big rats to be at ease.
3 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The actors are better than the script.
AJ_McAninch3 January 2020
Two of my favorite lead actors, and a stellar cast backing them. But even they couldn't save a mediocre plot and predictable outcome. I still enjoyed it, just not a great film.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good thriller...
kamalbeeee27 April 2020
Negotiation to a killer with hostage...killer has a own story for revenge some higher authority people and accomplice eventually with the help of police negotiator..good screenplay and thriller...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Worth watching for everything including the lead pair.
prafull-ambekar28 December 2018
This movie is one thrilling ride with twists and turns. Bonus is watching the lead pair. The antagonist has an imposing screen presence, with extremely good looks. The lead actress is amazing and easy on the eyes. Top notch movie. 10 out of 10.
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good and genuine
xansreview17 August 2019
A good thriller movie. Plot twist, conflicts and suspense were there. Genuine acting and good plot but feels illogical at some point. Hope there will be a sequel for this movie🙏
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Loved it
bayanedaissi14 November 2020
Great thriller; acting on point, great cinematography, and storyline is well developed. Worth watching.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Find out the reason of kidnapping. Thrill
moviesknight16 April 2020
The planning, execution and trying to topple the big institution for the justice to be served. How will be the justice be served if they are corrupted. The vermins in our nation who due to their influence and money buys justice and what have they done to our country. Is there any hope? The actual motive of these kidnapping gets clearer with the movie. The side which govt shows, is that always true? The love for ones family. Will justice be served? Same plot like many hostage movies. Inspector gets too emotional, but she does her job really well in the situation and really comes out better version of herself with a promise to keep!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Such a good movie!
yushengismart28 October 2018
I watched it and I felt this was such a good movie as the story was really great! The actors brought me deep into the story by their excellent acting skills. I could tell the movie put in good effort into the action scenes. It has some funny scenes and not really violent. I am looking forward to more movies like this!
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the bomb.com
sahaaabjawad15 December 2018
Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayum son. one of hyun bin's best movies to date
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed