The Detail (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

(2018– )

User Reviews

Review this title
27 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
Poor writing, bad acting.
TheTopDawg26 March 2018
So here we have yet another police procedural TV show, only this time, in the hour this episode lasts, 30 minutes is 3 women who's characters are unconvincing and acting too aloof dealing with their personal menopausal relationship issues, and the other 30 mins is trying to convince us they are doing police work. Seriously, who comes up with this stuff and who pays to produce this hot mess? Bring back Motive. A generous 3/10 from me - will re-evaluate after attempting to sit through a few more episodes.
33 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
remake of UK series Scott & Bailey
merlatta31 March 2018
That's a remake of UK series Scott & Bailey and as almost every remake ever made it's not... let's put it that way... very good.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The writing needs to improve.
blownwideopen4 April 2018
Update Apr 22/2018: Sorry but I had to downgrade my rating from 5 stars down to 3. The reason being that the writing has gotten worse with each episode instead of better.

Being a fan of Saving Hope & Rookie Blue, I was really looking forward to this series. But sadly, as is the case with most new shows these days, the writing is terrible. The main cast is quite good but a better job needs to be done selecting the extras & secondary actors. I don't think this show will last long unless these shortcomings are fixed soon!
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Will Give it a Chance
pgdoyle-7869126 March 2018
This is totally a remake of the UK's Scott and Bailey - I recognized that in the first 5 minutes (and stopped to write this). I will give it a chance; I'm interested to see how well Angela Griffin does, I used to watch her on Coronation Street, and Wendy Crewson is always good. I've got to say though, I love the original so much, especially Amelia Bullmore, and my heart sank when I realized what was going on. (However, Scott and Bailey's creator Sally Wainwright is attached, so perhaps there's hope yet.) Go watch Scott and Bailey!
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Scott & Bailey remake minus the talent
thedunns-1146324 April 2018
A middling Canadian remake of UK's Scott & Bailey minus the charismatic actors and strong writing. The original's creator - the brilliant Sally Wainwright - has a purely contractual executive producer credit and a few of her scripts are given downgraded re-writes, but it's the terrible casting that really hurts this new production. Wendy Crewson - in an undeveloped supporting role as police captain - is fine, as is David Cubitt, but the two leads are absolutely forgettable, even if they are under-served by the show's writing staff. (Yes, the mostly female writing staff is just as hacky as any mostly/all-male writing staff.)
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
so disappointed!!!!
rosalindparker28 March 2018
I loved Rookie Blue and Saving Hope so was set to love this too. I also loved Scott & Bailey and was shocked to see such a poor attempt at a rip off, even some of the dialogue was an exact copy but without the character build up and good plot line. What a disappointment.
14 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
credit the Original
yo-2265728 March 2018
I loved Scott and Bailey and hope to love this remake. But I was surprised not to see any references to the original until I saw a review here. I wish you well but please credit the original.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
What's with these women who focus more on their bad relationships with men than on their jobs?
Ed-Shullivan28 March 2018
Why would these so called liberated female actresses allow themselves to be portrayed as female police detectives who can't get over the rotten men in their lives? This premiere episode focused on not one (1), not two (2), but three (3) women who were experiencing trouble in their relationship with men.

The main gist of this episode is surrounding a woman who was murdered and her husband is the prime suspect. Now this prime suspect husband happens to be having an extra marital affair with a nurse who represents the third women in this trilogy of women who pick the wrong men to get involved with.

I thought this was supposed to be a crime show not an afternoon soap opera?

I think I will stick to watching re-runs of Rookie Blue and Major Crimes.

The Detail rates a low 4 out of 10 on my rating list.
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
So good to see Angela Griffin
joprkmn17 April 2018
You will always be Fiona. even though I'm not watching Corrie any more. Enjoyed seeing your still playing a strong woman role Would enjoy seeing more of your charactor on detail. a very old fan of your work.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great new show
blairdolson-218 April 2018
This show gets better every week. Give it a chance. Its a remake of Scott and Bailey, but it's starting to move away from the original and find its own voice.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
KEEP SHOW GOING
dadsgirlnotouch4 September 2018
LOVE THE SHOW

PLEASE KEEP SERIES GOING

Love women detective shows
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not anywhere as bad as everyone else says
billyprefect29 May 2018
I don't mind this show at all. Some bits of humour, some crime, some drama. My wife and I are actually enjoying watching it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
So disappointing
abwetman-1-81732811 April 2018
I was so hoping this would be good unfortunately they threw away everything that made the British series enjoyable. One the actresses are too good looking. It set in rich Toronto not the grinding poverty of let's say downtown Hamilton. The lead is very weak and has no range. It remind me of a line from the show. MADE IN CANADA. "Our third rate stuff is second to none.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great adaptation of a great British series
johnwallacetheking1 April 2018
Looking forward to seeing how this progresses and changes from the original. So far I think it's an entertaining adaptation. Brit crime with a canadian twist. Loved it.
7 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Couldn't go thorugh the first ep.
charlotte-s-lindberg24 April 2018
The acting is quite bad. The filming, the angles the grading - it all reminds me of and old soap from the 90s. And it's the worst attempt at a female centric show that I've ever seen. Not sure where they found the script writers..
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Based on Scott and Bailey
srhclrksn2 December 2018
I have just started watching this show on Crave, and the very first episode where Jackie having a chat with her lover, the dialogue was straight from Scott and Bailey! So far it is a pretty good show although it is a little bit slow as opposed to Scott and Bailey which I find much snappier! The acting is well done and the filming has some good intense scenes! I also love the shows done by Sally Wainwright on British TV!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The Detail a Canadian filmed version of Scott And Bailey
beautifulwitch11 November 2018
A blatant remake of the British TV crime drama Scott And Bailey but nowhere near as good.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Okay
gemmakmp7 November 2018
I quite liked it Angela's accent was good. I preferred it to the English version.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Truely great
dchchaman28 May 2018
I like how they maid each character expectacularly different and interesting with a wonderful back history. It has a dark story but at the same time funny sometimes. Well played thank you
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great cast but missing "details"
safimiguel14 May 2018
Ok so the show is called the Details, hence i expected more details, maybe from the actors and their life style. I want to know more about Fiona, her divorce and is she a lesbian idk NEED MORE DETAILS. Over all i think the show is good and i like it so far.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Here We Go Again
emelinemiller5 May 2018
I agree with Harrison, once again as with too many, poor writing, poor acting, superficial, unconvincing. Yeah, who comes up with this stuff? I was finished with it after two episodes. I was totally aware of being on the set, watching the actors, seeing the cameras and the lighting and all that was going on. That's always a clue for me. There are brilliant series out there, but from what I see they are few, those that you can drop into fully, and be caught in the story so much so you forget that it's not a real story. Now that's true creative - that's entertainment! Fortunately it's still around, here and there. I gave this show a 1, only because I couldn't find a 0.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Remake?
JusMe21 April 2018
Seems this is a pure remake of The Division https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0272376/?ref_=nm_flmg_act_13

which ran four seasons. Good series then, but that was then, so no good reason to try rematching it in a remake.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Wanted to like this Canadian made series
sharonfraser25 April 2018
I was looking forward to this new Canadian series but sadly it fails on all fronts. The story lines are a sad re-hash of the excellent British series "Scott and Bailey". Surely there must be some Canadian writers with an ORIGINAL idea. The acting is unconvincing. Better to watch Scott and Bailey again than to waste your time on this lack luster attempt.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Unlikeable Characters
annmoore6 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I really wanted to like this as I have long been a fan of Angela Griffin, but the show is very disappointing. There is not one likeable character in it and the three women leads are just awful. I like Wendy Crewson and I expect the writers wanted to portray her character as a 'tough female in authority' but she just comes across as being bolshy, rude and annoying. The young detective is ridiculously immature - and to find out in episode 7 that she has been in the police force for 10 years? And as for Angela Griffin's accent? Not a winner in my opinion - check out the original - it was far superior.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Plagiarism of Scott & Bailey
cdartis11 April 2018
The characters and the stories totally plagiarise the british show Scott & Bailey... without any invention or originality... sad ! But I appreciate the two principal actresses, especialy Angela Griffin (I loved her in Lewis, years ago). It's not their fault if the show is a pale duplicate of a great serie.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed