The Dark (2018) Poster

(I) (2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
114 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
You can never be too safe
nogodnomasters27 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The write up for the film gives away too much information, so pardon me if I follow in suit.

Josef Hofer (Karl Markovics) is" armed and dangerous." He is wanted and more nervous than the proverbial long-tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs. He opts to hide out in a place called Devil's Den...and 28 minutes later, forget that film. We now are introduced to Mina (Nadia Alexander) badly in need of a manicure who lives in an abandoned house. It is apparent she has been abused and there is a backstory to go with it. Hint: mother's boyfriend. Mina meets Alex (Toby Nichols) who was also abused. She takes pity on him and doesn't eat it. They are being hunted...or maybe they are the hunters.

The film drags you in if you don't know anything about it. There are interesting turns that eventually get you to the description the filmmakers put out. I liked how the script played out. Mina was interesting. I didn't like Alex. The plot was different from the formula filled genre.

Guide: 1 f-word I caught. Brief clothed sex/rape? No nudity. 7 stars for originality.
13 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Friends ... well sort of
kosmasp4 March 2019
There are movies, where you know what they are about and how the story will develop from the first frames. This is not one of those movies. If you have not seen the trailer or read the summary of the story, this movie will surprise you. And it will take you on a journey that you may like.

That is if you like weird, if you don't mind violence in a movie and are not easy to disturb in general. That is true for me, though even I was shocked with one special development in the first couple of minutes. Not to mention that it really achieved to be scary. Not knowing what or who was where, and what the characters are about in the movie ... it helped a lot create a mood, that the viewer gets caught in. Nicely shot and really well done overall
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyable if somewhat dull ghost effort
kannibalcorpsegrinder13 January 2019
Becoming lost in the forest, a blind boy believing that his abductor is holding him hostage finds that the one who freed him is the deadly ghost said to haunt the woods they're in and must put their newfound friendship to the test in order to navigate the dangers awaiting them on their journey.

For the most part, this was a decent if somewhat underwhelming entry. Among the better aspects featured here is the really intriguing and somewhat original storyline at play here. Treating the ghostly being as a vicious murderer with no remorse or empathy isn't really new, but the fact that she shows kindness to the boy due to his condition offers a really interesting point of view. Able to not only interact with the surroundings by opening doors, manipulating objects as if she were a regular human and even bringing up quality to their interactions which aren't normally associated with ghostly beings that all combine together towards giving this a decidedly fresh and original spin on the subject matter. That also translates nicely into the film's other really great aspect here in the high-quality stalking scenes. The opening attack on the criminal is a fantastic setpiece within the house and out into the booby-trapped woods, while the ambush on the friendly officer attempting to help them showcases some rather fine brutality that really doesn't come up in most genre titles. The slaughter of the workers out in the woods attempting to find him offers some fine carnage as the inadvertent nature of him triggering her to action gives this some really fun moments as the stalking through the woods is quite creepy and chilling. Coupled with the fine gore effects as well as the stellar make-up on the ghost version of the girl, there's enough to like here that holds it up over it's few issues. Among the film's problems is the absolutely dire pacing that transpires throughout here. The fact that it takes us around fifteen minutes before even attempting to move toward it's storyline offers very little of interest just watching the guy go through the woods up to the house, as the lack of energy for the scenes is incredibly dispiriting with no real effort made to generate some excitement in the matter. There's not a whole lot of really explosive energy or such going on through here as even their attempts to get away from the hunters doesn't ratchet up the tension here which it really should've. As well, the other real problem is the lack of explanation for the abduction as the inability to see what's going on with him being out of the way continually puts them in danger and making the final half more frustrating than scary. Otherwise, there isn't much else really wrong here.

Rated Unrated/R: Graphic Violence, Language and themes of child abuse.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Different story for once.
deloudelouvain8 April 2019
The horror genre is always difficult to rate as not everyone enjoys the same kind of horror. But I can see why there are so much positive reviews about this movie. For once it's totally different, you would almost feel sympathy for evil, or at least for what the little girl is supposed to be. Personally I would not have gone that healing way and just left it at a lost soul due to the early abuse. The acting isn't bad at all, what makes this horror flick worth a watch. As for the gore it's well proportioned, just enough to not turn it into a slasher. An interesting and unique story make The Dark worth the detour.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
desperate measures for a desperate kid
ops-5253523 October 2018
It barely happens,to watch a movie from the perputrators angle, thuogh the perpoutrator is also the victim . i liked this film as it unveiled the secrets of the victims of a victim,which made me feel sympathetic to the choices and actions she takes. there are lots of blood and gore,but as i mention,there is a reason. the story are merely well told, the loations , environment and settings are well prepared. the filmography and editing are brilliant and the acting are good. what makes a drawback in stars,is the pace of the progression. if you want a horrish pal,then do watch the dark
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good, but not as interesting as it promises to be.
parry_na6 February 2021
As a title, 'The Dark' is about as generic as you can get: it tells you nothing about this film, and so the hope is that you will go in blind as I did, with no preconceptions. The idea of a feral, scarred girl living in the isolated home in which she was abused is a promisingly disturbing one. Her friendship with young Alex (Toby Nichols), whose eyes have been burnt out and cannot see her disfigurement allows us to witness a potentially touching relationship.

My feelings are that having set up this interesting premise, writer/director seems to have trouble bringing the story forward. Once Mina (Nadia Alexander) first speaks, she ceases to become quite so animalistic. Lucid and intelligent as she and Alex both are, the wonder is why they both choose to live this ramshackle, cannibalistic lifestyle - although the end revelation may go somewhere to answering that.

Not quite as interesting as it initially promises to be, 'The Dark' is nevertheless a good attempt at something thought-provoking and interesting. My score is 6 out of 10.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't watch it! Really bad!
kwenchow22 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Really don't know why some people give this film 10/10! Another boring so called horror film! The film start with a criminal killed a shopkeeper and then he killed by another zombie girl! The action not intense at all! Many plot holes actually! The zombie girl hate her stepfather but she try to kill her mom at the end instead! Not make sense at all! And the film is too slow! Keep showing audience the zombie girl searching things! This film is awful as hell!
7 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Dark Revenant Drama
Pairic29 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The Dark: The banality of evil: a store owner in rural America tries to scare an outsider customer with tales of people torn apart in the Devil's Den when the TV news announces that the shopper, Josef (Karl Markovics) is a dangerous criminal. Josef flees to the Devil's Den and finds a seemingly abandoned house in the forest. But an axe comes through a wall and he is pursued into the forest by the undead Mina (Nadia Alexander). Josef is an abductor who has left the teen Alex (Toby Nichols) in his car. Blinded by Josef, Alex has developed Stockholm Syndrome and is devoted to his captor. Mina decides to let Alex live and flees with him into the forest when he doesn't want to be found by the police.

While Mina appears to be a Zombie, her face shows damage rather than decomposition, she can speak and move normally but is feral and capable of great violence and savagery. A tenderness develops between the teenagers and Mina acts to protect Alex. Through flashbacks we see Mina's past life and how she became what she is. Once again the banality of evil is illustrated through the actions of humans.

A dark film, shot mostly in the night and twilight by cinematographer Klemens Hufnagi, indoors scenes are also captured through a dark, filter but the forest is particularly threatening. Mina slays with a hatchet from above, a knife, bites peoples throats out, yet it is easy to make a connection with her due to her history. Impressive performances from the young stars. Kudos to the make-up, effects and prosthetic department headed by Marissa Clemens, Graham Chivers and Zane Knisely. Justin P. Lange as director and writer has delivered an imposing revenant drama in his feature film debut. 8/10
22 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Conventional horror fans, open your minds
PsychoBeard6663 August 2020
Purposefully slow and meandering, this film has a lot of heart. It has its gory moments but they are few and far between. This is not a zombie slasher flick, although it is about a zombie who slashes. Excellent performances from the 2 young actors.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Utter crap
Horror_Flick_Fanatic26 October 2018
This film just proves how unreliable film review sites have become. Most of the reviews before mine praise the film yet no one is talking about this film and it's difficult to find.

The movie never builds tension or suspense. The story has gaping plot holes you can drive a semi truck through and leaves unanswered questions. Some continuity errors.. Poor story, poor fx makeup, poor acting. Why did the girl become a cannibal? Why did she stop becoming a cannibal? Why did the kidnapper torchered these teenagers? Was a religious ritual? what was the point of the cross on the cigarette lighter? How did her face recover at the very end when she was hitchhiking?

The film is total schitt.
18 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Definitely Yes!
Patient44424 October 2018
Just finished watching and came here to review it. I've noticed that not everybody was impressed with it, perhaps some missed the point or maybe they into a different type of horror. I think The Dark did a great job in showing a rather new perspective of this genre, it was intriguing, well executed and had nice acting attached to it.

You will see the drama in it, that is for sure, but it still stands tall as a horror piece. Just not one that relies on gore, jump scares or torture porn. A story like I've never seen so far, doesn't take its sweet time to build itself up, it dives in and dare I say, it delivers!

All in all, The Dark is an excellent option for anyone that wants to see something different, new and provocative. Highly recommended.

Cheers!
48 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
This Stuff Talks Deeper!
SoumikBanerjee2524 April 2020
This one kinda surprised me. I started watching with zero expectations and it gradually grew onto me. The way the mood has been set here is commendable. With those haunting shots in those far away locations; they give you a feel of isolation. The clever use of sound did make the movie more interesting. The performances as well were genuinely good. Nadia Alexander as Mina just stole the show.

Although the characterizations left a taste of Incompleteness. The lack of information for the character of Alex is perplexing! As he was one of the main leads over there! The slow pace helped in terms of setting the right atmosphere and keeps you hooked through. But at the same time it often became the sole reason for the movie to holding back.

The story conveys Child Abuse, Tortures, Sufferings. And How it could turn someone into a 'Monster' Or A 'Helpless' being. And in that scenario All we need is for humanity to strike back. To have Its presence felt once again. In order to revert back to our natural being and to move on with our life. It portrays the struggles that the victims suffer, the traumas they carry all their lives. It shines the torch on those Teenagers/Children who have broken down mentally or even worse turned into something more horrible just because of their unfortunate painful past. This one speaks for the horror that are around us. It speaks about the Monsters who resides among us. It certainly strikes deeper than usual. And that's What I very much admire.

I really liked that portrayal here. The message here is surely subtle. You need to be invested thoroughly in order to grasp the idea. But you must. The only complaint I have is the wasted opportunity on so many aspects. The promising premise should have hold onto its true potential rather than becoming a mediocrity in the end because of inexperienced writing and Lack of well put explanations. Nonetheless it is a Good watch. One of the better ones in Indie Horror.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Powerfull and depressing...
tchitouniaram23 July 2019
Powerfull and depressing... Very unsettling movie...sad and beautiful at the same time. 2 stars less of 10,because the ending absolutely doesn't fit...
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Suspend judgement
theknownames29 May 2019
No expectations. Ended up being pretty solid. I planned to skim this, I was curious. But I ended up watching it. 8 stars. Original and consistent. .
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It wants to be unique, but is it?
TwistedContent12 November 2018
Went in "The Dark" without knowing anything about it at all, in different words, went in just the way I like to go in for a new horror flick. It was rewarding enough. "The Dark" is a 50% character drama and 50% horror. There are a few problems with the drama part. The movie's about two mentally and physically tortured teenagers, who meet and befriend each other in a scary place because of scary circumstances. In my opinion, the two main characters were sorta understudied, it feels like there was more to explore, more to sympathise with, they should've received more from the viewer than just the good ol' blatant pitiness. I mean, it was more than just pity for the characters, but it fell short - not only the characters, but the plot also. The very metaphoric story provides you with thought material about how evil can humans be, but also - how decent and kind. Basically, you already know the message. What the story does not provide are answers for some burning plot questions that might arose in those 90 minutes. However, overcomplicating it could've gone wrong, we'll never know. The horror part of the movie was pretty good, there's some almost unsettling scenes, made that way with simple and effective camera work. There's a nice cinematography through-out the movie, sorta shy and lazy, but eerie and gloomy at the same time. Keeping in mind that the main scary part are the kids, there's also enough blood and violence. How were the kids? Pretty good up-and-rising actors, as far as I can tell. Especially the girl. "The Dark" has nothing much new to say, but it is very decent indie horror drama that can surely go in confidently "children-led horror movies" list and the likes of those. 6/10
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Allegory
twelve-house-books7 November 2018
This one may remind you of TATTERDEMALION or I KILL GIANTS in feel, but this one is much darker--darker even than AN AMERICAN FABLE. There are loads of hard-to-watch scenes, and in many respects this is a Slasher film as well as the tender story of two severely abused teenagers who befriend one another. If you can get past the terrible physical scars of abuse suffered by these young people--and the ultra-violence of the antagonists--then you will be treated to a beautiful story of suffering leading to freedom. There could have been more references to God or love which would have pulled the story together under a uniting theme, but even without these the astute, thinking viewer will appreciate the struggles of the protagonists, their fears, and their ultimate salvation.
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well Worth Watching!
ferdmalenfant18 November 2018
This movie is one of those gems that you find every now and then. It's original and actually has an endearing story line with good acting that blends well with the gore and twisted mindsets around the main characters. It's the first time I recall shedding a tear during a "horror flick".
43 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The two mains did their job.
draftdubya30 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
But the rest of it was stupid and unexplained. A kidnapper kills a guy at at store, but decides to drive no more than 15 minutes away from the crime scene to a abandoned house?! A single cop does his best Lou impersonation from the Simpsons, and goes after this kidnapper and gun packing murderer all by himself without any back-up what so ever.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Good Film!
amgee-895519 November 2018
Very unique Story with great acting. It got vibes Of let the right one in. I totally recommend the dark! Give it an watch. 5/10
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
i'm suprise, it's new but it's strong !
ariqakbar26 October 2018
I'm not expect to much after josef die scene at the begining. it was really feeble ..

but after that, turns out this movie was gain it's power slowly but sure. they give you strong background, a unique concept. it's a new way to serve a love story and it was good for me.

it's new thing i know, but i dont get it why people gave only 6.

i know most people not gonna like the ending. but this movie need this ending, it make the story become more strong i guess. and btw you guys succeed make suprise when you show mina face. she's beautiful
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
nope
treywillwest7 April 2019
Extremely unique and haunting horror movie. Both aesthetically and rhythmically it felt to me like a supernatural horror movie as imagined by Kelly Reichardt. The world it shows is, indeed, an extremely bleak, but not a hopeless, one. If the social order is abusive, then it can also be radically, violently negated by its subjects who can subsequently renegotiate their relationship to the world.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The smelly feet of films.
donttouchmeprimate28 August 2021
After the first 20 minutes, this film just stunk!

Stupid plot holes, no logic, bad dialogue.

The acting was relatively OK but nothong more.

I only gave it a 4 because I've just had chippy for my tea and that makes me happy.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I reviewed the wrong film and can't delete my review
boydpeters17 June 2020
I reviewed the wrong film and can't delete my review. I reviewed the wrong film and can't delete my review. I reviewed the wrong film and can't delete my review
0 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bits of interesting cinematography but poorly written
foxtografo25 November 2020
Started off with a good opening scene, but it quickly turned into a roll-eye / yawn fest. Lots of nonsense, unrealistic events and characters, boring pace, unanswered questions, poor acting. I kept watching to the end (fastforwarding the many endless boring scenes) to see what was going on with the characters but nothing got answered, the writing is definitely the weakest point of the movie. There are bits of the cinematography and the very first scene that I liked, but I wouldn't recommend to watch this, there's so much to watch nowadays, this is a waste of time.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Oddball story of genre horror and psychological abuse.
repojack9 October 2020
This is a dark and disturbing tale of psychological abuse with horror movie trappings (zombie genre, gore, body horror). It almost doesn't work as your mind tries to make sense of the tonal shifts, but its attempt to do something different is refreshing.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed