Welcome Home (2018) Poster

(I) (2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Eye See You
nogodnomasters25 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Brian (Aaron Paul ) and Cassie (Emily Ratajkowski) take a vacation in remote Italian manor. Their relationship is strained following a moment of Cassie's drunken infidelity. But they are trying to put it in the past...very poorly. A neighbor (Riccardo Scamarcio) stops by and we discover he has cameras in a number of the rooms. Their relationship becomes more strained as the neighbor divides them either further.

There are better voyeur films than this one, which was mostly a snooze.

Guide: F-word. Brief sex. Brief nudity?
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Welcome to Bad Writing
Darkwalker17314 November 2018
Although Aaron Paul has mainly been disappointing after Breaking Bad, and Emily Ratajkowski is not what I would call a good actress, their performances were not the main issue that left me disappointed with Welcome Home.

Indeed, Aaron, and to a lesser extent Emily, were more than satisfactory, but as my title states, the writing and directing were atrocious. They took too much time trying to build tension which never materializes and forgot to actually write an interesting script.

Not recommended unless you really like Emily Ratajkowski and want to get a "closer" look.
24 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Total misfire!
phil_100930 December 2018
Every plot twist can be seen a mile away and every opportunity of redemption to make the movie a bit better was not utilised.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Welcome to Hell..
BatmanFunReviews6 December 2018
Aaron Paul is a very good actor and has actual talent which he showcased in 'Breaking Bad', Emily Ratajkowski is not a very good actress but she is good in something else i suppose? Welcome Home is packed with bad writing, atrocious acting and an even worse screenplay really.
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Hmmmm
mtregs-1152126 November 2018
Just looking for another thriller/drama that waant a waste of time.. This was sooo slow. We were just waiting for a moment to jump OR SOMETHING.. Boring..
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time...
nugget353513 January 2019
Terribly movie, predictable and just flat out terrible...one of the worst movies I've ever seen
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
could've been better
zaach_delaarocha3 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Boring, slow, predictable, and strange that their car vanish soon after they reach the house, may be the car was eliminated so they will need a ride to to city and frederico could help the woman getting money for taxi, not recommended
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
seen it before but well made
minasb9 December 2018
You will get the feeling tha you have seen this movie before because the story is clished, but the actors stand good has some surprises and character development.Worth a watch.,
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A tense and uneasy ride
jtindahouse8 November 2018
I've never been able to figure out whether I like Aaron Paul as an actor or not. He was amazing in 'Breaking Bad' there's no doubt about that, but was that simply a great show carrying an actor. Could you say that he is one-dimensional? I think that would probably be a fair assessment. But could you also say he has a lot of charisma and is more interesting to watch on screen than the average actor? Yes, I think you could also say that. Every time I watch him in something I am determined to make my mind up on him, and yet every time the film finishes I'm more confused than when I began. The same goes again for 'Welcome Home'.

I actually really liked this movie for the most part. Straight away we meet a seemingly very happy couple starting a vacation in Italy. Then we slowly begin to realise that their perfect relationship isn't so perfect after all. In fact it is in a lot of trouble. Then the movie's main events start to take place and it feels like the world is just kicking this couple when they are already down. I really liked that. It reminded me a lot of the movie 'Vacancy' which had a similar set-up and worked very well. It adds layers to the drama and layers to the film. Also I loved that the film had a feeling that no character was safe and that it could end in any fashion imaginable (again, much like 'Vacancy')

Towards the end there are some character decisions that I'm not entirely sure whether I liked or not. It can be frustrating to watch when a character does something that you yourself would perhaps not do, but in reality we are all different and all do things in different ways, so it isn't really fair to downgrade the film for those choices. Plus I could see things from the character's point of view and understand on some level why they were doing it. Otherwise though this was a pretty tough film to fault and one that I got a lot of enjoyment out of.
17 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Every plot turn telegraphed, dialogue laughable, acting poor
VoyagerMN198627 December 2018
What a complete mess. Not a moment of suspense due to bad writing, not a moment of suspension of disbelief due to bad acting
7 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The horror in realism.
theemperrors29 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
To be fair, this movie was dissapointing. I don't know if it was because the trailer made it look like more of a watchworth movie or because it just wasn't that good. Yes you could spend time watching it but not that it is going to win any awards. So the characters are bland, right from the start you know that Frederico is bad news but not in the way the trailer makes it look. You were expecting some type of stalker,pervert, drama about romance. They deliver on the drame in the romance but in the wrong way, not in the Frederico is having an affaire with Ratajkowski her character but in the oh she already cheated in the past type of things which only is used to get the slow plot move forward. Then again that part has nothing to do with the actual plot. In my opinion they already show the stalky part way too early in the movie. If they would've wanted to make it better that part of the story would've been alot better when used as a slow burn. Ratajkowski and Paul lack the feeling of an actual couple so there is no actual attachement to these characters. They just come off as bland. A stupid girl and a bland non-trusting boyfriend. Then the strong point in my opinion is the movie's ending. To be fair we have to accept that this actually happens in the world, some houses are bugged and probably livestreamed to show off some steamy action. Appart from that the movie was bland and nothing special. Too slow and just had us waiting for something to happen and when it did it was practially nothing
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Thoroughly enjoyed but wouldnt pay at a cinema.
roscoe-6839825 December 2018
This movie is pretty good. Will it win an Oscar? Hell no... But for 90 mins it's easy watching, with a decent plot line and a good baddie. I wouldn't say it's that predictable, its got some good twists towards the end and ends with an 'ooh didn't see that coming' moment. People have been waayyy overly critical of this movie. Lighten up!
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better than the rating
nicholasmurphy-4846228 December 2018
Watched this, even though it had a terrible rating online. My girlfriend and i watch thrillers non stop and thoroughly enjoyed this one. Not sure why the bad ratings, not super predictable, give it a shot
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Well made quality thriller with a scary twist on air b&b!
Ali2233816 January 2019
Welcome Home is such a smart yet scary idea. A well written script and story provides a horrific take on air b&b. It is well acted by all the leads, and as a viewer you will be on the edge of your seat and feeling tension the whole time. The film also calls into question our privacy and who may just be watching us unbeknownst to us in this day and age. It takes place and was filmed in Italy and the setting is both beautiful with the views and landscapes yet scary with the feeling of isolation of being far from home.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Empty and boring plot, don't waste your time
metabuddy14 January 2019
Complete garbage, the plot sucks - it's boring and predictable. I don't understand why Aaron Paul decided to be in this movie, he was the only reason I decided to watch it and I am disappointed. Don't waste your time.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Sexy thriller
pmcorso29 November 2018
Be careful who you trust! Great thriller it's not what you're expecting it's even better!!! Acting is superb!!
6 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good thriller, beautiful people and scenery
jechgocal31 December 2018
This turned out to be pretty good, great scenery, beautiful people , good acting and story of what could happen!
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Peekaboo! I See U!
lavatch8 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
It was amazing that this thriller engaged attention from essentially a three-character drama. Set in an idyllic Italian villa with a stunning countryside, the film begins with an online advertisement for renting the all-furnished villa for a steep price. The power of the internet to make such a tempting retreat easy to rent is the subtle theme that both starts and ends this well-crafted film.

Bryan and Cassie are the couple who rent the villa online. As the film progresses, we learn that their goal is to get away from New York to a secluded locale so that they can "fix" their relationship. Cassie had a tryst with her co-worker Justin after she and Bryan had an argument. Apparently, Bryan caught Nathan and Cassie in the act. For Cassie, "it only lasted two minutes." But for Bryan, he cannot get those two minutes out of his head, even with multiple doses of viagra. By the end of the film, it will be "mission accomplished" as Bryan and Cassie will have "fixed" their little problem, but at a great cost!

Before they are settled in their villa, Bryan and Cassie are visited by a mysterious Italian stranger, who claims to be their neighbor. Federico oozes charm and takes a special liking to Cassie. But unbeknownst to the couple, he has set up a complex system of hidden cameras within the villa wherein he may eavesdrop on Bryan and Cassie while he sits in the master control room.

The film includes some beautiful photography of the lush region of Umbria with the quaint town of Todi figuring in the action when Bryan and Cassie visit the little town. It is there that Bryan gets drunk with Federico, who appears to be playing a dangerous game in trying to separate the couple. Federico will bring in two women to help Bryan "even the playing field" after his cuckolding. But how far is Federico going to take his dastardly plan?

The script for "Welcome Home" was especially inventive with its underlying theme of the untoward effects of the internet and video technology. The enterprising Federico recognizes the power of the hidden camera when he sets up his diabolical video taping system in order to entrap his victims. But it may have a blowback effect on him, as well as on Bryan and Cassie.

The screenwriters incorporate one ingenious detail early in the film when Bryan feels uncomfortable in an intimate moment with Cassie in the pool because several ceramic figurines alongside the pool appear to be watching the couple. This was one imaginative moment among many in this well-conceived and well-acted thriller.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Refreshing Thriller! Welcome sweet home.
athens-asad2 December 2018
Not as bad as the ratings suggest.Saw it on a lazy Saturday evening ,it was a pretty decent movie.A couple trying to spice up their relationship go to a remote huge house only to be watched & stalked by a stranger.The villain was impressive and and so was the actress.some very steamy scenes and ending was refreshing.Definitely more than what the ratings suggest.
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
YES
juliarorke-7919525 November 2018
Such a good movie! One of those I could watch it a million times. Amazing story.
6 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed