Locked Up (Video 2017) Poster

(I) (2017 Video)

User Reviews

Review this title
39 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Cult film?
briteview8 April 2018
This movie has all the ingredients to be the next great lesbian cult film. Naked women fighting, bad acting, bad script and low budget. That's as good as it gets.
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Better Than 3.9 IMDb Stars - Kinda Campy - Far Removed From Reality - Soft Porn
dwp194810 May 2019
05/10/2019 I forgot that I'd watched this movie before. Not as bad as some reviewers would lead you to believe. I watched every minute of it and it held my interest right up to the end, regardless of how far fetched the storyline was. Watch for yourself and decide. Bon Appetit
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's as good as it gets.
LBarlane249 September 2018
Having watched it on Netflix not too long ago, I really can't see what all the fuss is about. I will assume that most people who hated it had their expectations a little too high. The film features an entire cast of unknowns, obviously. It stars Kelly McCart as Mallory, a young American girl living Southeast Asia who is sent to prison after a self-defense attack on a bully. It's not until 7-10 minutes in as the plot gets going. But when it does, things get, there I say, pretty crazy. I did not expect this to throw as many punches as it did (literally), and boy did it show; again, literally.

Now, many have criticized the film's writing, as well as the acting, and I can certainly see why. The premise (as interesting as it may sound) ain't nothing new, and this is coming from someone who saw Jailbait about a year ago; and as I've stated before, the plot doesn't really get going until 7-10 minutes in. The acting (while not good, per-say) is, in my honest opinion, not terrible.

All in all, this flick ain't nothing special. if you're one of the seekers expecting a form of substance, prepare to be disappointed, as you'll find very little of it in this. If you are, however, a movie buff seeking entertainment, this flick is definitely for you, because the true saving grace is the lead actress' (there I say) astonishing figure.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Better of the worst
ecmedford23 April 2018
Not a bad movie overall but I wish I had known the amount of nudity shown. I was not prepared for the sexuality on this supposed thriller. Other than that I felt the movie had a good, original enough concept. The acting was average but still captivating enough for me to get through the movie with interest. I wouldn't necessarily recommend this movie as a thriller but if you've seen as many on Netflix as I have then you may as well cause it's one of the better of the worst.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A entry into the grnre of teens-poliltation-jailspoiltation
kingcasey_iii27 April 2019
Mallory a young teen is imprisoned in a juvinile deliquent prison in SE Asia and is physically and mentally abused, and forced into prize fighting. typical acting expected from a B list movie and typical of the grind house genre of 70's prison spoliltation movies.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Jailbait 2
This was originally titled as Jailbait 2 a follow up to Jared Cohn's 2024 film according to Kelly McCart's resume
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Girl Fight!
Riotboy-122 May 2019
Kelly McCart was AWESOME in this and so was the rest of the cast. So much emotion and action kept the story going it keeps you glued to screen. Ignore the low ratings and judge for yourself, I really liked it a lot.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Laughable
jricky7 July 2017
I don't know what the first two reviewers class as a good movie or what they have been eating but this movie is the worst pile of horse plop that I have ever watched. From start to finish guys................plop, plop and even more plop. I suppose if you have a spare evening in, maybe you can drown yourself in the toilet, hang yourself from the attic or maybe watch this movie and believe me the first two are a lot more tempting than having to put up with the pile of plop they call Locked up. Ha ha ha ha. pure bunkum.
27 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I almost thought this girls behind bars genre was dead
mochteam12 June 2018
If you watched this thinking it was going to be a normal movie than you will be disappointed. Locked Up is part of the Girls Behind bars genre of exploitation flicks. Usually about attractive women that get locked up thrown in with lots of nudity and some softcore lesbian scenes or whatever. The story is usually the same about some new girl trying to get adapted and some cruel prison warden or some other cruel female inmate that wants to give the new girl a hard time by being mean to her. Really all these movies are the same and I just gave the plot away to about 90% of them.

If you like those guilty pleasure kind of flicks you'll like this I sure did. Cute girls in bad situations. The story and plot or whatever you want to call it in Locked Up was actually better than most girl behind bars movies.
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Plain bad
anarchy-soldier4 March 2018
This movie is just bad. Nothing much to it. Bad script, bad acting. No logic in whole movie. Just dont watch it
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Honet Review
generationofswine3 August 2019
I guess some people are shocked by the nudity... I'm sorry, I should have written it as "shocked." As in, they are pretending that they sat down to watch it and weren't expecting a Women in Prison exploitation film.

Everyone else, however, caught this on Netflix because it was a Women in Prison exploitation flick and they were expecting both a significant amount of nudity, but also some violence and some horribly low production standards and locations...

... and that is EXACTLY what you got out of this. So, I really don't know what the low scores are all about, it delivered exactly what it promised to deliver. And it did so without any pretense, without pretending to be something that it was not.

So, you get exactly what you expect walking into this, nudity and violence... and if you were somehow expecting anything more, I just want to ask one question "why?"
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Bad but can't stop watching it
jonnnk11 April 2018
The first few minutes I thought this was going to be a horrible movie..And it is..But I still watched it all and once you get used to every new character and their attempt at English..It's not the worst.. Maybe play a drinking game and drink everytime a bad accent states ' I gonna kiiill Yuuu Biiiitch! '
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Oh Sweet Jesus this was bad....
crittendenangelam7 April 2018
When they did the casting call I'm 90% sure one of the requirements was you had to be unable to act yourself out of a paper bag.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Astoundingly Bad
Cageice12 March 2018
Story is weak. Acting is bad. Seems like a halfhearted attempt at using a "deep" subject to slip in as much nudity as the editors could massage out. I enjoy a cheap thriller with a healthy amount of bare skin as much as anyone, but this one just lets down. Recommend you spend your free time on anything else.
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Concept was good but ridiculously unrealistic
brandyjirik2 April 2018
I watched it to the end (it was hard)and can honestly say this was the most ridiculous movie I've seen in a VERY long time.The storyline would've been good but it completely failed to follow thru.Everything about this movie was completely inconceivable.If you want to see senseless nudity and can turn off the common sense part of your brain then you "might" be able to watch this.Jail can be brutal but nothing about this movie was realistic.NOTHING.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Solid flick, story get to you, but not a lot of action.
destroyerwod19 January 2020
I decided to watch this movie on Netflix expecting a martial art flick. I guess i was wrong there because despite the concept feeling very similar to Bloodsport 2, In Hell, Death Warrant and a few others of the genre, this movie is not about fancy fights. Yes there is a few fights, they ain't bad ((but nothing great either) but the movie is really about the drama of this teen being locked in a jail in a foreign country with barbaric things going on.

Honestly the story got to me. I felt very bad for this girl. She really goes trough a lot and the fights take a very second stance in the story.

I wasn't prepared for all the nudity and to be honest while some of it served the plot, some of it felt very forced and was unescessary. Kinda like they made sure to throw extra "T&A" for some reasons. All the ladies are beautifull and sure the hetero male that i am don't mind seeing a naked lady, but i feel SOME of it kinda tried to take me away from the very hard hitting, rough story i was seeing.

As for the acting, some peoples complain about it, considering that pretty much all the characters are either foreigners in Asia of various origins or Asian speaking a foreign language to them (english), it didn't bother me one bit. Only the Uncle character (with little screen time) felt like plain bad acting. Mallory, the main character, herself was totally fine.

Overall its a movie that did "get to me". I can only imagine either myself if i was as girl or my daughter having to live trough this... And it infuriated me at time, so i think its mission acomplished for it.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Quite impressive for a prison movie...
paul_haakonsen20 July 2019
When I sat down to watch the 2017 movie "Locked Up" from director and writer Jared Cohn, I was a bit worried given the low rating the movie had scored here on IMDb. But still, I enjoy watching movies, and believe that any movie should be given a chance. Just because critics don't necessarily like a movie, doesn't mean that I won't.

I gave "Locked Up" a chance, and it was actually quite enjoyable. Sure, it was generic in terms of prison movies go, but still, it was pretty good entertainment. The storyline, while generic, was straightforward, albeit predictable. But you know what you get when you sit down to watch a prison movie.

I liked the pacing to the movie, and it had a nice progression throughout the course of the movie. There is an abundance of fighting, where we watch the inmate girls fight one another, and there is also a bit of character development and some drama thrown into the mixture. Being a prison movie, I suppose nudity is a given, and the movie had that as well - for better or worse, and for being as tacky as nudity in movies tends to be.

The fact that the movie was taking place in a Thai correction facility actually was quite nice. When I first saw that in the movie, I was a little bit skeptical. But it was actually a nice setting for the movie and added a whole lot of flavor to the movie. Especially with the police corruption, gambling and the inmate hierarchy. So thumbs up to Jared Cohn for that part.

"Locked Up" was particularly enjoyable to watch for me, as I enjoy watching movies where I am unfamiliar with the acting talents. And I must admit that I knew not even a single actress or actor in this movie, so that was a good thing. People were doing good jobs with their given roles and characters for the most parts.

All in all, "Locked Up" was a nice surprise of a movie, and it was quite enjoyable. I am rating it a solid seven out of ten stars.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not bad
Dave_douell2 September 2018
Not a bad movie, fairly entertaining. Too bad the lead actress wasn't better looking but oh well. I'm sure the prisons there are much worse than even what's portrayed here. Pretty accurate how they arrest westerners for ransom tho.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Woman version of Fight Club
ntgcrawford20 April 2018
Worth watching, it's a little slow at first 25 minutes but picks up and draws the viewer in. I hope Netflix shows more woman lead movies with the same amount of woman violence and woman nudity as few movies or series come close to this ! I like the twist at the end.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fantastically Dark and Gritty Drama
scottb923921 June 2017
I had the pleasure of attending the world premiere of this movie at the Downtown Independent in LA. I came out feeling very impressed with the movie, it was a serious gritty drama that lead you down a long dark path to a climactic resolution set against the mesmerizing location of a cold and corrupt prison in Thailand.

The direction by Jared Cohn was beautifully done, you felt that there must have been a great chemistry between director and lead (played by the very talented Kelly McCart, one to watch for), as many of the scenes must have been very challenging to perform.

This was released on the same day as the screening as a Netflix Original movie, a very well deserved placement, I'm sure it will do very well.
16 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious
Saracen7817 April 2018
Love the accents.. This is a softporn comedy. Again love the accents
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
B-movie that lingers on the (lack of) lady garden too much
stevelivesey-371838 June 2021
Run of the mill, cheaply made, badly acted, prison drama. Ridiculous ending.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Middle of the road
pmtelefon25 January 2021
As far as women prison movies go, "Locked Up" is an okay watch. It doesn't bring anything new to the table but that's fine. The cast is also fine. There is nothing glaringly bad with "Locked Up". It's just that there isn't much that stands out either. I might find myself watching this movie again to scratch my chicks-in-chains itch but it wouldn't be my first choice.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Watchable if not believable
Kinda of a throwback to the 70s prison movies really. Seemed to be well filmed if not that believable. A lot of nudity but that was common place in 70s style prison movies. Kinda like a low budget Karate Kid in an Asian correctional facility. Sometimes funny (most of the acting including a wooden Uncle of the girl), sometimes horrid (the lead ate a mouse at one point, the rape scene by the guards) but as bad as some are saying on these reviews on IMDb. I think some people when they review actually think they are real life critics. It is what it is.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
HMMMMMM.....
Sexyjay7113 July 2019
This movie was really good not the best..... The ending could have been different which would have added more to the story.. for ex: Uncle & guard lady could have been in on framing her father for the money. And they (writers) could have build off of that.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed