American Dreamer (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
34 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Gritty & Dark Drama
larrys320 November 2019
Gritty and dark drama with decent suspense throughout.

Jim Gaffigan is excellent as Cam, a rideshare driver who has strong mental problems and is under severe financial stress. Robbie Jones is also superb as Mazz, a drug dealer who hires Cam's vehicle for the day. In one desperate moment, Cam decides to kidnap for ransom Mazz's young son, and things will take a terrible turn thereafter.

Overall, definitely not your feel-good movie of the month, but if you like very dark films you may very well like this one. Raw language throughout, increasing violence, and one explicit sex scene.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must See Movie
miss-emma2000726 October 2019
I don't leave many movie reviews, but felt like this deserved one. The story moves at a quick pace with lots of WTF moments, and the main actors play their parts very well. Its difficult not to feel sorry for the cab driver, even though he doesn't deserve any sympathy for his insane actions throughout, the acting is superb!
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very Strong Performances From Jones & Gaffigan
smithdean-2209224 September 2019
A very dark thriller that keeps you watching. I just finished watching "American Dreamer" via VOD. What a great movie. Jim Gaffigan was great at being such a dark character and Robbie Jones was menacing and intelligent in this. The whole movie takes one dark turn after another. The director did a great job at keeping the story moving non stop. If you love a good dark thriller of a movie, watch this ASAP. And if you want to see a slightly insane Jim Gaffigan, you need to watch this movie! I highly suggest it. I'm mad I didn't know about this movie before today? I seen it was finished in 2018 but just now being released late 2019??? People are really missing out on a great flick!
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
jim gaffigan WOWs in this film
avalaurenborte6 October 2019
His range is so unexpected?? but amazing?? he makes you feel for his character so deeply even though he's betraying your trust every chance he gets. amazing paradox and references to much broader current events.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I can't believe the low ratings..
baykin28 September 2019
This is such an amazing thriller I can't believe the low ratings! Do yourself a favor And watch this
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Worth a watch
fastpug25 December 2019
The rating doesn't do it justice... A good watchable film from start to finish
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Go see the film, great performances all around!
dsgerlach3 November 2018
Jim Gaffigan is spectacular and pulls your sympathy even though it's undeserved. Robbie Jones is a scary villain who does a tremendous job pulling you into the mess with an awesome performance not to be missed.
25 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A pleasant surprise
aldo-643395 January 2020
Good acting. Great story. Gritty drama. I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised and was glued until the end. Go see.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This has a criminally low rating
Moviedude909 April 2021
I don't know why comedians make the best actors, probably all the comfort in front of the camera, but Jim Gaffigan absolutely destroys this role-nailed it in every way.

And the drug dealer? How is Michael B Jordan a star and this guy gets no love. Phenomenal acting through and through, more like an 8/10 but I had to balance the bs low ratings.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not A Good Guys Win Tale
westsideschl19 April 2020
Positive: The summary describes the plot well. A creative mixing of rather ordinary done before subplots. Negatives: As others have mentioned you probably won't find any boy/girl scouts amongst all the characters. Usual stereotypes of troubled divorced loser father; his wife; drug dealers. Lots of negatives (left with a bad taste type story), even the ending, but maybe that's the reality the writers intended.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Little Far-Fetched, But Okay.
redrobin62-321-20731121 September 2019
I'll try to render my opinion without any spoilers. First, the acting is top notch, especially the Latina mother of the kidnapped boy in question. She was completely believable as a streetwise habitue and I suspect she will have a long future in Hollywood. Everyone else was fine, so no complaints there. Why seven out of ten? Well, in the end, the "story" was a bit far-fetched: a down-on-his-luck cabbie resorts to kidnapping in order to make money for child support? I guess, in Hollywood terms, this is probably akin to Al Pacino holding up a bank to pay for his lover's sex-change operation in Dog Day Afternoon. What man will do when they're desperate! Is this a film worth seeing? Sure. You won't be disappointed.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
I wasn't expecting that sort of a ride
pacman-814 January 2020
A down on his luck man (Jim Gaffigan) is now working as taxi driver after being made redundant. With child care costs and unsympathetic ex wife things look very bleak. He takes a job which ends up being driving round a drug dealer on his money collections. Desperately he kidnaps the dealers son and demands 20k for his return. When you see Jim Gaffigan's name you expect light hearted and funny but don't be fooled this is an edge of the seat drama filled ride.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Suspenseful!
sueelaine20 November 2019
Wow Jim is a great actor! Well done. Gut wrenching plot. I liked it.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Really surprised by the low ratings
greg-goremykin30 December 2019
I couldn't find anything to watch tonight, and I saw this film mentioned on a clip with Gaffigan on The Late Show from earlier in the year, and after reading a pretty glowing review by Richard Roeper on rogerebert I thought I'd give it 20 minutes, and look elsewhere if it wasn't engaging.

But engaging is just the right word to describe it. It was gritty without being OTT, with solid performances, great dialogue and direction, though I have to admit the plot was a bit on the far-fetched side, but there are plenty of good action movies guilty of that.

So glad I gave it a chance, and though I doubt I'll ever watch it again, I'll definitely remember it.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Gaffigan has range beyond a bad script
sefusu33-157-48097723 September 2019
Jim Gaffigan proves there may be life beyond comedy but not beyond the confines of a bad script. His character is a loser, bound by bad decisions caused by mental illness or depression, or something? His motivation for carrying on is to be a father to his son, which is the only likeable characteristic about him. This undermines the credibility of his decisions in a hairbrained kidnapping scheme for a drug dealers baby. He seems rational enough to talk his way out of getting pulled over, but can't seem to understand the basics of child care and how it plays into collecting his ransom? All of this isn't well thought out by the writers or the character they hoped to create. Jim has range, which should help him in the future, but this movie isn't good.
9 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Underrated!
kaideneve1 June 2020
Came across this randomly on Amazon Prime, and I'm really surprised at the low rating on this film so far. It kept me engaged from beginning to end which is something I can't often say. Definitely an overlooked, gritty experience in the same vein as something like Good Times, with a little bit of a Collateral vibe thrown in. I wish they would have fleshed out Gaffigan's character a bit, but as an actor he did a way better job than I would have expected. Overall solid movie that I would definitely recommend.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very nice thriller/drama!
tchitouniaram7 February 2020
Very nice thriller/drama!Didn't expect much,but was pleasantly surprised !!! Edge of your seat suspense ,very well made thriller!Recommend it!!!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Simple Review
andrewgrgtwn22 December 2019
Didn't fancy this film thought it was going to be a "b" movie but I was very wrong. Acting by the lead and supporting actor was at a very high standard along with the direction and cinematography the story was also very good, my wife and I scored this a 6 but could have been an 8 but one part of the movie frustrated us both hence why my scoring dropped I cant elaborate on that drop as I will spoil the movie.

I'd recommend this movie as the story and acting is first class.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyed
ryleilove9 May 2021
I really enjoyed this movie. I went in thinking it was going to be one of those b/c rated films but it was unexpectedly enjoyable. I'd recommend this!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad at all
glr-2712217 September 2020
I went into this movie with no expectations and was pleasantly suprised at how good it was. I'm a big jim gaffigan fan and was really impressed at how good a job he did. Would recommend watching this if your looking to kill 90 minutes.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprise
jalenu8 April 2020
Lead actor I know as a comedian but you will not recognize him in this film. He along with the actors were fantastic. Movie was thrilling, suspenseful and exciting to watch. Highly recommend this movie
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good Thriller
najeeb606122 April 2021
The real theme of the movie is men failing to take responsibility for their actions. The combustible mix of Mazz's paranoia and Cam's desperation comes to a head when Cam kidnaps Mazz's son with the intent of collecting ransom money. This terrible plan goes even worse than Cam could've anticipated. It has many thrilling moments, twist and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat till the end.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
GREAT ACTING!!!
toralyoshida29 March 2021
I didn't think anything of this. I was very surprised! Awesome everytjing!!

A MUST WATCH!

It does have a intense sex scene. Don't watch it with kids!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Huh?
kurtdp16 March 2021
I watched the bonus feature and the cowriter Daniel Forte said this movie is all about "white privillege".

Wait, what?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
ONE word....WOWEEE!!
feev28 December 2020
Oh my goodness this is worth probably several watches. I was on edge of my seat the entire movie.... The casting was spot on across the board....other than Jim Gaffigan I didn't know the other actors and actresses but they clearly have big futures ahead of them..... What a story what a ride check it out!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed