The Wrong Neighbor (TV Movie 2017) Poster

(2017 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
23 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
**1/2
edwagreen7 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The acting is good but the picture is done in by a very weird story line. It's the same thing of someone entering the lives of a family and causing complete havoc. In this instance, the parents have separated which has effected their teen daughter. Don't you think the dad seemed too young to have a 16 year old daughter?

The woman showing up is a complete lunatic with quite a past and the family soon realizes it. The bodies of others start to pile up as this vixen goes completely berserk.

By the end, this monster woman is causing major problems in the psychiatric institution she has been placed in. Not plausible to believe all this.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Why so wacko?
phd_travel29 October 2017
This is an average psycho thriller. A pretty psycho woman targets a recently separated father. The cast is fairly likable and the lead actress is pretty and quite effective. The story could have been flushed out a bit more. Mainly some more explanation for the wackoness. Usually Lifetime reveals some reason or history for the villain's actions. Here it seems glossed over. It seemed rather dumb that the mother appeared without any weapon at the end. About average for the "wrong --" series of television movies.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Into the Shark Tank
lavatch21 October 2020
Warning: Spoilers
A colorful character in "The Wrong Neighbor" is the swim coach at the local high school, who goes by the name of "Jaws" Jaworski. But the real shark tank is the deranged neighbor named Jamie who is attacking a nice family. In the film, the villainess is referred to as "Hurricane Jamie" or simply "The Vampire" for the havoc she wreaks on the lives of Heather and Tim Sullivan, as well as on their young daughter Lisa.

One waits in vain to learn the motivation for why Jamie has singled out Heather, Tim, and Lisa. No background is given in the film other than the messianic desire of Jamie to have a "family." She appears to single out Tim at random when he moves into an apartment complex during a trial separation from Heather. It is actually the complete psycho Jamie that helps to restore the marriage!

The film was a by-the-numbers "thriller" about a nut case on the loose and the resilience of a set of family members who finally come to their senses to realize that they love one another. The filmmakers seemed to suggest that Jamie had murdered her parents. A loose plot strand was in the action of one of the clients of Heather, who works as a tax attorney. She worked pro bono for Patrick Clark, a security expert, whom she sent to spy on Jamie. Patrick found some important information that he relayed to Heather in a voice mail message. But Heather never played back her message, and Patrick unceremoniously dropped out of the film when he was stabbed to death by Jamie.

The character of a kind British psychiatrist provides counseling for Heather, Tim, and Lisa. But the person who needs to be lying on Dr. Fischer's couch is Hurricane Jamie!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
False Advertising
drjgardner25 June 2017
Maybe I'm old fashioned but when I see a film advertised with a star I like to see the star in that film. So I was attracted to the film because of Michael Madsen, this generations' Robert Mitchum. His breakout role in "Reservoir Dogs" (1992) was followed by "The Getaway" (1994), "Wyatt Earp" (1994), "Species" (1995), "Frankie the Fly" (1996), and then the two "Kill Bill" films.

Madsen shows up once in the first hour, with about 5 lines. He plays a swim coach. In the next hour he shows up a few more times and has a few more lines.

So if you're like me an attracted to the film because Madsen is the star, avoid this film. Even if you're not interested in Madsen, the film can be avoided
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dumb
svader30 August 2021
Dumb characters. Dumb acting. Dumb story line. The so called coach looks like he's in a disguise, the boyfriend is a stalking creep and the obsessed neighbour couldn't act her way out of a paper bag!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Average LMN movie!
haroot_azarian3 June 2021
Warning: Spoilers
OK so I am a bit of a Cristine. Prosperi fan. She's got a good future ahead of her. Oh and Michael Madsen could never go wrong. He's just great! And poor Ashlynn yet again given the psycho role! Bogart was average, but Steve Richard Harris was not very convincing. As usual annoyingly psycho villianess gets away with it in the end.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad movie!
amgee-8955121 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Very Bad Lifetime Movie. I was looking forward to see Madsen playing an evil stalker but unfortunately that's not the case. Instead we get an psycho woman who gets obsessed with her new Male neighbor who's going through marriage problems. It's just your typical lifetime movie. All of the characters was annoying & unlikable. Also the movie poster is very misleading. Don't waste your time watching this terrible Television Movie. Also don't the poster remind you of the cape fear remake poster abit. 1/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Great for a zone out and a laugh
zack_gideon27 February 2019
Interesting concept that could in theory happen to anyone. Stalking is scary. This isn't Oscar material but the crazy lady is really convincing. Got me wondering if she really is a nut or a great actress. Probably the latter. :)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Too much sex and blood
mitchellrharl22 February 2020
These are dark movies not enjoyable creepy man or woman hacker putting cameras in their victims homes.all are real high end areas more unbelievable than Hallmark crazy fantasy movies .
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Production line film.
Aroura6416 January 2020
All I can say about this film, is there must be a factory in America that churns films out at an alarming rate. Only plus factor, is there were two British actors in the film, but they added nothing to the production.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good
Kristamw12 January 2019
Does this dramatic suspense have a psycho? Of course. Is she anywhere in the above image? No! Jamie must be too sinister to show up in pictures. :) The blown-up image of the man is actually the main teen girl's (Lisa) swim coach, played by Michael Madsen of Thelma & Louise. He comes in handy as her motivator, keeping her mind straight amidst her parents separation and her dad's new off-kilter neighbor. But the psycho, Jamie, is another story altogether, and it is her role that makes Lisa and everyone else in this movie stay constantly alert.

Character Development/Writing Quality: Good. . .until the final moment, which made no sense at all. The next to last scene is well done, but the wrapping up if it is not handled properly as we jump to an impossible next scene.

Values: The broken marriage is not abandoned as Lisa's parents commit to therapy and doing what they can to keep their family unit together. The husband is heavily seduced by Jamie, but outside of a small kiss, does not allow her to use him, insisting he "cannot do this".

Content (sex, language & violence): No sex. Minimal mild language. Violence: a surprising scene when someone is suddenly hit by a car, someone's throat is slashed, someone is choked. We don't get enough of Lisa and Tim's perspectives on these as the director keeps us with Jamie during these intense moments instead.

Scare Factor/Suspense: Jamie is the kind of psycho that makes herself obvious. Within minutes of anybody meeting her, her instability is easy to detect. She's upfront, in your face, no holding back crazy. So, not so much suspense as watching her fly off the handle at Lisa's friends, at Lisa's mother, at anyone who dares speak to Lisa, outside of her dad, of course, whom Jamie is bent on making her own. So, the psycho role is a bit different here because we can tell that Jamie is off her rocker from the start, and so can Lisa, even if it takes her a little bit. Tim, the father, takes a bit longer to detect the wack job because she is on her best behavior for him, hoping to win him over and take him away from his estranged wife. So the new kind of psycho is refreshing--she's loud, over-imaginative about what's really happening, and relentless. The film gives us a lot of smart characters too. Lisa is quite intuitive and does a good job at staying afloat, even when things get hard. Penny, Lisa's best friend, upon meeting Jamie, instantly voices, out loud, in front of Jamie, how off she is. This was a good move as the writer gave us some smart characters throughout. Lisa's mom is another character who refuses to take any baloney from her. It would have been nice to see a build up of Jamie, why she is this way, for instance, for how long. There's a brief mention about her parents, but not enough to help us understand what happened, or why. Another strong aspect of the film lies within Cristine Prosperi (Lisa), who is phenomenal at playing a teen, portraying her hurt over her parents slip and her remorse over isolating herself from her friends in a natural convincing way. She's the kind of pal you'd want, or the kind of daughter that you'd love to have. It's refreshing to see how maturely she handles all of the strangeness with Jamie. Overall, a pretty good movie with a likeable MC and a dangerous villain played by Ahslynn Yennie in a memorable way, though solidly insane and obviously so.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
didn't expect much from a life time movie
plasssaskia1 July 2020
I know this is a life time movie that is predictable,boring with no action but oh my gosh the acting was terrible. the only person i believe was a little decent was the crazy girl but the dad,daughter etc.. was horrible
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Well acted, but awful story line
lawton3724 February 2019
The acting and production was without fault. However the story line was somewhat boring. Too much bad behavior. An ending that saw no real sense of justice. An awful story line spoiled any sense of wanting to watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Too Good To Miss
johnginesi-722788 September 2021
The story is fast paced, as Jamie screams her way through various situations trying to get the reluctant husband to give in to her whims, the mother and daughter are threatened in the end as the resourceful Jamie takes control at the sanitarium, the end leaves you hanging for a sequel, this type of ending is a common end for lifetime TV movies. But generally a good entertaining movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great flick for a rainy night
aocsincher2 May 2020
With the femmes in this film the normal heteros will be rewarded with: a) something massive, and b) something lasting. The soys and feminists will downvote until their fingers match their blue hair.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad even for a Lifetime Movie
cotennfl-16 January 2018
Horrible horrible excuse of a movie. You can't even call this stuff "acting. They must have been desperate at Lifetime to fill in some space. If you think you have any intelligence at all, stay away from this movie.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Oh dear oh dear!
AndreanDatura9 August 2018
As film fodder goes this is pretty diabolical from an acting and directorial perspective. How some of the 'actors' ever got the job is one of life's mysteries as you wouldn't see anything more wooden even if you studied an IKEA wardrobe. Characters were almost laughably stiff delivering excruciating well worn tropes. I only gave this calamity any stars at all for the unintended laughter it induced and for the goofy finale.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Mediocre but still mildly interesting
Ufo47616 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
(Spoilers included) This is a typical Lifetime movie, of about average (i.e usually mediocre) quality, although does maintain some interest because it has a (relatively) normal family going through stuff

The acting was generally average. I liked the girl's (Cristine Prosperi) acting, up to a point. She has a sweet face and she gave a shy, restrained performance which was very fitting for the tone of the movie, but relatively let me down when she doesn't seem to heart (at all after the initial shock) after her boyfriend gets killed (actually the whole school and their environment seem to bypass that as nothing happened). Of course, that shows lack of directional skills.

On the plus side, there is a small role for the very sympathetic Michael Madsen, although he doesn't get the chance to do much.

One of the biggest drawbacks for me was when people started to die(!) which I found over the top. They didn't have to push it that far, and even when they do, its presented so calmly that the emotional impact is missing. Another was the mother: During the final fight scene I would have her to fight more for her husband and daughter!

And of course, another major drawback was the psycho herself (adequately played by Ashlynn Yennie). There is nowhere an explanation about her motives, or how she came to be like that, or why she got crazy over the specific family. A little background would be nice!

All in all, its a mildly entertaining movie for a small break, if you have nothing better to do, although its not anything special! Despite its drawbacks however, I kind of liked it.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This is why low budget and talent fails...The money does not realize why speaking at a rate most of us comprehend easily can follow.
mrmajik3029 May 2020
This may have been a good watch. However, all the actors and actresses appear they are on some sort of speed. Meth. Coke, etc...I quit watching after around 15 minutes or so of this garbage.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It was nice but...
IdInvaliduser195 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Yknow compared to alot of the terrible movies I've been seeing on LMN and Lifetime this one wasn't bad but it had alot of errors..

Firstly it's hard to take the movie seriously with interest because the daughter's acting is so bad! In sad scenes,angry scenes,frightened scenes- she contains the same smile smirk looking face that makes it hard to do anything other than laugh because it looks like she's going to burst out laughing with you. Secondly. This family And this community is 100% blind or something. When The antagonist gets told she's not allowed to the restaurant opening she goes into a parking lot and screams loud asf and I can't help but wonder how tf nobody heard or complained about that. When the daughter's boyfriend dies, the antagonist shows up at the funeral And 'cleverly' disguises herself by NOT bothering to to disguise herself. She's mere feet away in a noticeable car and nobody sees her peeping out of the window with that bright lipstick on?.. The mom is a selfish annoyance and it makes it hard to sympathize with her. The one thing wrapping this entire movie together was the actress of the evil stalker chick. She was pretty dope
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Laughable
fred_a99930 March 2019
I can't believe I watched this. I guess I did because it's like watching a comedy and the terrible acting just kept me laughing.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Ending was weird
carlycarson19 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
What really astounded me was that at the end when Jamie managed to overpower a (new) staff member at the mental facility and fool the doctor into believing she was the orderly and Jennifer (played by Tonya Kay,but Jen's name is not mentioned in the movie.) Jennifer tries to plead with the doctor that she is not the patient, but he insists that she be taken to a padded room, to which a smug Jamie happily obliges. To me this ending was unrealistic and anti-climatic. But there is one question that's bugged me since I first saw this movie; how did Jamie knock Jennifer out and take her clothes? Did she sedate her or something? She was proved to be dangerous and so should have been restrained. Maybe I'm just reading too much into it. All in all, clichés aside, it was an okay movie, I just feel sorry for Jen taking Jamie's place in the nut hut.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfect Lifetime fodder!
melindagrande20 February 2018
If you like lifetime films, this one is definitely for you. It's got it all! Great corny characters, psycho stalker with amazingly glorious tropes and lines, cool set up and fun twisty ending. It's the perfect film to just sit back and be entertained by (you don't have to think too hard to get it). I loved the main girl in this - she is the ideal combo of gorgeous and scary for an enticing villain that you want to see more and more of. I really like this "Wrong" series - please keep 'em comin Lifetime!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed