Ackley Bridge (TV Series 2017– ) Poster

(2017– )

User Reviews

Review this title
13 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Above-average school drama
DavidYZ16 July 2017
This is a Channel 4 drama series set in a secondary school in a poor town in West Yorkshire. A school in which the pupils are South Asian and a school in which the pupils are White British have been merged into a larger, new school.

It has been compared to BBC's Waterloo Road, but AB is better.

The first series was broadcast in June and July 2017. The second series is due to air in 2018.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fresh for British TV.
sjachauhan12 June 2017
A bit Mean Girls, Waterloo Road, Teachers. Secondary school drama that seems realer than most about modern Britain, though all the main characters, those with the most interesting, meatiest arcs in the first episode were the white characters, not that unlike Indian Summers, another recent Channel 4 series ostensibly setting out to create a 'balanced', evenly split portrayal of its racially divided milieu. I wonder if this will change in episode 2 or if this is simply how it is going to stay for the entire series...
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Really good!
waterspray-57-78832819 June 2018
Not gonna say much as I'm in a rush, but I'm a big fan of this show! The acting is great, the concept is very original, and the character development is very good. Exceptional acting from the adults in the teacher roles, and I'm a big fan of Nasreen's mom
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Absolutely amazing drama that highlights untold stories.
danielmarston28 June 2017
I have only just watched the most recent episode (28/06/17) and all I can say was that so far it has hit very emotion so far. the show highlight moment that nearly every school has faced and as a student connects with me on an emotional level. The drama is cleverly written and is ingenious in its sudden highs and lows. It may be advertised as a kids show but has had me and my family in stitches then in tears; something a TV show hasn't done in a while.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Acceptance of modern education flaws
xcorruptgamerx3 June 2018
Perfect representation of how modern life has ruined the education system.
8 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Makes me want to cry
whitefire-216 June 2017
I admit I have watched only half of the first episode. It is still too much. I want to turn off TV and forget it even exists. Maybe that was the point. To show what's wrong with the world today. Well now I know. I also knew before, so nothing's changed there.

English education is dead. English morals are dead. English teenagers are very much alive, but their brains are also dead. Wait, maybe this was about zombies and I didn't notice? The acting, the story - I guess they are not so bad. I don't know, I couldn't really shake of the disgust. Because deep down I believe this is how many - perhaps most - schools look like these days.

I say, if education is to look like this, have the guts to finally make it not obligatory. At least our civilization with die with some dignity.
14 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent
tamesidepointing19 September 2019
I don't really watch TV or movies anymore, this happened to be on as girlfriend was watching.

But what a story, a genuinely excellent play out of our eras social-multicultural revolution. 3 generations from now this 'semi-blended' society will be a distant memory, the extreme quirks that differing cultures offer each other, this Drama touches as close as I've seen to 'how it is' and stands as a solid time capsule.

The part where bloody oooldham woman chases after the other teacher, heavy, ive done loads of jobs for the asians i can imagine this sxxx like wo0o0o0ot!

(Everyone seems to get up smelling of roses but i get it can't be too gritty or there'd be even more bent reviews from emotional wreck teens)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Where is Harry Wharton now that we need him?
ianlouisiana13 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Or Bob Cherry..or Johnny Bull,come on,even Billy Bunter would do at a pinch.Think they didn't have racial diversity at Greyfriars 90 years ago? What about Fisher T.Fish from the Yewnited States,or more relevant,Hurree Jamset Ram Singh - the Nabob of Bhanipoor?O.K. so his nickname in those less enlightened times was "Inky" but he suffered far less racial harassment than his kinfolk at Ackley Bridge - which is really "Waterloo Road in disguise. The programmes share the considerable talents of Miss J.Joyner,but even she cannot rescue this disaster of almost comic proportions. This culture - clash school story ,as subtle as a Cruise missile,is full of elderly schoolchildren with bad "Northern" accents,many of whom appear to be competing for the "Worst performance by somebody from a third - rate Stage school in 2017".And the competition is fierce. Older actors who should know better and indeed have done better in almost every other programme they've been in seem to be looking around desperately for a way out,but sorry guys,you're stuck for at least the season. This sort of "Let's all live together in a Rainbow Classroom" fantasy is de rigeur in a fragmenting society,but wishing ain't going to make it so. If you pay peanuts for teachers you will get monkeys. More than ever there needs to be an incentive for good teachers to work at the sometimes more challenging chalkface. Who is going to put themselves in the firing line of State Education for a pittance when the Private Sector is far more comfortable and better paid? Ackley Bridge and its like will remain a dumping ground for children and teachers until this problem is addressed. And programmes like this do nothing to help,merely being a Recruiting aid to posh schools as nobody in their right mind would want to work in a school like this.
6 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Excited For Second Season
lallen-7440429 May 2018
Although the first season came out a year ago and i can't remember for the life of me what happened, it was a good show hi-lighting important issues and events in today's society, not only has the show done this well, they've also made it entertaining to watch and it a new fresh tv show for british television. Can't wait for the second season
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Contrived but watchable!
qui_j28 September 2018
This is an interesting series about the school system in contemporary Britain. There is the usual racial divide that one would think has disappeared after 60 years of immigration from the Commonwealth countries and past British colonies. The story lines in the series are a bit contrived but I guess there's a limit to what writers can come up with. When one compares it with the other series now on American and Scandinavian TV, there are many similarities in the types of student characters e.g. gay, troubled, abused etc. What is different is the setting for this, poor working class in the North Country where there is little in the way of opportunity or hope. That's where the contrived bit comes in since "poor" people really should not be able to afford all the stuff they seem to have! Hopefully, the series creators do plan to have the students graduate at some point as it would be really weird to have them stay in school for too many years. While not a series that totally draws you in, it is one that does keep you watching just to see how it all turns out!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
So unreal it's laughable
casagrandicooper5 June 2018
It's a bad mix between a Carry-On and Monty Python, just without the jokes. Anyone in the know understands this has as much to do with real education as a chicken has to do with a calculator. As for the stereotypical characters, Benny Hill could have written more realistic people and storylines. Finally, the back alleyways of the houses, I thought they'd burst into "Every Sperm is Sacred"! Watch for a laugh, but only if you can't find a spoon to remove your own eyeballs; which would be preferable. Absolute trash TV.
4 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Great to poor
ozfreeman18 July 2019
Started off really good, fantastic watch but it has gone down hill rapidly, this season should be the last as it's running out of ideas, such a shame
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
mandy makes me sick
marktayloruk24 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
First banningo drama. Then lengthening the school day and cancelling the prom. Seems that absolute power corrupts absolutEly.
0 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed