The Wild Pear Tree (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
70 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Felt Every Minute of This Movie
evanston_dad3 March 2020
I felt every minute of this very long Turkish film.

Long because it's, well, long (clocking in at just over three hours). But also long because the main character, who's in virtually every frame of the movie, is such an unpleasant person to hang out with. And part of the reason that he's so unpleasant is that he's recognizable, as I've been that person myself. He's young, fresh out of college, and thinks he knows everything there is to know about life despite having almost no experience of it himself. He's cocky, condescending, and unbearable. What ultimately makes him worth spending time with, and for that matter makes the whole movie worth sticking with, is the final scene, in which he comes to understand that the father who he's shunned because of all the life mistakes he's so determined not to make himself is perhaps the one person in his life who most understands him and most emulates the ideals the son goes around shoving down everyone's throat.

This is the kind of movie I wish I had seen with someone else so I could have someone to talk about it with. Throughout the film, the protagonist has little moments of.....I'm not sure what to call them.....daydreams? hallucinations? A scene will play out one way, and the it will abruptly shift gears and play out another, leading us to believe that the first version was in the protagonist's head. I'm not sure what to make of these breaks from reality. He's written a book that he's trying to get published, so maybe these episodes are a glimpse into how events play out in his book rather than how they did in reality? Or maybe it's the reverse. Maybe the movie we're watching is the book he wrote, and these moments are what actually happened. Or maybe it's neither and I'm overthinking. Maybe he's just a writer who is always attuned to alternative paths a person's narrative might take.

The ending didn't exactly make me feel like all of the three hours preceding it were necessarily worth it. I don't know why the movie had to be quite so long. But it did linger in my head and it's made the whole movie grow in stature for me when I think back on it. I don't know that I'd want to watch it again, but I'm glad I watched it once.

Grade: A
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Witty and Beautiful
Blue-Grotto4 November 2018
The wind rises as Sinan and Hatice kiss at a spring on the outskirts of the forest. It is the threshold of many things, not merely the forest. A few steps in the right direction will lead to love and the fulfillment of dreams. The wrong steps invite heartbreak and the crushing weight of societal expectations. Which way to go?! While Sinan inspires Hatice to let her hair down, a big step in Turkey, he can't seem to help himself. The gambling addiction, fawning desire to please and wild schemes of his father are not where Sinan wants to go, yet understanding his father is the key to understanding himself, for better or worse. Wild pears are isolated misfits, and so are father and son.

This witty and beautiful film is full of metaphors, wonderful imagery and deep, intriguing conversations. The film revolves around many interesting themes. Among these themes is that ruptures in the soul should be treated with joy and patience for they help us discover who we are. The cinematography is luminous, mesmerizing and far ranging from lamp lit streets at night, rainfall and close-ups of Hatice's flowing hair. I want to linger in each place. It is a long film, but for what it reveals about contemporary Turkish society and human nature, it is a fantastic bargain and worth the price. From the director of Winter Sleep and Once Upon a Time in Anatolia. Seen at the 2018 Toronto International Film Festival.
36 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wild Pear Tree: An incomparable experience
billurdabak3 June 2018
Is it possible to feel the same things with somebody struggling to build his own life, the difficulties he faces to be free from his parents' expectations or oppressions, to realize that they are not his supporters but his obstacles?.maybe a part of it, yes the duration of the film may be longer than the standards (who determines them?) at the end i felt that every scene was necessary to get closer to Sinan's feelings. Asuman who watches a Yilmaz Guney's film, the mother slapping his son's face scene in that film, maybe inspired her to make "why you didn't get the money from him" conversation with her own son or the imams and Sinan's debate about faith, the famous writer's and Sinan dialogue then conflict..even the scene about the tight budget of the lottery salesman maybe reminded Sinan his father's situation. I feel very lucky to watch this film in its original language and I'm still digesting it but as soon as the film ended, i felt like Idris, Asuman, Sinan and all other people around him are still living there, in that town Çan!
68 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very Powerful No Agitation
goren-6046311 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Again another film with lots of characters from real life with universal concerns and problems reflected very successfully... Another part I liked about this film is small town people having some deep existential discussions made very natural where nothing stands out as made up or boring.

I must say I am as much or even more intrigued by the father character where him being different, isolated and looked down by others because of somewhat materialistic failures in his life (gambling etc.), but yet somewhat he represents the true success in life by living a self sufficient life in a small basement, with a dog and other animals, still with a sense of humor, with no harm done to anyone or expecting much of anything from anyone, and in the end perhaps being the least depressed. Furthermore certainly by being the only person who cared for his son's writing.

Like many people to me the more I think about the film afterwards means the better that film is and I sure still think about, and digest this film and the anecdotes within.
48 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfect movie despite its length
skyisthelimit92521 June 2018
Nuri Bilge Ceylan is arguably the best director Turkey has ever seen and Ahlat Agaci is definitely one of the best films in recent years that has been made by Turkish directors.

The plot, the acting and the cinematography is simply incredible. As a guy who lives in Turkey, it's very rare to see films with a quality. So in that way, I can easily say that Ahlat Agaci is the best movie in the past 4-5 years.

What stood out for me in the film was that you basically never get bored even though the film is quite long. No unnecessary scenes, no characters that you hate everytime you see them. Definitely a thing to consider.

NBC is so undervalued and underrated, at least in his homecountry. Interestingly enough, European cinema appreciates him and he almost always participates in Cannes Film Festival, but I'm %100 sure that half of Turkey doesn't even know his name. It's sad, but it also says a lot about the general look to cinema sector in Turkey.

Thanks to people like NBC, though, we can watch 'real' and 'non-American made' films.

Quality film by an incredible director. 10/10
50 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
long but rewarding
dromasca3 May 2019
Watching Nuri Bilge Ceylan's film 'Ahlat Agaci' ('The Wild Pear Tree') is a cinematic experience that I would compare to reading some of the books of the classics of Russian literature. It's not easy reading, but it's catchy. The length of the books or of the movie exceeds the average, but as a viewer you do not feel the passage of time, because the writers or the film director in this case absorb you in their worlds. As in Chekhov, the characters of Ceylan's film live in a provincial city and the adjoining village, in a socially suffocating atmosphere and are surrounded by a human landscape composed of people unable to understand their intellectual aspirations. The Russian books (Tolstoy's for example) and Ceylan's films contain philosophical or historical diversions that give them an universal and perennial content that crosses the boundaries of geography and time.

Sinan Karasu is a young man who returns to his city and to his non-functional family after graduating college. The prospects of a college graduate are not too many or too attractive: either to take a teacher's exam after which he will be assigned to teach at a primary school in a remote area of Turkey, or join the army or the police. His father, Idris, is a teacher, but also a betting addict, which got him into debts, and led the family to losing the property of their house and living at the edge of a precarious existence. Idris's ambition seems to be to return to his native village, where in weekends he digs a fountain on a hillside, with little hope of ever hitting water. Young Sinan is also a writer, he wrote a book inspired by the local people and culture, but the kind of non-commercial book that finds neither editor nor reader public. The gaps between his aspirations and realities, between his ambitions and the mediocrity around are huge, and the result is a permanent conflict with a world with which he tries to entertain dialogues, but which he also approaches with a sense of intellectual superiority without foundation in social realities.

Like many other good movies (or books or other works of art), 'Ahlat Agaci' can be viewed and understood at several levels. At the personal level, the film has complex characters that we discover and we get to know better and better as we advance in the viewing, with the help the excellent acting performances of actors such as Dogu Demirkol, Murat Cemcir and Bennu Yildirimlar . There is also a political and social layer that is never explicit, maybe in order to allow the film to be easily distributed in Turkey and thus be accessible to the local audience, which is probably very important for a director like Nuri Bilge Ceylan, but also because true creators know how to convey messages without transforming their works into manifestos. Finally, there is a philosophical layer, more or less related to the main story, but which raises interesting issues such as the compromises that a writer is bound to make to gain popularity and what are their limits, or the relationship between religion and its institutions and their relevance in social life. Ceylan knows to tell a story and to film beautifully, and attentive viewers will also benefit from short moments of surreal insertions that deserve not to be missed. The film is long but in rare moments it feels so (the scene of the conversation with the two imams is the only one in which I had the impression that the cutting of a few minutes would have been beneficial), and the spectators will be rewarded at the end with one of the most exciting film finales which I have seen lately. A movie to see.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Do you want to become your parents?
lee_eisenberg23 October 2020
Occasionally, movies focus on a person who worries that they're becoming their parents, in the sense of doing the things that were once considered uncool. Nuri Bilge Ceylan's "Ahlat Agaci" addresses this, but goes so deep into it that it's almost as if you have to see the movie ahead of time to understand it (a catch-22). The movie gives an unflattering portrayal of modern Turkey, with the protagonist moving from one unpleasant sight to another, finally confronting his parents.

I don't know that I would call it a masterpiece, but still worth seeing.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A step backwards in Ceylan's cinema
sakarkral4 June 2018
It has been 21 years since Ceylan shot his first feature film Kasaba, whose main theme was an intellectual young man's desperate, family-stuck life in the countryside with no way out. After this film throughout his film career he focused on different themes as well of course, from middle class criticism (Climates) to film noir (Three Monkeys). But, being from Turkey, eventually in his last movies he returned to the countryside tales again. Especially this movie, The Wild Pear Tree, seemed to me as if Ceylan suffered from a partial amnesia and forgot that he shot the movie Kasaba. So he blended this "brand new film idea" with his recently developed film aesthetics and here we have The Wild Pear Tree.

In his first movies Ceylan barely had a story, he only had "themes". The rest of the movie was wonderful photography and this is what he got famous for. Then, founding clever collaborations, he learnt how to tell stories as well. But the question here is: does he really have a new story to tell? Turkey has changed a lot since Kasaba, but Ceylan's representations look like they are here to stay eternally. For instance, while Ceylan still hold on to the "intellectual stuck in the countryside" stereotype, intellectuals in the Turkish countryside either made it to the metropolises or they are replaced/outdated by the emerging religious elite.

So instead of telling a new story, Ceylan seems like he chose to "garnish" what he already has, with neverending dialogues unattached to each other. Dialogue with the girl, dialogue with the mayor, with the businessman, with the writer, with the police friend, with the imams and with this and this and this. Kind of a video game, one "countryside monster" at a time. So I think this movie is a rococo remake of minimalist Kasaba.

So if you tolerate the theatrical lines in the first dialogues, the movie is a nice one to see. But in comparison to the last 2 movies of Ceylan, this is certainly a step backwards (and surprisingly, this backwardness is evident also in the photography).
62 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Beauty of the Ordinary
kaljic1 April 2019
Turkish director Nuri Bilge Ceylon has an amazing ability to transform the most ordinary, banal human incidents into significant events. This, coupled with the similar ability to capture the beauty of perfectly ordinary places on earth, makes this an extremely pleasurable viewing experience. In The Wild Pear Tree you enter the world of Sinan Karasu, a young man recently graduated from the university as a teacher but with goals to be a writer. Much of the movie involves him finding sponsors or the means to publish his work. His frustration is of a writer trying to find a publisher for his book, someone who has greater awareness and ambitions, but is trapped in a very provincial, very small village. At one point in his search to find a sponsor he is told by another author, paraphrasing, "describing the banal enriches it, because nothing is as ordinary as it seems." This is the theme of this movie.

It is a long movie, running over three hours. The movie doesn't change camera every five seconds and there is no "action" to wake the audience up. The stunning beauty of ordinary people, in ordinary places, going through ordinary life experiences, is engrossing, and very much recommended.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
NBC's most complete film
saraccan2 June 2018
The main character has a very rich and interesting personality, as well as the other characters that surround him. The cinematography is amazing as usual but some of the weird things that happen during the moving shots make them far less impressive than the glorious still shots.

It's very easy to find things from your own life within the story and the dialogues that occur which makes a lot of the little-longer-than-usual scenes very engaging and that makes you wonder how the dialogue is gonna develop and conclude.

I normally don't care too much about the length of movies but I'm a little bit on the negative side with this one. That's mainly because of what I told myself halfway through the movie which was; "Ohhh, we're only halfway" instead of "Yeahhh, we're only halfway".

It's about a young writer who recently finished university. He must move back to his village from the city where he went to school. So his struggles start as he doesn't want to get used to the village life.
24 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An intimate epic
gortx13 February 2019
Turkish master filmmaker Nuri Bilge Ceylan's follow-up to his superb WINTER SLEEP is another intimate epic. Again, over 3 hours long, but, focused on a writer, Sinan. The writer here is a young college graduate determined to not only publish his first novel, but, also to break free from his father, Idris - a teacher who also had wild ambition, but, never succeeded. While the story is simple, Ceylan plunges at length into his characters. A couple of sequences truly stand out: First, is an accidental meeting with a young woman the writer once had his eye one, but, who is now headed, unenthusiastically, into a marriage. The scene plays out in 'real time'. Long past the point where a conventional movie would have moved on. At first it draws the viewer in, and, later, makes one feel almost uncomfortable. As if intruding on a private moment. Even more awkward is a long sequence where Sinan meets a successful local author. They engage. Then spar. Then quarrel. All of the audaciousness and frustrations of Sinan play out over the extended scenes. Despite the tight nature of the plot, Ceylan isn't a 'drawing room' type of filmmaker. He uses the vast Turkish landscape as a means of showing how small a man can be against such a harsh environment. As I noted: an intimate epic. In the end, WILD PEAR TREE doesn't work as well as a WINTER SLEEP, or his masterwork, ONCE UPON A TIME IN ANATOLIA. The central character isn't quite interesting enough to carry the length of the movie. And, the relationship arc with the father is rather easy to discern long before the half-way point. PEAR isn't a movie for the casual filmgoer. But, it is one to savor should one want to plunge themselves into this world - like diving into a densely detailed novel.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
forbidden piece
CitizenKaneAAAAA16 December 2018
The film depicted a cliche plot of life that happen everywhere in the world that nobody in hollywood would ever produce. it's a loser story, something that might not be "inspiring", "uplifting", and just plain depressing and plays at key minor at an instrument (even tho there's some note changes at the end). it's a taboo song that people often treat as a myth. it's like discovering Bicycle Thieves and Mouchette once again.
21 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
like a beginner writer
Orhan_Akdeniz21 June 2018
This film is better than "Town", "Three Monkeys" and "Climates" but not as well as others. There is a lot of didactic dialogue in the film. As if the director imitated the dialogue of novice writers. Because the main character is a beginner writer. Even if it really is the goal, it is still bad.
25 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great movie, but falls short of Winter Sleep
warthogjump3 January 2019
The Wild Pear Tree is Nuri Ceylan's most recent long, compelling character study of a newly graduated student struggling to publish his supposedly unique book about life living in Canakkale. The movie can be said to be the sum of Sinan's interactions with various people throughout the film, including his father who has a gambling addiction, his mother and sister who don't seem overly supportive of him, his apparent love interest, various publishers, religious imams and public figures, and of course other famous writers. The move is very dialogue driven, but it is also not at the same time, given its long runtime, there are also many scenes of simple quietness, and mere great cinematography. However, at times, it feels as though Ceylan has dragged it too far. He appears to have gotten too comfortable in the Director's seat and it feels as though some dialogue scenes and some scenes showcasing amazing cinematography are too long. The plot, or at least the main background story following the move along, also does not feel as compelling as his previous film Winter Sleep. Overall, the movie is great, but also tends to drag a bit. In his previous film Winter Sleep, I think Ceylan got the balance right for achieving the classification 'masterpiece.' However, in the Wild Pear Tree, it is merely a good movie with its flaws, and the main flaw anyone will feel coming out of the film is some of the unnecessary runtime.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Tad Too Drawn Out & Preachy
CinemaClown8 February 2019
From the writer-director of Once Upon a Time in Anatolia & Winter Sleep, The Wild Pear Tree provides an interesting glimpse into life in modern Turkey, and makes for a fascinating character sketch of a young man who finds himself being dragged towards a destiny he cannot embrace. Though not as rewarding as his finest directorial efforts, Nuri Bilge Ceylan's latest is still more than capable of standing on its own, and is definitely a must-see for the fans of the renowned Turkish auteur.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bitter Sweet Lower middle class life...
rajivkuin25 May 2019
No movie ever made in India can portray life of lower middle class in such wonderful manner.

Movie is made in Turkey but you can just change the name, dub it in Hindi, don't change a single word in the movie just exact translation and it would not give you a single moment that wont identify with a lower middle class life.

There is no acting in the movie, its almost like live streaming of a normal real family life. Its so wonderfully made that 3 hours went by like 3 minute for me, despite the fact that movie is slow paced and dialogues are just routing conversations.

If you watch it you would see how small things that happen everyday when put together over a period of time become so profound and precious that they seem more enlightening than all the literature in the world put together.

Imperfections of life and brutalities of reality that we live every single day without complaining and without knowing how just one kindness of fate would have changed everything for us.

Lower middle class life is such magical space where just one good day can change everything for you as you are just striving to move just one step ahead to make life better for you, that day does not come for 95% of the people on earth but its worth waiting and hoping for that day, sometimes generations wait for it and it never comes but hope never dies.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A masterpiece!
willeasyer2 January 2019
This is my last movie of the year and I guess I left the best for last. some people may complain about its length but I think it was necessary, as each scene was imminent to convey its full meaning. This film is amazing on so many levels and I hope I would do it justice in my limited humble review. First I fell in love with it because I was reminded of my childhood, my days in our native village, the family ties, the panorama etc... everything about this film screamed my past; and I identified to the character of Sinan; a man with so many fantasies, dreams and deep visions, a martyr of his upbringings, life situation, his village and family an intelligent tale about facing life, finding his meaning after college and dealing with a family he sees as an obstacles rather than a support. this movie is in its way a literary artifact that needs deep study and interpretation. another thing that passioned me about this film is its interpretation of Father son Relationships, the significance of someone and happiness in the middle of existence void in a conservative restrained society, it tackles it through the lenses of literature, perception, fate, and religion. AIso; I admire the ending with the two supposed conclusions, you either throw yourself in the pit and dig with no resolution or just end it once for all; living the choice for us to choose the reality and the hallucination between this two. Second, this film is a cinematic delight I don't know how to articulate it or frame it but the filming and the direction are outstanding; it's a visual treat transporting and touching you can put it on mute and still enjoy the hell out of it. really a great way to end a beautiful year full of great movies.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not this time!
murat_e22 December 2018
What I expected today was to watch a standard NBC film with good photography, long dialogues, etc. However, this time NBC fails to make a good film compared to his recent films such as Winter Sleep, Three Monkeys and Distant. Wild Pear Tree is far from achieving an articulate scenario; suffering from usual-acting-quality, incomplete characters, not-so-relevant-music-score... Dialogues are too difficult to follow; not only the actors mumble the words but also the sentences are sometimes too weak to give a meaning to. Pity for all the effort but still hopeful for the next films by NBC.
27 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
repeating the awesome experience of Winter Sleep
sraswel2 January 2019
I remember very well the night I watched Winter Sleep in cinema. The movie was 3+ hrs and once it finished, I didn't notice at all we have spent 3 hrs watching. I could easily go more. That night experience is one the sweetest experiences that I ever had with Cinema. I was hoping to repeat the same experience and damn it again happened. The movie is story of a graduated guy that returns to his village. He wants to be writer. He has a once respected but now gambler father that is the reason of shame for him. He hates the village and all the people there. He wishes even to destroy there. The movie is the story of relationship of a son and father. Father as symbol of identity of the son. The feeling of moving on from your own identity and yet sill being stuck in it. Sinan hates his father but at the same time pities him. He wishes he could move on. At the end of movie Sinan realizes that the father is the wisest and sees himself in father. The father is the wild pear tree and so the Sinan. Bilge Ceylan was photographer and you can find amazing pictures in his movie. The scene that is taken from high and they are driving the truck in snow is amazing. The movie has some masterpiece scenes such as Sinan encounter with Hatice. The way their chat goes and twists to a erotic end, mix with the winds that splashes Hatice hair is so well made.
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Where we watch a graduate come to terms with Life
RJBurke194219 April 2020
Directed by the award-winning Nuri Bilge Ceylan (aka NBC), this story centers upon a young graduate, Sinan (Dogu Demirkol) returning to his home town to get financing from somebody - anybody - to publish his newly completed novel. Like most young people, Sinan wants success. But he's not exactly tolerant of people, treating his mother and sister with indifference, his father - a primary school teacher - with contempt for his addictive gambling, others with thinly-veiled antagonism. His wish to be published is a wild dream, of course, like many budding writers looking for recognition. However, this movie is not just a story about getting published....

The opening scene, through a glass darkly, shows Sinan inside a cafe, sitting and drinking tea, with the vista he's brooding upon reflected, for the viewer, in the glass-covered front. It's a cleverly unsettling scene because it shows the real overlaid with the unreal as though one. So, as we continue to watch this story unfold, that metaphor is further developed with Sinan meandering his way around town, on rural roads and tracks, through forests, glades etc. - giving himself a lot of time to ponder his options, his choices, his wants. And all the while, indulging himself in a number of real or totally imaginary encounters with - in no particular order - his parents, his sister, old friends, a local businessman who sells sand, young friends, one of his old flames, a well-known local writer, the town mayor, a couple of local imams, his maternal and paternal grandparents, and a few others with whom he is familiar.

Life is full of banalities and choices, some important. But most important are things that truly matter, whether real or imaginary. So, just as we day-dream from time to time as we wrestle with our own problems and plans, here also we are watching Sinan doing the same as he moves about the area. Because, in a number of his encounters, what he does or says is simply impossible, highly improbable or totally ridiculous. Fortunately, there are clues along the way to help the viewer to discriminate and decide which is which. Perhaps. Meaning this exquisitely visual exposition requires the viewer's keen attention to detail, throughout.

On the other hand, unlike some of NBC's prior movies - e.g. Once Upon A Time In Anatolia (2011), Winter Sleep (2014) - this story doesn't have the same dramatic punch with which we are familiar, when a narrative is finally resolved. Instead, it explores truths that are universal and that cannot be denied, especially when Sinan finally realizes what's most important for him to choose. And even though, with his final shocking day-dream, a future possibility he imagines for himself is not something anyone would wish for.

Dogu Demirkol, a relative newcomer as Sinan, is in almost every scene; and his portrayal of an egocentric, combatively arrogant young man is simply superb. That said, the rest of the cast acquit themselves equally well, in my opinion. And, naturally, the setting and production are up to the usual NBC standard.

Highly recommended for all young and old adults. Nine out of ten.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Best of NBC
uzay15622 June 2018
Perfect acting, funny dialogues, slow but intense. I could have continued to watch for 3 more hours.
34 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Pear Tree without fruits
gaiadam9334 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Like a kind of theater walking, this film by Nury Bilge Ceylan insists in talks and talks adorned with suggestive color and some impressive landscapes, but what is wanted to be a deep philosophical exposition through the voices of relegated people in a far away place is no more than a wearisome shallow conversation about life, literature, religion, love, failure,family relation,money and what not. The father of the writer wants to discover water in a dry well, his son at the end prosecutes the unsuccessful, labor. The same result for the movie. Only the dogs, in silence or barking, and one of them committing suicide say more than the long verbosity .
10 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It's a rare gem!
harelives22 June 2019
I wanted to watch this just because of it's ratings. My wife had watched it before me and when asked, she didn't say much. Only 'there's nothing much' she said. And I was wondering how it's going to be just because it's 3 hours long.

But after getting in to it for some time, I understood that this movie is going to make me stunned. And it's going to be a well worthy watch.

The actors are doing a brilliant job. I wanted to cry in the middle just because I felt the loneliness and helplessness.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A thoughtful but Imperfect Movie
caohong_995 February 2019
This was the first time I have seen a Turkish movie. Nuri Bilge Ceylan is a great and prolific director. He is a thinker. Watching his movie was almost like reading Russian novels by Dostoyevsky, or Turgenev, or Chekov. I think Nuri is heavily influenced by Russian literature. I liked the landscape of this film. However I have a few issues with this film: 1) the heavy and lengthy philosophical discussions with another writer and with his friends were totally irrelevant to the movie. 2) I don't like his treatment of youth. The 22 years old young man thinks, acts, behaviors, and depresses like a 60 years old man, without any liveliness and innocence. I especially hate to see the last scene the son was contemplating about hanging himself. There were not many reasons behind such a thought. His father had the reasons to hang himself, but not the son. 3) The story was very thin, tempo was very slow, and it became boring to watch. However, I think I would love to watch the other movies by Nuri in the future.
13 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Magnificient!
cuneytcamgoz15 June 2018
Make sure that after you watched this movie, you feel like finishing a novel.
26 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed