Bad Candy (2020) Poster

(2020)

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
We create our own justice
nogodnomasters19 September 2021
Warning: Spoilers
On Halloween night 666 FM features Chilly Billy (Corey Taylor) and Paul (Zach Galligan) spin requested horror stories. The anthology at times has stories which cross which I like. I enjoyed the tales which had the right amount of humor and horror. The range runs from a nasty step-dad, bad kids, prostitutes, ghost hunters, a rave and a morgue to name a few.

Guide: F-word. Sex. No nudity.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Watchable, but generic horror anthology...
paul_haakonsen14 September 2021
"Bad Candy" is a horror anthology with a Halloween theme, so this is something of an acquired taste. Normally, I do like horror quite a lot, but sadly many of the anthologies found in the horror genre tend to be subpar, if not downright horrible. So it was with some reluctance that I sat down to watch the 2020 horror anthology "Bad Candy".

Well, as it usually is with anthologies, then there are stories that have more appeal to you than others, and of course such was also the case with "Bad Candy". Some of the stories here were adequate, while others were bland and sort of dragging on, with only the first of stories actually standing out as being particularly interesting - for me, at least. In terms of storylines for the anthology, then writers Desiree Connell, Scott B. Hansen and Thacker Hoffman delivered a very mixed bags of nuts here.

Visually, then I must say that "Bad Candy" was actually quite alright. The special effects seen in this anythology were actually quite good and complimented the stories nicely.

The acting in "Bad Candy" was adequate, though I can't really point out anyone's single performance to outshine the others. But all in all, the performances were good.

My rating of "Bad Candy", ultimately lands on a mediocre five out of ten stars. "Bad Candy" is watchable, sure, and will provide adequate entertainment for a single Halloween evening in front of the screen. But in the long run, then "Bad Candy" just didn't have anything outstanding or memorable to offer the audience.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not bad, and not great either.
paulclaassen9 October 2021
In the tradition of 'The Twilight Zone', 'Creepshow' and 'Scary stories to tell in the Dark', 'Bad Candy' is an anthology of short stories - told by radio presenters on Halloween night.

This is a seriously demented and bloody film - with a great soundtrack, I might add. The first story is about a young girl, whose stepfather won't allow her to go trick or treating. Able to make her sketches come alive, she gets her revenge on him.

Then there's the selfish young boy who doesn't care about Halloween, but wants candy - good quality candy, and snuffs at the candy offered he finds. There's a guy who offers drugs to strangers at parties, and gets more than he bargained for. And the woman who fantasizes about having sex with a dead guy in a morgue. There's also a bunch of people with pumpkins on their heads being hunted by a vampire. Finally, the House on the Hill.

The film does feature good photography, and great visuals here and there, but in general I just didn't find it interesting enough. There were some creepy moments, and some shocking moments. As the title indicates, 'Bad Candy' might leave a sour taste in your mouth. There are better anthology horrors - or Halloween-related movies out there.

Don't get me wrong, this is not a bad movie, and might please your palate for some gory Halloween horror. It's worth watching at least once if you're into the genre.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Enjoyed this one
drunken_munki23 September 2021
Reminds me a lot of 'Trick 'r Treat', with a clever interwoven set of smaller stories.

The cinematography is great, really hands down well done on that. The acting was convincing and I liked some of the costumes. The audio presentation and music were also excellent, nothing over the top but very fitting and an excellent sound track. There are some jokes too, I found this funny at times.

Some tales at the start are classic horror/slasher but as the film plays out more and more of it starts to get strange and had me stumped trying to predict where it was going. This film has some clever writing in that regard.

7/10 enjoyable watch with lots of excellent visuals and some throw backs to classic horror.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good, Old School, Anthology Movie!
collectorofsorts14 September 2021
I didn't expect much here with the super low budget. The props are off the shelf at Walmart of Spirit Halloween. And, the acting isn't the best. But, it's got the feel of the old 1960s-1970s anthology shows/movies. The action is in quick 10 minute (or so) segments and they're pretty enjoyable. I really enjoyed it for what it is. The younger generation probably won't get it. There are no pricey special effects and none of the other pricey things we normally see in todays movies. But, if you were raised on cheesy b-movies and loved them, you'll love this one!
5 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Avoid, A mess, a loud, silly mess.
jbar1915 September 2021
First, the bad...

Loud audio, bad CGI, predictable, disjointed, over use of drone shots, astoundingly one dimensional characters, smarmy narrators. Plus it infused some brief and very unneeded politics.

Not scary, not funny, not original and not so-bad-that-it's-good. Each vignette just ends. They are just incidents and not stories.

Almost every over-used horror cliche is on display; killer clowns, flying demons, duplicitous ghost hunters, unhinged army veterans, people who put razor blades in candy etc.

On the good side... shot very well, professionally edited, some very subtle homages to other horror films,

The army guys vignette at least had some humor. And I enjoyed their part

Army Guy 1: "You know you get really sleepy after you eat White people."

Army guy 1: "Why didn't you hit her?" Army guy 2 "She was a woman".

Army guy 1 : "What are you, sexist?"

The ending kind of ties things together and I REALLY wanted to like this movie, but it is a mess, a loud, silly mess.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BAD CANDY, GREAT FILM!
Sunsphxsuns24 September 2021
If you were old enough to have watched the 80s horror comedy series such as "Tales from the Crypt" (1989) or "Amazing Stories" (1985), and you were then hip enough to have seen Michael Dougherty's Halloween opus, "Trick r Treat," (2007), then you're very likely going to enjoy this modestly budgeted little gem, "Bad Candy" (2021).

Directed by Scott B. Hansen & Desiree Connell, "Bad Candy" stars Zach Galligan, Corey Taylor, Riley Sutton, and is well written by the two aforementioned directors. There is quite a lot of talent here.

In spite of a reasonably tight budget, this film boasts a surprising amount of gritty special effects (some conventional, some CGI) which gave the overall appearance a type of comic book vibe. "Bad Candy" is segmented into a series of tales, but unlike "Trick r Treat," they don't eventually converge, which, in this case, doesn't matter. Sometimes ambiguity is a perfect vehicle to elicit "thinking," which lately seems to be a lost art when it comes to interpreting concepts that clearly defy explanation.

I think some reviewers jumped the gun with their over the top negative judgements. Time is always the wiser, and a teachable reminder that "box office bombs" like "Its A Wonderful Life" (1946) and "The Wizard of Oz" (1939) were once maligned as critical and financial failures, but they are now glowingly praised as perennial, universally adored classics.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This is amazing, you need to watch it.
johnanthonymazzei14 September 2021
This movie is a throw back to the old horror movies. I. E. They had to scare you with the story. It has it's share of violence, gore, profanity but, surprisingly no nudity. Which is all too common in the genre. It is a long movie and kept me guessing till the end. If it doesn't make sense watch it again every detail has a purpose.
6 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Pretty good Anthology
G00fhunter15 September 2021
I am actually impressed with this movie because i thought it would be really bad. This movie was actually really good and the cinematography was spot on. The stories were ok, and some of them were better than others, but none of them were bad. Definitely recommend if you love Halloween or are a true anthology fan.
5 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Started off strong, but turned "average" quickly
jorgito200114 September 2021
Warning: Spoilers
The first few stories started off with a bang! LOVED the visuals and production design. They captured the overall Halloween "feel" 100%, the Jack 'O Lanterns, the fog, the decorated houses! Great job design team! Problem is it quickly went south less then halfway through. The necrophilia story, a gorgeous, sexy, tatted woman that nobody likes....riiiiight. The writing just got a little lazy with this and the next story (the home invasion by the Trump supporters..lol). Also the wrap-around starring Zach Galligan & Corey Taylor didn't quite connect well with the stories. Overall, this COULD'VE been a good compliment to the likes of Michael Dougherty's "Trick 'R Treat" as an every Halloween watch, but the lazily written stories make it a mixed Halloween bag of good and bad treats.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Little bit of good and bad
greg-5368214 September 2021
Can't pick a better name for the movie. It's like trick or treating and getting home emptying your bag out. A few segments are like getting full candy bars, while a couple others are like getting candy corn. It's worth a one time watch. I'll give it a 5/10 and 1 extra for the creepy clown.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
DON'T SPEND THE MONEY...
kel-3163615 September 2021
If you can watch this for free and there's nothing else on, it might be passable. It's poorly lit, poor sound, lots of bad acting and chaotic story line. If nothing else is available and you don't have to pay, go for it.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
1980's Style horror
hrid-9238521 September 2021
If you grew up with Tales from the Darkside, Tales from the Crypt or Amazing Stories, you should find this movie enjoyable.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
You don't need to bother....
megmazzi30 September 2021
It's not coherent with a very confusing wrap around in another wrap around that almost made this movie worth it. There was just too many stories, too many things not being tied together.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Generic, cliche and....kind of embarrassing
pinchpot14 September 2021
I was honestly really looking forward to this. Mostly because I was really wanting to get myself into the spooky season mood and this was the first thing to drop. However...man. This is bad. Real bad

Sure, it's low budget. The props looks straight off the discount shelf of Spirit Halloween, and the camera work and lighting is just above home movie level professionalism. Honestly, I'm fine with that. The acting is extremely amateur across the board, and while not ideal, at least that has a certain awkward charm to it. The real problem...is the writing

Everything about it feels lazy, generic, soulless, and cringeworthy. This contains every trope you've seen 1000 times before. Every scare is telegraphed. The dialogue is weird and robotic, and so much of this is almost carbon copy rip offs of much better horror films. So uninspired and lazy. Big fail.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A terrible version of Trick R Treat
jn-1410018 September 2021
So we watched this largely for Corey Taylor and we typically like horror anthology movies but this is a giant swing and a miss. There were a couple of entertaining moments but this thing tries too hard to be an over the top Trick R Treat without any appeal of Sam. Definitely skip.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just Bad !
carolszl22 September 2021
It's like the producers let 5th graders write the script , actually I think they would have done a better job. It's so bad Rifftrax wouldn't even Riff it that's how bad it is.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad Candy, Bad Movie
idapimpudaho10 October 2021
This movie is awful, simply awful. The plot(s) are all over the place, the special effects are awful and if you're smart, you wont spend any time or money on it. If I could have gone as low as negative 5.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Give it a chance.
solargasfarts23 September 2021
It's not nearly as bad as ratings and reviewers make it out to be.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad Candy? Bad movie.
mexibeanburrito11 October 2021
Somehow I led myself to believe this movie was going to be like another Trick'r Treat, so I was pretty jazzed when I found it for $4.99. Turns out I overpaid by about $4.99. Everything about this film was a hot mess. The acting was atrocious, the storyline was impossible to follow, and the special effects were anything but special. I get they were shooting for that campy, cheesy B-movie feel that encompasses a large portion of the horror genre. Unfortunately, they missed the mark entirely and the result is five bucks and 15 minutes I'll never get back. That's right, I only made it through the first 15 minutes of this dumpster fire. I've quit on very few movies in my life but this one makes the short list. If you're thinking of watching this movie, don't. Do literally anything else - taxes, timeshare sales pitch, colonoscopy - anything.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Embarrassing
lordcockswagger20 September 2021
Everything about this is bad...

The budget has to be next to nothing. The costumes look like they came from the Spirit Halloween discount bin, and several of the props are literally the exact same items currently on sale at my local supermarket. And the acting level across the board feels like local community theatre. Or a step below that if i'm being honest. Some community theatre productions put forth real, genuine effort. This does not

And that's the real problem. Everything about this is so lazy. The writing, the acting, the dialogue, the lighting, the camera work, the general level of craft. It all feels half hearted and extremely amateur. It also has a kind of gross, crass vibe that feels unintentional, and more of a result of the unprofessional attitudes of the filmmakers. Just cheap and stupid. Major disappointment with this thing. The only good thing about this film was the poster. Everything else...is totally forgettable.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ugghhhh
johnastiles16 October 2021
What can I say? The opening to this show was a tragedy from the start. I know it was for dramatic effect, but 66.6FM? The FM band starts at 88Mhz so I just couldn't get over the ridiculousness from the start.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed