Hot Mess (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Relatable Loz, I know that girl!
fionaroberts-3576815 April 2020
I went to the Cinema Nova in Melbourne to see the screening of Hot Mess and immediately fell in love with its charm. Its made on next to nothing and using just the basics of any indie film maker's under-resourced smorgasbord, but for what it is, a small independent film addressing the age old question of 'will you love me?' I thought it was really fun and recommend anyone to see it. There are some nice moments in there which sit well and the lead actress who plays Loz is so relatable to my early 20s that its like looking at a mirror. I guess that's why I liked it because it reminded me of me so much. We had the chance to talk to the cast and director at the end of the movie who were really sweet, making me enjoy this movie so much more just hearing about how they made the film. Its light and funny and something relatable especially if you've bee Loz in a former life! Would love for this to be a series on Netflix if possible.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
DONT UNDESTAND WHAT THE FUSS IS ALL ABOUT
movieguy300016 October 2020
Its not a bad movie, it s=does have charm and some interesting moments but overall there is no plot or story, its just a bunch of scenes. Th main actress just passes in acting but she doesn't belong on screen, its hard to watch people who don't look like actors or unrelatable or not the right fit for a role. I'm a huge supporter of Australian film and spend alot of money going to these films but I will speak the truth. Female directors for some strange reason love to indulge in overly sexualised content. Its always crude and vulgar and they say men are pigs. Don't believe me just look up any Aussie film directed by a female. Fantastic work getting the film done. Looks like students shot it, not filmed well, backyard job and terrible colour grading.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible, simply terrible!
nick_griffith15 February 2020
Was stuck watching this film due to poor selection on the plane.... wow, such a bad movie!

On a plus side is was fairly short!
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Honestly it's funny
darkatticreview11 May 2021
Here's a test - watch the first scene with Loz singing her first song (about tampons) - if you laugh you are going to love this film. If you gasp you are going to need to make a cup of tea because the next scene with theatre director Greg is going to kill you! Honestly, this film is damn funny in a raw hot messy kind of way.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of time
tyarenaa1 July 2021
It wasn't funny or relatable. It was boring and depressing as hell; full of bad jokes and even worse storyline that doesn't bring anything new or interesting to audience. I regret the 76mins I had spent watching this.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious and refreshing
julietrtimmerman17 October 2020
This film made me laugh out loud, cringe with empathy, and cry - such a rollercoaster. Absolutely hilarious, and relatable as. The acting is grounded and superb, loved it!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Made me ashamed to be Australian
gigli-champlain-jr16 October 2020
I don't know who funded this "movie", but they need an intervention, because this was the most self-indulgent, nauseating, unfunny movie I have ever seen. The cinematography was absolute trash and the script actually made me brain dead. If someone told me they genuinely liked this movie, I would never talk to them again.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
want to die
isabellaskarsgaard5 July 2022
This movie was terrible. Boring, one dimensional characters. Boring, one dimensional writing. Boring, one dimensional plot.

Main character is a talentless hack and we're supposed to sympathise with her.

By the end of the movie -- the whole 76 minutes -- i wanted a chair and some strong rope.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed