Two Heads Creek (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Keep England English
nogodnomasters14 June 2020
Warning: Spoilers
This is a comedy slasher film with people hating foreigners being the background to it. Norman (Jordan Waller) and Annabelle (Kathryn Wilder ) are twins in England who discover that she was not their biological mother upon her death. They travel off to Australia to a remote location (a quick 10 hour journey) in search of their real biological mother, only to discover she is dead, but they are not convinced. It isn't difficult to figure out the town's secret with the heavy clues.

I enjoyed the film. It wasn't Shakespeare, but it was fun. Good characters.

Guide: F-word. No sex. severed penis nudity.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Nothing outstanding here...
paul_haakonsen19 June 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I hadn't heard about "Two Heads Creek" from 2019 by writer Jordan Waller and director Jesse O'Brien before 2020, when I was given the chance to sit down and watch it.

I will say that the movie's cover/poster definitely had me interested, and I had some expectation for the movie, since it was labeled as as horror comedy. But the movie just was a swing and a miss, and it failed to entertain me.

I wanted to like the movie, I really did, but it just didn't appeal to me much in any way. Sure, the movie was watchable, but it wasn't an outstanding or memorable movie. And there are far better horror comedies in the same genre.

The storyline was adequate, and it was straight forward, so it was easy to follow. However, there was just something missing from the storyline to make it have that particular element of being unique to it.

The comedy aspect in the movie was just not sufficient and it failed to draw a laugh from me, expect for a single time, where the mother made and epic jump, but fell horribly short and landed on her face.

I am rating "Two Heads Creek" a less than mediocre four out of ten stars. While the movie definitely had some interesting enough gore and mayhem in it, it was just too little and too late in the movie, as I was already beyond the point of no return at that time.

While I managed to sit through the entire movie, I wasn't overly entertained, and it is definitely not a movie that I will be returning to for a second viewing.
7 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Australian 2000 Maniacs
BandSAboutMovies31 July 2020
Warning: Spoilers
A butcher and his twin sister have gone to Australia to find their birth mother, but what they end up finding is a small town that has a carnivorous - and yes, cannibalistic - secret. Two Heads Creek lets you know that it's a quality, fun romp right from the beginning with great credits and well-done camerawork. This is no basic straight to streaming time waster.

I'd never heard the Skyhooks song "Horror Movie" before, but this 1975 Australian song is featured throughout the movie and really sets the tone.

The end of this movie has more spraying blood and gore than the last four or five movies I've seen put together, as an Australia Day celebration goes the way of Two Thousand Maniacs.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
not much to say...
ops-5253510 June 2020
Than gedai to this lot. but as a comedy it works at times, the gore comes very precautiously served just to make a bigger crowd of an audience, because horrorscary it aint. the story and plot are copycatting thousands of other features, the most original though must be the aussie way of linguistication, and its peculiar way to perform a castration.

the rest is at the median, its a movie for the age of 7 and up, i guess the young ones will love this , cause im far too grumpy and old . so let it be a small recommend even though i had a few laughs in the start
5 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Two Heads Aren't Better Than One...
Xstal4 September 2020
Removing your eyes and ears with a blunt tool yields more pleasure. A film that butchers, dissects, dismembers and cannibalises the soul of satire and feeds it to the pigs with as little humour as possible.
15 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Falls short
kathmummybear31 January 2021
It did start off ok then started to flag,then it nosed dived fast it could of been saved if there had been some humour I almost turned off once the singing started ! (And I don't necessarily think it would of been a bad thing )
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Dumb in a bad way. Tries to be camp and edgy. FAILS
jbar191 March 2021
It is like they tried to imitate a Simon Pegg movie. Just sad. It always borders on anti male.

Acting wasn't bad, certainly not a low budget movie. Just a silly and unbelievable story that isn't funny.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Quite disappointed
dazzaler4426 November 2019
You know you're in trouble when you see a movie at your local cinema on opening weekend and you're the only patron in the theatre. This movie does try it's best being a horror/comedy but it fails (and I LOVE those types of movies). The ideas are there but the acting is that hammy and the film reminded me of Welcome To Woop Woop (where the film tried so hard to be offensive to be funny). There were a few good laughs but that acting was dreadful I sort of felt ripped off paying $14 to see it.
25 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better than I expected
smoratti11 June 2020
In the tradition of Peter Jackson's Brain Dead and Meet the Feebles comes this aussie charmer. Expect lots of gore in the second half, and over the top performances with broad humour. Grab a few 4X beers and grubs and have a good night in. The first 15 minutes is a little refrained, but it picks up after that.
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad movie
mzunah3 July 2020
Bad acting don't waste u time bad scripts nbnsmsksiisisiiiiijjj
9 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Skip it.
dickiehargreaves13 October 2020
I've been watching horror movies recently for Halloween, which is how I managed to view this atrocity. Terrible acting, juvenile script , heavy handed woke agenda and not very funny for something touted as a horror comedy.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Decent
jjvolturno8 November 2019
Saw this at Monsterfest, nice locations and good for a low budget Aussie laugh. Definitely won't be some peoples piece of cake but the filmmakers did a good job. The social aspects were a bit on the nose at times but overall good.
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Quirky, mysterious goings on in the Land Down Under
chester-IMDb17 June 2020
The opening credits indicate that mayhem will ensue.

A British butcher and his sister find out that their Polish- born mother actually adopted them when they were young. They go to Australia to meet their birth-mother. When they arrive at her village, the story really begins...

Everything is played 100% for laughs, so I wouldn't even call it a "horror-comedy", like the "Evil Dead" series. But it has dark themes involving immigration and there are nods to "Psycho." The Australian and Polish stereotypes are more likely to offend people than the carnage.

I've never seen any of these actors before, but their performances are all superb. And there is even a musical interlude. Watch the mid-credits scene at the end. 8/10
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Cheap cheesy and stupid don't waste your time
kikatay10 June 2020
Cheap cheesy and stupid don't waste your time..That is all folks :)
13 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Yawn
Straighspits21 October 2021
Dont waste your time, drunk or high its still absolutely garbage. And no, not the fun type of garbage! Complete waste of time with my 2 score only going for some decent gore effects at times.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hilarious Aussie horror comedy with a message
glenaobrien19 October 2019
Two Heads Creek is a witty, hilarious take on Ocker culture and Australia's immigration policy that employs an outsider's point of view (courtesy of Jordan Waller's intelligently observed screenplay) to show us ourselves as we would perhaps rather not be seen. The second feature for director Jesse O'Brien and director of photography Samuel Baulch after 2016's arty science fiction epic Arrowhead, it ramps up to an even higher standard of film craft and further confirms that these two film makers are a team to watch.

Jordan Waller and Kathryn Wilder give sparkling performances in the lead roles as twins who travel to outback Queensland to reconnect with their long lost birth mother (played with a wicked turn by Kerrie Armstrong). They discover that the town has developed a taste for human flesh and are involved in a conspiracy with the Department of Immigration to supply them with a food chain of migrants. 'Don't stop the boats! Send em here so we can eat their brains!' In league with their long lost mum and sister Daisy (played with a touchingly wide-eyed innocence by Madelaine Nunn) they team up to overthrow the system in a gloriously bloodthirsty final act. In addition to those already mentioned there's a top notch ensemble cast including such Aussie luminaries as Gary Sweet, Helen Dallimore, and Kevin Harrington to add to the mayhem. Gregory J Fryer as Indigenous bus driver Apari provides the much needed perspective that all of us white fellas, recent migrants or not, are 'bloody foreigners.' Special mention also to Stephen Hunter as immigration officer, Clive, David Adlam as twisted tank top wearing Eric and the legendary Don Bridges as pommy hater Uncle Morris.

The soundtrack is studded with Aussie rock classics with a heavy dose of early 60s Normie Rowe. The musical centrepiece is an hilarious hard rock arrangement of Skyhooks' Horror Movie courtesy of composer Ryan Elliot Stevens that showcases Helen Dallimore's vocal chops and provides the setting for the climactic battle sequence with a cornucopia of hilarious dismemberments so OTT that they evoke more laughs than horror.

The whip smart writing and comedic timing make Two Heads Creek an hilarious crowd pleaser. Certainly the audience at the Monsterfest premiere responded with great enthusiasm to the laughs, the gore and the incisive social commentary. Destined for an initially limited general release, if it comes to a screen near you, please get out to see what could well become an Aussie comedy classic. You won't be disappointed.
21 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Movie
djbilo22 November 2019
Great Funny Australian Movie worth the watch, seen at the Special Filming at location of where it was filmed at Cracow, would recommend to anyone that doesnt mind a little bit of a laugh.
16 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Thoroughly entertaining Aussie gore-comedy
philkrynski25 November 2019
Two Heads Creek was an entertaining flick that touched on sensitive Australian cultural topics, but certainly nailed the humour of it. Many of the references throughout the film are about as Aussie as they come. There are plenty of local acting veterans (as well as some talented internationals) amongst the cast who contribute to a quality viewing experience. Definitely grab tickets if well-executed left-field Aussie comedy is your can of XXXX.
15 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed