The Beach Bum (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
145 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Pointless vulgarity
bogor-607762 June 2019
A gross misuse of pot, Van Morrisons music and white kittens
46 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What was the whole point of this movie?
ochavillo29 March 2019
I watched this movie in hopes that it would be a comedy and have some context and relevancy of what is happening or going to happen, but this movie was completely obscure.

The pornographic content and all the radical behavior is not the problem, it was the story of the movie. There was none. If the goal of the movie was to have a movie about drugs and sex then you don't even get that in this movie. This movie is a complete failure.

A waste of time. I could have been reading a book rather than watching this film about a druggy write a book.
99 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A Middle movie with no real beginning or ending
cupofsoulshow22 March 2019
Beach Bum is a movie about Moondog. He's a staple in Key West where he spends his days getting high, drinking PBR and occasionally writing. He's a poet by profession but dedicates all his time medicated. He has a wife that has a lover and a daughter that settled into marrying a man so dull he makes a Mormon seem exciting.

Beach Bum is director Harmony Korine recent attempt to highlight a character that colors outside the lines. If you're familiar with his work, you know that his movie pace can be belaboring such is the case here.

Matthew McConaughey playing a Stoner is not a stretch. Those expectations remain low upon viewing this movie.

Beach Bum has many issues. The movie boasts an all-star cast but grossly misuses them.

The concept for Beach Bum wasn't wrong; its execution is what was troublesome.

Moondog eccentric mannerism was only charming for an hour after that it became laboring.

Snoop Dog was also misplaced. One would think a movie that features weed as one of the themes and the charisma of Snoop would create magic on screen, but it doesn't. He's a limiting sidekick. One of the most dynamic artists of our time and he's lackluster.

Jonah Hill as Lewis Moondog's publicist also isn't very interesting.

I get that this movie was about celebrating Key West laid back way of life. The whole idea of tuning out very much exists there lamented among the thousands of tourists but it's not executed well.

Zac Efron pops up as a fellow stoner and luckily for him, this performance will hopefully be forgotten seeing that he just turned in a fantastic performance as Ted Bundy.

The bright light in this train wreck was Martin Lawrence. Lawrence hasn't made many movies lately. His comedic bone brings much-needed humor to a film that otherwise seemed in slow motion at times.

Director Harmony Korine has given us much better work. I understand what he was attempting here, but the bottom line is the movie got stuck in neutral and just became predictable, instead of giving us an insight to a character that is very comfortable in his skin Moondog became a caricature.

They're not wrong with going of grind, but a movie requires progression. You know a beginning, a middle and an end. We got two hours of a middle.

Matthew McConaughey at this stage in his career should not portray boring characters such as this; however, since his academy award, his roles have been stale. Gone is the young gunner from Texas that shook up Hollywood and in its place an artist that seems to have settled for an easy check. I am not giving up on McConaughey yet, but Beach Bum isn't the way back to memorable.
52 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible movie
coolidgecheryl1 April 2019
Boring and pointless. No character development or plot.
37 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not everyone will enjoy it...but I did
DeadMansTrousers31 March 2019
Most people would agree with the statement that McConaughey does his best work in stoner roles, this is not a straightforward stoner comedy however so don't be disappointed if that's what you are expecting. Anyone who expects anything other than a strange arthouse film from Harmony Korine must not be aware of his style. There is lots to be enjoyed in this film including the humour, music, and supporting cast. It is worth viewing with an open mind, just don't expect Pineapple Express or Cheech and Chong.
52 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just a poor, boring waste of time
sukajack30 March 2019
I had high expectations given the caste but was stunned by the lack of anything - no depth of character, no humor, repetitive and annoying one dimensional (or more accurately, nondimensional) characters. No, this pathetic "stoner" was only able to live life his way because his wife was wealthy and for some unknown reason all those around him worshipped him and stolidly keep repeating how moondog was such a genius and wrote beautiful poetry. These proclamations were a flop - no glimmers of genius were ever visible. Wealthy hedonistic family with no sense of how most other people lived. The scene where an old man in a wheelchair was beaten and left unconscious while Moondog and his pal robbed him - and left laughing is inexplicable. Bizarre. Overall a pathetic movie
47 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
chrisagray-273992 April 2019
I have not seen a movie this awful in years. Skip this and save yourself some money and time.
50 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Is Matthew Mcconaughey okay?
laurenashleyxo2 April 2019
There is literally no plot to this movie and I cant believe Matthew took on a role like this. Zac Efron also comes out for .5 seconds and is never to be seen or talked about again? I'm mad I wasted time watching this 💀
47 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No stars
lrdeiorio30 March 2019
This movie deserves no stars. It's a waste of the hour and a half. I can not believe so many big name actors were part of it and it was as bad as it was. I can't believe someone actually wrote this movie. It felt like someone followed Matthew around with an iPhone camera while he smoked pot. That's it. That is the movie.
44 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wow
Redcutiepie2528 March 2019
Garbage... so dumb... I guess if you're stoned out of your mind then it might be mediocre...
62 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Second half is so boring
movies35110 March 2019
I wish this movie was an hour shorter. The pastel and neon dizzying hedonism is artfully directed. However, when the film's pace begins to slow, it's like the lights coming on in a club. The characters then become annoying and boring, the plot holes more obvious, and the movie excruciatingly boring. The end is an interesting homage to KLF.
37 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Last Movie
ReadingFilm31 March 2019
Another post-irony prank. Remember in Spring Breakers how there was this trace of conscience behind it? Just enough to see it at social critique as the girls gradually drop out and return back to humanity or face the consequences of their actions, bringing forth some accountable artist at work behind it. Beach Bum hints at avenues where it might go there with the daughters tiredness and stoicism, the ex-wife's fate, and his legal repercussions; but any traces of lessons, growth or consequences are stomped to pieces moments later. Korine's artist commentary is strangely hidden in its excess. Every one of my audience walked out. It's so gleefully immoral that in this universe he's rewarded with the highest accolades society can offer because nothing matters.

"He just makes me so crazy." Constantly it makes fun of any kind of real authenticity people can have between each other. It's sarcastic Terrence Malick. It don't care about nothing. A canary in the cold mine in late stage capitalism where one has these infinite resources and distribution, to make fun of god. The court jester throws out his inhibition to mock the king, laughing while getting hanged for it. Problem with both this and Spring Breakers is they become the real deal, actual culture in the process of their critique. While works like this you can only see the meaning in the opposite. So the film's function seems to be mocking its own audience and their motives to see it in the first place.

Think of the performance art as the juggle of financing, banking, courting the industry to make this at all, reflecting the machine's decay against itself. You could hate getting dragged through the mud but it's pretty much the definition of iconoclast. Korine said, "These films mean nothing to me and everything." As in it's his way of chipping away and bringing down the structure from within. Its existence is an act in radical accelerationism. The end of the empire. collapse, civil war, the global digital juggernaut paradise-hell.

The ones not concerned with the world around them move the same direction except within delight.

Then the moral frame missing unlocks its true motive in reflecting the surrounding culture at war. Individual to a satiric extreme; laissez-fair 'life is fun, have a laugh, there's Moondog in all of us', while really believing the opposite. Bum is a pejorative. The film's conscience is not missing but inherent, and all the 'endearing' and 'feel good,' despite its endless evils and debauchery, are maybe being fooled by Moondog's charm, which might have been its actual prank.
29 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie seen so far...
iuliacirco10 April 2019
It's absolutely idiotic. A total waste of money if you go to cinema&pay for it. The actors are performing well, but the storyline itself it's stupid and senseless...
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Waste of talent
jonathanproell27 March 2019
I had the "pleasure" of seeing this movie in a sneak preview. Even though I'm a fan of Matthew McConaughey, I didn't like him (or any other characters) at all. There is basically no story at all. None of the characters change one bit. The motivation behind them is unclear to the point where I was convinced Snoop Dogg's character would turn on Moondog. There were a few okayish jokes in there, that's why it's not a 1/10.
32 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A challenge at times but worth the journey
ramirez13-28 June 2019
This movie is beautifully broken. It is strange, disjointed and like trying to recollect the events after a 10 day binged on the beach. It's wild, weird and very pretty in its own way. A complete mess that somehow makes sense. I definitely recommend sticking through it at least once.
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Horrid
Gordon-1112 June 2019
This film tells the story of a poet who lives a very hedonistic life in Florida.

I can't believe what I just watched. The characters are unlikable, and even repulsive. Their behaviour is consistently reckless and irresponsible. They live wasted lives, and they wasted my life too. The film is truly horrid, even though there are so many big names in it.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Wanted to like this so bad, but the execution was terrible
jcollins-0398426 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I don't need much in my stoner movies, but I do need some laughs and authenticity. This one supplied neither as it depicted a world of white privilege empowerment, utterly formulaic and seen before many times as the hero spins in and out of his delusions of grandeur and "joy" that really mask his attempts at self destruction. One wishes him and his rich suburban wives would just go to yoga class and look for a meaningful way to have fun in life.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's so bad we actually had to ask for a refund for our tickets!
melmougy18 May 2019
This movie is just a whole new level of failure, no story, no script, nothing funny at all and it's utterly boring, I had to live the movie theater after 30 mins after trying to convince myslef that I drove all the way there and paid the money ! I could've filmed a way better movie with my iPhone and a $10 bill ! P.S. I was the last one to leave the movie theater & it wasn't even halfway through !
19 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It sucked
nskratt30 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
** read title of comment**** read title of comment**** read title of comment**** read title of comment**
29 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One of the worst movies ever made
benedikt-toepel13 April 2019
If I wouldn't have been forced to watch this by whatever jury curates the sneak preview at my local cinema, I'm sure I would've tried to get my money back. This movie doesn't have any tension and it's boring enough to make observing the audience more interesting than watching meaningless characters acting up in hedonistic ways on the big screen. And the little story it has is stolen from the TV show Californication.

This movie is only good if you're planning to have some sound for falling asleep. 1/10.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stupid movie, waste of time
dmcgriff2211 March 2019
Doesn't matter who is in this movie, it is trash. I have been to the keys and I did not seek out gang bangin pot smoking groups, but instead sought a fun festive scenic place to visit. This movie makes no sense, lots of nudity and orgy scenes, vulgar, oral sex scenes, just embarassing to watch. Just sex and drugs and a character that is content to ruin his life and his family and friends stand by and let him. The music is ok but that is it. Save your money, this is junk.
73 out of 157 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A brilliant expression of the joy of life
khintz19 March 2019
The Beach Bum shows us the joys of life despite the pain of loss, death and poverty. It's a celebration of life embodied in a remarkable performance by Matthew McConaughey. Moondog is an exultant poet, more enamored with life than poetry, who lives an excessively pleasurable life with a poetic bent. Give yourself over to the film and you will have a good time, and in the end that's what it's really about.
66 out of 142 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Matthew McConaughey should be ashamed
tomreves22 March 2019
Not sure why or how Matthew McConaughey thought it's a good idea to star in this movie. Well maybe his acting was decent even for such worse than mediocre film, but he could find better roles to show off his talents. The movie was boring, without any meaningful plot or idea, I am liberal person but this was too much and the way of life that was depicted in the movie should not be encouraged and idealized. Do not waste your time on this film!
42 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Waste of time
tjfall-1269430 March 2019
Anyone who gave this a review above 5 must be a stoner loser like most of the characters in the film. There are no redeeming qualities in any of the characters. This was just a movie about a fall down drunk and drug addict stumbling through their wasted life. Being so drunk you can barely walk is not funny, just sad.
22 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A testament to how far big names will go when they need a paycheck.
matthewm-374611 April 2019
Legit walked out of this movie after the first 20 minutes. If I could describe what I saw, I would describe it as a lazy porno with a less interesting story. We thought it would be good since it had so many big name actors in it. Total let down.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed