Killing Eleanor (2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
a weird little...
ops-5253513 October 2021
At times slowfeeling, epistel about an elderly woman with a death wish, and a young woman drug addict, trying to bend the universe to make a happy life for ever after. Its a rusty glow of dreariness following the two charming caracters as they run off on a road trip to the river styx somewhere at the border of canada but the road ahead have many bends, both physically and mentally ones, the old getting increasingly fatigued and near terminal, blaming the young woman for not having a plan at all. The youngster though has to deal with her own urges that makes living like hell, and the endless chase for the next high overtakes her abilities to euthanize her longtime forgotten employer of her past.

Its a story about trust, love, hope, same sex relations, addiction, happy sadnessneglect, family and the search for social acceptance

its a slow moving plot, but there are some realism to it. The old caracter are brilliantly acted, the demeanors and physical fatigue is just like taken outta the geriatric facility that i work on, and the young dopeseeking frida do a good job as well. Its basic in its production, a bit too many close up filmtakes, and the budget need'nt a life insurance to cover the bills.

But it shows a little bit of human worthiness in north america, and that death really is a costly affair anyhow, done voulanarily or not. The grumpy old man did notice a very well chosen music, a timeline couldve eased and completed the plot even more, but in the end its well. But no more than a little recommend.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Really Intriguing Premise That Doesn't Pan Out
Megan_Shida3 November 2021
This movie is a very interesting one. It has a great premise and some great actors, but I think some of the choices with production and direction just didn't work. I think the intriguing relationship between our two protagonists- a drug addict who can't get her life together and an elderly woman in a lot of pain who wishes to die- just doesn't come together because the film is hindered by a very serious dramatic tone and music that can make some scenes feel quite forced like a soap opera or an after-school special. Because of this overly dramatic tone, there is a serious disconnect that occurs between the viewer and the film that makes these characters hard to relate to or root for despite their very human story.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Get it over with already.
Adamanthe13 October 2021
Smug drug addict who stole money from an old lady 15 years ago now has to repay her by killing her. How did the old lady even figure out where that other lady worked? They hadn't even seen each other in 15 years, and she spent half that time in a nursing home.

The two main characters spent one hour just going around in circles. Absolute drivel and a waste of time.
2 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A very human film
asteinfi223 October 2021
Warning: Spoilers
Killing Eleanor is the story of two women who are unable to move forward in their lives for very different reasons. Forced together, they must build a bond on an unsteady foundation to find a path out of their respective doldrums.

The screenplay, written by co-lead Annika Marks, delves into the complicated subject of assisted suicide with nuance and humor. Keeping a film like this both grounded and funny is a huge task and it starts in the writing.

The film never loses sight of who Natalie and Eleanor are as people, unafraid to show their flaws but also their strengths. Its clear the people telling this story care about these characters. Marks and O'Hara are pitch perfect and have great chemistry bringing them to life.

Subtle direction from Rich Newey along with a terrific cast allows the story to unfurl at its own pace. The result is an unflinching, funny, and touching film.

I left Killing Eleanor reminded that it is our impermanence, in part, that fills our time here with potential. Please go watch this film.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant!
evenewey13 October 2021
I love this film. It brought me to tears. Everything about it is sheer pleasure to watch. Every scene, every word matters. Beautifully acted, filmed and directed. I'll watch it again, and again.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Was not expecting that!
info-7102714 October 2021
This movie totally caught me by surprise! I love the cast so I turned it on expecting a light comedy. Found myself weeping. Go in knowing nothing. It's a great ride!!!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Road Trip Movie for Almost Any Age
susane6823 October 2021
Killing Eleanor is thought-provoking fun entertainment. It was good for what ailed me. I watched it alone and I will be making sure my friends join me next time. It was dark and funny, sometimes whacky, but never became unbelievable. A "sweet" old lady and her self-serving knight in shining armor make some improbable choices and come to some sober realizations --think buddy road trip but along the way the buddies sort out a few of life's toughest problems. The supporting cast was also spot-on.

One week later, just watched it again with two friends. Second time through, still lovely!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful movie
JenniferRIMDBacct14 October 2021
Saw this at a festival and immediately watched it again when it was released. I laughed and cried. It really hit home. I highly recommend, especially if you've struggled with addiction.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A road trip like none you've ever seen
Ellenrussick15 October 2021
I loved this indie film about two complicated, damaged, lonely women who are forced to share the most significant journey of their lives. Having burned bridges and defied norms, they are each alone and find themselves needing a completely unlikeable stranger to depend on. The film goes from dark humor to bright insight, and it brought tears and laughter.

Marks and O'Hara each create full complicated characters and support each other's work perfectly. The rest of the cast is remarkable for its individual and group performances. The family confrontation, the salon introduction, and both AA group scenes were wonderful ensemble performances.

The look and feel is perfectly constructed by director Newey and his exceptional crew.

I highly recommend this film!!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An all around incredible film
themadelinegrace13 October 2021
This film. I almost don't have words, it is so incredibly beautiful. I am in awe. I loved everything about it from the soundtrack to the camera work. Annika and Jenny are purely phenomenal. Annika brought so much depth and life to Natalie. It was simply the most beautiful performance. In addition to this, her writing is INSANE. Wow. Everything about this film is an absolute 10/10 from the storytelling to the casting. Not to mention, Rich is one of the greatest directors we have out there at the moment. Killing Eleanor truly deserves all the praise.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed