Epiphany (2019) Poster

(II) (2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
47 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Highly Recommend
mandyvs-872146 July 2021
This was a great movie that is well-made that is a good watch!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Ever wonder?
ladyeliteme17 February 2020
Ever wonder what a movies about even though you're half way through? I watched Epiphany (painfully) to the end. I never really knew what it was about. Some of the acting was good. The girl, the brothers were pretty good, but the story line never unfolds! Just kind of weird and sad. There was nothing gripping, just hollow. 3/10
12 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Indie Film
kmanning-4119414 June 2019
Saw this last night at a festival. What a nice movie about the beautiful town of Tarpon Springs, Florida. A family feature about what can happen when you tragically lose a member and then dealing with it for many years. The actors did a very good job showing the emotions everyone connected will go through when unforeseen events change their lives.
19 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Beautifully made small film
sninojai20 January 2020
The sisters fought to get this story made for twenty years. It's about a small fishing town in Florida steeped in Greek-lore about sponge-diving, but it's really about family and secrets and it's made with such honesty and love. Watch it. It's worth it.
14 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Poor and empty
mmmmtelbani-8804018 January 2020
The story line is extremely poor and the movie is a waste of time when I checked the rating at the beginning it was 8.5 I wouldn't give it over 2 Stars and now it's already down to 6.5 and with more people watching the movie bad reviews will keep coming instead of the fake ones
9 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I give it eight stars and my review is not "fake"
random-7077817 January 2020
I get what reviewer "topdawgcritic" is saying aobut fake reviewers. But then again a lot of films, most films that he or she themselves highly rates are chock full of fake reviewers, they are just less apparent since the shilling is done by pros instead of strong fans or friends and family. Take a look at 2019 film "Human capital." The first 1,300 ratings, yes 1,300 were all "10 star" and we given before the film was even released. That is manipulation.

Fact is, this film is -- for its genre of affirmative family drama, with an ethnic twist, -- a very good film. The family scenes are in fact better written and acted than the family scenes in the Freddie Mercury biopic "Bohemian Rhapsody" which was more trope filled than the average "Lifetime channel" film.

Epihany's acting is all good to very good. The adult actors all clearly pros, and the child actress is quite talented. The scripting, saccharine in parts -- exactly like the genre -- and the filming is generally very professional. It IS the type of film you can sit with your preteen and watch.

My family background was Indonesian American and I think the portrayal of ethnic quirks and tensions of dual culture, which often has a higher behavior expectation/impact on girls, was very well done in Epiphany, again in the context of that genre/plot element.
8 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Movie!
sandyperkins-0007810 May 2020
The script is a wonderful feel good family story. It takes the time to develop the family history and explain the current situation occurred.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BEAUTIFUL film from start to finish!
arozeboom22 January 2020
This film is OUTSTANDING! A fun and interesting tale that I never knew existed until this movie. After seeing the film, I went and did some research on the history of "The Festival of the Epiphany." Standing up for what you believe is such a HUGE part of today's society. A must see film for anyone who wants to be inspired!
8 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Must See!!!
suhrfam8 October 2019
I have been fortunate to see this small independent film twice. Having heard good things about the film, I sat on the edge of my seat in anticipation of a great storyline and acting. This movie did not disappoint. I thoroughly enjoyed it!! I also had an "a ha" moment when I realized the plot twist. Once I saw the plot twist, I had a huge smile on my face as the entire storyline came together. It was wonderful to see how the characters meshed together, both in real life struggles, and real life celebrations. The second time I saw the film, I was really happy to be able to enjoy the true meaning of the film and thoroughly enjoyed it again. You must see this film if you believe in the storyline of family trials and tribulations, and the people who help make a family work.
13 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Rent this movie
cll-3519120 January 2020
I really enjoyed watching this movie. The cinematography was beautiful. The colors of the ocean were just stunning! I like films that show real life struggles and became very invested in this family's lives as I watched. It was a good story, and it was one that you could watch with your family. I would definitely rent it again!
10 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Compelling generational saga
ccperillo15 October 2019
The story of a young girl desperately trying to find the secrets of her family's past. The twists and turns of this ethnic film will take you through her journey. Meeting key family members along the way you will also learn of the ones of the past. It is a phenomenal film filled with Orthodox Greek culture that spans the ages.
11 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Never leave a stone unturned
jrny-119 January 2020
A beautiful family film. Queue it up, pop the popcorn and snuggle in.
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A moving story
amymae-3173917 January 2020
This was a beautiful story of the life of a sponge diver who struggled to raise his daughter. Very moving and each time I saw the movie I learned more about the culture. It left me wanting more!
12 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great film
tnigohosian13 October 2019
Had the privilege of watching this independent film- very entertaining. The acting was so good and passionate- you could not only watch but feel the raw emotion and feelings. The film is rich in tradition and culture which adds to the viewing experience. The scenery and setting was incredibly beautiful. It is really an enjoyable movie- can't recommend enough!
11 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
In today's film environment ...
pantherfilm31 January 2020
... the emphasis seems to be on action, violence, fantasy, endless franchise efforts, and impressive special effects. Some reviewers here apparently need these elements in order to rate a film above 5. Epiphany apparently did not make the grade for them.

I've been associated with independent film production for over seventeen years. Epiphany is a well-made, engaging film that appeals to ones emotions, not on ones testosterone junky fix. See it for a story that may move you more than you might expect for a film set around the sponge diving business. Otherwise, just stick to "Beyond the Twelve Mile Reef" and let it go at that.
8 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very Moving
jzumas27 October 2019
Beautiful coming of age story. The story was true to life and depicts an honest look at Greek American culture.
12 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Genuine.Touching. Stunning!
wbarron-2998511 October 2019
You are invited in their culture & lives as you connect and empathize with the humanity of the characters. Culture, history & subtle symbolism are woven together with complex characters, strong performances and gorgeous scenery. A beautiful film & uplifting story for the entire family to experience together.
11 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Epiphany Movie is a Glorious Gem of a Film!
rcasano-043898 July 2019
When considering a family feature film that is truly heartfelt; this is a memorable pick. The cast of characters are resonating with cultural values of love, acceptance and redemption expressed beautifully. The relationships portrayed in Epiphany are refreshingly real. The young female protagonist, Luca, a first generation American, speaks strongly to young women of today in their need for understanding their cultural heritage. The picturesque Tarpon Springs, Florida setting is ideal for the movie locale. Many of the outdoor scenes shot at the Spring Bayou and St. Nicholas Cathedral are wonderfully depicted. This film takes time and care to show the traditional celebration of Epiphany from a youthful perspective. The complexities of personal relationships within a family and the community relationships are strongly expressed. The resolutions of coming to terms with loss of family members is boldly shown. I have enjoyed this poignant movie so much that my family and I went twice! The local movie theater was sold out when we saw the second viewing. The vibrant music adds a rich undertone to the cohesiveness of the movie plot. My hope is that this Epiphany film will win national audience appeal and receive international respect for its cultural significance. It is certainly an outstanding achievement for two sisters that had a dream to write and film this tribute to Tarpon Springs and the Epiphany celebration for about 30 years. I am so grateful that their dream has come to fruition as a remarkable inspiration to writers and storytellers.
10 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must See Film!
sscudese8 November 2019
Epiphany is an inspiring movie about a young girl who goes through an emotional journey and shows great strength when trying to reunite her family after the death of her aunt. Set in scenic Tarpon Springs, Florida this movie captures the cultural history of the town and the Greek Community. A beautiful story brought to life by amazing actors who enable the viewers to become vested in the plot and bond with the characters. This is a must see movie!
11 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Visually & Emotionaly Beautiful
cristinaml8 November 2019
What a delight to look into a community, a family, with Greek traditions. Coming of age is tough and for some its even more complicated. Family is drawn to family, is life is full of disappointments, but this story shows that together they can navigate the rough waters of life.
11 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Poorly Done. Corny. Don't Waste Your Time.
Megan_Shida26 February 2020
Everything about this movie is poorly constructed. The acting is contrived and unbelievable. The sound design- probably the worst part- just makes the film corny with continuous sad instrumentals. The story is flimsy and the direction is without a vision. I couldn't make it through the picture. Bottom line: It is a forced melodrama, lacking any skill in filmmaking. I usually can think of a few good things to say, even if I don't enjoy a film, but not with this one.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Family drama and coming of age
mac-9978221 October 2019
Epiphany is a wonderful coming of age story set against Tarpon Springs and the natural sea sponge industry. I didn't know anything about the Greek culture in Tarpon Springs and this magnified look was both interesting and educational. Caitlin Carmichael was amazing as Luka!
10 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love the concept
sassyonegk10 May 2021
Love the concept, Andrew Heller is a great writer and director.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Painful
ecclisia11 May 2020
This film is so lacking that it is painful. Only the beauty and engaging acting skills of the young actress, Caitlin Carmichael kept my husband and I from leaving it after ten minutes. There are plots here which are unresolved or unfinished, and it is a melodramatic and depressing story, with depressing dysfunctional family dynamics.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic film
jbucsi5 November 2019
Loved the history of Greek culture that I wasn't familiar with before the film. Luka played a strong lead role as a struggling young lady trying to make it through some family issues. I found myself trying to figure out the films ending as the storyline progressed only to find I had it all wrong. It was absolutely genius.
10 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed