Nostalgia (2018) Poster

(I) (2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
You'll either like it, or you won't
vecda-390973 March 2019
My comments: 1) I expect this movie will appeal (generally) to an older viewer. 2) Although the movie does talk a lot about the 'things' that are left behind, we see the people who are left behind coming to terms with the inevitable march of time. 3) The movie highlights interpersonal relationships by using realistic dialog. 4) The actors all do a good job with their roles - very believable. 5) I can see how this movie will not appeal to everyone. 6) An excellent topic to talk about with your family. 7) Please support independent film makers.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Something You Have to Live
travelmail-5487918 July 2018
After clearing out deceased parents' home with brother and sister and experiencing the nostalgia associated with objects, to experiencing younger generational grief,, Thought this film really hit the nail on the head. it was acted superbly and the many moments with sister and brother, grieving parents, death expectant elder man, and especially the contained and deep emotion of the insurance agent, made this a very quality film. for some reason we have become hardened and inexperienced in sharing intense moments of life openly and a lot of the reviews of this film are so superficial to the point of tragic. Good one to see.
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Nostalgia
yeoperson-9065211 August 2018
There were moments when I thought this was a film about eyes as they communicate emotion. Sadness, compassion, confusion, frustration, and so on.

This is a difficult subject, how to handle the physical articles - or lack thereof - of a loved one after their passing. I, my siblings, and my mother's sisters went through this with my 97 year old grandmother's effect six months ago, so my grief at her passing is still fresh. It was often agonizing. So many random moments of laughter, tears and memories. Yet, life goes on and decisions have to be made. This film is respectful of this process. Not for everyone, true, but definitely one to re-visit at those times in your life when you so-so-so need to know you aren't alone in your feelings of loss and the need to move on.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A movie that will get you thinking
michelle_kummer1 May 2018
This film was fantastic, it pulls on the heart strings and makes you realise that everyone has a story, is going though a heartache or struggle of some sort. It is also the actors that stand out in their performances, I felt as though I was there with them on their journey through pain and suffering as none of us are immune. The film shows the lives of 3 different families, and how getting old and being alone is not the way one should live. Some of the children want their piece of the pie where others have nostalgia over memories shared as children and realise that a house is just a house and nothing is forever. We accumulate so many items in our lives and to whom are they special for once we depart this earth. I highly recommend this film. You won't be disappointed as it will definitely get you thinking and stop sweating on the small stuff like most of us do.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Noatalgia (2018)
rockman18219 February 2018
Didn't know a whole lot about this, and I assume it really wasn't in many people's radar this month. I haven't really seen much of Mark Pellington's work outside of The Mothman Prophecies (which I liked quite a bit). Main reason for wanting to check this film out was the fact that the film employs a really talented cast. I'm always a fan of Jon Hamm getting more roles in film as he is a great actor. This film was tedious, slow, and a failed attempt at an interesting idea.

This film links a few stories and characters together through a common thread of loss, love, and memories from objects. We start off by seeing an insurance agent and eventually his story links with another character who in turn links with a different one for segments of different stories. I like the idea quite a bit and I've seen this type of storytelling work in the past, but this film can't utilize this method with success. Its a dull affair.

The cast is great as expected, especially Catherine Keener in a nice standout role. The characters don't carry any weight and its easy to lose track of one's story as its just boring and bland. You sit there thinking that nothing even goes on. This is okay if there's some sort of style or intriguing dialogue that adds to the story, but none of that happens here. Near the end I was just hoping for it to end.

There may be few who will find this film to be a moving experience but for me its a film that tries to hard to be spiritual and emotional while never leaving first gear. I see what is being attempted but the film has no weight to its characters or their turmoils. Not in any rush to see anything else from Mark Pellington unfortunately.

6/10
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautifully thoughtful.
iangordonmiller3 February 2020
A beautifully adapted story illustrating the joy and pain of nostalgia (in all its forms) and how it impacts on the lives of the characters we are introduced to in the movie. But it's much more than that. The movie is a work of art. The performances are believable. The screenplay is spot on and the soundtrack is sublime. What a pleasure.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good Intentions But Just Too Much of a Melancholic Slog
larrys32 May 2018
Very slow-paced, cerebral, and melancholic movie that centers on the artifacts and objects we accumulate over our lifetime that contain so many memories of the lives we've led. They usually come to the forefront when we lose loved ones, have a tragedy such as a fire or natural disaster occur, or simply decide to pick up and move.

About 2/3rds of the way through the film a sudden tragedy occurs which sends the movie into even more of a depressive dive. There is a most solid cast here, with varying amounts of screen time, but the movie never seems to coalesce into the dramatic effect that the filmmakers intended
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Poignant...Perhaps it's my age
drummly1 July 2018
One of the few films that have hit me so hard recently. It's as if the writers reached into my brain and heart. I had Such a visceral reaction. Excellent performances by a superior group of actors. I'd give a 20 if I could!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Depressing but rings true
pamela-5376626 August 2018
I found this film to be very worthwhile, albeit not a cheery experience. It offers a glimpse into the ephemeral quality of our lives and the people and things with which we fill them. This is a subject that has had my attention for the past few years, as I seek to let go of things and seek experiences in their place. It kind of started with my reading about Swedish death cleaning!
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Intense
funndsunxoxo5 February 2020
I thought it was a topic no one has touched on in a movie so intense, real and raw. The levels of human emotion unfolded as each story played. This will reach far into the depths of your emotions if you are a widow, lost a home, or a child. Interesting perspectives on many sides all resulting from loss, remembrance, holding on and letting go but mostly of the value. Its deep.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great treatment of themes not generally addressed
john_hagie27 December 2019
What an intelligent script, superbe acting and strong directing! I unexpectedly came across this exceptional film and thoroughly enjoyed it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thought provoking film!!
carpediemjc-843-81185728 April 2018
Why didn't Jatherine Keener get an Oscar is really beyond me! She is such a good actresses who deserves every accolades that she can get. Especially in her roe in this film! This is a great film! It truly helps me think about the things/objects in life that we pisses. Do they have a story of just for the sake of collecting?
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nostalgia?
przemyslawstroinski1 December 2019
It was interesting, quite atmospheric sometimes, sometimes it were just tries. Bad title, "Nostalgia" make me to expect something much deeper, more atmospheric, more nostalgic. Simply title is too direct. In Lodz Film School students make short movies excercises for this kind of inspiring words like "Love" etc. I have seen some of them in school cinema. Maybe some more shallow title could be better, like "Things" for example. It's great example that title can be so important for impression of movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Too Somber & Slow To Ever Get Its Message Across
zkonedog10 May 2018
If one thinks hard enough, there are some interesting topics thrown around in "Nostalgia". The trouble is, it takes slogging through and hour and 45 minutes of the most somber, melancholic film you've ever seen in order to actually get to those themes. It isn't worth the wait, at that.

For a basic plot summary, "Nostalgia" is told over a series of vignettes that loosely work together to create a theme. In one, an old woman (Ellen Burstyn) loses her home (and nearly everything in it) to a fire, and must come to terms with the importance of objects vs. memories. In another timeline, siblings Will (Jon Hamm) & Donna (Catherine Keener) must clean out their old childhood home, and then face their own personal tragedy.

Like I said, there are some interesting themes to chew on here, especially involving the concept of memories vs. physical items from loved ones. As we all grow older, it is interesting to consider what we will leave behind and what of that will be considered "important" to future generations.

A few good themes do not a good film make, however, and in pretty much all capacities "Nostalgia" is a complete mess. This is a film that really needed a stable environment all the way through, but instead it takes the opposite approach and skips from scene to scene and time to time with very little (if any) connective tissue to bind it all together. By the time the movie had ended, I was left wondering exactly what the first half had to do with the back half (besides a few concurring themes), and that's not good.

The acting is pretty good here (notably Hamm, who seems to be doing great work everywhere these days), but too often it only involves characters staring off into the distance or "reflecting", which doesn't come off all that well on the big screen.

Overall, I was mostly disappointed with "Nostalgia" for its inability to create any sort of substantial narrative (disjointed or otherwise) and being so somber all the way through. Whether intentional or not, this comes off as one of the most depressing movies you'll likely have watched in awhile.
5 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Depressing
ladyhenry123 May 2018
This movie was depressing. I don't write reviews but this movie was awful. I thought it might be the kind of movie my mom would have liked and I am in my 60's. Nope.

Some people thought this was thought provoking. Based on this movie get rid of everything you own before you die as no one wants it. What mean something to you is junk to them.

I am still trying to figure out the scenes were somebody would be staring at something and the camera just stayed on them for 30 seconds.

Fortunately I got to see this for free. I still paid to much.
4 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nostalgia - Heavily Leans Toward Melancholia
krocheav10 January 2019
Could this have been one of the year's most promising off-beat movies? There's much style to be admired, with a good deal of thoughtful dialogue delivered by a cast of impressive performers. So what went wrong? Right from the opening it has the power to draw you in - giving you good reasons to be interested in each introduced character. You actually can't help becoming emotionally involved in their varied situations - you want to feel for them, and hope for the best outcomes as you learn more about their stories. John Oritz might arguably own the movies most interesting character as insurance assessor Daniel Kalman but, there are many good characters and performances introduced as the story/stories continue to unfold. This is possibly where it begins to unravel - it strives for one too many sombre situations, becoming like one of those seventies French dramas - where for one reason or other everyone seems to die. Its heart is in the right place but it's so unrelenting the viewer starts to seek some relief or simply to go back to the beginning and learn more about the earlier characters - who are never heard of again.

There are some interesting observations examining the value we tend to place on 'things', be they photos or artefacts gathered, as we journey through life. The stories have an odd linking device that doesn't work as well as it should, creating an overall episodic feel. Direction, writing style, photography, impressive cast, and thoughtful music score almost save it but fold under the weight of unrelenting loss. Pity, the screen needs more movies with emotional feelings - if only this picture didn't strive to serve up so much in one sitting.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't watch it, don't even look at it.
josharmendariz3 November 2018
Your time is better spent watching paint drying and thinking of slightly sad memories. The DVD doesn't even deserve coaster status, it's too good for it. Time is a precious commodity, and your time is better spent going on a long, dull road trip, remembering that you forgot something you need about halfway there, turning around and getting it, and then starting the whole road trip all over again. At least doing that would be slightly less painful, even if it will be over all longer than the movie runs.
1 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
It is a movie
nvaspider16 May 2018
Well, it is a movie. They definitely hired actors and filmed a...movie.
1 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed