WarHunt (2022) Poster

(2022)

User Reviews

Review this title
38 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
A rushed mess of a film. Could have been good.
frankblack-7996124 February 2022
Starts out good. Devolved quickly into a shambled mess. It gets pretty hard to follow this film as the plot pace rushes into overdrive. Could have been a good one. Wasted opportunity.
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A mess
FeastMode6 March 2022
I was enjoying this movie for a while. It's a cool premise that could have been awesome if executed better. It's visually pleasing (when you can see). But...

This is a low quality movie. The story is a mess. The action scenes are a mess. Especially when the scenes are unbelievably dark. At times 95% of the screen is black. I couldn't see anything. I had no idea what was happening in the climax. I was fully focused on the movie and could not decipher who was who or what they were doing. Did they not preview the movie? (1 viewing, 3/5/2022)
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Weak War, Weak Rourke, even Weaker Horror
TwistedContent29 January 2022
Although "Warhunt" seems like just another piece to pass on, I have a soft spot for war-set horror movies, I like (the now old and grunting) Mickey Rourke, and this is the first American horror film shot in the small country from which I come from - Latvia. The trailer left me feeling split, but I went to fight witches anyways.

It's a little different purposefully watching a low-budget actioneer, you kinda know what to expect. There's always one or two veteran stars attached, often to be there for maybe 10 minutes total. It is, of course, the case here as well. The setup for "Warhunt" was decent, the characters, although cliché, get taken seriously (until they die), and the cinematography is established rather pleasant for such an indie. The lighting department is lacking in budget, however. Even the performances are surprisingly decent, with the highlight belonging to Robert Knepper, as the fearless but mad leader of 12 men squad in search for a crashed flyboys plane that's been carrying 'sensitive' material. As the story progresses, "Warhunt" grows weaker and more tedious. Three screenwriters have fought to bring together a half-finished fantasy story that's as menacing as a sloth with a knife. Witches can be scary, but not in "Warhunt", the best - and that's not saying much - part of the story sticks within the madness of soldiers. "Warhunt" employs a lot of cgi too, and, well, it could be worse, it could be better, it didn't matter much with the lack of atmosphere. Personal disappointment also was the lack of potential nature and locations they could've used, and almost the entire movie takes place in a forest.

Naturally, there are plenty of historical goofs, this ain't produced by Steven Spielberg. "Warhunt" goes from mildly intriguing and entertaining to a true lackluster in the second half, and, for better or worse, takes itself very seriously from start to end. Really, watch only if you're too a sucker for fusion of war and horror. My rating: 4/10.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Neither one thing or another.
timstokes-5573221 January 2022
Firstly the filming is good, acting ok but it falls badly between being a war film and ghost story.

Its an ok watch but the lack of suspense, scares or anything resembling a plot beyond going to look for a thing, finding it in half an hour or so then a fairly dull half hour not getting back lets it all down.
26 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not of the Good Bad Kind
Tweetienator25 January 2022
I really like the mix of horror and the occult and WWII, and WarHunt is no total disaster - production is okay for low budget - but WarHunt misses momentum action wise and there is never a real horror and creepy atmosphere developing. Anyway, you may give this one a try, if you like the genre/mix and need some new stuff on your plate, but be warned, compared to movies like The Bunker, The Devil's Rock, Outpost, Overlord or the exquisite Død snø and The Keep, WarHunt looks weak, cheap and redundant.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Should work, but doesn't.
napoleanWilson-11 March 2022
This is quite a well done movie but none of the scares actually work, and I'm not too sure why.

The script is basically Predator with some supernatural element replacing the Predator. It's quite astonishing just how many elements of Predator they ripped off, even a couple of lines as well.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Weird War 2
adrenachrome22 January 2022
Overall, not a bad little Weird War 2 film, in the same genre as The Bunker, Frankenstein's Army, Ghost of War, Blood Vessel, The Devil's Rock, etc. This one held much promise, but fell down in certain key areas: Most notably, the runtime was too short for the ideas it presented. A slow buildup of the twists and turns and who knew what, would have set the pacing and tone of the film better. The actors (Mickey Rourke aside, he was a bad casting choice here) did their best with what they had, but the film needed to flesh them out more, to give a better sense of their actions and so forth.

The special effects/location work was very well done for a modest film such as this, but there were a few scenes that needed better lighting so we could see what the characters were doing.

Unlike the aforementioned Blood Vessel the characters here were likable and it would have been nice to know just a bit more about them as the movie progressed.

6/10, a nice little surprise for those into Weird War films.
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
I'm still here watching till the end so ...
elidav22 January 2022
Ok WW2 inaccuracies from beginning to end but an enjoyable B movie romp with great special effects and spooky atmosphere !

Just one inaccuracy I can't forgive is witches wearing (polyester) chiffon that wasn't invented until the late 1950's ?!!!
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Watchable, but nothing outstanding here...
paul_haakonsen27 April 2022
Right, well as I sat down to watch the 2022 action horror movie "Warhunt", I have to admit that I wasn't really having much hopes or expectations to writers Mauro Borrelli, Reggie Keyohara III and Scott Svatos. Why? Well, the movie had Mickey Rourke brandished on the front of the cover. And he isn't exactly top notch in my book.

However, I found the movie's cover, aside from the incredible melting man - aka Rourke - to actually be an interesting enough cover. And an action horror movie with a World War II theme sounded interesting enough. So of course I opted to watch what director Mauro Borrelli had to offer with "Warhunt".

I will say that "Warhunt" was actually watchable enough. It wasn't a particularly grand or memorable action horror movie, so you're not missing out on a great cinematic experience if you opt not to sit down and watch this movie.

Visually then "Warhunt" was sort of a mixed bag of nuts. The special effects were actually quite nice in the movie, I will say that much, but the night scenes were just so dark that you could hardly see what was going on. I don't really enjoy that in movies, I want to see what is happening, and not just have a dark screen with silhouettes and occasional flickers of light.

The movie's cast was adequate. Robert Knepper definitely added a good amount of punch to the movie with his performance. It is simply beyond my comprehension why someone like Mickey Rourke gets pulled in for movie projects. But hey, at least his name is a familiar one, while his face no longer is, and I suppose a recognizable name lures in the audience.

All in all then "Warhunt" is watchable, but that is basically also all that director Mauro Borrelli managed to do with this movie; make it watchable. It is the type of movie that you will watch once, if you actually get around to that, and then you'll never return to watch it again. The movie's script just doesn't have the contents to support more than a single viewing.

My rating of "Warhunt" lands on a less than mediocre four out of ten stars.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
American soldiers refer to captured German soldiers as Limeys
christophersstratton22 January 2022
It looks like the majority of the budget for this movie went into the costuming and equipment and to fund Mickey Rourke's plastic surgery.

The plot, casting, acting, editing, and special effects are all reminiscent of straight to VHS/DVD/TV "F" tier movies.

If you have an appreciation for the occult and alt fiction world war 2 media and are scraping the bottom of the barrel for any content at all it's still not advisable to view this movie.
35 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
forgettable
iamjamalwhite2 March 2022
Good production values. Well directed and special effects were good. Plot was ho-hum. A few scary moments but overall a bust. Rourke has followed Bruce Willis into "I'll take any script" acting and it shows. If you crave that German war mixed with witchcraft stuff, sure. For the rest of us it is a slow war movie with some weird stuff. Don't recommend.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Oh, I understand the need for money, but come on, Mickey...
dongillette125 January 2022
Google WW2 soldiers, NCOs, and officers and let me know if you see somebody with hair down to their shoulders like Micky Rourke's spouting. In fact, Google ANY photos from the WW2 years and let me know if you see ANYBODY who looks like they're from 2022. I'm waiting.

American soldiers are calling German soldiers, "Limeys," for God's sake. A Limey is a Brit soldier--from the 1850's--they got the slang because they ate limes to prevent scurvy WAY back when.

Enlisted men calling their Sergeant, "Sir?" Vietnam era flashlights? Velcro?

I can forgive a lot but when you don't put a nickel into the budget for a military advisor, I'm not giving your idiotic movie more than half an hour.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Avoid
supermellowcali25 January 2022
This was a really unoriginal and unintelligent movie imo. Every plot turn has been done before, no new ideas here. Waste of acting talent- not Mickey's talent tho, would have been better without him.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Good film but..
darthbraindrain21 January 2022
It's so dark you can't tell what's going on most of the time, completely black fight scenes where all u can hear is a 'witch' screaming and thudding noises.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Could've been better
ashfordofficial2 April 2022
This film had better VFX and production quality than most of those high budget films.

I loved the concept and the idea. Up until the second act, everything was going flawlessly, but somehow the film gets derailed in an unfortunate turn that made it less appealing that its first act.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Promising Posters But Poor Picture!
silicontourist25 January 2022
Ever since finding Captain America and the Howling Commando's as a kid, I have always loved anything to do with a supernatural World War 2 horror theme to it. Having thought the poster made the film look promising I watched it; then sat back and watched all the many mistakes, errors and sheer laziness of non fact finding throughout the viewing of it. American soldiers of WW2 did not wear their hair long (and certainly not cut in 21st century styles) and, they most definitely never ever would make the mistake of calling German soldiers, 'Limeys'; British soldiers were called Limeys by Yanks and Aussie troops.

The original story plot was good, and could have made for a very good film, but it completely lacked the 'Fear Factor' that grips viewers of spooky films. All of the actors did a good job (though there really was no point of Mickey Rourke's role in the story) and the witches were good. It all unfortunately was not linked and blended well together and the reveal part, of the whole reason for everything happening, wasn't given until the final 10-15 minutes. But at that point you were past caring and left totally disappointed at what promised much and delivered much less!
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Witch Hunt
kosmasp1 July 2022
No pun intended and almost meant literally. But let's not get off track from the start (or is it the right track? Ok I'll stop). This is about American soldiers in WW2 - but one that includes something I would call Science Fiction. And definitely not a history lesson at all.

Interesting to see Robert Knepper in a more ... let's call it moderate role. And even Mickey Rourke can convince - even if you are still not entirely 100% on board with some of his movie choices. The movie does look good enough (visually) and has decent effects, with a decent story to tell. Budget constraints included or at least taken into account for.

If you can suspend your disbelief and not overthink what is happening (or actions taken or not by the soldiers), you can have some fun here.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Pointless Nazis Syndrome
borgolarici31 March 2022
This movie suffers from a terminal case of Pointless Nazis Syndrome: the guys in black appear in the movie for no real reason (well, they're a bait for more public) and the plot would have worked fine without them. Actually, the movie could have been set in whatever historical context and it would have still worked because it's basically The Blair Witch Project with more fighting.

Rourke makes a small cameo and the whole thing is practically shot in the dark. I had to squint many times to see something.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Made for TV?
jamiegates-2847113 March 2022
Felt very much like a made for TV film. The FX were pretty naff CGI, Didn't really potray any kind of dark foreboding. The kind of thing you would find on a second rate horror channel.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Good grief, it's bad.
dean-munday5 February 2022
What's not to love about the premise? Mix WWII and horror - should be a winner, right? Well, most that have tried this combination before have failed miserably - and here's another shocker. The script and the direction are terrible yet the poor cast does it's best; the biblically wooden Mickey Rourke aside. I persevered but ultimately wished I hadn't. Perhaps my suffering will spare you similar.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Quite impressed
quentin-59-4965552 February 2022
I used to think anything below 5 rating i would give it a pass and anything 6 and above is great for a horror movie.

Quite impressed with the storyline and the only reason catching this movie was basically rouke and the guy that played a prisoner in a drama series sometime back.

Special effects and make up artist scored super well if you asked me. Anyway always great to find an underdog movie that works well.

My 1st review.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Confusing ending. I was like what the hell...?
silvermistvio17 February 2022
A lot of people think this film isn't good. As for me, it's watchable. It's dark and a bit nonsense, but it isn't that bad. The only bad thing about this film is the ending. Everything is okay except the ending. Why on earth did they make an ending like that? If it didn't end in that way, I might have given 7 or 8 stars because I enjoyed it even though it really seemed like a low budget film.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Sympathy or a called in favor
payupyou26 January 2022
This movie is not scary, it's not interesting, but is most certainly lost time.

Either Mickey owed someone a favor and they called it in, or he felt sympathy for someone involved and jumped in hoping he could help them recover their lo$$.

Waste of time - you'd be better off locating The Devil's Rock and burning your time watching that one.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
War Horror - Not Bad
muxinhua824 February 2022
Story is alright, better than a lot dark background jump scare cheap movies. Worth to watch. If you like " overlord" and " ghost of war", for sure you will like this movie as well. Ignore those bad reviews, People don't know how to enjoy movies anymore, that's pretty sad.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
ABOVE-AVERAGE...LOW-BUDGET LOOK...AT NAZI'S & THE OCCULT
LeonLouisRicci28 June 2022
The 1st, and Getting Old, Reaction from Every Movie-Fan and Movie-Reviewer, Is to Voice-Loudly about Mickey Rourke and His Roller-Coaster Career.

Here's Another...

Mickey is One of the Most Interesting Actors Ever to Appear in Hollywood since the "New-Age" Hollywood.

Transfiguring from "Pretty-Boy" Lead Actor to a Disfigured On-Call "Participant" for Low-Budget Film-Makers to Add an Icon to Their Movie.

A Prideful Person, He Publicly Protested when His Early Work Became Attached to Some Things He Took-On that Didn't Reach His Expectations.

On Top of That, He had Trouble Adjusting to His "Role" in the Always Difficult World of Hollywood.

By Nature a Rebel and a Maverick, Opinionated to a Fault, and Always a Controversial Movie-Star who Constantly Looks Like He is Simultaneously in Pain & Pleasure Performing.

He Occasionally Semi-Retired to Pursue His Life-Long "Passion", Professional Boxing.

Where He Took Lumps in the Ring to Match the Non-Physical Lumps in His Acting Career.

That Pounding to the "Pug's" Face Lead to Many Botched Corrective-Surgeries with Even More Botching by the Correction to the Correction.

So Today in 2022, this Film is a Typical Limited Screen-Time Role for Him in Low and No Budget Movies.

Kinda Like "Bruce Willis". But to be Clear Willis is a "Poser" and Rourke is the Real-Deal.

"War-Hunt" has Mickey with Long-Hair (in WW2) and an Eye-Patch.

Leading a "Top-Secret '' Mission to Retrieve an Book of the Occult that Went-Down along with an American Aircraft Behind Enemy Lines.

Hitler was a Devout and Dedicated "Black-Arts" Researcher and the "Item" in Question Could be a "Nazi-Holy-Grail" (how's that for an Oxymoron).

It's Intriguing and a Not-Bad Performance from Rourke and the Movie Vibrates when He is the Center of Attention which is the Beginning and the End.

In the Middle it can Create Tension and Suspense, with Ultra-Violence and Gore, and a Supernatural Patina.

It's Above Average for its Type.

The Things that would Make it Better is...

a Bigger-Budget and More Rourke.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed