Code Name: Dynastud (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Like getting your "funny-bone" removed with a hack-saw
Coralknight1 February 2020
Let's be clear; with a title containing the word "Dynastud" you automatically have to assume this is just going to be either laughably campy or just plain bad...this was definitely the latter. In fact, the ONLY thing remotely funny about this movie is seeing the 10-star reviews here...as if they aren't part of/related to the film-makers or cast. Bad plot (assuming this actually passes for one), horrible dialogue (most of the actors have their lines dubbed over for some odd reason...was that part of the "comedy" or just low-budget audio...will we ever know?), family wedding-style video editing and absolutely nothing going for it whatsoever.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Completely unbelievable
hddu10-819-374582 August 2020
By that I mean all the 10 ratings in these reviews. Either they are coming from the actors/participants of this incredible steamy pill of horse-manure or potentially well-wishers/boyfriends of the actors. No one...and I repeat NO ONE could POSSIBLY consider this film in any way "good". There were several full frontal scenes with very awkward actors who apparently were so desperate in their careers they not only agreed to take the roles in this film, but did full frontal...when clearly they should not have (the lead did not...which is odd since this film is supposedly all about his penis...couldn't they have invested in a prosthetic for him?). Just awful on all fronts...not "topical", not "funny"...just not worth watching.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Dynastud is a Fresh Take on Fun Filled Action Films
tcoll3219 December 2018
Dynastud is what you would expect from a James Bond superhero type film with the super handsome dude hooking up with hot people and saving the world except instead of girls it is with guys. Finally a gay action, super spy, adventure, superhero movie.In a near future world where being gay is against the law we have one guy fighting for gay rights, Dynastud. Great fun but not for the easily offended but if you are a fan of Richard Griffin films then you won't be offended. I had the privilege of being at the premiere and the crowd was raucous and laughing their collective asses off. Beautifully shot and great special effects it is a well rounded film with an amazing cast. I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did.
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Unreal
danielw-4988422 February 2020
Unreal bad no even funny. NO WASTE YOUR TIME. Bad acting and ridiculous. Can believe someone put money to produce this piece of junk,
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Fun Time with something different.
ljmcfarland28 December 2018
Better than average campy fun movie. As someone earlier mentioned, think of a James Bond movie done by a collaboration of Mel Brooks & the Broken Lizard folks. The acting was decently accomplished, particularly by the two leads. There was full frontal nudity which wasn't titillating and I suppose would turn some off. If there was one thing that turned me off it was the impression that the entire movie was dubbed.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
To Infinity and beyond
reybenavidez-909627 March 2019
I laughed so hard throughout the movie. Yes it's just so corny it's hilarious. I love how they include Trump into the movie.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
You can tell the whole team had a blast making "Dynastud"!
BettyABSOLUTELY13 October 2019
If you enjoy sharp satire wrapped up in a whole lot of goofiness and fun, look no further than "DYNASTUD"!!! Destined to be a Cult Classic... watch this with a group of your best buds, for sure!
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Dynastud is the gay spoof you need in your life
roy-emerson-jr15 March 2019
I love the references to real life issues. This film had me laughing the entire way through.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good heart, Great comedy, but lacks some quality.
a_santos-7309912 January 2019
If you sat through the first 15min then keep watching!

I'll start with what I didn't like: first off I could say it appears to be done on a micro-budget, as it lacks quality, and special effects are often bad.

Then the plot isn't the greatest, as it seems another movie making fun of other hyped movies, or exaggerating situations nearly to a ridicule. The acting in some parts looks more like a theatre play than an actual movie, I didn't like the whole cast, but some did do well in their parts. Soundtrack also could have been improved, although I was surprised and amused on a few instances.

Said all of this, the good: it's a GREAT smart comedy, and if you are not easily offended, you will likely laugh your ass off in several occasions! Also, it's a critic to some of today's issues and overall social problems, and transmits a message of acceptance and tolerance very much needed in today's world.

Overall a movie to watch when you need to relax and improve your mood.
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A campy return to the roots of gay cinema
Gaymers10 February 2019
I really enjoyed Dynastud and the return to campy humor that's been missing in LGBTQ films lately.

Campy humor has been and will always be a part of gay culture. It's how we process all the pain, anger, and disappointment we've experienced (and still experience today, unfortunately). Campy films seemed to hit their peak in the late 90s and 2000s and it was a fun time for our cinema. In the 2010s, they seemed to go out of style. But this film seems to mark a return to humor.

We need laughter. These are very dark times in our country and often times it feels like we're losing everything we fought to achieve. Dynastud represents a time capsule of what we're suffering through and it's important for it to be said. Sure, the film is outlandish. That's what makes campy humor so much fun.

My husband and I really enjoyed it and hope more film makers will make campy films because it really does help deal with all the madness in this current administration.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ranks up there
caribjonlost8 February 2019
I watch movies to be entertained. I want to laugh when I watch comedies. This movie is pretty funny. I enjoy the quips. I enjoy the brief nudity. I enjoy the actors reaction timings. If you like Another Gay Movie, take away half the budget and enjoy yourself. It mocks most things popular, not just politics. If you can't take a joke, then don't watch any movies in general.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A fun gay comedy for any adult
rbf5518 December 2018
Yeah, this is bound to upset some yahoos, promoting a society that accepts LGBQT, but it is actually quite smart and very funny in its approach to the superhero genre while making a social commentary that's rarely hit-over-the-head level. As an ally, I laughed through most of it, and nodded my head in others in agreement. So worth a viewing. There is some male nudity, so keep the kids away if you must, but if your sense is an open-minded one, gay or straight, there is a lot to enjoy here. Even if you're Canadian (if you see the film, you'll understand what I mean).
12 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another hit from the king of micro-budget cinema.
lacrosse2519 December 2018
Fantastic! Also, you couldn't possibly put a bigger smile on my face than when Aaron Andrade showed up to reprise his role as Detective Vargas. Director Richard Griffin has yet to let me down. Highly recommended.
6 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hilarious from start to finish.
whatboxcreations18 December 2018
You know how Mel Brooks makes fun of Hitler? Well, enter Richard Griffin against MAGA.
12 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed