Oxygen (2021) Poster

(2021)

User Reviews

Review this title
245 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Kept on hook
pranayjalvi12 May 2021
Oxygen was a decent movie, not great. Melanie Laurent was amazing and so was the effects and the cinematography. Background music and the storytelling could have been a bit better if it had dug deep into the life of the main character.

This Netflix original movie is a one time watch, but won't disappoint. The ending was quite impressive and it kept me guessing till the very end.

My Rating : 3.5/5.
91 out of 131 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Brilliant acting and lot of suspense
laura-murgia12 May 2021
What I loved about this movie was the uncertainty of where the movie was going to. Where is the pod? Who is she? Will she get out? It makes you committed to keep watching! This movie reminded me of the movie 'Cube' another brilliant movie!
76 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
ClaustrO2phO2bic...
Xstal13 May 2021
Far from pure, but don't let that contain you or hold you in, as this story of a woman reawakening in a cryogenic capsule with the breathable air rapidly depleting will have you pinned to your seat throughout, unable to escape, while conjuring a plethora of finales, endings and conclusions - any number of which quite plausible, however...
60 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A really good suspenseful science fiction
ramisaakter28 May 2021
Oh! This is Awesome. It kept me hooked whole time. Though it gives me the ''Buried'' vibe at first, it is totally different. It is something unique. A science fiction movie within a box yet this builds suspense enough to keep an eye on. And the actress did a amazing job, of course,this movie mostly depends on her convincing acting skills.
19 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Poorly manufactured drama
El_Jefe16 May 2021
The movie manufactures ALL of its drama by withholding information. That's a cheap trick, and that's all this movie does.

Once you know what's going on, information is STILL pointlessly withheld, solely to generate drama. I mean, literally EVERY SINGLE discovery or deduction makes you think, "wait, why didn't they just say that in the first place?" The entire plot of this movie could have been avoided with a simple infographic pasted to the inside of the hibernation chamber.

This isn't science fiction. It's pointless information disparity. Go watch Moon instead.
49 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Tight, inventive script and a superb Melanie Laurent
ABCloverLane12 May 2021
Oxygen might be Alexandre Aja's best movie to date.

It's a one man show, or in this case, a one woman show, as Melanie Laurent delivers a performance worthy of praise as an amnesiac who awakens in a cryopod and tries to figure out how she got there and how she can escape with the help of the AI assisstant MILO. The movie's plot is reminiscent of Buried, starring Ryan Reynolds, only this time we're dealing with a high-concept idea that cannot be mentioned without spoiling the movie.

What I liked the most about this movie is that throughout its entire runtime, it never once loses steam and is able to hold the attention of the viewer. Although it's set almost entirely in one location, the script always finds ingenious elements to keep the plot going and oftentimes it reaches that nail-biting tension the viewers expect from a sci-fi thriller like this.

Melanie Laurent is entirely up to task and she carries this movie effortlessly. Her character's discoveries about her past, present and future offer moments that showcase her immense talent of making us care for a character that we, like the character itself, know nothing about.

The direction from Alexandre Aja is never boring and he uses smart camera tricks to maintain tension and suspense. There's always a sense of engagement with the plot that Aja crafts masterfully, although some plot reveals are a little bit convenient and they come exactly when you expect them to.

Overall, I thought Oxygen benefits from an inventive and well-written script, Aja's tight direction, and of course, Melanie Laurent's performance, who carries the entire movie on her shoulders.
72 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Very enjoyable with a great central performance
Orlando_Gardner12 May 2021
I went in to this film knowing nothing about it and that's probably the best way to watch it. There is nothing new in Oxygene, most of it rethreads old ground but as it's story unfolds it remains engaging from start to finished. This is greatly helped by Melanie Laurent's fantastic central performance. Pretty good story, lovely visuals and score and, as I said previously, a great central performance elevate what could have been mediocre fare to some decent sci-fi with a nice emotional payoff. Well worth your time.
46 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent from start to finish
rpremio-4820013 May 2021
What a great movie. Watched it not knowing anything about it and I was hooked the entire time. I didn't want it to end. Mélanie Laurent's performance was stunning and hopefully award worthy. Ignore the reviews and watch it.
43 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
if you want a soliloquy, read Shakespeare -- it will eat up less of your time
mschell-112 May 2021
Basically this is a one-woman, one-act play with occasional "discoveries" thrown in to keep audience attention when the heroine isn't shouting or screaming. Some of the timeline is awry, not only the inconsistent pacing of oxygen depletion but also the duration of her cryo state. Can't reveal more without spoilers.
70 out of 135 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
pure suffering... for the audience.
kxxxxxx13 May 2021
Imagine a whole movie of nonstop whining & crying, yup thats about it.
91 out of 192 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Good premise, terrible story telling
LilWats12 May 2021
A woman wakes in a cryogenic chamber trying to recall who she is, why she's there and relying on Milo the computer to give her info. The movie is a mess. Even if it's obviously a limited budget, it's 90 minutes of a boring narrative that relied on scattered story telling in an attempt to make it interesting.
63 out of 132 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Wait for the end!
toddcha12 May 2021
Frankly I don't think this movie is that bad. The real down side is it lacks frequent excitement and you have to wait until the end.

If you are looking for high tech, then it won't meet your expectation.

To be honest, this movie is as high tech as the avengers, or is as not sci-fi as the avenges is not.

Try to finish this movie when you are awake otherwise you probably will feel it boring.
33 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A movie that feels like it has more going on than it actually has
mickeythechamp15 May 2021
I watched this movie because it was new at the time on Netflix, and I had to review a current film for my podcast. I therefor went in relatively blind. This review might contain slight spoilers.

The movie is about a woman that wakes up in a Futuristic medical pod. She has lost her memory and most uncover who she is and how to save herself before the medical pod runs out of oxygen.

This is a Sci-fi mystery movie, and it carries both roles only half well. The Sci-fi aspect comes from the fact the main character is stuck in a futuristic medical pod that has a computer installed called M. I. L. O. The computer system is more or less just Seri that can google whatever the main character needs. M. I. L. O as a plot device was really clever implemented. Not only does it give us a character the main character can talk too, but the way he works also makes it entirely up to the main character to work out the mystery. When she puts two and two together, she now can make a better google search in order to uncover the truth. M. I. L. O can not comment nor help her with solving the puzzle, he can only follow orders. This made it so more satisficing when the main character figured something out. Mélanie Laurent is more or less the only character we see and hear from. I think she could carry the role, but there were instances where I thought the movie was patted out with her being sad, and that sometimes made her preformance fell one-noted. Can we by the way get Mathieu Amalric as a Seri voice? Such a nice and soothing voice!

The main problem comes from the location aspect and the mystery aspect of the movie. The location is more or less only the medical pod. Don't get me wrong, I love one location movies. I think it can create a great focus on the character we are watching instead of working on establishing worldbuilding. The problem here is that the pod quickly wears of as an interesting location, and the main charecter is not interesting enough to carry the movie. You quickly get the layout of the pod and the camera can only do so much to make it interesting. While it creates a sometimes claustrophobic look, it also sometimes feel like the pod is giant. There was a very beautiful transitional-shot towards the end just to say the camera crew clearly know what they are doing, but don't get a lot to work with.

What the movie does les well to me is when it gets towards the middle and end. The start of the movie is the strongest part of it, but after a while the movie kinda runs out of tricks and mysteries and I was looking at the timer multiple times to find out how much was left of the movie. The movie tries to make a loot of schocking revelations, but they never really hit me as shocking. I quickly moved on from the revelations and even caught myself saying "So?" aloud to myself. Some of the set-ups to the mystery also has bad payoffs. You get a clue early on and layer it so you can use it in the puzzle, and then when it doesn't really make the puzzle look any better you just ask yourself "why did I save this piece for so long?" this is, among others, in relation to a clue such as Léon is working with helicopter leaves. The payoff to this is just not good.

It also have some scary aspects to it, and here it does not stick to that genre either. It seems like the movie has multiple identitycrises doing it´s runtime and If it just stuck to one them it would feel more complete. Not a big fan of the ending either. It kinda made the movie seem pointless, as well as most of the moral dilemmas presented in the movie.

Overall, I did not really enjoy my time with this movie, it seemed like it did not really know what It wanted to be, so it just became everything. It seemed like a movie without purpose or moral and kinda just went by. Even though I found the beginning of the movie strong, it simply does not save the rest of the runtime. I really don't know who I should recommend this to at all so I will end this by saying, it´s a too long movie with an identity crisis, too small scale to call it anything special yet too big for what it´s trying to do. The movie fells like it has a lot of cogs turning but it doesn't.
15 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Silly, painful
Hugely frustrating to watch - a woman being counterproductively hysterical for ages, then making some underwhelming realisations. I had enough and stopped it two thirds through.
61 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This movie should have a way better rating!
mhdmzp13 May 2021
Its a really good movie. Won't say more! Just watch it and make your own opinion, but ill say its a really good movie again!
33 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Low budget movie that will plunge you in a deep coma
chris-6178513 May 2021
Low budget movie and it really shows.

Basically a lonely (bad) acting performance from Melanie Laurent.

If you don't fall deep asleep during the first half, you can pretend you care about the ridiculous plot twists in the second half...
31 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Claustrophobic clever sci-fi
fbaston13 May 2021
A really good claustrophobic experience. Starts where "Buried" was but the development is thrilling . With a clever script at hand Aja on the helm shows again his qualities and the movie touches important questions of existence .

To be featured In the final top 2021 list?
28 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
more a love story than a fantasy or reality
aavaliani18 May 2021
The start of the movie is very interesting. It is a story of a women waking up in cryogenic capsule and has limited time as she is running out of oxygen. But instead of using her time wisely she spends most of it on panicking and remembering her love stories...
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprisingly good.
billybizar14 May 2021
Can't believe the relatively low rating score of 6.4. Some people are really hard to please. Just take it for what it is: an entertaining B-movie with a fine performance by Laurent, unpredictable twists and turns, cool effects, attractive photography and a recognazible musical theme. I hate it when people give one or two stars only because the script is apparently not 100 % foolproof and ignores the obvious, cinematic qualities.
18 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Plot hole after another
muhammadshafei12 May 2021
For a movie that tries to build suspense to present an idiotic answer is a fatal blow. Unfortunately this movie was one fatal blow to logic and physics and all common sense after the other. It renders the emotions silly and vapid.

Avoid.
29 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Interesting
kerrysimpson-6275512 May 2021
This kept my attention all the way through. It really is well written and acted. Though I do worry about the people who create/write things like this !
27 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
If this is going to be more science than fiction, then a lot of stupid stuff here.
wanarek-128-55013212 May 2021
If this is going to be more science than fiction, then a lot of stupid stuff here. I'm not even going to mention it all.

Nonsense aside - we have other things here: the annoying main character (cries and grunts for the first minutes of the film), a poor plot, predicting the end. It is naive and simple.

But I've seen much worse movies produced by Netflix. 5 stars.
16 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Boring and too many plot hole
ton_smile12 May 2021
Nice try. But too easy to read through. The film has too many plot hole.

If you want to watch a sci-fi thriller movie, just skip this one. It's such a waste of time watching this movie.
36 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Scifi, we need more original stuff like this
jekkukyy15 May 2021
Great lead actress, interesting premise, good execution, keeps you hooked. Of course there are plot holes. When did you ever see a SciFi movie that someone could not come up with plot holes for? Yeah.

These kind of gem SciFi movies make me want a series in the world of the movie with the same quality. Too bad they never come.
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Movie with zero budget
ol-boehm13 May 2021
Acually its a 4qm3 room with one actor which dont move alle the movie.

Story is a mess logic is a mess.
22 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed