Painted Woman (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
She's wearing boy clothes
nogodnomasters25 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Plot spoilers.

Kyle Allison (Robert Craighead) is a rich man who lives with a woman he got out of a brothel. When he tires if her, because she looked at one of his guests, he swaps her in for a younger model. Frank Dean (Matt Dallas) the man she looked out, is hired to kill her by Allison. Julie (Stef Dawson) our painted woman manages to escape because our professional assassin forgot to load his weapon and can't track a pale woman in girly shoes and a dress in the woods in moonlight. And then she is suddenly on horseback, she got from...?

Now Julie must die because...? I am not sure why. There is a mention of the Apache having a painted woman ceremony to celebrate womanhood, which doesn't really tie into the film unless you count a poorly developed dream.

Now I love women revenge films, especially when they get revenge in slow creative painful ways. A shot to the chest. Not so much.

Guide: No swearing or nudity. Poorly Implied sex scene.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Expendable neo western!!
elo-equipamentos10 August 2018
Once more my brother who is a huge fan from this genre gave me this picture and after spent almost two hours long to see it, l've stayed a deeply disappointed by a good premisse to be lost during the way, the early chapter was really fine and interesting but after Julie run away in a open field, the picture shown us how it was a poor and cheap production, also the mustangs caught in that time weren't a pure breed of horse how was portrait on movie, forgetting this mistake the final scene is too clumsy to be acceptable, he revenge is quite usual, nothing new, the music score no make sense due under sorrow theme!!!

Resume:

First watch: 2018 / How many: 1 / Source: DVD-R / Rating: 6
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Average Western
billcr127 February 2018
I took a shot at this based on a few early rave reviews of 9 and 10. This ain't Unforgiven. A young woman works at a bordello in Kentucky in 1899. It seems as she has become the mistress of the owner in a beautiful house. He hires a really nasty man to beat up people who owe him money. After a while he tires of his young mistress and she seeks freedom from him. A good guy appears and the rest is pretty formula; nothing new here. The lead actress is Australian but she manages a southern accent fairly well. The cast is competent and the story moves along without any dead spots. The scenery is nice and the ending a bit of a surprise. Overall, it is o.k.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not your usual Western
contactmaz20 June 2019
A very good film with some excellent acting and powerful messages. The ending was unexpected but when you think about, it couldn't/shouldn't have been any other way. Recommended!

BTW, excellent music, great cinematography.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
How to put an old Man to sleep!
gkhege7 July 2018
Mercy, as one who is considered by his friends, as a film buff, I just had to advise them of this movie. It is bad, bad, bad. All the female characters have new white teeth, something which would have been unheard of during the movie time period. All the dresses as well as the props, wagons etc. looked as though they just came out of a display case. I feel asleep both times I tried to watch this flick and all I can say is this, " if you are a male and over 50, you probably will see more of the back of your eyelids than you will see of your TV screen."Slow, Slow, Slow movie.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pure Art
realfandangoforever15 April 2018
This film is pure art. From the score, to many of the actors, a hidden gem. Out of the straight to video pile come some of my favourite westerns and Painted Woman is now on that list. Do not come looking for action however. Though there may be a few violent scenes, this is a steady, and even somewhat slow paced tale of hardship, perseverance and love in the old west. Kiowa Gordon (Chato), Stef Dawson (Julie Richards), Matt Dallas (Frank Dean) and David Jenkins (Vince Wagner), are some of my highlights. Of special note, however, is Laurel Harris (Ellie Anderson). From her first scene, it is obvious that this actress is not just performing but also putting her spirit into the film. She captured me in her mannerisms and speech. She radiated heart, a compassion that not only her character possessed, but no doubt, Ms. Harris herself. Amazing. Amazing. Quick kudo to David Bruster's rendition of "Pig in a Pen". Why is that song not on the soundtrack?
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Basically A #MeToo Movie - But Set As A Western....
jostannie15 October 2018
Well the #MeToo crowd will love it I suspect. Nice scenery and cinematography but with wimmin having a hard time out West.
2 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Clip-ity-Clop-Clip-ity-Clop-Whoa!
VanBooter6 February 2018
Howdy there stranger. Well I've just finished watching Painted Woman and here's my thoughts. Prior to getting a copy I first read the reviews here at imdb as I nearly always do and was amazed all the reviews were all glowing. So then after checking the reviewers history I discovered all 16 of them were one review shills, darn it why do these people do that because to me that's an obvious red flag of deceit. Anyway as I say I've just finished it and to my surprise it's pretty good. Not your typical low budget shoot-em up, but just a low paced amble through a non taxing storyline. Cinematography was good, main leads did well especially David Thomas Jenkins and Matt Dallas. I suppose if there is one thing which let it down it would be as I said the weak storyline without any surprises. However don't let that put you off, you could do a lot worse than watching this one. 6/10
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
very disappointed
xxChronusxx7 February 2018
Was hoping for a good flick, but alas, not happening here. Good performance by David T Jenkins, but I'm still trying to figure out what the story was. A less than glacial pace might have helped. Mystified by the high ratings this thing has until you realize they are all one review wonders. Another thing thats telling is the fact there are zero external reviews linked to this film.
16 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Western that had potential
linda-export7 July 2019
Whoever wrote the screen play decided that limited character development and non-existent dialogue was the way to go. It was predictable and simplistic. Not a great movie
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Something was rigged with the ratings!!
latifavereecken4 October 2018
Dont waste your time with this movie, its really really bad. The acting is terrible, the depiction of this helpless little girl is betond ridiculous and clearly the writing of a man and to top it of the styling is horrendous. Every decision made in this movie has led to it becoming completely uncredible. Dont even get me started on the obviously fake wounds they show.. Buh wish I could go back in time and unwatch this...
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Painted Woman" - Beautifully done!
actressbmw25 November 2017
This is one western I REALLY love! This film is really beautifully done! It's a captivating story about Julie's difficult journey, eventually finding her own strength. Each scene is gorgeous. Riveting performances by a great cast, and great direction by James Cotten. I highly recommend this movie! Love the ending! OMG! :)
9 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Must See Western!
VegasXtra25 November 2017
This western is really great and the cast couldn't have been picked any better! Excellent direction by James Cotten. Everyone that sees this movie will be cheering on Julie. One of my favorites, and I'd watch it all over again. If you love westerns, this is a must see! Thanks for making this western film, and I highly recommend it to everyone.
12 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
unique theme for western genre!
shonandstacey26 November 2017
I loved this movie. The setting felt very real. The characters were fully developed and the theme of a western told from the point of view of a woman that is the mercy of a male-dominated society is not a voice that is heard often, but here, told remarkably well. I have seen this movie twice and enjoyed it even more upon the second viewing.
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome movie
bobomoadie5 June 2021
Just saw this movie at the Delta Film Festival and got to participate in a workshop and q&a with the producer and director.

Excellent film!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A credit to its genre!
dancorey6 February 2018
What if Michael Mann made a Western about female empowerment? Writer/director James Cotten brings a lush palette and a meditative, almost prayerful style to this drama/thriller about Julie, a woman looking for a second chance at life on the frontier. Wonderful performances from the entire cast, featuring Stef Dawson in a breakout role as Julie, David Thomas Jenkins, Kiowa Gordon, Matt Dallas and Robert Craighead as memorable Western villains, and a notable standout performance by a force-of-nature Laurel Harris.
10 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Great Western
kathrynmichelle27 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This historical drama is centered around a women who fights her way out of subjugation and into a life with meaning, love, and acceptance. You can tell there was time and thought put into her visual progression of her life. Kudos to the filmmaker for complimenting her journey by making these artistic and technical choices!
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Robert Craighead delivers a masterful performance
jimbrantley-7516224 February 2018
Sometimes I watch a movie, not because of the plot or I'm a fan of that particular genre; no, sometimes I'll watch because of the cast or a particular cast member. For instance, I have never missed a movie with Morgan Freeman in it. Regardless of how bad the script I just know that his performance will make it a film worth seeing. The same holds true of Robert Craighead, who is one of those actors you have seen in a ton of movies and TV shows but hasn't received the recognition he deserves. And, holding true to form, his performance stands out in this film. The movie could stand very well on its own, but, with Robert Craighead displaying the true depth of his villainous character, the film gives you someone to truly dislike in a most entertaining manner. Painted Woman is a good film; the cast makes it an excellent motion picture.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very well written and directed movie, good job on bringing Julie to life.
bobbiesox-5060325 November 2017
Enjoyed watching Julie come to life from a dark past to a future that she took control of. Felt like Julie inspired others to take control of their lives and fight back, loved the ending when payback came. Thanks for bringing her story to life in a western film. The actors and actresses brought each character to life in just the right way. Felt like I was at the finish line cheering on Julie!
10 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must see!
phillipperson25 November 2017
I was overwhelmed with this story. There was a true sense of pain felt for the main character. The acting and directing in this was superb. All of the emotions were genuine yet nothing was contrived. If you like a great story arc then this film is for you. The payoff was amazing and truly satisfying. (Also, my favorite character is Chato. You will see why.)
8 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Story of a woman discovering her self and gaining her independence.
agotwalt25 November 2017
The movie had great character development and theme! Though portrayed as a Western, the message is universal. I loved how the entire tone of the movie develops and changes as the main character begins to discover the strength within herself. This movie has a little bit of everything, drama, suspense, comedy, and action. My favorite part was how she sought revenge on her oppressor!
11 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This movie is about a woman who must overcome impossible odds to become the woman she wants to be.
jrjdavis25 November 2017
The Painted Woman is unlike any Western I have ever seen. This film incurs every emotion. I laughed and cried, cheered and screamed. It is both beautiful and tragic, hopeless and uplifting. There is nothing predictable about this movie. It has so many twists and turns that it will keep you guessing until the very end. The woman being the heroine is also a fresh take on this genre of film. Loved this movie and will definitely watch it again!
13 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
For Film Lovers of Actual Film
landonsatterfield-1014727 November 2017
I recommend Painted Woman not only for its excellent story but also for how it executes that story. The pacing allows room for the characters to breath--their intentions to play out when they're not speaking. Director James Cotten draws the audience into caring for everyone on screen without forcing us to. Painted Woman is not a cookie cutter that holds your hand the entire time. It's also beautifully shot; many moments are very elegant. Overall, "elegant" is a great word to describe it.

If you enjoy film for the art within, and for the beauty, go see Painted Woman.
10 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A new take on epic westerns!
markhaynesfacebook1 December 2017
I really enjoyed this film and have to say, visually, it's stunning. Our country really does have some beautiful scenery and Cotten shows us just what natural treasures we have right under our nose. The story here is also tight and to the point. In the days of overblown blockbusters where what's actually happening doesn't matter as much what it looks like, Cotten and Lindley hone in on a sweet but powerful story of a woman coming into her own in a time when that kind of thing wasn't exactly encouraged. There's also no shortage of villains, heroes, and gun play to satisfy your thirst for Old West action. Do yourself a favor and check out a film that shows you how to do a powerful, intimate story in epic fashion. Enjoy!
10 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Painted Woman is a film worth seeing more than once!
megrottman9 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Especially in the times we are living - when men are being called out for bad behavior- it is refreshing and meaningful to see a classic Western from the beleaguered woman's point of view. Clearly, life is not easy for any of these characters. There is struggle and darkness on all sides, but director James Cotten shows us a new, creative slant on a tried and true setting - while, at the same time giving the audience everything that has made this traditional American genre so popular. The scenery is spectacular, the acting harnesses true emotion that translate into all levels of sorrow, passion, anger, insecurity, zeal and redemption. In the end, there is a satisfying conclusion to a story that never sugar coats the long and often painful road to self discovery. Painted Woman is a film worth seeing more than once.
8 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed