SMILF (TV Series 2017– ) Poster

(2017– )

User Reviews

Review this title
46 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
Dull as dishwater
speaktomenow28 December 2017
Supposedly inspired by the actual experiences of the lead character who originally created this as a short film. That's where she should have left it. It feels a little like a Shameless character the writers decided to cut, almost like a test for a spin off from Shameless. However it lacks the pace, or the charm or even the ability to shock like Shameless does. An easy one to skip over and wait for something better to come along. It's slow, dull and uninspired, and she's really not a strong enough actress or writer to carry this idea herself.

I tend to worry when you see the lead actor is the creator, writer and exec producer. This usually means they have far too much control and there's not enough quality control and oversight on the production. That's what you get here - her fairly dull and plodding view of the world, and no way to really connect or empathize with her. Tighter direction and scripting might have helped, but clearly this is her passion project and there isn't anyone wrangling this lumbering mess into a coherent half hour.

This will not be something that is around for long, if it isn't cancelled by the time you read this review, it will be soon.
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Better and better
bobatsdi9 December 2017
I honestly did not expect much figuring that this was a Shameless knockoff just trying to out-shock what shocking things Shameless brings us each week. But I was wrong. The writing is wonderful, bringing unexpected storyline twists in each episode and quickly building viewer empathy for the characters who are caught up in life, but have dreams, and making us care about them. The acting is great, delivering some of Rosie's best work. Gritty, edgy, whatever you want to call it, this is not the same old crappy filler between commercials that is delivered so often.
22 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
written to be provocative, not funny
Keed13436 November 2017
What a mess. No story, no laughs, just bad mothering, a lot of masturbation, bare tits, bare ass, and a naked guy I wish I had never seen All of this to tell us what? That our main character leads a hopelessly miserable life and that her child would be better off in foster care? All of this would be okay, I guess, if there was a reason for it in the form of a narrative or it was even slightly amusing. All of this is done with style, grace, and yes humor in Better Things.
47 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
perfectly gritty
cfrey12057813 November 2017
I found some scenes hard to watch, but that's what makes this show great. Frankie Shaw is amazing and real. (Where did she come from??) The role of Tutu was made for Rosie O'Donnell; she's loud, sad, rough and incredible. I'm two episodes in and I believe this show has such promise...can't wait for more.
30 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So I am wondering why is labeled as comedy
garda-land2000010 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I watch Shameless on an off, it is a good show and has some fun moments I give it that, but to label this show as comedy is an insult to comedy, so far it makes more sense why people hate Rosie O. , her voice is like a cat in heat while someone drags their nails on a blackboard, it just makes my ears bleed, but still there was no comedy, Showtime has managed to put out shows that are below average, anything new from them is like we need some horny man so let's show some body parts, but let's ruing everything with Rosie O., can't wait for the PC thing they have going on to sweep into this show, but it's bad, Shameless does it better.

--- Spoilers be warned ---

To the guy who says there is no political substrate in this show, let me give you just a few of them:

  • single white mom with a biracial kid, the dad, black, went with a white girl with big nipples. - masturbation scene, where we have cuckold scene where the black guy is on top of her, one white gay is watching, one is masturbating in pants the 3rd can't remember, also making one stereotype of big black penis (as the guys says am I inside, and this drives her to go to a gynecologist to check the size where she shows a huge circle ) - she does not have any money when she buys a lot of things, white guy she knows offers to pay for her things, she accepts, then she invites him to her place, he comes, he strips, logically that he is a white guy a bit fat with a small penis, which she kinda makes fun of.


Let's say this show so far has not said too many political things but it sure has a lot of political substrate, so far they poked at blacks for not caring about their children and whites for small penises and cuckold.
34 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Is this a thing?
robkingsley19 November 2017
What is this? This isn't a thing. Take a 14 year old with ADHD, give him a case of monster and pop rocks, then tell him he needs to write a script on a young single mom with a biracial baby that lives in a closet apt. And can't clean until it's a hazard. This is the jumbled, nudity packed, stereotyped hodgepodge he would write.
34 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
SMILF some mother I'd love to flog
bound-nico25 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This is the worst show possibly ever made... stereotypes galore ... boring... not funny ... she's supposed to be poor ... yet she buys a ton of crap ... has sheets for curtains .. use some of the money you waste on the brat to buy real curtains ... she's the epitome of White trailer trash ... a difference being poor and poor white trash... this show is poor white trash ... nothing funny about it... no idea what it's trying to do here ...? She's just a slag ... it's boring ... not close to funny .. crap
24 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great start - no politics
jkemmery-753-7215186 November 2017
I watched the first episode after seeing the advertisements. So far, great acting, interesting story, sort of a peek in to the mind of a single mother, and as a man, that is refreshing. Another reviewer mentioned a "transparent political agenda" without explaining what that was, and I felt compelled to give my view on that. So far, there's no overt politics at all, politics isn't even mentioned. I can only assume that the other reviewer objects to seeing people of different races being romantically and/or sexually involved. If that bothers you then, I suppose you might want to skip this show, and if it does then shame on you! I'm curious to see where this story takes us. Hopefully it'll be another great under-the-radar series by Showtime similar to Episodes or Weeds. In any case, politics isn't mentioned in any form at all in the first episode. There's a lot of talk of sex and vaginas, as well as nudity and sexual situations, which if you ask me, isn't political, nor is representing racial harmony.
35 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
SMILF...A Show I'd Like to SKIP
AnonymousFilmLover2620 November 2017
Meh. SMILF is a product of Showtime, with writing and producing by Frankie Shaw, who, kinda sorta, reminds me of Emmy Rossum from Shameless. Only, I feel Emmy Rossum as Fiona Gallagher is much more of an actual character. Frankie Shaw as Bridgette just comes across as desperate and unfunny.

I only watched the first episode of this series, but it's not really anything special, in my opinion. A struggling young mom trying to achieve her dreams while also raising her son (who is played by twin girls, an odd choice)...problem is, we've seen this premise before. Heck, Shameless itself is playing on a version of this storyline...and while it's very much a "mature" show, the crass/sexual aspects never quite overshadow the plot. Not so, in the case of SMILF. Maybe I should have clued into this earlier (the title of the show, after all, is Single Mother I'd Like To ...) but nevertheless, it's not working for me.

Lastly, I can't believe this is billed as a comedy show. This is about the least funny show I've seen in awhile; and I don't think it fits the genre at all.

Shameless does this better, and with more heart/charm. SMILF is just...a wasted Shameless wannabe that may have actually worked better as a feature-length film.
23 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Irresponsible & Stereotypical
christolene025 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Absolutely awful! Why doesn't the lead character practice safer sex?!?! This is suppose to be an insightful, slightly honest, comedic view of the life of a single mom. Unfortunately, this is the typical stereotypical show and in this current climate of people actually using open dialogue to discuss race, sexual orientation, sex and gender; you would think a show like this would do much better. I find this to be tired and offers nothing new to the table and uses almost every stereotype. It's quite saddening that this show is about a single white woman with a biracial child. As well, the black friend is ghetto, overweight, and overly protective of the lead character. Perfect example : Her shoes and bag containing a newly bought ipad for her child that were stolen the night before by a group of teenagers. Next day she is with her black friend and the lead character enters the store alone to get food. She believes that she spots the thieves and asks if they were in the park last night. She then goes outside and tells her friend and the friend asks if she wants to beat them up and reminds her that they took her shoes. She declines and holds her friends hand to express that she doesnt want to do that. The black friend is perfectly portrayed as a ghetto violent black woman and this white woman who has had injustices done to her still won't resort to violence. But when the lead character is on her own she acts quite vile but next to a black woman she is a saint. Simply put, writers do better!
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
One of the most annoying leads
saneman13 December 2017
While I found the show watchable , the lead character is just annoying as hell which is fine if she were more interesting or was a side character in another show. But for her to be the focus of this series is too much. I lost all patience when she tried to pay homage to Run Lola Run. The screenplay of that episode was ridiculously immature. Like some 5th grader decided to make her own Run Lola Run homage Jason Scwartzman Rushmore style.
12 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Great acting ruined by a transparent agenda
apelissi5 November 2017
Frankie Shaw kills it as the quirky yet enduring Bridgette; and Rosie O'Donnell crushes it playing the part of a gritty East Coast Mother, but a painfully obvious Hollywood agenda overshadows what could possibly be a good show. It's not because these topics are by all means offensive or wrong, it's just that in this case they're cliché to the point of where I was finding my-self cringe.
32 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A comedy? Are you serious??
colcomp12 November 2017
I got about 15 minutes into this show and had to shut it off...

Dry, not funny and guess what? It hits every agenda of political BS we have in this world today. I'd rather have another ROOT Canal before watching another episode of this tripe.

Rosie O'Donnell was the real killer, can NOT stand her nor her voice, makes me want to throw-up. UGH!
30 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad from start to finish
jcm-8999814 November 2017
Show is awful from the x-rated music ( shouldn't be allowed on air ) to the situation and characters. Nothing remotely interesting or redeeming about it. Keep your children away !!! That being said the acting is fine just a terrible script and even worse music choices. If you can even call it music.
29 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Couldn't watch it all the way through.
triplt-190045 November 2017
Just happen to see that it was on, so I gave it a shot. As soon as I heard Rosie O'Donnell's voice my stomach started to churn! She may be tolerable to some, but she make me want to vomit! I couldn't finish watching. Seems to be another one of these shows that draws in viewers for the sexual content. Almost a feed off of Shameless. Rosie kind of kills the mood!
31 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
More stupid shows from America
youknowimright-6976319 January 2018
What the hell happened to American shows? they used to be soo good, now they are filled with this dirt crap? Its like every show they make are not for show but rather brainwashing with political agendas. Stop trying to tell the world this mental disability is normal.
10 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very Provocative New Series
wantsomeyou5 November 2017
Stumbled across this new series and watched the first episode out of curiosity. It was hilarious....to me at least. Very real life. It will definitely not leave you bored. The lead character is likable and honestly, we can all relate to her. I would recommend giving this series a try.
19 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The more episodes I see, the more I like it. Kind of...
simonmoon24 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I was not a big fan of the first episode, but setting up the story for a series is hard to do. The acting by the entire cast is very good, even Rosie O'Donnell, who normally would annoy me, is excellent. The second episode is better than the first, but still held back because it's still introducing the characters. The third episode leaves me hopeful, that this series is really going to be good. One of the things I really like is that the child's father's new girlfriend is presented as a genuinely good person, and although successful, still struggles with issues. I do wish there were less shock value sex scenes, but premium cable... Edit: I'm going to knock my review down a notch, because of some things I like it a little less as it's gone on. But I have to note Some of the very negative reviews could be summed up with,"I hate this show, because I'm a right-wing hate monger and generally terrible person.". Why would a person like that watch this show in the first place ? Calling a bi-racial child,"political", is one of the most pathetic things I have read in a user review.
10 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pure Trash
Vosem18 February 2018
Just more left wing political garbage. Everyone who isn't born rich is a victim and nothing is their fault. This is propaganda at its most extreme. The acting isn't terrible but the writing and messages are complete garbage.

Avoid at all costs. Then again, I'm sure if you think of yourself as a victim, you'll probably adore this show.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful just plain awful
travism-447848 August 2018
Not sure what the point of the show is but with uninteresting characters such as Rosie O'Donnel and bad writing this show is just terrible
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just horrible!
ryangale-1347427 October 2018
My fiancé and I couldn't stomach more than two episodes. Lazy writing, raunchy shock value, and mediocre writing makes for a real disaster here. Wish I could get that hour back!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
a breath of fresh air, a great new show
lotsoletters6 November 2017
Finally a show where there is some substance in the writing. I loved the way the main character is portrayed without glamour, or pity, but as someone who is relatable even to those not in her situation. The acting is great and is backed up by many other talented cast members, including Rosie who does a great job as the mom. In the age where we are immersed in bland predictable superhero shows with one dimensional characters, this show is a welcome change, i loved it
16 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent
hrherika11 December 2017
Brilliant. Finally a realistic television about navigating life as a 20-30-ish single mom. I wouldn't necessarily classify it as just a comedy, but it does has its comedic moments. Frankie is as brilliant a writer as she is an actress, I'm ecstatic it has been renewed for a second season!
10 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Random Unprotected Sex: Why?
gottabreal26 December 2017
Why do so many roles for women include random unprotected sex? These encounters in this series are just not believable and add nothing to the storyline. Seems pretty obvious they are included only to satisfy a Harvey Weinstein type predator. It makes all the female actors and the characters they portray, seem desperate and powerless.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
i'm 3 episode in and i'm hooked
ultrasahand27 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The only reason I'm writing this review is because i'm reading so much negative comments about this TV series. I've never seen the lead actress play in any other movies but god damn she is a good actress and very talented. that episode three with the pu**y grabbing that happened out of nowhere was so funny and sad at the same time that i cant even begin to express my emotions in my native language let alone my mediocre English. i have high hopes for directors and producers.

about the negative comments I'm guessing it has something to do with the title of the series, many people expects porn or something not a drama.
8 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed