The Road Movie (2016) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Russian GTA
Quinoa198421 January 2018
After sleeping on it (writing review one day later), The Road Movie might not work as your traditional story-driven movie, but it may be in 2018 (this edited together in 2016) we need to change how we see movies anyway. In this case, we have what is like live-action cut scenes from a non-plot driven Russian Grand Theft Auto video game. There are no real rules in Russia on the roads by the look of it (perhaps the dash cams are to assist in that the cops make our corrupt cops look like boy/girl scouts).

People get out of cars and into fights; sometimes a car just goes off road into a river for a river-car ride; a car just crashes head on into another and we hear the couple of people saying where they're broken; a guy gets on top of a woman's car as she us parked, and he acts like a mad primate as she drives and is hysterical (he may just be deaf); trucks crash and flip; cows get hit and go on their way; the word 'f**k' is used so often in 67 minutes I think this out-f***s the 3 hour Scorsese crime epics.

The appeal in other words is to be a full witness to the insanity, and while these are taken from YouTube uploads, I think placing then in a short, to the point cinematic context is a nice radical act. It's found-footage when it comes down to it, and at the same time the tone is like taking all of the gnarly bits from Godard's apocalyptic Weekend and none if the political stuff. Human nature in Russia is brutal, unforgiving, and howlingly funny in these videos. At one point a car drives right on through a forest fire (!) that is happening on either side of the road on one hand, and on another a car chases a running bear and all the driver can think to say is to laugh at the bear's defecating. And is that a comet falling to Earth?

In other words, The Road Movie may or may not appeal to you, and I wonder what rewatchability it will have - unlike the insanity of the Jackass films, as one more comparison, there aren't any personalities to latch on to as we are Rear Window-ing as the passengers if these literal car wrecks - but it's a total blast from start to finish and a unique piece of cinema in this decade.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A russian yawn fest.
valleyjohn23 June 2020
Completely pointless . Probably one of the dullest car incident programmes I've ever seen. The only thing I learned was how aggressive and rude Russians are but we all knew that anyway .
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
a documentary in the truest sense of the word - and a great guilty pleasure
dave-mcclain28 January 2018
"The Road Movie" (NR, 1:07) is a documentary from Belarus and is unlike any doc you've ever seen. It's short for a feature-length film and it has no narration or graphics (except for some words and numbers that appear on the screen), which makes this movie a documentary in the purest sense of the word. It documents. Period. Even more unusual is WHAT it documents - the strange things that happen on the roads of Russia and other former Soviet Republics. That's right, it's a movie made up of dashcam videos.

But it's much more than just a series of spectacular vehicle crashes (even though there are plenty of those). These videos span 2011-2016 (based on the dates on the outer edges of the clips) and they let us see and hear shocking, humorous and bewildering things that happen in the car, to the car and outside of the car - and quite the variety it is - and almost all from the cars of ordinary, everyday people. Throughout the movie, there are the aforementioned crashes - and horrible driving conditions - from fire to ice and everything in between. From a couple different angles, we see a streak of light in the sky. (Is it a meteor? Is it a plane crash? Is it a UFO? We hear drivers and passengers discussing it, but they never find out. And neither do we.) There's a police chase through the streets of Moscow - with an unidentified vehicle heading straight for St. Peter's Square (one of the few sequences from police cars).

And the videos include plenty of clips of people behaving oddly, comically and inexplicably: An apparently mentally ill person jumps on the hood of a car and starts screaming at the windshield. A barefoot young woman who is crying appears out of nowhere, sits on the hood of a car for a moment, and then walks over the top of it. A driver who is apparently upset at the driver with the dashcam comes after that driver with an axe - and then things really get serious. Another driver and his passenger negotiate terms with an unseen prostitute (audio only, but subtitled for non-Russian audiences).

It's all shot from the (usually) stationary, but unflinching perspective of the dashcam (like when a thief grabs one of the cameras and runs off with it - with the owner in hot pursuit). "The Road Movie" is skillfully edited voyeuristic pleasure. It's often surprising, sometimes funny, occasionally frightening and always interesting. Like observing a car crash, police chase or another person even crazier than you, you just can't look away. This film allows us to indulge in some good old-fashioned rubber-necking, in many different situations and without the fear of getting into an accident ourselves or being judged by others - unless of course, they see you watching the movie, but then, they are too! This film is not winning any Oscars, but it does provide a guilty pleasure for those of us who THINK that where WE drive is crazy! "B"
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
RUSSIAN HOUR
js-661307 February 2018
Could there be a more stereotypical look at the crazy Motherland than through a compilation of dashcam videos? Nope, and Dmitrii Kalashnikov, besides owning a kickass name, assembles a bucketful of OMG LOL snippets.

What elevates The Road Movie to actual movie status (and not just a throw away video mash up) is the rhythm, the pacing, and the brilliant commentary. Everyone's familiar with Youtube pavement fails, but when augmented with deadpan, often hilarious commentary (rough translation adds to the effect), the results are mesmerizing.

The Russians are a weird lot, and here's seventy (minutes) proof. Whether following a comet on the horizon, battling a persistent loony on the windshield, or calmly shooting a car to end a road rage incident, The Road Movie has just the right amount of comedic crazy and startling shock to remain watchable past the usual interweb span. You can't look away ... again, again, and again.

Zazdarovje.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Filmed Citizen Journalism
Vivkon15 December 2018
The Road Movie (Doroga) is a fresh and original example of citizen journalism. The people behind the wheel become "street" journalists sharing their dash camera videos. The movie has no an introduction and conclusion. This movie is a compilation of YouTube videos of Russian Roads. It eloquently expresses the metaphor of Russia as a country without limits or end. Additionally, this movie refers a well-known Russian phrase "Russia has two misfortunes: fools and roads." The directing is amazing and inspirational. Dmitrii Kalashnikov makes a contribution to the history of documentary cinema extending its framework. If motion pictures already have plotless structure (some Marvels sequels, Disney series), then until recently documentaries have been rarely exhibited. Kalashnikov, with his movie, increases the capabilities of documentaries, showing that the cinema is not only about embedded stories in written texts.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Compilation Film "Ad-Nauseum"
SomaQuest6 October 2018
Taking a cue from the overabundance of dashcams available to the public in Russian this compilation film highlights the odd, the bizarre, the troubling and nature's extremes in a fun albeit tedious nature.

Some clips make the viewer gasp, whereas others make the viewer appreciate their non-Russian heritage. Fun to watch for a bit, but over the course of the film you find yourself wishing you had a remote to fast-forward clips and rewind others.

Good for something to put on in the background at a get-together that will eventually stir a conversation, but not something to waste precious time watching alone.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolute, Undeniable Proof that Russians are Stupid... and Dangerous With It.
notom-2301222 March 2019
I'd like to personally thank the Editor for giving the world an honest insight into the actual 'culture' (and I use that word at it's most stretched) of the Russian Federation. Almost 70 Minutes of mind-blowing ignorance, stupidity, violence and casual disregard for the safety of Children, Pedestrians, Passengers and fellow drivers (aimers? (is that a word?)) and the unmitigated failure of a 'Police Force.' This video demonstrates pretty much everything I saw as a 5 year appointee to the British Embassy there... if ever an entire countries citizens should be banned from driving on the roads outside of it's boundaries... we have Prime Candidate number One, right here.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Paints terrifying mosaic of Russian drivers from collated dashcams.
gadfeal14 September 2021
Warning: Spoilers
This is "cinéma vérité" in the literal sense of the word - a collage from Russian dashcams of usually poor quality that show the most grisly, mad road accidents in a dark, grimy, devil-may-care society.

Dashcams first took off in Russia, a vast territory with inadequate roads, poorly maintained cars, and unreliable traffic policing. So, most drivers use dashcams to support their reports after the fact to insurers, courts and police. They are so ubiquitous, that many upload footage onto websites. Hence, this montage from over a decade of footage may NOT be representative of Russia - but it does show a terrifying banality of wanton vehicular violence.

Could it be that alcoholism or sleep deprivation led to such reckless behavior? Icy roads without snow tires, cautious speeds; cornering too fast; overtaking recklessly; spinning out of control into oncoming lanes; irate drivers with guns and tools come out to assault; daylight robbery from delivery vans, or even from cars stuck in traffic; cows crossing roads unattended; drivers driving the wrong way on a one-way street insisting with a sledgehammer that he be let through...

There must be a great sense of impunity for vehicular injury, drunk driving, and a lot of societal frustration taken out on other drivers.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Life from the dashcam
oktjabr30 January 2018
Russian dashboard camera footage has become sort of an internet cliche - filling youtube and even old-fashioned homevideo TV programs with crumpling metal and shattering glass of haphazard Russian road traffic, with drunken maniacs spliced in.

Fortunately The Road Movie isn't just a highlight reel of spinning car wrecks, but also includes both bizarre, tragic and humorous occurences. My personal favourite were the guys who talked about boozing and slaughtering some animal, but accidentally drove out and into a river, driver laconically commenting "That's it. We are sailing". Talk about Russian fatalism.

In a fact, the subtitles that actually open the discussions of (mostly) unseen passengers make the compilation stand out as a worthwile, though at times slightly boring documentary piece.

As a sidenote, one of the other reviews refer to the clip where we see a blazing fireball streak the sky and occupants of the car wonder what the heck it was - the guy who says it was a meteor was correct - it was so-called Chelyabinsk meteor that was (fittingly enough) captured by multiple Russian dashcams.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Russian Dashcam Compilation
fai-904692 October 2017
The entertainment value of "The Road" movie is quite high but do I need to see it in the cinema? The idea of "The Road Movie" sounds witty but can it live up to it? Not at all! These videos where just in a random order. I expected them to be a bit categorized or even arranged to a story (?). The randomness of it all was disappointing and I felt that I could watch the same thing at youtube (Russian Dashcam Compilation). Some scenes relied only on dialogues and they weren't even subtitled. It had some interesting moments when we watch a car crash happening and >10 people just stop their car, step outside, watch the wrecks, smoke and talk..It felt like a mirror being holded up and we even spent money to see the accidents! I had a good time seeing this and you will have too if the movie theater is crowded and the night is in full swing.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Russian Dash Cams
thehorroritis14 December 2018
If you've ever watched Russian dash cam videos on YouTube, you know exactly what this is. That's not a bad thing, but it's not for everyone.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A real road trip movie: Entertaining and suspenseful, with dangling questions
stevebass19 March 2019
This could have been titled, " A slice of life on the Russian road."

Why did the woman at the gas station use an open flame to check the fuel level on the car's gas tank? (And did she survivie?)

Did the guy who speed up when the instructor say "brake" do it intentionally?

Did the cops ever catch the guy in the red car?

Was the duck tasty?

Do bears s**t on the road? (Here the answer is yes, for sure.)

Will Dasha and Pasha end up in a loving and eventful relationship? (I sure hope so. They were perfect for each other.)

Questions we'll never know the answer to -- and hoping for a "The Road Movie" sequel.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed