Barbie Video Game Hero (Video 2017) Poster

(2017 Video)

User Reviews

Review this title
17 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Video game Barbie
TheLittleSongbird11 August 2017
It is very easy to meet the 'Barbie' films with a lot of dislike and scorn and they are all very lowly rated here (despite some favourable reviews). It is understandable to take issue with the dialogue (a fair few are ropy in this regard), the predictability of the stories, the odd annoying character, the animation in a few (not all are well animated) and whether there is enough for adults to keep interest.

Despite not being the main target audience, to me they are mostly better than given credit for, easy to take them for what they are and don't deserve to be dismissed as baby-ish and for little girls only (a very narrow minded generalisation). Are they animation masterpieces? No. Are they among the best films ever made? Again no. Are they worth watching if taken for what they are? Absolutely for most of them. Most of them look good if not having the polish of studios specialising in computer animation (Pixar for one), often great music, good lessons and messages, a good deal of charm, have their heart in the right place and have entertaining characters well voiced (some had actors of considerable calibre like Tim Curry, Anjelica Huston, Martin Short and Kelsey Grammar, all of them terrific in their respective outings Curry especially) and a likable title character that particularly young girls can relate to.

There are better 'Barbie' films ('Nutcracker', 'Diamond Castle', 'Island Princess', 'Pink Shoes'), but also far worse ('A Fairy Secret', 'A Fashion Fairytale', 'The Princess and the Popstar', 'Princess Power'). 'Barbie Video Game Hero' is much better than its IMDb rating at the moment, it's nothing mind-blowing but it's colourful undemanding fun and credit is due trying to attract a wider audience with a concept (video games) that is very much relevant and a lot of people still enjoy. Is there a preference for the original traditional 'Barbie' films and style? Absolutely.

'Barbie Video Game Hero' is not a film to be seen if expecting depth or originality, something that with me was long ago never things to expect. The dialogue (as with almost all the later 'Barbie' films, and even in the good ones that are not quite among the best) is simplistic and at times forced, even for somebody who doesn't expect a script in a 'Barbie' film to be good. The story is yet another that sees the viewer a step or two ahead of the film in how things are headed with even the messaging at times being a bit repetitive this time round. The characters do lack depth beyond neatly black and white.

However, the animation is quite nice with the lack of the original/traditional look that in general appeals much more than the modern one not being a bother whatsoever. There are some beautiful bright colours (never excessive here), handsome and imaginative backgrounds and the character designs and movements have natural freedom rather than being stiff. It's not exactly imaginative and it's not as polished as Pixar, but when you have computer animation that makes you physically ill like the entire output of Video Brinquedo and Spark Plug Entertainment and the sequels to 'The Swan Princess' (the CGI ones) and 'Alpha and Omega' it's very clear which is better than them and this.

Music is upbeat and fitting, enough to put children and adults alike in a good mood. Nothing generic or too loud or intrusive here. Really enjoyed what was done with the video game concept, there may be not much that's imaginative but the levels are colourful, interesting and fun, the different characters that pop up serve a purpose and are engaging and the emoji virus conflict creates some suspense.

Regarding the story, it is predictable but it is full of energy, cuteness and charm with its heart in the right place the entire time (nothing at all mean spirited). It flies by and the action is very much eventful and rarely repetitive, plus it doesn't feel anywhere near as much of a Hodge Podge of tired ideas like a few of the recent 'Barbie' films have been. Throughout, 'Barbie Video Game Hero' is fun-loving and well-intended.

Characters, even with the lack of depth, are engaging and carry the film well. Barbie is likable and resourceful as ever, as well as smart, serving as a good role model for young girls especially. The chemistry between the characters is great too, as is, beyond the repetition and samey nature of the messages themselves (important messages but have been covered many times previously in the series) the positive messaging that was delivered with the right amount of making-its-point and subtlety.

Voice acting is pretty good and done with a lot of spirit. One may miss Kelly Sheridan, but the new voice actress is a worthy replacement.

In summation, colourful undemanding fun that succeeds in what it set out to do and doesn't try to do anything more, while also lacking in a few elements that have been proved to not be strong suits with the recent 'Barbie' films in the first place. 7/10 Bethany Cox
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Best of the Dumb Barbie Movies
My daughter after finishing this movie: "I wanna be like Barbie...she's always very kind and smart." That's really all it took for me to fully accept this entry. It also didn't hurt that the concept is nerdy fun, the revolving animation styles are welcome, the action-adventure scenes are childish fun, and there's a "Warriors" reference.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
surprisingly liked it
pinkiistar101618 April 2017
Coming from an avid barbie movie fan I didn't think I would enjoy this movie at all. The corny animation and the emoji virus concept didn't seem right to me.

But when I finally got down to watching this, I actually enjoyed this. I missed the days when Barbie was just a princess and had a prince charming ya know? But the movie actually had me laughing so much! The characters were so funny and I thought it was cool how Barbie could code.

Also If any of the Barbie creators are reading this KEEP MAKING MORE BARBIE MOVIES!!! I absolutely adore them. Coming from a 17 year old, keep doing what you do. :)

~~Steph
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Spectacular! BARBITRON
aloonwolf28 February 2017
Imagine Barbie in the films TRON and The Last Starfighter. Barbie is a video game player and programmer who gets sucked into her computer to defeat an evil virus. What follows is a crazy, trippy, colourful ride through video game world, full of cool characters and action - but of course there are none of those NASTY violent games where players slaughter images of humans or some other living (or undead) beings.

This film is so much fun, is hugely entertaining all the way through, and looks amazing, with the visuals changing from game to game. There may also be some deeper meanings behind the story and the names used, but as usual it could be interpreted different ways. Highly recommended! :/ ;) :D :O D:
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A huge improvement
TigerPanache6 April 2018
Barbie movies sure have gotten better since I was a child. This one is the best I've seen. The focus is not on the usual Barbie subjects - boyfriends, fashion, and shopping. There aren't even any boyfriend-girlfriend relationships in the movie, just friendships between girls and between girls and boys. The focus is actually on solving problems, helping others, and getting things done. There is the usual pinkification, but the attention to fashion and consumerism is kept to a minimum. The characters also look better - they are still too thin to be real, but the girls have smaller breasts and the boy looks pretty normal and isn't unrealistically muscled out. The two male characters are friends and helpers with personalities, not just pretty boyfriends.

There are also a number of positive messages throughout the movie. Barbie is confident, smart, and capable, and the other characters, both girls and boys, look to her to solve problems, decide what to do next, and fight bad guys. One of the concluding messages Barbie learns is, "We don't have to do what we're programmed to do. I can change the game. Now it's time to change the game to fit me." There is also a character who is afraid of heights, and I was sure that was going to be turned into a damsel distress moment, but instead she learns that it's okay to be afraid, but don't let fear control you - and saves herself.

I also appreciate the subject matter. With women being underrepresented in STEM fields, especially in the incredibly fast-growing field of computer technology, I think it's very positive that this movie portrays Barbie as a computer programmer. She is the sole designer and developer of the game which they are playing inside of for most of the movie. I also appreciate that this movie is presenting video games as being totally "for girls," which does something to counteract the general perception, especially among children, and the marketing, that video games are "for boys." This is important because nothing has been found that even comes close to video games in being effective at improving skills related to fluid IQ (working memory, object tracking, mental rotation, reaction times, puzzle-solving, visual-spatial reasoning, and quick and accurate decision-making). If it takes some pinkification to get the message to girls that video games are not just for boys, and are for them too, I'm okay with that.

The original designer of Barbie created Barbie because she noticed all dolls for girls were baby dolls, which restricted girls to playing the role of mother and nothing else. She wanted to create a doll that was an adult woman with many careers, so that girls could imagine all the amazing things they were capable of doing. I think Barbie is finally starting to live up to that vision, and be more than "Everyone's Favorite Fashion Icon."
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I don't get the hate
dianamarinelli27 January 2021
I thought I will hate this movie boy was I wrong. I love the video game element of this movie and it was a fun adventure and the just dance promo
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You should watch it! it is good!
premingerbarbieauw12 March 2021
This is such an underrated masterpiece, it didn't deserve the hate because of some people being like "BrING the OLd MoVies StYle". no.

but seriously, this movie deserves love.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Alright listen here.
premingerbarbieauw12 March 2021
This is great, don't change my mind. This movie is one of the best ones out there. It's so underrated!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring movie
meydiana-652424 November 2020
Warning: Spoilers
The other barbie movies were better than this, don't watch this, its so useless
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie, absolutely.
AnAbsoluteNormaline19 May 2021
I can't believe this movie was actually pretty good.

The characters were cool, the song slaps, the story's interesting, the world's unique and the animation is great.

I would recommended it to anyone!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
7/10!
AnnaPagrati23 August 2021
Well, I didn't love this film. It was somehow a little interesting, but didn't quite accomplish to keep me invested throughout!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's sucks
bebeneal-6830919 September 2020
The story line makes no sense what so ever. Yes, it's is but my brother liked the movie so so much and I hated so much more! So why the heck 2 director direct this? It's sucks! It's frickin' much more of it. You know what? 2 of the director should win a Razzie Awards but this is too much for this. So Ignore all the good reviews they have and don't mess up again Universal Pictures of I will kick your private parts. Because they don't freak up out of it!
0 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best modern Barbie movies.
axlgallais-090316 July 2021
Along with Starlight Adventure. This movie is so underrated just because they just only care for the old ones that were good as before even if the animation looked outdated. But this movie tries to be something different.

The movie has different animation for the levels, it is pretty cool for a movie like this. The animation from this movie is so good.

The songs, great as well. Even the characters are great and cute too. As well with the twists too.

I think Just Dance fits into this movie. I don't see it as an "advertisement" as everyone else says because of Barbie being in Just Dance, I just see it as Barbie's real life favorite game and that's why she chooses this for the final level. And the whole Just Dance thing is like 3 or 5 minutes, so it's not that big.

Also what's with people saying that this movie is basically just Wreck it Ralph?. Is it because they travel to different worlds? It happened for many movies. I don't think this movie is trying to be like Wreck it Ralph, that's impossible. If it's an inspiration, sure. But it's not like that movie.

Also no the Emoji Virus does not references The Emoji Movie.

Besides VGH is better than this garbage.

I think the only downside is probably some of the cringy jokes, but if you don't think about it, it's still pretty good.

I hate when people just goes to those modern movies and be like "new = bad". Because yeah there were some movies in that decade that were not good. Like Puppy Chase for example, which I'd like to call it the worst Barbie movie.

I don't get the hate for this movie honestly. It's fine to get different opinions, but yeah I don't get why the movie has hate.

I would recommend it to anyone.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
They should change the barbie to how she used to look back then!!
yasomina13 August 2017
I do not like the barbie they use in the 2015-17 movies mostly because the old barbie looks is more realistic and mature. Now, they changed barbie to make her eyes bigger and make her look shorter so she could look more "cartoony". Also, the meaning of the barbie movies these years are horrible, back then there was barbie in the nut cracker, or barbie and the 12 dancing princess. Nowadays barbie isn't even a princess anymore!! I would never let my child watch the barbie movies these days until they do some improving!! Go back to the original barbie!!
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Flat sucked
emilyshepherd-5594818 April 2020
Wow... First off, this movie WRECKED my eyes. The colors were nothing short of an LSD trip and I literally could not wait for this movie to end. Yeah it's cool that Barbie is branching out to be something other than a princess, but the crazy animated puppy heads and random montages made me feel like this movie was very carelessly thrown together. It left me longing for the simpler times where Barbie was fighting evil magic or something and I didn't feel the need to physically fight the color hot pink. Alternate titles could have been: Barbie and her E-girl adventures, or Barbie and that blasted pink strip of bangs. Please never watch this if you hope to have a good day. :)
1 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
why was this given the OK?
jcamjr-062463 December 2017
the way I see it, this movie is, in a way, stealing from the emoji movie. this was most likely done because at the time, the emoji movie was a popular, not good, but popular thing to talk about, so having the villain be an emoji was most likely trying to cash in on the popularity (again, not saying it was good.) of the emoji movie. the emoji movie is probably one of the worst thing to try to steal from. aside from that, the animation is very poor and uncanny. don't let your kids watch this.
2 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed