Something (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
13 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
im glad the toddler era is over
ops-525356 March 2019
I think a lot of grown ups that has decided to break and make a child, never could fantasise the burden and fatigue bringing up a child can be. the film is the a-z indeks of worn out parents.

the acting are spot on and very realistic, and the production are darn good and very intennse on the chill factor. whats intruding the house, i shall not spoil for you, but its proper planning and very well sorted out in the plot.

so beware the shadows, pest mask and broken water heaters, they are all indirect clues to the viewer. how the twist are revealed is tragic but true and may happen to everyone, because the alarm bell rings more than twice.

youre not a fool if you dont understand this film, but when getting the key youll set things in retrospective view, its brilliant filmaking. the grumpy old man recommends this film.
15 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Just wait, it'll be worth
DebraIonaVogel21 August 2021
At first, well...through most of it...we thought cheap, indie and cheesy. Not the case, as it turns out. There was a point, a good one.

It's an interesting story and we wanted to find out what's going on. Just wait and pay attention.

The ending was AMAZING. Don't ruin it for yourself, just watch it and be blown away.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Slow but worth it
mary-179-67738323 May 2020
Movie carries a lot of suspense and I did get the chill factor during the movie. I actually liked it the movie and with just a few tweaks this movie could have been a 10 because the plot was great. It also has a really important message

First thing I will say is if this movie does she a couple going through the rough daily grinds of having a baby and not having much sleep. I also want to note that the movie actually set things up really well and the concerns the new parents have about sleep, baby temperature and the anxious feeling when the baby moves into their own room, is all real and well presented in the movie. Now I admit the end I did not see coming and at first I was like, "what?". Then if you think carefully you will remember in the first 10 mins after the couple discuss the weather, minutes later you hear a noise and then the husband attended to it. Sorry if this is too vague but I don't want to give away the movie. But watch the movie and it will click.

Why it's not a 10

1) The scene at the end the last 5 mins of the film I thought the actor in the scene seemed a little too happy with himself and the situation considering. 2) couple see a stranger lurking inside their house and decide to go back to sleep and wait for the police officer. This scene took a point off. They didn't feel safe and especially after finding baby outside. 3) The movie represents life with a baby so realistically but it's not entertaining. A little humour or something to insert in the movie was needed. I get they are tired but it's still a movie after all. In other words scenes that didn't include the lurker were a bit too dry.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Slow, not horror, not entertaining enough, and even depressing...
umunir-3695922 August 2019
People watch movies for entertainment, so directors need to realize they need to make their movies entertaining. These kind of movies make people sick rather than cheering them up. Wasn't my type at all. I would still give it 4 because I have seen worse.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Definitely B rated but a surprising gem non the less.
joriethomas2 December 2019
They're not the best actors and the plot is slow moving but the story, build up, scattered clues, and twists are great! You're constantly going back and forth on your theory and even though the clues were all there, you still miss it. Very pleasant find.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Read adris_085 review lol
RobinFlys18 November 2019
Ridiculous (characters, dialog, etc.) + Eric Roberts = 1 Star
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Breathtaking in a different way!!!
If someone expects a classic horror movie, he is mabye wrong here. But if he is willing to get involved in this film, it will cut him off. This movie is a very special suspense story hidden under the cover of an intimate chamber play. What looks like a story of young parents with the mother in postnatale psychosis in the first place, changes slowly to a inexplicable threat. Clever and small placed twists are buidling up the situation bit by bit to a very special thrill. A thrill that creeps slowly up your spine, since nothing in this film is obvious. And along with all that - very surprising and very well done - with humorous moments. I liked it a lot and I am happy that I found this great film.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Well done and worth watching
Rettadm47 December 2019
I thought this was a great movie. Someone mentioned that the acting wasn't good. For me, the acting was perfect, it fit the plot and the writing. Now that I know the ending, it is actually quite clever. If you are looking for blood and gore, you won't find it here, but it has enough nerve rattling scenes that keep you involved. I watch all kinds of movies , and this one is a good one.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Makes you work for it, but I thought it was worth it
k9line14 March 2019
First off, if you're thinking about whether to watch this tonight, ask yourself are you in the mood to sit up and try and puzzle a story out or do you feel like vegging out and being entertained. If it's the latter, then skip this for now. Because this film doesn't spell it out, you have to work for it. The characters are having a hard time understanding what's happening, and I get the feeling the film wants you to as well. You shouldn't trust your eyes any more than they should. They do and say things that don't make sense at the time, but the good thing is it all becomes clear in the end.

It reminds me a little of a Black Mirror episode - not in the subject matter, or even the level of polish (don't get me wrong, this is a very low budget unpolished film) - but in the way it drops you into the scenario and doesn't hold your hand or feel the need to explain things, and yet there are clues along the way that are not really there for you to use at the time, but to look back on.

Is it scary? No not really. A few jumpy moments, but they're not particularly memorable. What it's more about is this weird feeling of unease that it just drips with, like something is wrong in there. And it bears mentioning that it's slooow in places, which is part of what gives it that atmosphere.

Without a doubt it could have done with a bit more budget, but I can overlook that and in the end I'm glad I gave it a chance and watched it.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible.
adhara-9066111 January 2020
Simply horrible: starting on screenplay, ending on the acting. I'm really surprised i was able to watch this until the end. Well, I guess I was hoping that at the end there will be some kind of plot twist. There is not. It's a crappy movie, with horrible: actors, director, editor and screenwriter.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Interesting story
gamergirlkm16 November 2019
The only reason why I'm giving this a 7/10 is because the plot is better than the acting. I feel like there reactions to everything happening, was a little bit unrealistic and emotionless.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved
jharrison-132233 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I truly loved the movie but would love to know how the baby kept getting put outside!! But never saw that coming I truly thought there was a demon in the house
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Demons
adris_08530 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is about the carbon monoxide demon. Cool.
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed