My Beautiful Stutter (2021) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Warm and beautiful masterpiece
darioandrijasevic23 October 2021
Warm, emotional, moving, absolutely beautiful film. As someone who doesn't stutter, this movie really opened my eyes to the world of people who stutter, and I belive it's a must se for everyone. It should absolutely be a mandatory view in schools.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Such a great film!
saramariesw23 October 2020
As a stutterer, this film made me feel validated...which is an emotion I rarely feel. Thank you!
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful Movie
lourettastein23 October 2020
This movie is outstanding! It shares a great message that is empowering and uplifting!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very moving film
harvirthind23 October 2020
I have not seen stuttering shown this way in the media before. This was a raw and very human look at something that gets overlooked a lot. It provides a much needed perspective on stuttering
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must-see inspiring film for Speech-Language Pathologists & all families with adolescents!
lynnderellacoyle23 October 2020
What a gift! This documentary is filled with hope and inspiration. Must-see for Speech-Language Pathologists, and all adolescents, teenagers and families. Thank you to the creators, producers, directors, staff at SAY, and to the brave beautiful students who shared their struggles.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Life changing
tianatt-265978 November 2020
I stuttered my whole life but it wasn't until I saw this movie that I felt empowered. There's so much freedom and peace in knowing you're not alone and that stuttering is ok. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who stutters, knows someone who does, or just what to learn more about it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent film
stracey-393778 November 2020
I saw this movie with my son as part of his virtual summer camp. We were both moved to happy tears. This movie did a great job capturing the feelings of a stutterer. As a parent of someone who stutters I recommend this movie to anyone who asks for a movie recommendation.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You will love this film!
natalienixon9 November 2020
This is an exquisite, honest, and heartwarming depiction stuttering and a tender look into the lives of those who stutter. As someone who has worked with several individuals who stutter I am so grateful for projects like this that raise awareness and bring knowledge and first hand perspective to this issue. It's amazing to see the effect that places like Camp Say can have on the lives of kids and teens, many of whom have never met another person who stutters. This film is full of beautiful stories of struggle, self-confidence, friendship, and the kind of compassion we should all be showing each other when it comes to our differences. I highly encourage everyone to watch it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Beautiful documentary
jenniferarstein9 November 2020
This documentary covers an aspect of life that we don't talk about or hear about very often. It was nice to have a filmmaker who covered stuttering from the perspective of people who stutter.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
incredible!!
triplets-949469 November 2020
My Beautiful Stutter could not have captured the "magic" of Camp SAY any better. It is an empowering experience to watch and everyone who knows someone who stutters should see this.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautifully done!
tennisluver-558239 November 2020
This was so well done and brought me to tears more than once. Highly recommend as it will change your perception.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful movie!!
choirguy-217459 November 2020
I've had the privilege to see this movie twice and I would gladly watch it again!!! It is such a powerful and touching movie. A MUST for any school teacher who has, or may have, students who stutter! As a choir teacher, I understand how singing can be so helpful for those who stutter but to realize the depth of how these young adults and children are made to feel can be heartbreaking at times. Thank you for an exceptional movie!!!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Such an important message for kids and adults alike!
wgabagat23 November 2020
As a parent and a speech language pathologist, this film really touched my heart and brought up questions I've sometimes struggled with over my 15 years working with students. I've been so fortunate to work with many families who, like in this film, have come to accept their children for who they are and who don't see stuttering as something that needs to be "fixed." At the same time, I can also understand the perspective of parents who want their child to be a fluent speaker. The individual stories that were shared in this film were so inspiring (I cried both times that I watched it) and were voices that we don't often get to, but clearly need to hear. In the end, I didn't think this film was about stuttering. To me, the underlying messages of acceptance, authenticity and connection really stood out. I am hopeful that this film will help start and guide more conversations among parents, families, SLPs, and peers on how the individuals who stutter feel and the importance of what they have to say versus how they communicate it. Thank you so much for this beautiful film! I can't wait for everyone to see this!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
grandcandy28 November 2020
Such a moving and heartfelt movie. Everyone should watch this movie to get a new perspective on what others go through when they have a stutter or a loved one who stutters. Eye opening
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A MUST SEE!
genise-543193 December 2020
Incredibly touching documentary that gets to the HEART of stuttering: courage, connections, support and acceptance. As a Speech-Language Pathologist, I feel this is a very powerful film that our schools and communities at large should see.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Must Watch
wwd-9855914 March 2021
Ryan Gielen has created a beautiful work to understand the lives of young people who stutter. If you stutter or not, this film is for you. We're all different and have our own life struggles. Ryan's film powerfully tells the story of one struggle, but has an important message for how we should treat all those around us.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS
sanders-donny30 March 2021
Blown away by this film honestly. Hearing these kids stories took me back to my childhood. I stutter and I know how kids can be cruel. I always wished my stutter would go away. I never met another person that stutters until after college and I felt so alone with my stutter for so long. The empowerment and family support this camp gives these kids is something I never experienced or could have ever imagined.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Spectacular
shiranisrael9 November 2020
Cried my eyes out. Such an important message to carry out to people who stutter, their families and SLPs.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed