Antiquities (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
southern quirk
SnoopyStyle2 October 2019
Walt Prior (Andrew J. West) returns to his home town after his father's death. He gets a job at the antiques store where his father used to work. It's filled with a cast of quirky southern characters including the beautiful Ellie (Ashley Greene). He goes see therapist Dr. Margot (Mary Steenburgen).

At seven minutes in, Dolores flashes her titties at Walt and it's obvious that this movie is filled with wacky southern characters... except for Walt. Even the parrot has to be wacky while Walt is one of the blandest character by comparison. It doesn't help that West has no big screen personality. The juxtaposition is tiresome although the arrogant Japanese cook and stripper are hilarious. The writing is funnier in some doses. In larger doses, the script is trying too hard. Also the plot needs a point. Walt needs a goal. Without one, the movie meanders. I guess Ellie becomes the goal. The car crash is the central point. The movie needs to start with the car crash. It needs to make that more central. Instead, this is basically a troupe of improvisers doing wacky things with a shocking unprepared reveal in the third act. This is missing the intro. Even crashing two cars in the intro would be so helpful in this movie.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Acting Workshop
jimmyjoe58311 February 2019
Watching this movie is like being inserted into the middle of a psychiatric ward 1 hour after meds have been handed out! Transparent effort at trying to create bon homie among a disparate group of oddballs in small town America. Each character was given a 300 square foot stage to perform whatever character they wanted for 90 mins. You could tell they were "acting" as nowhere in this world would anybody ever come across this group of mentally unstable people. Each actor tried way too hard at being effortless in their craziness, too much going on. This type of movie has been done before with much more grace and real humanity.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Overall, I rather enjoyed Antiquities (2018)
unratedmagazine8 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Overall, I rather enjoyed this film. The script has elements of a slice-of-life comedy balanced against some darker conflicts that emerge towards the end of the film. The brilliance of the film lies in its casting. Each actor embodied just enough of the small-town stereotype assigned to them, while avoiding becoming a caricature. Much of the credit for this goes to Daniel Campbell, who had the difficult task of shaping the actors into characters interesting enough to hold attention through what was ultimately an unevenly paced script.

It's the subplots and the interactions between the characters that really highlight the comedic elements of Antiquities. First, there's Delores (played expertly by Michaela Watkins of Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp fame), and Delaney, played by Michael Gladis from Mad Men, who similarly hands in several scene-stealing moments. Their cat-and-mouse interplay is sweet, with Delaney constantly sabotaging his chances with Delores by lying to compensate for his perceived shortcomings, particularly his physical appearance.

One of the funnier moments has Delaney defending his choice to chug five Red Bulls at once by stating deadpan that if he drinks them all now, he won't have to worry about forgetting to drink them later. Delores similarly showcases her comedic chops, including the opening conversation with Walt where she divulges that she's going to get a breast augmentation, but only one of the breasts because it's smaller than the other. Delaney and Delores are clearly meant for each other, and their scenes are among the most poignant and touching in the movie.

Then there's Jimmy Lee (Graham Gordy), who rents space in the store to set up an exhibit that is meant to be an opportunity to sell his antique merchandise. We learn quickly, however, that he can't bear to part with any of his priceless items, and sends customers to other stores to find the same things. Gordy sets up his character perfectly for a rather powerful moment near the end of the film with store manager, Dewey Rey. Dewey (played by Troy Hogan of Friday Night Lights and Free State of Jones fame), is downright hilarious in his role, but also shows his flexibility several times throughout the movie. He also takes every opportunity he can to remind long-time employee Blundale (Roger Scott) that he married his mom, and delights in frequently providing details of their sexual escapades.

And finally, there are the scenes between Walt and his therapist, Dr. Margot. These are arguably the funniest in the film, but unfortunately don't get enough airtime. Mary Steenburgen's Dr. Margot hits all the right notes and shows nearly perfect comedic timing, no doubt a benefit of starring in such comedies as Elf and Back to the Future Part III.

Ultimately, there are a plethora of great moments in this film that are loosely tied together by a script that couldn't seem to get itself going. The scenes at Walt's aunt and uncle's house are important, but sometimes seem thrown in for the sake of reminding us that there's a "twist" coming later. The chemistry between Walt and Ellie seems a little too forced, and the conversations on their dates always include Walt referencing a tragedy that occurred in Ellie's past. With no indication as to how much time passed since they first met, this feels like an unnecessarily aggressive effort to foreshadow one of the conflicts.

In the end, we discover that the conflict was really Walt's own uncertainty about who he was, and who he wanted to become. But it took a while to get there. The directing and the individual performances by this extremely talented cast carry this film, however, and I think we can forgive the pacing issues. We can also appreciate the relatability of the characters and situations to our own lives. Much like Jimmy Lee's antique exhibits, these personalities and these interactions are priceless.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
very boring
isogi31 January 2019
In think it was one of the most boring films I've seen in the past 2 years. A guy goes in a boring town to see how was his father living when he was alive. So he decides to do what his father did. So since it was a small town where no one had no future and the jobs limited, he went to work in a shop/mall where his father used to work. Dialogues are boring, the main character is the most boring. A film about how people end up being losers because they chose to remain in a city where nothing ever happens. A film about common losers who decide to stay instead of changing something in their lives.
10 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Made me laugh more than once.
deloudelouvain9 February 2019
What I liked the most about Antiquities was the subtle humor, nothing really hilarious but good enough to make me giggle more then once. It's all a bit quirky and the people are a bit strange. Every character adds something special to the story. A story that is quite simple but certainly effective as I never felt bored. It's all easy entertainment and that's perfect to me. The cast was well chosen to play all those strange characters, some were funnier than others, but in the end they all did a good job. I don't think alot of people will hate this movie, maybe those who have no sense of humor at all.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Magical Realism in Arkansas
inschd19 April 2020
The heart of this film is the writing. The cinematography is stunning. The film follows a romantic comedy formula but the characters make it an engaging experience.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Solid film for entertainment
handspup21 April 2020
This movie reminds me of a Garrison Keillor skit from the Prairie Home Companion radio show. Great twists in the dialogue, humorous witty story telling designed to engage viewers in an immersive trip to odd likable characters working through their lives. I laughed many times at the writers intentionally landed jokes mocking Hallmark movies and so many direct homages to the Carol Burnett Show along with the whole radio era story telling that never once apologized for being a movie on the 21st century. I got it from the very first scene where they were going with this film and they totally got it right! Excellent job at speaking to the thousands of writers, radio shows and decades of creative entertainment that preceded the film industry. I send hugs out for this entire effort well done, well portrayed, and expert cinematic story telling.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant
cmdavis-887971 September 2019
How many who have lost parents were able to connect to Walt and understand his desire to know more about his father? I know I did. The writing was brilliant, the props were spot on, and the scenery was beautiful. I smiled, laughed and was brought to tears at the end. Great movie!
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Spirit Lifting
rochbordelon30 January 2019
Because of my personal reality I am dealing with....This movie has lifted my spirit and has my eyes on life reinvented on how I will approach tomorrow. Thank you whoever wrote this! I strongly suggest people who need laughter and joy (or people who already have it) to watch this movie. Very creative and well done.
10 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Unwatchable
jomama-1075220 July 2020
Totally pretentious garbage. Anyone who gave this movie a 10 rating must be associated with the film. Unwatchable.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I'd Watch Again
amandahempfling29 January 2019
I rarely watch a movie twice but this one is has many interesting bits to chew on. Watch it. I appreciate the nostalgia stirred in this film.
10 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny
Liz7623 February 2019
This movie's comedy caught me off guard. I wasn't expecting it to be so funny.
5 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great job
cherylvanwinkle-0112328 January 2019
So proud of Daniel and Graham. This is filmed in my home state. I had the fortunate opportunity to be included as extra. Lady wanted that ham in bingo. Encourage folks to support this film
8 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Slow but great
darthozz12 May 2019
Once you adapt to the slower pace the movie offers great laughs throughout.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent!
ellisbelew31 January 2019
Touching story of a guy that reunites with memories of his dad. Will not be disappointed in this one
5 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Clever, creative, funny, touching
chichilinch1 February 2019
Excellent acting, clever script...we enjoyed so much!
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed