Zapped (TV Series 2016–2018) Poster

(2016–2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
23 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Brilliantly funny
charlie-119-1502456 November 2016
I stumbled upon this on Dave after watching the latest series of Red Dwarf and I'm so glad I did as this is like watching a touch of sliders with a huge portion of Discworld. Expertly acted and excellent comedy delivery , I haven't found a single thing that needs improving. What really add to it is the varied range of actors such as James Buckley ( Inbetweeners ) Paul Kaye ( you may remember him as Dennis Pennis), Ricky Grover ( normally plays Gangsters. If you like Discworld you will love this and if you don't , well I still think you will love it. It has that quick firing gag delivery that used to be a big part of British comedy , extremely recommended
40 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Deserves a much higher rating
ethelweard4 November 2018
This is far better than the six point something rating it currently has. It is also getting even better. The timing is perfect, actors are great and the script spot on. It's the best sit-com I've seen recently alongside Silicon Valley.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic new TV series
inaharry4 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
A must to watch, very good actors, very funny, unique and most of all a proper story line...Biggest problem was it was not advertised and I only came across it by accident. Its a series that keeps you interested and wanting more and more. Brian main character puts on a bracelet then is zapped into a magical world set in medieval times with wizards and sorceresses etc...Unfortunately the fairies one of which is played by Ricky Grover monitor all magical events and end up confiscating his bracelet on arrival. He later finds out its his one way back home and ends up trying anything to get it back...Found most likable character was 'Howell' played by Paul Kaye as a wizard another well know face that turns up later as a fire spirit is played by Steve Coogan....In all can say it is one of the best things i've seen on TV for some time and can only hope for more.
23 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Quirky Kooky underrated fun.
philipollar13 November 2018
I really enjoyed the off beat humor and subtle acting styles in this comedy. Creative sets and clever comedy make this a superstar in my book. Now im not going to phone in a review by simply saying its great and i love it or it sucks and i hate it like some of the many casual reviewers might. I am going to point out how it does not use unrealistically beautiful people in its casting unless that is the point. How the source from people already in the business like the puppeteer also playing a character. I am nbot going to watch things i know i won't like either then simply bash them as being bad cause they don't suit my tastes. I am not some weird single male with 4 cats. I am a serious videophile who watches over half of every given genre and almost everything in a quarter of each genre such as comedy fantasy drama. If you loved the cult classic red dwarf this is in the same vein of subtle sub-textual humor pieces that observant intelligent viewers should appreciate. I also enjoy the steg stegson character as he reminds me of the actor from black books but a bit shorter and happier faced. Unbridled acting makes this fun to watch as im sure it was fun to create for the actors.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Zonked
ygwerin128 October 2018
I found this program purely by chance, while channel hopping. It's totally bonkers and I love it, I have a fairly well developed off beat sense of fun, and it tickles my funny bone. I'd found yonks ago not to analyse comedy, just go with the flow. I made a cardinal sin of actually wondering why I was laughing, approximately half way through a comedy sketch. Once I'd got the notion in my bonce I couldn't dislodge it from my mind. So now I try and simply go with the flow, as I had always tried to do with new comedy programs hitherto. I actually recognise some of the actors in it from previous programs, I knew the blokes face that plays Brian, though I've never seen the TV show he was in. I recognised the bloke playing the bar keeper Herman, but couldn't remember where from. Then I looked on IMDb for reviews, and saw a picture of him in Last of the Summer Wine, as a local copper. I'd seen the local wizard Howell before as the TV character Dennis Pennis. I've also seen Steve Koogan who appears as the circus Ringmaster. I'd say to any doubting Thomas's give it a go, and watch it for more than the odd episode. Of course the entire show is totally Odd, which for me gives an excellent reason for watching it. It's original a real one off, weird and zany. With what I found to be an interesting premise, especially seeing its development in later episodes. Of the action taking place across different dimensions and realities, between London and Munty, present time and prehistoric.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Red Dwarf Meets Terry Pratchett
bubblet-2946719 October 2017
Came across this show because watching Dave one day. This is truly wonderful and deserves a real following. Paul Kaye and James Buckley are brilliant together. It's like a mix of Red Dwarf and Terry Pratchett. Paul Kaye is my favourite character so far playing the slightly useless but eccentric wizard Howell followed closely by Sharon Rooney's Soothsayer Barbara.

I fell in at the first episode of the second series and immediately knew I had found something great. Went back and watch the first series. It's hilarious from the start. It's an easy going, well rounded comedy, following a wonderfully kooky fantasy story with 6 foot burly fairies and a plethora of other creatures.

A definite must watch for a lazy night in.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
funny, silly and very enjoyable
tyrouno-1442024 October 2018
It takes place in a far far away land, of course Brian hasn't a clue, he will probably have much more fun here than back home, but he is trying to get back. this is a very funny and well written series, nothing serious but brilliant designs, costumes and perfect casting, really looking forward to season 3
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Utterly great comedy
duncanarmitage130 November 2018
What a funny show that ok, did take me a while to get into early on but it has some great characters and even those that come in occasionally get some great lines and expressions to make. There isn't a single character to dislike. One thing that stands out is it doesn't try and tie all the episodes together closely, it's a series of events in Brian's time in Munty as he lives and survives, and messes up.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Brilliantly Funny Series That Keeps Getting Better
arthurlewis9 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
An ordinary guy (Brian) transported to a fantasy land. Sounds like it's been done before? But NO - this is brilliantly funny original series with a cast that keeps gelling more and more. I've been raising my rating with each series to now be a solid 10.

The wizard really makes me smile - laugh out loud lines well delivered but all the cast make the show a joy to watch. Simple touches like the fairies are all men with beards and double as the city guards - there was a hostage scene so their leader says "surround the pub and someone get the pies".

If you like Red Dwarf or Terry Pratchett, you'll love this. Enjoy and keep the series coming please!

Only trouble is, my laughing out loud is making my wife give me funny looks - but worth it!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Brilliantly original sci-fi comedy
kevinblackburn-0442914 February 2017
Brilliantly original sci-fi comedy, with a clever plot / story line, and well chosen actors. The 'Wrong Mans' meets 'Red Dwarf'. Only 3 episodes so far, and not a dull moment, with original jokes and situations. The writers really do have great minds, and obviously pretty wacky ones at that.Really hoping there is another series. If you liked either of the two programmes mentioned above, of if you are a Terry Pratchett fan, then this comedy is for you. Imagine a world parallel to ours, which doesn't function at all well, and into which a modern, rather boring office worker from today is then flung. The characters are all funny extremes and very well played.
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Nicely Done
denizkayaqeboys27 January 2018
There comes a point on a TV series when it takes its overall stupidity and just plain senselessness and works with it. Its purely mindless and doesn't aim to have a fully coherent story line because that's not the point! I can't believe people would rate it lower purely on the fact that they want the plot to be better when that isn't the whole point of watching the show!

Overall, quite nicely made.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Different!
anthony603015 October 2018
I only started watching this in October this year and found it really different and funny! Hope they make another series after this! And rerun series one!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great fun.
swejster25 December 2018
Not every joke is a belly laugh, but all in all this show is just so much fun. As others have said it's kinda like a fantasy version of red dwarf. All the actors are loveable (Howell is iconic), and the scenes and plots are just great. I love Slasher Morgan's sinister laugh :D
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Laugh out loud.
edrenouf-1884319 December 2018
It's been quite a while that I've found a series that is consistently funny. Kind of a Black Adder Red Dwarf ensemble and according to other posters, other stuff I haven't seen. It's fantastic. Obviously not everybody's cup of tea but it's subjective of course, however between you and me they are objectively wrong ;)

Edit: I don't think think some people are giving this show a chance. They switch off after 5 mins or something.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Magical Comedy!
dayaabbas12 December 2018
There's no doubt about it, TV wise, we're living in a fantasy golden age from the gritty thrills of Game of Thrones to the glossy Shannara Chronicles, but the States isn't the only place turning out outstanding fantasy.

Enter Zapped.

Zapped is a British fantasy sitcom set in our world and Munty, a town in a fantasy world complete with magic and monsters.

Brian Weaver, James Buckley of the Inbetweeners fame, is our hero, a Walter Mitty character prone to exaggerating and lying about his own success, who blunders into Munty after messing about with a magical bracelet which transports him into a pub, the Jug and the Other Jug, where he meets and bonds with a gang of misfits: Herman (Louis Emerick), Barbara (Sharon Rooney), a useless soothsayer and hopeless romantic who falls for Brian, Steg (Kenneth Collard), a half-giant, half-dwarf layabout and Howell (Paul Kaye),an utterly bonkers wizard.

This gang become Brian's bosom buddies, helping him adjust to Munty while staying clear of the thuggish fairies who police Munty's magic. Unfortunately, Brian's gang are also the root of all his problems dropping him into all manner of mischief in the quest to return him to Middlesex.

There's everything to love about Zapped! The sets in season one are limited to the Jug and Other Jug and Howell's shop, although Season 2 adds a bit more colour by dropping in a few more locations to expand on Munty,but it's not the sets or effects that make the show such a winner, it's the ensemble cast and the writing - which are stellar.

The fairies, brilliantly played by Guz Khan (Skylark), Ricky Grover (Hawthorn) and Tony Way (Chestnut), are frighteningly thuggish preferring head butts and left hooks to kisses and wishes.

But what really makes Zapped shine has to be Paul Kaye's manic, alcoholic and barking-mad wizard, Howell, who is a joy to watch and lifts Zapped well above the competition.

The problem with Zapped is it's just too brief - season 1 has three episodes and Seasons 2 and 3, six each! The problem being, if you watch Zapped you'll become a Munty junky, weeping in desperation for more episodes while cursing the BBC for producing so wonderful, but short, a TV show.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Funny and goofy
katson-906878 December 2018
I caught myself laughing several times every episode and it was particularly fun catching hidden innuendos and jokes. Dont take it too seriously, just have a laugh at the absurdity
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Watchable
bethanedavies31 July 2018
Definitely one of the better comedies in recent years, not laugh out loud funny but there are some great actors and if you like daft plots and dont mind it being a bit predictable, it's very watchable and enjoyable.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Series 3 please!
chrisrtench18 September 2018
This is a great comedy. Definitely need another series.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You will love them!
kgkatherine6212 April 2018
Very silly characters, very silly plots, very funny. Love it!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
watchable, occasionally amusing
cherold23 October 2017
I watched about four and a half episodes of this, because it was kind of cute and I thought it had potential, but rather than digging deeper into the absurdities of its world, the series just kind of does the same sort of jokes over and over.

The cast is fine in that broad English style. The premise is perfectly workable. And at first I was kind of taken by the low-grade silliness and the world building.

But as season 2 started, I felt like the series was already out of ideas. And during episode Mad Darts I just thought, why on earth am I watching this? It's all so predictable and unoriginal. And so I stopped in the middle of the episode.
6 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not good.
OrangieTooDope23 October 2017
The only thing worse than a show that doesn't make sense is a supposed comedy that isn't funny. So James Buckley gets transported to parallel universe by wearing a bracelet that was being shipped in that universe but somehow ended up at his house. Seriously, that's the premise. I knew I should have stopped watching at that point but I didn't. I made the mistake of trying to give this show a chance and five episodes in it hasn't gotten any better. I don't mind that it doesn't make sense, I can deal with that. It's harder to forgive it for not being funny. To make things even worse the running story line is him trying to get home. Which we know won't happen. Even sadder is that they always open with his former co-workers being glad he's gone and foreshadowing his return. And the parallel universe is just silly. It's the middle ages with a bunch of weird animals but they all use modern day British slang. I see that a lot of people here compare it to Red Dwarf which is funny for two reasons. First, Red Dwarf sucked so that explains why this sucks but more importantly, why would you want an unoriginal show? I wish I had more hands so I could give this show four thumbs down.
8 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not what it could be
This concept has so much potential but it is squandered with uncharismatic leads with characters you barely care about. Despite the fantasy setting the bulk of the stories revolve around scams, the main character wanting to get home and the patheticness of the characters. The few interesting characters are an occasional side character who appears for an episode at most. Very skippable.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Funnier things come out of a cow's bum!!
spikeneil-84-83695220 April 2018
After reading the reviews I decided to watch this. Oh dear!! It was either reviewed by the shows writers or by people who watch reality TV. Absolute crap. Infantile comedy for idiots is the only way that I can describe this load of poo.
3 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed