Bad Match (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
41 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
What I Learned
clintstevens12 March 2018
SPOILER: This is a fairly predictable thriller worth a look. The ending was somewhat what I figured it would be, but the villain was not quite the character I predicted. Things one learns after watching...1. Do NOT play online violent video games. 2. Do NOT use online dating services. 3. Do NOT allow strange women to stay at your place while you go to work. 4. Do NOT assume a smokin' hot chick is obsessed with you, even if you are a dweeb. 5. Do NOT ignore phone calls from your lawyer.
27 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Social media hell
shakercoola8 July 2018
A dark, tawdry tale of a supremely confident and contemptible young advertising agency archetype who dates women for sexual gratification using a gamified dating app. The film is probably most similar to Clint Eastwood's "Play Misty For Me" in the way the story unfolds: one night stand followed by avoidance, obsessional tendency before a second night; female becomes antagonist and won't stop. In the end, the theme is not one of portraying the excesses of masculinity in the digital meat market, nor that there will always be one crazy person out there, but that we are good judges of our own mistakes but a poor judge on the mistakes of others. The film is at least a believable take on the dark side of modern dating, showing the dangers of online engagement and it stays clear of a typical storyline where villians are set up to be knocked down. It's surprisingly effective as a thriller despite its narrow scope. My verdict is not 'sideswipe'.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Swim Fan?
Tired of the tired old remakes with an updated (tinder) twist. This was literally Swim Fan. The female even looks like the psycho from Swim Fan.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The odd bright spot here and there, but overall it's dull and not particularly memorable
jimbo-53-1865118 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Harris (Jack Cutmore-Scott) is a bed-hopping lothario who meets women online and uses them for sex before he quickly ditches them and moves on to the next victim. However, when Harris meets Riley (Lili Simmons) and tries to love her and leave her she isn't prepared to move on, but will all of this come at a cost to Harris?

Sky Movies proudly boasts Bad Match as being 'Fatal Attraction for the tinder generation' and in fairness that pretty much sums this film up. That being said though, this is no Fatal Attraction - in fact it doesn't even come close.

I think part of the problem with this film is how I perceived it; I got the impression that we're supposed to see Harris as the victim and Riley as the villain, but I didn't see the film as being quite as black and white as that. The trouble is that Harris is far too unsympathetic and unlikeable for me to ever see him as a victim and I became a little detached from the film for this reason. It doesn't really help that later in the film Harris seems to lose his mind slightly by kidnapping Riley and forcing her to confess to downloading child porn onto his laptop - even though he has no proof that she has done this. On the other hand, we have Riley who were lead to believe is some kind of certifiable nutcase, but when in reality I think that she was nothing more than a slightly insecure attention-seeker and for that reason I never saw her as a particularly terrifying presence (particularly in comparison to Glenn Close's character in Fatal Attraction).

Some aspects of the narrative were also a bit nonsensical such as the reveal that it was his friend that downloaded the child pornography onto Harris' laptop rather than it being Riley as he initially assumed. Quite apart from how ludicrous it seems that someone would ruin someone's life for mocking them on a video game, I also couldn't understand how this kid managed to download all the images in the first place? I mean wouldn't he have needed to be able to access Harris' laptop as confirmed in the film?. To my knowledge, they only spoke to each other online and never actually met in person.. It's quite clear that it's just a dumb twist thrown in for a Wow moment, but it's pretty stupid if you think about it.

Chirchirillo's writing and directing leave a lot to be desired, but he does at least get reasonable performances from Simmons and Cutmore-Scott, but the half-decent performances are really all that's going for this fairly weak variant of Fatal Attraction.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Like "Fatal Attraction" with a whole new twisted ending!
ljsf643 November 2017
No Oscar winner acting, but not bad. A few holes in the plot, but the buildup to the end made it all worthwhile. I was totally shocked by the ending. Good Fatal attraction type story with a twist in why people shouldn't play with peoples lives and emotions and the cost of unbridled revenge.
27 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Give it a shot
calicut11012 March 2018
I was really pleasantly surprised by this film. If you like thrillers then you should give this a chance. There is a very nice surprise as well that you don't expect. Nice work to the film makers.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Tired & Predictable
iamMarkPrice29 December 2018
Character development is almost nonexistent, and what is there is unlikable all round leaving it unclear who we are supposed to be rooting for. All characters, including background characters, do the most illogical things the entire movie through leaving the viewer more frustrated than entertained.

If you like cliches done straight faced you'll love this, otherwise give it a pass
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Just Doesn't Have the Legs for a 90 Minute Feature
leftbanker-14 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I say the same thing about a lot of movies made today. Had this been a 60 minute made-for-TV project or a Netflix thing it would have been OK. Even if it's a direct-to-DVD release the 90 minute runtime isn't warranted.

Lilli Simmons is totally hot as the femme fatale or whatever she is, the mistaken femme fatale. Why she would go after a millennial dipstick like the one in the movie is way beyond my powers of comprehension but I suppose that's the way the world is for young women today.

Cut out 30 minutes and you have a 7 star film.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Eh
lexayers18 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Movie started out okay although you could pretty much predict what was going to end up happening. Don't really remember any of the characters names because they weren't memorable except for Lili Simmons dur to how good her acting was. Got fed up Half way because then it super obvious on how this was going to end because of the actions of the main character, which made me just want to go ahead and get the movie over with. Though there was a plot twist it didn't matter much getting to the end of the movie because you knew that regardless of that fact it was not looking good for the main character. So I say Eh, I guess. Could just be me since I don't care for predictable movies when it comes to thrillers.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Enjoyable to watch, good story.
clairepiercey11 September 2018
The perils of modern dating when this sort of thing could so easily happen, if you want a good obsessive thriller then def give it a watch, pretty solid movie. Enjoyable & keeps you entertained till the end.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
High tech dating
fmwongmd6 September 2018
Poorly acted and directed story about online dating Just hard to swallow.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Love, Set, Almost a Good Match
bfslamin20 March 2018
I love the story line here. A crazy, stage five clinger after a one night stand from a dating app, I mean, who can't relate to that. Especially this generation where dating apps are the herpes of social media; harmless until it happens to you!

I won't spoil it, but, if you're a predicter like myself, you'll sniff out one of three potential endings. I gave it four stars, three for content and one for the painstaking acting. But, it's a fun watch.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not for me
Meckiezinha8 November 2017
The Tinder Era has begun, which makes life way more easy for playboys like Harris (I think that was the name). Harris just wants to have a nightstand with pretty much all the girls who are willing to accept him in their beds. Unfortunately for our playboy, one girl wants more than what he has to offer and that seems to destroy his perfect life.

First of all, I did not like this movie at all. Why not? the acting was awful, the only decent performance was from Lili Simmons (Riley).

The characters weren't deep enough, I don't remember any names except for Riley and Harris, although I'm not even sure about the latter.

The plot was really weak, and the climax (last minutes) was a joke. I think this would work as a comedy though.

Definitely not for me or for those who like thrillers or suspense.
10 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hand was bandaged in one scene and perfectly fine in another .....opps movie mess up
karribest25 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Why was his hand bandaged in one scene and seems to be perfectly fine in the next ?
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Typical
foutainoflife30 July 2018
Average revenge movie. Been done many times. Nothing special.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Got predictable halfway through. Still decent thriller.
armin-8773830 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Maybe it's just me though. I watch so many thriller/mystery/horror movies that I start becoming Sherlock in my mind while watching. Not that you need to be as smart as Sherlock to figure out the twist at the end.

After our douchebag main character confronts our creepy stalker protagonist about the damage done to his life, you can tell what's up. Just think about who this guy is and how many other people don't like him, and from what's presented to us in the running time of this movie, you'll most likely figure it out before it punches you in the face.

With that said though, I'd just like to say that the ending of this movie is now in the top 3 of my "movie endings that pissed me off" list.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A solid 4/10
mochteam12 June 2018
This movie felt very amateurish. The plot was cheesy and the acting was bad. Only character I liked was Riley because she was actually interesting. I just kept thinking "Momento" as I watched this film. Because it was similar with the main character unraveling completely at the end. I would say more than anything that I was shocked by the Cranberry and Vodka costing $18.00 in the film or so I think the waitress told him. Holy smokes is that a lot for a drink.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible, don't waste your time
lilydavis-4613011 March 2018
Watched on Netflix, thought it might be interesting but it was a waste of time. Don't waste your time. I'm surprised by the good reviews. The main character is despicable, there is no character background as with all the other characters in this movie. The ending is supposed to be a twist but they the time I got there, I just didn't care.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Only in a movie would a dating app be super effective for a guy
Aaron137521 May 2018
I saw this film on Netflix one night and it passed the time and had some interesting moments, but it was a bit predictable and just was too unbelievable in some areas to be a good film. It also looks very cheap in its production values, at times not feeling like a movie at all, but almost like a home movie. Of course, a lot of movies that get made that don't get the theatrical treatment look this way because they do not have a budget. I am sure the makers of this film thought they had a clever script and a cool twist, but neither really is the case. Still, I give them credit for their effort.

The story has this loser guy who plays video games, works his job and hooks up with girls using a dating app. Very attractive girls that he has no trouble picking up and hooking up with. Well, he swipes on a girl named Riley and soon learns that some girls want more than a one night stand. After thinking he has gotten her out of his life, his life begins to fall apart!

The movie is an unrealistic view of dating apps from the male perspective as guys do not have the success this guy does if they look like him. Men always outnumber the women by 10 to 1 minimum on this sites, so even with the guy's strategy of swiping right on all women, I still find it highly unlikely he'd be able to pick up a girl with the frequency this film was showing him have in this movie. Also, they telegraph what is going to happen at the end a bit too much in this one, suffice to say, pick up the phone when your lawyer calls and do what he says.

So, not a horrible movie by any stretch of the imagination, just needed more to it. The ending needed to be hidden a bit better, as it is most people who view it are going to figure it out. The ending scenes with the dude and Riley are pretty interesting and it has its moments where it shines, but come on, no guy would ever have this kind of success on a dating site. The film would have been more realistic if it had a female in the lead and she had a stalker come after her.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great film
blakeyben-3404519 February 2019
Compelling film that has you guessing right until the end.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Do not trust everybody on the world wide web.
deloudelouvain14 February 2019
Casual encounters, blind dates just for the sex, websites like Tinder, social media and it's benefits and dangers, it's all in this little enjoyable thriller. The best part of the movie was that I never got bored watching it. Casual sex, obsession, rejection, paranoia, it all passes the revue. A movie with a twist that you know will come but that I had wrong if I have to be honest, and that's always nice, to be surprised. As for the acting it was okay, maybe Jack Cutmore-Scott could have been a bit better but overal it wasn't bad. Bad Match is easy entertainment and that's fine by me.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Story behind this movie
bayanalkhatib4 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Honestly I feel that this movie depicts a good idea of how some men tend to think. The entire time Riley simply wants to be nice and see Harris by constantly texting and calling him asking to see him (which was annoying but she still tried). Riley goes on to jokingly kill her self which is also far fetched but in the end she was kidding and did it all for Harris to come and see her after all that time of him ignoring her. And then the end of the movie ends by Riley not the one to have caused any harm to Harris. Back to my point of this film symbolizing men in a lot of ways is because women are just looking for a good time with a good guy and in the end men still think we're sensitive and annoying after just wanting to have fun the way Harris was with Riley.
4 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Almost a waste
kosmasp24 January 2018
There is a twist here (not gonna spoil anything), that is almost wasted in this movie. And it's because you have a main character who is really despicable. Even if you find him funny at first, you will see things he's doing that will make it hard for you to root for him. And that is what one is supposed to do, right? Well you'll see (or not), if you decide to watch this.

And while this all may sound negative and things are quite obvious and predictable, there is still quite a lot to like about this. Tough job for the actors and the director to pull something like this off. If you don't mind it and want to watch something that will not give you much, this has quite a few funny scenes ... and a very convinient neglect of ... well it had to be like that otherwise that one thing would not have worked ... which kind of cheapens it ...
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time. No thrills. No adventure. No romance. No suspense. No horror.
kaushykutti21 January 2019
It's a very very bad movie made by a juvenile director. The reviews and ratings on Rotten tomatoes are misleading.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Men acting the way women have for 10,000 years
xhidden9922 September 2018
The premise of all these movies is that men who suddenly date women the way women have dated men since the dawn of time, are sociopaths. When a girl does it it's empowerment, when a man does, it's Hannibal Lecter.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed