Bardo Blues (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Good film
Headturner121 May 2019
This was a good watch. Michael ( main character's acting was spot on). I kind of started to figure out what was going on throughout but it was a unique spin on what other films have done. Original too. Not much more I can say except I knew from the start there was going to be a profound message in it and I enjoyed it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
BE HERE NOW
mohd_ali_118 May 2019
Running from past and searching for a future where the truth lies in the present. A subjective interpretation of existence, life and death in a prepetual motion, repeating themselves one after the other culminates down to the one moment. The moment of realization. The film captures the struggle of a young writer, an addict, trying to escape by searching for his mother in a far away place.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One of the Worst Movies of ALL TIME
drhersh30 July 2019
We did enjoying laughing our way through this catastrophe.. Truly the most amateur, failed-acting-school performances you will ever see. Absurd depictions of Thailand, if you have ever spent time there. The plot, direction, support actors.. it is all the worst example of a home movie for public school hollywood wannabe's you will ever see..!!! If you like this.. there really is no hope!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great movie with a profound message.
justin-209-15279614 April 2019
Not only does Bardo Blues have something very interesting to say, but it sorta creeps up on you in a great way. There are some heart-pounding moments and some things that really made me reevaluate how I see the world. Short run time, highly recommended.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bardo Blues Rocks
marciakimpton13 April 2019
The last clip in the movie gives the the entire truth about this semi-autobiographical story about a writer /artist ,Jack Shore, who at 27 years old when he goes to Thailand in search of something only to find out in this surprise ending something very different. If you like mysteries or dramas or thrilled this film is for you!
5 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Time wasted
hadiel2000-658-8625679 October 2019
Not worth the time wasted on such nonsensical film.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant and Thought-provoking
cbarry-926193 May 2019
So impressed! Great directing, acting and cinematography with an unexpected twist at the end. This brilliant and thought-provoking film has and should continue to win many awards.
3 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Psychological thriller with an important spiritual message.
lshockley-6983619 June 2019
A surprising and stellar indie film with something to say. Beautifully shot and acted. It is a journey worth taking.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Blues in the Morning and Jazz at Night
cathleenpomponio8 May 2020
It seemed interesting at first but would periodically lose energy. It had some pretty depressing actors. Better luck next time. For low budget it did pretty well. The part of the bartender was superfluous and oddly spoke "en soto" like Karl Jung's mother, a sort of muttering undertone. It seemed disconnected from the major theme.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Direction, Great Cinematography, Great Performances
hootzie9 June 2019
Loved it. Such a dark journey into the heart and mind of a troubled dude. Loved the main guy and the sidekick guy. The direction and shots were beautiful. For such a big sense of scope, it felt like a really small and intimate movie and I think that's hard to pull off. Would highly recommend to anyone who's looking for a movie that will really make them think.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What an powerful film
empiremgmt200320 April 2019
Saw this at the La Femme Film Fest and wow I was impressed. Totally unexpected ending, great acting and beautifully shot. I expect great things to come for this film. Good job guys! Really enjoyed-
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautifully done. Vivid scenery
tiltsfanclub17 June 2019
This movie is shot so beautifully it really makes Thailand come to life. Original story in locales that are unbelievable. The editing in this film is also really well done. It's no wonder it's already won a bunch of awards. Fantastic watch
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
High rating for cinematography and pacing
jjs-923972 June 2019
Definitely not a movie for everyone. The short scene shots, as well as the bouncing nature of conversation, contribute to a sense of confusion within the movie. And that's what it's about... without sharing too many details.

However, for someone who finds the premise, content and conclusion a bit jumbled, it might be somewhat of a stretch.

I'm glad I watched it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful Movie
jenspring-6393914 June 2019
This is a unique film filled with meaning and deep insight. It takes you on an unpredictable journey that will expand the limited boundaries of your mind. The actors are engaging and talented. Stunning cinematography. It is a labor of love delivering a powerful message that I congratulate on every level.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed