Vanquish (2021) Poster

(2021)

User Reviews

Review this title
142 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
So Bad It Hurts
pete-collin16 April 2021
This movie should have been strangled at birth. A pointless, vacuous trip to nowhere in particular, notable only for the tightness of Miss Rose's strides and the fact that Mr Freeman's fall from grace is so absolute that he felt he had to take on this project.

In summary, lots of people shoot at a girl on a motorbike, yet miss their target by a mile, a fate shared by the makers of this pitiful dirge.
142 out of 157 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Vanquish 2021 Review
chandean-6976216 April 2021
This movie starts off with a god damn six and a half minute long title / credit sequence ... I think it was telling me not to watch this film ... I should've listened.

Vanquish has a god-awful script that's delivered horribly by all the actors and actresses, it seemed like absolutely nobody wanted to be on set.

It's also filled with probably the ugliest editing i've ever seen in a movie with tons of fading transitions and jarring jump cuts. That combined with gross color grading thats either overly blue, or overly green and yellow that's only comparable to what Mexico looks like in Breaking Bad on steroids.

Audio mixing also seemed to be a problem, some scenes you can hear a knife swinging around or money flipping through a counting machine more than you can hear a person talking.

Vanquish is just horribly made. It's a gross visual experience with an extremely cliché story and terrible acting.

I don't usually like to trash movies like this but holy ... this was bad.
157 out of 177 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Please stop putting Ruby Rose in Movies!
Sounds_Shadey18 April 2021
Why? Seriously, why? Does she have something on someone important? Does she know someone that can green light anything? Did she sign a blood contract with Satan, I mean, seriously, why? She had a few episodes on Orange is the new black, and then major roles. She is getting roles that an actor should have be getting if they were in the business for like 20+ years, so why? Being serious here...
109 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Is Morgan Freeman in debt?
DaSpider17 April 2021
Seriously, I cannot think of a single reason a renowned actor would take part it this sh**show. He probably owns money to loan sharks or owns a debt to the director or similar. This is a A-class waste of everything you can think of.
95 out of 106 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Atrocious
kristoferthompson16 April 2021
I know 2020 was a difficult year to be making movies but there is no excuse for this awful awful film.

Wooden acting, Disjointed plot. Unrelatable characters/

DO NOT waste 90 minutes watching this garbage.

Once again lump of wood ruby rose does her usual abysmal attempt at 'acting'. Who keeps employing her?

Avoid this film at all costs.
109 out of 126 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
super cringey and boring
gtenalokes16 April 2021
Ruby Rose is an eye sore...

This movie is pure trash, they need to vanquish it from existence.. what a waste of money..
93 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Ruby Rose...
HorrorVision16 April 2021
... obviously it's not about talent in Hollywood since 2020. Original ideas don't exist and we're stuck watching wannabe actors instead of professionals. Guess it beats CGI.
93 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This needs to be vanquished
johnmento16 April 2021
Some shocking b grade action. What and who talked class like morgan freeman into this is beyond me. Once again we find the wooden actress, mila jovovich try hard ruby rose in some forced action roles which just makes me laugh.

Why people why, could have been good but missed the mark by 90.
75 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Oh Morgan, what on earth were you thinking?
bforbrett16 April 2021
Terrible movie from start to finish. The opening credits - what even was that?
60 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
hard pass
ollivernick16 April 2021
Wait for all the pro ruby rose votes to rock in with a 10 stars!

My god this is bad, some of the worst acting, seems ruby rose's stiff acting even infected morgan freeman!

Dont wast your time.
54 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
OMFG
scrabo39-143-1685016 April 2021
I have witnessed some gawd awful films in my time, but this takes the biscuit!

Morgan dear friend, if I'd known you were this hard up, I could have helped!

Sweet Jeebus make it stop.......
57 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
checks all the boxes for cheap
A_Different_Drummer16 April 2021
Most scenes with 1 or 2 characters because they could not afford extras CHECK minimal outdoor scenes because they did not bother with licenses and permissions CHECK lots of head and shoulders shots as a substitute for actual movement CHECK garish colors to distract viewers from the lack of value on the screen CHECK and a soundtrack from Hell to try to hide all the above CHECK;
60 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
But why !
blinkwood16 April 2021
Not worth your time. If you expected something is there in this feature film because there is Morgan Freeman, then it's wrong.
45 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Australia has free health care--Huge Plot Hole
aisyamara16 April 2021
It is amazing that the hero, who is Australian and played by an Australian didn't think to mention this to whomever wrote this mindless drivel. Did Ruby find the chance to work beside Morgan Freeman too enticing to include reality into the story? Don't waste your time on people who can't bother to do any research, they prefer to insult their audience.
49 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Movie of All Time
carsontuscany16 April 2021
5/100

Vanquish is easily the worst movie i'll see in 2021, and will likely be the worst movie i ever see in my life. The script, the acting, the plot, and most of all the awful editing are all at the same quality of a middle school multimedia project. I had no clue what the movie was about half the time, and nearly every character has no importance whatsoever. A truly abysmally bad movie that i'm clueless as to why it was even made and released.
40 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Should have gone with my gut.....
blitz_n116 April 2021
When i saw that Morgan Freeman and Ruby Rose were in the same movie with no other famous actresses or actors i should have realized it wasn't going to be worth watching.... i just don't know why i put myself through the entire 90 minutes. Wish i could get a refund for my time :(
49 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One of the worst films I have ever seen
matleahyk16 April 2021
I've never given 1 star before and I've seen plenty of bad movies but they at least had something I liked or were so bad there funny this movie was just awful. I'm not sure if Morgan freeman is in debt to the mafia or something as I'm puzzled why he did this film and he just seemed to zone out filming it, ruby ruse seemed to mix to putting what I would describe as a fake Australian accent on, bad fight/action scenes and awful cgi at the end of the movie, the plot was a shambles truly awful movie.
30 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Poor
itsjaycube16 April 2021
Names like Morgan Freeman, Ruby Rose had me expecting good movie. Poor acting, poor script, nothing original and also poor actions.
42 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Morgan Freeman Needed The Money Real Bad
bgendruwo19 April 2021
I really don't understand why top actor like Morgan Freeman would get involved in a bad film like this. Maybe he really needed the money, more than the character in this movie did.

Bad story, bad dialogue, wooden acting, nonsensible plot. One example: everytime the protagonist-lady enters a place to meet the "bad boss", the boyguards always let her bring her big guns inside so that she would be able to shoot the "bad boss" & shoot the bodyguards as well. What kind of bodyguards are those?
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
the opening titles sum this movie up perfectly...
christiancarden18 April 2021
The opening credits sequence lasts WAYYYYYYY too long, they clumsily tell a backstory through flashes of bad acting and the most pathetic graphics ive seen in at least 3 decades. It looks like a low end cable show from the 90's ABOUT something that happened in the 70's. I had to fight every natural instinct to turn this off DURING the opening credits.... i waited... i watched the WHOOOOOLE thing, so you don't have to. Just a horrible script, and the absolute WORST directing and editing i've ever experienced. I'm astonished that this was ever made, astonished that no one saw what a train wreck this was and shelved it. I'd rather stick my pinky in a pencil sharpener than watch this again.
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What's wrong with Hollywood
gshakespear17 April 2021
What's wrong with Hollywood is summed up in this picture, i.e., it actually made it too print.

Ruby Rose isn't an actor, like some singers aren't singers without the techno music and more back up vocals than substance. When the special effects don't cloud poor acting it sticks out like the proverbial.

Plot, what plot, a theme or motive isn't a plot.

As for the technical side of things, well, there isn't any.

If Hollywood and the tech movie companies keep pushing out substance without style this medium will lose its charisma fast. Going on with low budget, minimal characters, or inane characterization, together with slow and meandering plots gives way to watching grass growing as a better option.
33 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
horrible
idmisto17 April 2021
What a waste of time.

And above all, the worst editing i have ever seen.
20 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Morgan Freeman goes the Bruce Willis path
Mayki140225 April 2021
Morgan Freeman and Bruce Willis should create a production company where they take all the good actors and put them in the worst movies ever to make them pay the bills when they go bankrupt.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
ka...boom
ops-5253516 April 2021
Vanquish is a big miss if your in for real hard core never ending action , so let this one slip by. I had a hunch when seeing the mock up backgrounds, extremely straight lines interiors of the freemans house, some strange colorisational beams at you as if you were on a spaceship travel, very daft acting, even from mr freeman, that with all respect should have said no to this c-quality wannabe thriller product, because there are no hold in the story build up, just psychopathetic urban interfacial unterground enterprisal extortionistic visual terror, with a neverending background score that becomes so enervating on the chimes, and doesnt steal the show at all.

Howcome lionsgate does fund project like this i cannot understand, orion was the name of a film studio that went ad undas due to rotten products made on a long row, and i fear that this may be the continuation of of a downspiral turn that lionsgate has undergone lately. There are undertakers around the corner in the name of hulu, netflix and others that want the market share that this film production company has obtained since the start, and they will mercylessly be happy to reel in this one too if the quality of films continous at this low standard.

Because morgan freeman cant save this product, not even as the devil himself in a wheelchair. The battery is dead on empty, and the grumpy old man have hidden the charger away, with a no recommend.
25 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Cringe-worthy bad!
GCBicki16 April 2021
Ruby Rose, Morgan Freeman... One could expect something. I was seriously disappointed! This was so bad I can't recommend to watch it at all. It's not even worth going into much detail. I am more than surprised to see Morgan Freeman at his age taking part in such a terribly bad movie. Embarrassing.
29 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed