Unlovable (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Lovable
huyenchu2 February 2019
I've been wanting to watch this film for a long time now. I needed something to watch desperately this Friday evening and it got released on Prime.

I've randomly found Charlene's Xanga back in the day and was so instantly drawn into everything about her. She's very witty, honest, and original. She had this natural beauty inside and out and I've been a fan girl since.

I enjoyed everything about this film. They sure know how to make light of dark situations. I love the dark humor and the music in the film. I definitely believe in platonic friendships and how they can help save people. Throughly enjoyed John Hawkes and Melissa Leo, perfect castings and characters for the story. I'm just shocked I didn't start sobbing.

I hope Charlene continues acting. Such a raw exhilarating talent.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great take on a hard topic to tackle, yet not a great film
jamesalmos23 April 2019
Viewers should know first and foremost that this film gets right at the heart of some topics that many find uncomfortable to even think of, let alone watch played out on screen for 80 mins. It is a (pleasantly) surprisingly frank depiction of sex in general, with a focus on specific inclinations/complulsions/hangups/etc relative to the addictive aspects of sex.

And that enough so that there was no future of international release or promos on late-night US tv. No chance of great stardom or adulation. But they did it anyway, and did it honestly, such that it (according to a similarly-afflicted friend) really speaks to the heart of the issue and how actual humans deal with it.

But, due praise given, the narrative was somewhat disjointed in presentation and the final cut a resultant disappointment to me. Not in the least because I think they poorly utilized the brilliant John Hawkes (and, yes, apologies for elevating the male role in a film that's not about him). For that matter, I found the equally brilliant Melissa Leo underutilized as well (also, not about her, I know).

While I endlessly applaud Ms. deGuzman's honesty and sheer courage to bring such a personal role to the screen as she did, I must be honest and say it did not, ultimately, work out that well.

Honest assessment is a 6/10, but I think such boldness and effort demands an extra star.

With any luck, Ms. deGuzman will be back soon with another film more complementary of her talents, and of the talents of those around her.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
surprising
ops-525353 February 2019
This was a surprise, a film with a real sidekick of na topic, namely addiction. not to food chalk or heavy drugs, its about addiction to love, get loved, make love, share love, and the lack of fulfillment of sexual cravings, put ahead by at times brilliantly acting by john hawkes and charlene deguzman.

frigidity, nymphomania and satyriasis,or sex addiction may sound weird as being called a problem, but actually its basically a well hidden mental disorder than you think , and gives usually severe problems to the person that has got it. its especially a social stigmata, especially for the girls/women that are easy beatches,hores or laybacks( wrongspelled i know) and all the other synonyms used to describe the behaviour. men are usually called rough and tough and cosidered cool being a womanizer. but when all you think of 24 /7 is sex, porn,love and satisfaction it is a terrible problem.

the production bears many signs of low budget and spontanious acting, but its well acted,written,edited and directed. also the musical elements are of high quality and well played by the actors.

do enter this film openheartedly, its not a porn flick, do acknowledge the problem ,because social loneliness and lack of love can be unbearable, in the age of internet , multimedia and virtual society, for young and for old. the grumpy old man recommends this flick .
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Refreshing
giuseppef6 February 2019
I was sceptical about the movie before watching it, I thought a serious matter like sex addiction could not be seen in a fun way. The movie actually proved me wrong and even though I would have liked to see a bit more of psychological depth to understand the whole love and sex addiction concept better, the take on this was quite innovative and optimist in a way. Loved Charlene's performance, the movie pushed me to research more about the actress and once I found out that the script is based on her real life experience, I can now see how authentic it is.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Poignant and beautiful
drborntwrs3 February 2019
Charlene deGuzman, John Hawkes and Melissa Leo are all brilliant in this film. Sex and love can be the worst of all addictions, because it is free and easily attainable, and most don't understand what a nightmare it can be for the person. Charlene's Joy captured that, and her performance will surely resonate with those who suffer. There is something light and charming about her, that makes you root for her, despite how little she loves herself. John Hawkes is subtle and perfect, as a shy, peculiar man who is unable to even make eye contact, yet has more attachment skills than Joy. Melissa Leo is brittle yet compassionate. Ellen Geer, who plays the grandmother, was spot-on as a woman with Alzheimer's. It was quite a movie, and I'm so glad I saw it.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Now this was quite a surprisingly good movie...
paul_haakonsen12 May 2020
I happened to get the chance to watch the 2018 movie "Unlovable" from writers Charlene deGuzman, Sarah Adina Smith and Mark Duplass in 2020. I hadn't even heard of the movie, but still when presented with a chance to watch a movie I haven't already seen, I usually jump at said chance.

I didn't know anything about the movie, much less whom was starring in it. Nor did I even know what genre of movie I was in for.

Turns out that "Unlovable" was really a nice movie, and a very enjoyable movie as well. I found that the story was rather good, because it definitely felt realistic and had some very nice aspects to it. There are definitely things in here that people in the audience can relate to.

What really impressed me was the acting performances. Now, this was my first time to witness Charlene DeGuzman on the screen - or at least take notice of her. And wow, she is definitely talented, and carried the movie phenomenally with her performance. And John Hawkes was really nicely cast for the role of Jim, and he brought a lot to the movie with his performance and music, I will say that much.

"Unlovable" is a movie that sticks with you after you've seen it, given the combination of a proper and memorable storyline, but most certainly also because of some strong acting performances.

I was genuinely taken aback when I sat through this movie, and I must admit that I was really enjoying the story and the movie as a whole.

My rating of "Unlovable" is a seven out of ten stars. I can definitely recommend that you take the time to sit down and watch this movie from director Suzi Yoonessi, as it is very entertaining, enjoyable and it is actually a beautiful movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Heartwarming
primenum11 February 2019
I made an account only to review this because I really think it deserves a higher rating. I almost skipped it because of the low rating, but once I saw it had Charlene in it I was very happy. I remembered I was subscribed to her Youtube account and really missed seeing her videos. I really hope she stars in more movies because she was so good in this!

I loved everything about this movie - the way it was shot, the humor, the emotional moments, the likeable characters I actually cared about.. Everything. I just wish it never ended!

I am usually quick to forget movies but I'm sure this one will stay in my memory for a long, long time.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Lovely little film
Sophie_8919 August 2019
This is a cute, funny, honest, heart-warming, relatable film, an enjoyable 1 hour and 20 minutes. The way mental health is dealt with in this film is refreshing and realistic.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Serious Matters Presented In An Entertaining Manner
bhmcd29 August 2019
The movie was not 100% true to life but it did a great job of poking fun and being lighthearted about such a serious subject. The director realized we should all have a sense of humor about our troubles if we're going to manage them in a healthy way. This film was not meant to be an exacting portrayal of the subject matter nor a film that allowed for Academy Award performances. Drama with comedy is like that. I thought the actors and actresses did a stellar job with the roles they performed and it was a semiserious, funny/quirky, yet heart warming movie. There's good in all of us and it's easier to see if we're not consumed by our problems.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed