Beyond the Night (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Just about okay.
deloudelouvain8 February 2019
Beyond The Night isn't a masterpiece but it's worth a watch as there are tons of worse movies than this one. As for the mystery level I figured it out when the movie wasn't even halfway through, and that's a bit too soon in this genre. The evolution of the story isn't bad but it's not perfect at all. There are some scenes that could have been much better if they would have put a little more effort into it. The story isn't new so you could have a sensation of déjà-vu. The acting was okay, no Oscar winners here, with nobody standing out of the lot, but also nobody acting mediocrely. All in all it's good enough for me to entertain me for awhile.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Not your Standard Ghostly Redemption Movie.
+1 Star For a Great Line!

I watched this movie after just watching Lost Girl so it was even along the same plotline as a movie I had just watched. Through 2/3 of the movie I was intrigued by the whole thing. And now for the shocker, the ending. The Ending was pretty damn good too! All in All I was impressed. For this type of movie it was fairly close to perfect.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Everybody knows Shelly
nogodnomasters23 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Maise kisses an F-150 and they wait to pull the plug until her husband Raymond (Zane Holtz) returns from Iraq. He relocates to his small home town in upstate Pennsylvania with his son Lawrence (Azhy Robertson). In addition, to being cursed with the name Lawrence, he has a rather large strawberry on his face. Lawrence knows the town, even though he has never been there. He knows a lot about July Rain Coleman, a girl who has gone missing.

We already know the climax happens when the kid finally gets around to fingering the guy. It just takes so long to get there as we listen to a kid as talkative as the kid from "Witness." It also shows a community that has too many yahoos with guns.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very Engaging
mystichealer231 October 2018
I was totally engaged in this whole movie as I watched it from beginning to end. The characters were believable and the little boy was awesome. This story evolves from a missing teenage girl who disappeared several years earlier and the only one that can solve this mystery is the little boy. The boy didn't realize this until he and his father visited the town his father grew up in which the boy had never seen.
14 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Could Have Been Better
Mehki_Girl28 May 2020
Warning: Spoilers
This could have been a little more intriguing. This was a little different than a lot of other similar films with a little bit of creepiness and way too many idiots with guns. It wasn't too hard to guess who done it.

This movie left me with one question, what was the sheriff's investment in all of this?
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Better Than Average Low Budget
bud2mac_0313 July 2020
Is watchable and fills time. Little better than average storyline and acting
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
quite good
ops-5253530 January 2019
Well this was a decent low budget (i guess) film, with lots of original twists a sidetracks. it bears the marks of logistical flaws, because every day of filming cost a stash of green ones.so the sun are up,and as the cam angle changes it is dusk and soforth. the story are good, and the acting are ok...just a little stiff here and there, so i think i will recommend this mysterydrama thriller,yes, and seven stars it is worth
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Worth watching it....
benzmendozajr8 July 2019
Although the story is predictable but it's still interesting , give it a shot...You will not be boring , acting is also good and very natural.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Pretty good flick
dustinh-7672615 March 2020
Checked this out the other night. Turned out to be pretty good. Everything was pretty decent. Acting and the story is solid throughout the film.

If you are just looking for a random movie to put on late at night, I'd recommend this, a one time watch for sure.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
hking-7034015 February 2019
Beyond the Night is well worth the watch! If you enjoy mystery thrillers that are engaging and don't drag on, then this film is for you. I don't want to give away anything, just watch it!
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gripping.
BenUttley4 November 2020
A brilliant film from start to finish. Crafted well wih good performances from the cast. It pulls you along through the story to a thrilling climax.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must see!
eminanoto26 August 2020
Great storytelling about the supernatural world. Plot and acting well executed. Highly recommend!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A single viewing is all it warrants.
spencejoshua-227361 August 2020
This is a mystery thriller with supernatural tones. I think it can appeal to both audiences, those who enjoy a straightforward missing person case as well as those who gravitate toward paranormal subject matter.

Beautiful setting and filming location in Sullivan County, NY. Characters were decent, acting could have been improved. Zane Holtz was a little stale at times.

Overall, I think it is worth one viewing, especially for those who enjoy this genre, however it feels like a single viewing type of film.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Weird but...
yusufpiskin6 August 2020
This movie is kind of weird but not in a good way. The story is perfectly fine and I actually was invested in it at certain points. It's not bad, which is always what a director loves to hear, but it did feel like sucking on a brown paper bag at points.

The competent actors are bland and it's partially from amateurish performances but also just poor writing. Everything looks really clean so you kind of forget you're watching this unknown film until you zone out and have to keep re-winding.

Azhy Robertson, the kid in this movie was probably someone who impressed me the most. That's more of a complaint than anything though.

You know what, it's fine, I didn't like it, maybe you will. I'm not going to try and peel apart this average film for 20 minutes. They wrote a story, executed it well and it just happens to be a pretty bland story. That really could have been the whole review. There's nothing that stood out to me from a writing, directorial or production standpoint so it is what it is.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Big On Smallness.
net_orders28 February 2021
A small film with a small script and a small cast that takes place in/around a small town. It is, however, big - very big - on filler such as dragged-out silent scenes and woods wandering. Especially the latter in the dark. And without a compass! Viewed at Japan Cuts. WILLIAM FLANIGAN
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Reincarnation Meets Small Town Stereotypes
alanaronald17 November 2021
Warning: Spoilers
I wanted to like this film. The premise of a marine with PTSD having served in Afghanistan, returning with his psychologically damaged son to the town in which he was raised seems interesting.

We learn that the Ray's wife was killed in an accident involving their son Lawrence, so coming home seems to be a logical answer: go back to one's roots & find comfort.

Lawrence is easily targeted as he has a birthmark covering most of his face, a giant strawberry mark, that one local genius tries to photograph. Protective dad Ray stops that, but it makes it seem like this is the ignorant act expected of a local yokel.

This is just the beginning of more disturbing acts. Lawrence sits remarkably still and quiet throughout an inquest but when he's in a room with the pastor's mother he blurts out the name of a cheerleader who was killed some years back, identifying the woman as "Rain's nana". Instantly the pastor's mother accuses Ray of putting Lawrence up to this as some form of "incitement" (why he would do that is utterly mystifying), storms out, and has a complete mad on. Ray asks Lawrence why he said it, where he heard the name, etc, but gets no answers.

Later, after speaking with his sheriff sister, a psychologist is suggested, and it appears that the dead girl, Rain, "lives" in Lawrence. Lawrence is allowed to run through the town & the high school Rain attended, correctly identifying various shops (the shops all have their names prominently displayed), but goes right to Rain's locker, tracing a heart that was drawn inside the locker.

The psychologist explains that a pronounced birthmark has occurred in other cases of what she suggests is reincarnation. Soon, Rain's dad learns of this and immediately tries to throw himself into hugging "Rain", asking Lawrence if Rain is "in there". Lawrence is 5: what does he expect the kid to say?

And Rain's dad is a beaut: a thug allied with other town thugs, gun-toting, shady-dealing head of this small town's mafia. Doesn't seem like the type to just leap at this far-fetched theory about Lawrence. Doesn't read right.

Ray has gone to see the local pastor, Marty, to find out if he's passed on his demons to his son. Marty doesn't give him any definitive answer, prays, then we see the same heart on one of the desks that we've seem in Rain's locker.

The over-the-top reaction of the Sheriff's boss, who wants Ray & Lawrence to get out of town, then the stirring up of a vigilante group by Rain's father is very muddled, it's sense of menace well drawn, but I don't find the characters at all believable. The denouement hackneyed, involving the Sheriff's boss locking up the pastor for "his own protection", discovery of the corpse of Rain by Lawrence, and the confession by the perp all seem very melodramatic & really disappointing.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed