The Generator (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
Confusing and erratic
brent-fontes12 January 2019
I loved the premise and the concepts were intriguing, but it was so poorly written and edited. There were too many cyberpunk tech horror themes crammed in, but none of them were developed well. Since the themes and characters weren't developed well all the scenes felt so jumpy as it just kept cutting to one disparate scene to another or suddenly the characters level of emotion or direction had changed. Then there was weird sexual undertones that I haven't even processed yet lol. The director of the operations was so creepy, felt like he was going to molest everyone, so maybe he was actually well casted if that was his role. The monopoly scene was so weird, I was waiting for a pillow fight to break out. The acting was so over the top that it ruined any potential payoff on the jumpy scenes. Music selection was odd, it felt like It should be playing in an indie coffee shop and a lot of times was used as a transition. I wanted to like this film and I tried to be understanding of its limited indie budget but it's just so bad in many ways.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Do not watch
bwalden-5035527 March 2019
Waste of time. I should have followed my gut when I saw the horrible trailer.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Senseless
Leofwine_draca10 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
THE GENERATOR is a senseless British indie science fiction picture with a virtual reality-themed cyber plot. Unfortunately it also has no consistency in its premise and the jumbled storyline is full of incoherence and little else. There are scenes of guys being hooked up to wires and lots of computer stuff, but there are virtually no proper characters and mere snippets about people being connected to a larger matrix. And what's that extended scene with the half naked guys playing Monopoly all about?
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fabulous viewing
frankenyolandi1 May 2020
One thing I love about sci-fi, and about this film I that anything is possible. It creates a world where you never know what is around the corner and what impossibility is going to become possible through some great idea/invention. The story is well told, interesting creative, and unique. Visually the film is also very appealing! I highly commend this film to any sci-fi enthusiast out there.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good indie sci fi
thejhorton26 April 2020
Woulda been right at home in the 90's and that's not a bad thing. Cool cyberpunk and sexual undertones throughout. It's unpredictable and compelling. Definitely worth a watch.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Didn't a superior movie have this idea and been made in the late 90s?
jackmeat5 January 2020
I am sorry for chiming in on a movie I have not seen yet, but judging by the synopsis, trailer and all these reviews, this movie rips off "Strange Days" with the exact same premise, yet is surrounded by a far better story, film maker, etc. I will not say that this movie is good or bad, nor review it since as I stated I have not seen it, and am not some BS factory judging movies without viewing them. I just needed to point this out after reading up and since I haven't decided if I am going to bother watching, I did not want my initial thoughts lost. If I do get around to watching this, which seems to be a big gamble between all the massive "slam" reviews, and all the obvious "biased" reviews together, it is hard to get a gauge of how this movie actually might be, instead of an all out WIN or MISS. Only spoiler is I haven't seen it LOL. Rating a 5 since it is in the middle and I can't submit without a number. I'll return if I do watch this and adjust accordingly
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Generates Real Sci-Fi Results
TheAll-SeeingI14 January 2019
Perhaps no genre is as dependent on creating a truly distinctive look and feel as is Sci-Fi. Immersion in a world that's fantastical yet remains somehow truthful is nothing short of a prerequisite to the viewer buying in early and staying engaged throughout.

With Rudy Carpio's The Generator, that mandate is met at a high level. Comparisons to Tron wouldn't be apples-to-apples in terms of the precise choices made, but it's a spot-on analogy when you consider that both films create a beyond-the-real landscape that feels earthless and eerie. Carpio's visual presentation is then counterpointed with very real characters living and breathing in ways that are familiar, but in this organically inorganic dreamscape-like environment.

Additionally focused on the notion of counterpoint is the storyline itself: The Generator deals with the increasingly blurred line between Virtual Reality and its inevitably near-term mass impact on human sexuality. We've read about it, and perhaps experienced it to varying degrees, but we've been told its wide-scale onslaught is pending. The Generator shows us what that might look like: not only in its visual presentation, but in its standout cinematography and in the telling of a story that ultimately resonates.
3 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very inventive
priest-21-55690729 July 2019
This indie Sci-Fi presents a very inventive and challenging concept. I was always excited to see how the story would turn out. A worthwhile and unique experience.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Love to see filmmakers take risks
caseykilloran18 November 2018
This Sci-fi film is like an indie movie version of a Black Mirrors episode like "Fifteen Million Merits" meets the feature film Existenz. The filmmakers get very creative developing the whole world. I love watching indie sci-fi movies like this because you can get so many cool ideas on how to do things creatively. Kudos on a job well done.
2 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
stylish and fascinating
rob-burrows1-16 October 2018
This is a stylish and fascinating Sci-fi film the looks at home the human consciousness and machine may be merged. It was good escapism and well put together. Well worth watching.
2 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Bravo to this indie sci-fi
johnapplebee-9594710 January 2019
This indie sci-fi was well put together. It did take me back to the 80's,90's sci-fi movies. It gave that type of look. But on an indie level for a sci-fi movie bravo.
2 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun sci-fi flick
cbax1232 November 2019
It's hard to pull off a low budget sci-fi but The Generator does just that. I was surprised by how well done this film was. The world is very immersive and the cinematography is visually pleasing. Well done!
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A great watch
vigilant5623 June 2019
I usually do not seek out Sci-Fi but a friend of mine recommended this movie and I must say I was not disappointed. Kudos to the writer and Director for pulling off a Sci-Fi without a Hollywood budget. Two thumps up!
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A fun indie Sci-Fi
craigahrens12 June 2019
What a nice Sci-Fi surprise. Rarely, if ever, do you see an indie film pull off a Sci-Fi successfully, Well, The Generator surely did! I got hooked early on and enjoyed the ride all the way through to the end. I really enjoyed the acting! The actors were spot on with their performances. Solid story and terrific directing. The Director knew what they were doing and it showed. The movie moves along at a real nice clip. For me, this film worked. A thumbs on this one!
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Inventive, artistic, and sexy ride into the realms of new tech
MariaAllred5 June 2019
I really enjoyed this inventive picture. It imaginatively contends with immersive VR and nanotechnology, topics I think about often. Artistic visual effects, compelling score, and strange and intimate scenarios merging animalistic human tendencies with futuristic technologies create a unique and wonderful ride of a film!
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Beautiful and absorbing
Phil_Chester12 August 2018
Feeling faithful to the zeitgeist of William Gibson's 'Neuromancer', this film is beguilingly beautiful and absorbing. Cyberpunk fans are going to love the world-building and the atmosphere that the film creates so well. Recommended.
2 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really cool Sci-Fi indie
kisiel-11 October 2018
Very creative concept that was well executed. Highly recommended!
2 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
a real sci-fi gem
allen-1255 February 2019
This extremely creative sci-fi trip fully succeeds in creating an immersive world all its own. While it's certainly a great mind-bending ride, it's nicely grounded by authentic and identifiable characters. Bolstered by awesome cinematography and graphics and crisp editing, every visual element is woven together seamlessly. The film is wonderfully stylistic, but, since there is clearly a true storyteller at the helm, the aesthetic far from outweighs the substance. Top to bottom, this bold and chilling indie is a stellar accomplishment.
2 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Unexpected Sci-fi Find
tlg31710 February 2019
Imagine Charlie Brooker and Panos Cosmatos getting together and making an indie film, and that's how you get The Generator. Great sci-fi intrigue all the way through. Loved the cinematography. It did a great job of bring the world and tone of the film into harmony. If you like Black Mirror, check this film out.
1 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Intriguing sci-fi tale
JGReviews14 February 2019
The Generator is an intriguing science fiction film about a scientist who develops the technology to allow people to actually feel what someone else is feeling when both are connected through an advanced virtual reality type of technology. It's an amazing breakthrough that can allow, for example, an old immobile woman to feel like she can actually run again. However, things take a dark turn when the lead scientist attempts to expand his technology into mind control, but starts to lose control of himself.

The Generator has a very interesting story and the premise hooked me immediately. The film is also very well shot, particularly for an indie film. Kudos to the cinematographer! The locations and production design also do a great job of placing the viewer in this future time and place. I particularly enjoy sci-fi films like these. I would think that anyone who enjoyed the sci-fi virtual reality films of the 90s would appreciate this updated and more modern technological tale. I think with all of the buzz about shows like Black Mirror that The Generator will do quite well. I'd highly recommend The Generator to any indie sci-fi fans out there!
1 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed