The Competition (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
39 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Bad hair overshadows the lame story
yollya16 June 2018
Main character's bad hair distracted me through the entire movie which wasn't hard since the acting was poor and the story itself was same overplayed thing seem a million times.
36 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I used to LOVE Thora Birch
cleo_specter12 September 2018
Wow is the acting wooden as hell in this!!! Thora Birch is in one of my fav movies....Now and then, Ghost world...to name but a few. But she is AWFUL in this, emotionless, monotone, and so wooden and stilted. Each scene is overly long with boring dialogue. It would look out of date if it was filmed in the early 2000's. and the stock background music is so overwhelmingly abused in every single scene it makes my ears bleed, i actually dont think there is a single scene in this movie that doesnt have background music! its so unnecessary and cheapens the film even more than the writing and acting does, and thats saying something. There is no chemistry between Birch and Klein...none whatsoever. Birch acts like she doesnt even want the paycheck from this movie...
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Worst acting ever
amyvsings26 August 2019
The acting in this film is just HORRIBLE. Plus hair/makeup/wardrobe budget must have been non-existent. Thora's bad hair was a distraction the entire film. It's obvious the two lead characters would NEVER be together in real life. I only watched this because the two lead actors were in some of my favorite films from my teens. What a disappointment
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not as bad as people say
swannybabe2330 July 2019
Listen, it isn't the best romantic comedy but it's good enough to watch once. I haven't seen those main actors in a long time so it made it easier to watch. Yes, the directing is a little off but I thought the acting was ok. Thora is suppose to play a cold monotone person but other viewers see her differently. The movie had a lot of potential but I don't think it's because of the actors. Anyways, just watch it because you always have to see for yourself.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Ice princess vs mannequin boy
thekarmicnomad18 February 2018
A woman only dates men for 6 months, some guy is persuaded to try and seduce her. He falls for her then, for a laugh, they wreck loads of his friends relationships.

This is basically a twist on Never Been Kissed - which I am ok with - but it lacks in most areas.

The leads are especially weak here. I like Thora Birch but she is really badly cast here. She hasn't got enough warmth to carry this off - Chris Klien gives the most wooden performance I have seen since Phantom Menace.

The morals of the plot are a bit twisted, It is hard to feel good for the characters when it all comes to a head.

Bland, unemotional with no pzazz!
21 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Competition? What competition? This film comes in last after all the other lousy films I have watched.
Ed-Shullivan7 August 2018
Of all the very boring films I have watched I can usually say something positive about the film. This is a first. Or, as in this film's title, "The Competition", this film comes in absolutely last in my opinion. Do not waste your time it is so boring. I would rather suffer from diarrhea than have to listen any longer to this dribble dialogue.

Save your valuable time, go read even a bad book on the John, than watch this stinkfest.

I have to give it a 1 out of 10 rating as this is the minimum mandatory IMDB rating. In truth, I would have paid money to someone who could have forewarned me not to watch this crap. I mean real boring crap!
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Do not watch it. I repeat, this is not a drill, do not watch it.
nicholaszante31 July 2019
Terrible from the script to the acting and editing. That stupid constant monotonous background music was horrible. People who made this movie should never ever have a career. These mofos introduced a Spanish "exotic" character whose spoke Italian ffs. There are no Alejandros in Italy only Alessandros.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Oh boy
wwlugo24 July 2019
Oh dear, what to say about this "movie?"

It felt a lot like watching a bad Hallmark movie but with more swearing. It wasn't good. The acting was forced, the actors ill-suited to the roles, the premise silly and far-fetched. Nothing about it seemed believable. As for chemistry between the two leads? Non-existent. I honestly felt the gal playing the lead's sister was far more suiting for the main role. I watched it on a Netflix and Chill kind of a day and truly wish I'd read the reviews first... or read a book... or anything other than this movie.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Very Badly Done
socrates416 April 2019
THE COMPETITION is a romantic comedy of the worst kind. And for a guy who doesn't particularly care for the genre to begin with, I sure seem to find myself sitting through more than my fair share of them. But this one takes the cake in terms of just how awful it truly was.

There are a few relatively decent laughs here, and I feel like the writer at least started with a nearly coherent idea, so that's what kept be from giving it a lower score than I did. But the acting is bad, the directing is bad, and overall the story just falls apart before it even gets going. It's embarrassing. Even hardcore rom-com fans will find themselves hard-pressed to find much good in this film. Do not recommend.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
There is no reason to watch this movie
Saw-it-on-Tubi6 January 2019
The leads have no chemistry, and the plot is ridiculous in all the wrong ways. There is nothing in this movie that is not done better by another film.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Really Bad
dannytwogm26 June 2018
The script is terrible, hair is distractingly bad, bad over acting. The only redeeming quality is the cinematography.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible
lmpondela14 August 2018
A very bad movie. No connection with the title and the content. Waste of time!!!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Hair/Makeup/Wardrobe Epic fail combined with a wooden lead actress equals 40 minutes I won't get back
scubafiend24 June 2018
I'll start by saying I'm NOT a fan of Thora Birch in anything since she grew up, so that was a challenge right off the bat. Her "acting" in Dungeons and Dragons sank that film all by itself! I watched 40 minutes of The Competition despite her being a very wooden actor because I thought it was a cute, frothy concept and I really like Claire Coffee ever since I watched her in Grimm. But as others have noted, whoever did Hair, Makeup, and Wardrobe was inept or asleep at the wheel and I found it, along with the wooden acting by Birch, too much to get past to make it to the end of the film. I have no complaints about the other actors except perhaps her Mother's boyfriend who I found smarmy but maybe that is the point - can't say. But visually Birch's clothes were so ugly and unattractive and her hair - what is that about? The makeup was no better.

The guys (except as previous noted) seemed genuine and believable. Their interactions were honest and their acting was good - no complaints there. Claire Coffee was good as always! I think it could have been a nice RomCom had the casting of the female lead been better and the hair/makeup/wardrobe not been a fail. Mind you - I'm not saying Birch isn't pretty enough or even that the female lead has to be pretty because she doesn't. But these failures were a distraction on top of her poor acting in every scene that made me completely turn off of her character which made it impossible for me to watch the rest of the film.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time.
wschool-7562430 May 2018
Bland forced acting. Annoying characters. Terrible casting.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Silly Saga of an Infidelity Competition!
lavatch4 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Of all of the zany ideas for Hollywood romantic comedies, this one has to be one of the strangest.

A couple, Calvin and Lauren, falls in love, but the relationship is built around an infidelity competition. The couple will test their best friends who will be seduced by a stranger. If the majority of the guinea pigs reject the seduction and remain faithful, then Calvin and Lauren will remain permanently in their relationship. But if the test subjects succumb to their lust, then the Calvin-Lauren relationship will end in six months. What a bummer of a compact for an interpersonal relationship?

After setting out this inane premise, the filmmakers do not even execute it very well. The comedy should have been based on the five competitions where the five couples are tested. But as we approached the "last" test for Calvin's friend Jacob, I had only counted three previous tests that had taken place. Either the filmmakers goofed and forgot one of the five tests...or I lost interest somewhere along the way...or both!

The film had a spark of potential because the two leads had some chemistry at those rare moments when they were not obsessing on their competition. Still, Chris Klein overacted his role of Calvin, while Thora Birch underacted her interpretation of Lauren. It was as if Klein was back in one of his "American Pie" farces, while Birch was recycling her moody daughter character in "American Beauty."

There is earlier film called "The Competition" from 1980, which is about the rivalry of two concert pianists. That film involves a real competition, it includes some light-hearted moments, and it is still an eminently watchable film today. Unfortunately, the more recent competition film included some lovely footage of Portland, Oregon, but never rose to the level of either a memorable romance or a comedy.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
this is not the perfect pizza
reneeinthebox26 July 2019
This movie is bad. It's just so very bad. During their meet-cute, they spend ten minutes talking about the scienctific theorem behind the "perfect pizza" and repeat those words ad nauseam.

Thora Birch used to be a great actress. I grew up watching her, which is probably why this movie offends me. I expect more from her. Chris Klein on the other hand has always been a one note character. The only disappointing thing about his stale acting was his receding hairline. This movie was poorly cast to say the least. Perhaps younger fresher actors would have been able to make it more watchable but it was doomed to be bad regardless.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Quite possibly the worst movie I've ever wasted time watching
kalee-8514017 August 2019
I'm not too picky. I like Hallmark movies that have shallow plots and bad acting. When I watch something like this, I'm looking for the same old formulaic story line. Girl meets boy and they fall in love, have some sort of conflict, then ultimately end up together. But this movie was just SO bad.

And I wasn't going to say anything about the hair and makeup because it seems petty and something that you shouldn't care about, but man, it is distracting. And once I saw others felt that way too, I wanted to mention it. The hair is especially very bad on Lauren, the main character.

The lead actors don't have chemistry and the lead male is so unlikeable I found myself rooting against the two main characters! And the very last epiphany scene where he sobers up- it's just so unrealistic!

If you're going to watch this movie, just be warned it's time waster.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Thora birch has very very very bad hair
nuitgoddess12 August 2019
The only reason I watched this movie all the way through is because I love Portland, OR. Good movie for the super highly idealistic.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What the.......
bklynplaygrl29 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I can't tell you how bad it is, you have to see it to believe it. The acting, the hair and make up, the scenarios. The "love story" just screams badly and cheaply done.

The last scene the epiphinany of it all the dude is drunk and nothing sobers him up quicker by advances in a chick. I can't even believe this is happening. If this was a scary movie t would be so much better and therefore can't make it into my hostings of bad movie nights. Sorry.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Sucked
mallodav23 November 2018
Effing horrible movie, sucked big time - do not waste another minute thinking about it...
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
1999 is calling
SnoopyStyle18 April 2021
In Portland, Calvin Chesney (Chris Klein) is tasked by his boss Gena (Claire Coffee) to save her sister Lauren (Thora Birch) from herself. Lauren is a scientist-blogger who came up with The Pig Theory. It's so successful that she's on the verge of a book deal. Calvin dares Lauren to test her theory. If he disproves her theory, she has to end her blog and everything related.

The movie should explain the theory right at the beginning. It would help it to start on a steadier flow. This is a second tier rom-com premise anyways. They have a functional meet-cute and that's the last good part of the movie. These two lead actors were at the top of the teenage acting mountain. Sadly, it's been a long steady decline for both of them. There are reasons for their declines and they are right on the screen. They don't have good chemistry. The writing is clunky and they can't help. Their best days are probably in the past.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Fun rom-com I guess
dar041723 September 2020
Fun rom-com but the film was a little to corny for me. Chris Klein over acts way to much but it was nice to see Thora Birch acting again.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Competition review
JoeytheBrit5 May 2020
Thora Birch's comeback movie after a six-year break is a slight, lightweight rom-com that might raise an occasional smile but is completely lacking when it comes to laughs. She's a blogger whose love-life is dictated by a formula which lawyer Chris Klein attempts to disprove by testing the fidelity of five of his friends. A movie with no purpose other than to fill time.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not Good Enough
pennyelenabooks20 April 2020
The competition had some interesting premisses, but it failed to become even entertaining. The main couple were a couple because, well, the plot said so. They had zero chemistry and zero meaning together. When did they even date? The leading lady's hair was simply awful as well, kind of distracting too. The big deal about the blog was simply idiotic too. I mean, she was being offered a huge amount of money to write a book, what was wrong with writing what she was already writing for free anyway? The ending was terrible too.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Lightweight
wissemfg22 October 2019
The premise to this movie was far fetched. Why not just have a normal relationship instead of making it a competition? I was not familiar with Tora Burch and this movie did not entice me to see more of her work. And the leading man was stiff and contrived.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed